Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

namloc1980 wrote: »
    or do we have to shut down pubs indefinitely?

The answer is yes. It would also help the serious drinking problem this country has.

• Registered Users Posts: 737 ✭✭✭aziz

Yes, there is a alcohol addiction problem in Ireland but no worse than a lot of countries.

And the amount of people drinking in the pubs have been dwindling for many years now
    Our pub culture will drastically change over the next 10 years or so.

UK had 24,000 cases and 13 deaths today. As I said in a previous tweet, this is the equivalent of 1,800 cases here and 1 death.

Therefore, if NPHETs prediction of 700,000 cases came true, it would equate to 388 deaths over a 3-month period.

That's 4 deaths per day. And this is NPHETs "WORST" case, most unlikely scenario.

Compare deaths today to cases 2 weeks ago. Still puts it under 1000 though in the worst case scenario

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭Bsharp

He addressed the issue a few days ago and I am happy to take him on good faith.

Ppl have to remember the cabinet and wider NPHET scrutinise the recommendations

Also the wider govt, the opposition, and the media scrutinise the recommendations.

Dare I say Some posters have a very simplistic overly personalised, almost school yard childish view of the situation. (Boo hiss the bad man Tony).

It’s not the case that TH dials up Michael Martin and gives him advice off the top of his head.

Do ppl accept that There’s a professional process involving many stakeholders here

There doesn't appear to be a robust professional process in place for decision making based on information available to the public. Industry best practice for modelling, its application, and associated presentation of results is not being followed.
    If we tried to get away with the level of qualified detail being presented by Nphet to government for the decisions being made we wouldn't win a single contract with the government departments we work with.

shocksy wrote: »
    The answer is yes. It would also help the serious drinking problem this country has.

And you said you are not anti drinking

My arse

aziz wrote: »
    And you said you are not anti drinking

My arse

Discussing problem drinking automatically equals anti drinking?

Wanting to shut down all pubs does not do anything for problem drinking

Yes, there is a alcohol addiction problem in Ireland but no worse than a lot of countries.

And the amount of people drinking in the pubs have been dwindling for many years now
    Our pub culture will drastically change over the next 10 years or so.
    Wanting to shut down all pubs does not do anything for problem drinking

People will just drink at home, at parties if necessary.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,211 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Nothing to do with Covid so. Just an idealogical viewpoint, like we have from Holohan and NPHET.

If it wasn't known before (however, it was to many) the covid pandemic, this country has a really serious drinking problem. I await the posters who will jump on this post. However, no matter what way people try and defend it, it is true and really disturbing. There are people frothing at the mouth waiting to be able to drink indoor again and get absolutely stupid drunk again. The whole "social argument" doesn't cut it. It's a lame excuse. There are plenty of other ways to be social. However, all most people can think of doing in this country to be social is getting $hit faced drunk. It's pure desperation in a way that alcohol is their only "fun" way of being social with friends and family etc. It's a sad state of affairs when all people can think of is getting into a pub again. Thankfully I don't fit into this part of the population. I'm not anti drinking before anyone says it, but there is serious alcohol addiction in this country that many won't admit too.

We drink too much in Ireland. That much i'll agree. The attitude to alcohol is unhealthy but thats another discussion for another day and no reason to hold off on reopening indoor dining. Indoor dining emcompasses alot more than just indoor pubs. You have restaurants and coffee shops also. There is thousands of jobs created by these businesses, and even those who can provide outdoor dining at the moment, wont be in a position to do so come winter time. You have to look at the bigger picture here.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,329 ✭✭✭prunudo

Who knew, wanting to catch up with mates over a few pints now automatically implies we'll be getting **** faced drunk.
    Like everything in life there are those that take things to excess, the vast majority don't and enjoy alcohol sensibly. But as has been evident throughout this pandemic, there is a cohort of people who are so narrow minded they want the world to exist and roll to their ideologies.

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

If it wasn't known before (however, it was to many) the covid pandemic, this country has a really serious drinking problem. I await the posters who will jump on this post. However, no matter what way people try and defend it, it is true and really disturbing. There are people frothing at the mouth waiting to be able to drink indoors again and get absolutely stupid drunk again. The whole "social argument" doesn't cut it. It's a lame excuse. There are plenty of other ways to be social. However, all most people can think of doing in this country to be social is getting $hit faced drunk. It's pure desperation in a way that alcohol is their only "fun" way of being social with friends and family etc. It's a sad state of affairs when all people can think of doing is getting into a pub again. Thankfully I don't fit into this part of the population. I'm not anti drinking before anyone says it, but there is serious alcohol addiction in this country that many won't dare admit too. There is also a major drinking problem in this country to the extent that certain cohorts of society won't acknowledge it and will fight to the death on internet forums to deny it exists.

