Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

seamus wrote: »
    We absolutely cannot follow the UK's lead on anything. If it wasn't for the political fallout, they would have gone with the "let the bodies pile high" approach.

Even today, Johnson is going to say "we have to learn to live with covid", which is his way of saying, "Many of you will die, but that is a sacrifice I am willing to make".

The uncomfortable truth is that is something that will eventually have to be factored in. We can't prevent people dying from Covid, it's ****ing ridiculous to even pursue a goal of that especially those over the average life expectancy, by making every healthy person in the country pause their own lives for 18 months+. At some point, it needs to come to personal responsibility - if you are high risk of dying from it, stay out of places that you might pick it up.

Other countries seem to shoulder and acknowledge that consequence a lot better than we ever will.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,059 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Not at all - one dose was known to be almost as effective as two does at that point in time. Fully vaccinated didn't really matter. In fact there was a push to skip second doses entirely at that point to get the entire population one dose as that was thought likely to give maximum societal protection and limit spread.

That was the British / UK spin. They have mainly used AZ and chose to put one vaccine into as many as possible. We followed like slaves as usual whilst other EU states eschewed the AZ vaccine completely.

It's not as if there was not considerable controversy when this strategy was announced.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Responder XY

Furze99 wrote: »
    It's not just frustrating Seamus. I am genuinely angry that the state has knowingly exposed us both to extra risk from Covid and obliged us to take more vaccines than necessary. There are a lot of people very pissed off about it.

You are not looking at this rationly. You have the first dose of a very good vaccine. maximum long term protection is achieved from a second dose received after 12 weeks, this is being brought forward as it appears that with delta a second dose is better than just one, even though ideally that second dose should be later to give the best overall protection.

Yes, it is frustrating the way that worked out. But that doesn't make the original plan wrong. It was the right plan, executed the right way and unfortunately as often happens the best laid plans came undone by circumstances outside of anyone's control or knowledge.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Responder XY

Furze99 wrote: »
    That was the British / UK spin. They have mainly used AZ and chose to put one vaccine into as many as possible. We followed like slaves as usual whilst other EU states eschewed the AZ vaccine completely.

It's not as if there was not considerable controversy when this strategy was announced.

It worked out very very well for them - there is no spin involved!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,435 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Another sports event lost as Ireland can't guarantee a crowd for the PDC darts in LATE OCTOBER

MY GOD !!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,355 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

RobitTV wrote: »
    Stephen Donnelly is 100% correct. Ireland must follow Iran and Belarus and begin shutting down social media and online forums. Any criticism of NPHET is totally unacceptable. It should be a criminal offence.

This country is like some sort of parody of itself.

5fi3or.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 18,438 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Stephen Donnelly has expressed his 'disappointment' and 'discomfort' with the way in which members of the public have been critical of NPHET online

NPHET are the real victims in all of this. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

The reopening of indoor dining last Summer, led directly to the surge in cases that required us to re-impose restrictions again in early October.

So, we would all agree that it would be foolish to just reopen indoor dining again in exactly the same way, because you'll just get the same results. And we're starting from a case load that's 10 times higher than it was last year.

In effect you're asking, "Why aren't we making the same mistakes we made last year?"

Ye know what youre right, if only we had vaccines or something like that!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

OwenM wrote: »
    They are doing 330K doses a day (200k 2nd vaccine doses a day), with ~50% of the eligible population fully vaccinated already. The relationship between cases and hospitalisation is very different.
    Sure. So the UK at their current rates are about a month away from hitting 60% fully vaccinated.

Everything else being equal and assuming the doubling rate remains stable, they're looking at 4,000 in hospital and 600 in ICU at that point. For us that's the equivalent of 300/50. Which is not terrible.

But 60% is an assumption. And a big one given that the UK are only using Astrazenca. They most likely will require much higher vax rates to properly flatten the numbers.

The other assumption is that the growth in hospital numbers doesn't accelerate between now and then. It already has, and if the UK reopens on the 19th, it will accelerate again. The numbers I give above are optimistic estimates of the UK situation on 1st August.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,662 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Sure. So the UK at their current rates are about a month away from hitting 60% fully vaccinated.

Everything else being equal and assuming the doubling rate remains stable, they're looking at 4,000 in hospital and 600 in ICU at that point. For us that's the equivalent of 300/50. Which is not terrible.

But 60% is an assumption. And a big one given that the UK are only using Astrazenca. They most likely will require much higher vax rates to properly flatten the numbers.

The other assumption is that the growth in hospital numbers doesn't accelerate between now and then. It already has, and if the UK reopens on the 19th, it will accelerate again. The numbers I give above are optimistic estimates of the UK situation on 1st August.

The UK are not only using AstraZeneca?