Hello Tony. Welcome to the forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,987 ✭✭✭normanoffside

Belgium’s pilot Eneas are a bit more ambitious.

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1411760374056095745?s=21

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

b0nk1e wrote: »
    Sixteen months in and we've still people pushing the Saint Tony line, despite the mendacity, the scheming, and now his deliberate and malicious undermining of the vaccination programme itself as an excuse to hammer an industry he despises.

Many people of my generation grew up absolutely bewildered about how the Church managed to have such complete control of national life - and personal lives - for so long. After the last year we're not bewildered any more.

The helpless mewling of a large segment of the population desperate to live in the warm embrace of an authority figure had this country a social outlier in Europe until well into the 90s, and now they have us as an outlier in the world.

The only country in Europe where leaving the country is a criminal offence (it stopped being a criminal offence in East Germany thirty years ago). The only country in Europe where it is forbidden to eat a cheese sandwich in a cafe.

And all because of the ego of one deeply flawed individual who nevertheless has managed to whip himself up a group of disciples who hang on his every word.

Astonishing.

16 months in and Holohan still has NPHET meeting in secret with only edited minutes being made available to the public, yet these meetings are delivering significant economic and social restrictions on the lives of a people who are almost all vaccinated. Why aren't these meetings broadcast? What have they to hide? Are we going to have to wait ten years - again - for the truth to filter out about what this guy has decided the public should know?

Jfc Did you actually read the stuff you've written there?

The problem with this whole sh1t show is that the national conversation was dominated by a cohort of professionals who were not affected financially by this pandemic and in particular, un-talented multi-millionaires from RTE

• Registered Users Posts: 16,020 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

gozunda wrote: »

Well in fairness, you have stated several times you have no personal opinion on what is happening and you will follow exactly what nphet say, so I think your a prime example of what the poster is talking about.

What's wrong with getting drunk every so often anyway, how many great stories start off with do you remember the time we read them books sober.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭maxamillius

Threads upon threads on this, the reality is we need to move on and put this behind us, it’s not going away, people will be affected, people will die, some close to us, some not.
    We are never going to achieve zero covid nor are we ever going to change those who don’t want a vaccines mind, stop trying, everyone is different and everyone entitled to there opinion.
    Would we rather hide away or keep on moving with our short time on the planet.
    For the greater good I think it’s time to open up and move on. Personal opinion and not looking for an argument!!

In fairness? No that's simlly bs.

But rather than argue the point - you've decided to make a personal swipe ...

And to that - that's yet even more things which were never said. I believe there's one instance where I stated I had not made up my mind after being hounded for an answer on something irrelevant to what was being discussed.

But yes go ahead - do please link to where I state I "will follow exactly what nphet say"..

Nobody hounded you for anything, you have been very vocal on here and anytime anyone asked you for your own personal opinion, you didn't have one. After 18 months you surely have an opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Nphet not meeting the hospitality sector tomorrow.
    Funny that.

niallo27 wrote: »
    Nobody hounded you for anything, you have been very vocal on here and anytime anyone asked you for your own personal opinion, you didn't have one. After 18 months you surely have an opinion.

Incorrect.

Edit: welcome to the ignore list.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,843 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

He's not exactly wrong is he...

This country spent decades under the authoritarian and puritanical (but also deeply hypocritical) rule of the Catholic Church at the cost of massive damage to our society, children, and general progress when compared with the rest of Europe and indeed most of the world.

Hmmm.. Now what does that remind us of? More on that later...

As for Holohan himself...

He has an issue with alcohol consumption in this country. That's on record from speeches he made a decade ago.

He's an individual who doesn't like to be challenged or even questioned. That's on record from his responses to journalists at the pressers over the recent months.

He's found himself in a position where he can effectively combine both to strong arm the elected Government into compliance with his "recommendations". That's on record from his infamous return that Sunday night and our immediate bounce into level 5, not to mention his tweets on people socialising in Dublin (although who knows what he did or didn't see - it was very much like "Enda Kenny and the Man With Two Pints" really), or how he and his colleagues start leaking their recommendations and concerns just before the Government is due to meet to decide the next steps.

All told, it's not at all unlike the authority and influence that a Catholic Archbishop would have had not all that long ago.

To quote a line from Escape from LA (ironically a movie whose central premise was about LA County having separated from the rest of the US and where citizens were held captive by an authoritarian government and puritanical president*) - "The more things change, the more they stay the same!"

(* and yes of course it was just a movie, and entertaining enough at that, but as they say too.. Sometimes truth can indeed be stranger than fiction!)

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    He's not exactly wrong is he...

This country spent decades under the authoritarian and puritanical (but also deeply hypocritical) rule of the Catholic Church at the cost of massive damage to our society, children, and general progress when compared with the rest of Europe and indeed most of the world.

Hmmm.. Now what does that remind us of? More on that later...

As for Holohan himself...

He has an issue with alcohol consumption in this country. That's on record from speeches he made a decade ago.

He's an individual who doesn't like to be challenged or even questioned. That's on record from his responses to journalists at the pressers over the recent months.

He's found himself in a position where he can effectively combine both to strong arm the elected Government into compliance with his "recommendations". That's on record from his infamous return that Sunday night and our immediate bounce into level 5, not to mention his tweets on people socialising in Dublin (although who knows what he did or didn't see - it was very much like "Enda Kenny and the Man With Two Pints" really), or how he and his colleagues start leaking their recommendations and concerns just before the Government is due to meet to decide the next steps.

All told, it's not at all unlike the authority and influence that a Catholic Archbishop would have had not all that long ago.

To quote a line from Escape from LA (ironically a movie whose central premise was about LA County having separated from the rest of the US and where citizens were held captive by an authoritarian government and puritanical president*) - "The more things change, the more they stay the same!"

(* and yes of course it was just a movie, and entertaining enough at that, but as they say too.. Sometimes truth can indeed be stranger than fiction!)

Honest opinion? It reads like something you'd hear in Speakers Corner in Hyde Park.

Look I get it that people are deeply resentful of his position atm and don't like his opinions. I can understand that to a certain extent. I dont agree with everything either but he's never going to be Mr. Congeniality. And likely he desperately needs a PR advisor and to stay away from the cesspit which is social media.

As to the CC - lots of countries have had issue with religion but jaysus the constant comparisons as a stick to beat anyone not agreeing here are just bizarre. That and the endless character assinations are completely puerile at best.

lawred2 wrote: »
    Murals.

What a sad shower of fanatics we have inhabiting this country..

Yes, sadly we had a mural a while back of Jim Jones.... I mean Tony, that has been since removed since his part in the Cervical Scandal was revealed.

1812941_2_articlelarge_bn-994988_de9191afd2be440682a76a03847bfad6.jpg

bear1 wrote: »
    Nphet not meeting the hospitality sector tomorrow.
    Funny that.

Priveleged b@stards cant face the people whose livelihoods they have destroyed for 16 months.

What drives me around the bend is that they have tried to discredit actual virologists from Harvard. Their insatiable thirst for power won't waver for a second.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Threads upon threads on this, the reality is we need to move on and put this behind us, it’s not going away, people will be affected, people will die, some close to us, some not.
    We are never going to achieve zero covid nor are we ever going to change those who don’t want a vaccines mind, stop trying, everyone is different and everyone entitled to there opinion.
    Would we rather hide away or keep on moving with our short time on the planet.
    For the greater good I think it’s time to open up and move on. Personal opinion and not looking for an argument!!

I'm not sure about coercing those who are not concerned about vaccine. I think you can make people take it.

The purpose of this touted vaccine passport for dining etc is only there to corral young people to go and get their vaccine.
    The rule itself will never actually be enacted but it doesn't have to. It only has to drive sufficient numbers of young people in the mean time to get vaccinated.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Priveleged b@stards cant face the people whose livelihoods they have destroyed for 16 months.

What drives me around the bend is that they have tried to discredit actual virologists from Harvard. Their insatiable thirst for power won't waver for a second.

And yet we've a government and some on here that would praise them no matter what.

bear1 wrote: »
    And yet we've a government and some on here that would praise them no matter what.

overheard a customer and a colleague praising the great job he has done the other day. I wanted to projectile vomit everywhere

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭Fils

We are as a country getting obsessed with indoor dining. Is anyone cooking some spuds and bacon anymore?

Let's open everything tomorrow - you're clearly an alcoholic.

Let's follow the govt advice - you're clearly a bootlicker.

The reality is probably somewhere in between. For a lot of people, working from home etc, the last 15 months haven't been that bad.

Probably the best thing I've seen is people contacting their TDs.

Oh well, another week beckons. Make love, not war.

But, you know, socially distance that sh×t.