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

https://www.hamburg.de/nachrichten-hamburg/15239202/80-prozent-der-positiven-corona-schnelltests-falsch-positiv/
    80 percent of the positive corona rapid tests are false-positive

While it was just over half in the first week of May, 80 percent of people with a positive corona rapid test result were not infected by the second week of June, as the Senate's response to a small request from the CDU parliamentary group shows. In the weeks in between, the proportion of false-positive results determined by the PCR test climbed from 52 to 69 and 71 to 75 percent.

If 'Ze Germans' cant get the antigen tests right, I don't expect the Irish to do any better. Time to stop worrying about cases all together.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The UK are not only using AstraZeneca?
    No, but it's the vast majority last I checked? Seems to be very difficult to find any kind of breakdown by type for the UK. Maybe that's deliberate.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Snooker Loopy

niallo27 wrote: »
    So would you have stayed in level 5 for the last 18 months. People trying to make a living and you are calling it ranting.

I call what goes on here among a cohort of posters ranting because that's exactly what it is, no facts or evidence can ever be good enough for them.

At the same time this cohort claims anybody who disagrees with them is "ranting".

At the heart of that hypocrisy is an authoritarian attempt by the "open it up" cult to shout down anybody who disagrees with them.

That's not a surprise given the clear links to far right politics among so much of the worldwide Covid denier lobby, it's exactly what you'd expect.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,403 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

Interesting developments from Singapore...

It's hardly comparing like with like..

They have a 7 day average of 59 cases, and have administrated 5.7m vaccines.

They've had 36 deaths since Covid started. Only 8 this year!

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭ShadowTech

I call what goes on here among a cohort of posters ranting because that's exactly what it is, no facts or evidence can ever be good enough for them.

At the same time this cohort claims anybody who disagrees with them is "ranting".

At the heart of that hypocrisy is an authoritarian attempt by the "open it up" cult to shout down anybody who disagrees with them.

That's not a surprise given the clear links to far right politics among so much of the worldwide Covid denier lobby, it's exactly what you'd expect.

“Cult”, “far right”, “worldwide Covid denier lobby”… You ARE ranting and this kind of stuff belongs with the other conspiracy theories. This is no better than the people acting like Covid is just the flu.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,007 ✭✭✭Shelga

"Open it up cult" is just :rolleyes: as a term. How is it cult-like to say that we have clearly reached a point where we, as a society, need to have a serious conversation around acceptable risk?

Or do you think it's perfectly acceptable for the government to refuse to provide dates or any kind of plan for the hospitality and aviation industries, unlike any other country in Europe?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭DylanJM

Sobit1964 wrote: »
    https://www.hamburg.de/nachrichten-hamburg/15239202/80-prozent-der-positiven-corona-schnelltests-falsch-positiv/

If 'Ze Germans' cant get the antigen tests right, I don't expect the Irish to do any better. Time to stop worrying about cases all together.

Is there similar stats for false negatives?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

The UK has 63.8% fully vaccinated right now. Vaccines aren't being administered to anyone under 18 unless special conditions for 16-17 y/o's I believe.

AstraZeneca is not the only vaccine used. Pfizer and Moderna are used too. Theres already been 27 million Pfizer doses given. Nobody under 40 is currently being given AstraZeneca but a lot under 40 were already given it before they changed the guidance.

As of ONS data on June 7th, approx 86% of adults had antibodies, be it from vaccination or infection. That was a month ago now, you'd imagine their newest entry will show an even higher percentage.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Archeron

Ireland and Northern Ireland report over 1000 new cases!!

Combined. I guess 1000 is the magic scary number, so if we can't get to it on our own just yet, let's lump in another regions numbers with it. these roi and Ni numbers have been reported separately since this whole thing began, but sure let's change that now, who'll notice anyway. The media are being so fukcing obvious with the manipulation and this is without doubt damaging the vaccine rollout.

Ps. Dear minister Donnelly. I'm really sorry if our nasty words are hurting your feel feels. If it makes you feel any better I AM HAVING A WONDERFUL TIME AND POSTED THIS ENTIRELY ON MY OWN WITH NO GOVERNMENT SUGGESTIONS.
    My best friend who died last month after a delayed cancer diagnosis isn't having as much a good time though. I'm not being flippant writing this either, I am heartbroken at losing a good friend who has left his young family behind and I am equally fukcing furious at the complete shambles they are making of this. And they have the gall to say they are disappointed that people are upset at what's happening. Read the room Donnelly, you are making an utter bollix of this whole thing and it will be your legacy. May your ineptitude and that of all your co-muppets haunt you forever.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

They’ve started reported the figures for NI and ROI together just in case there’s any gombeen out there who’ll think it’s all down south and spread the fear.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,067 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

OwenM wrote: »
    They are doing 330K doses a day (200k 2nd vaccine doses a day), with ~50% of the eligible population fully vaccinated already.

No, the UK is at 50% of the total population fully vaccinated.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭bloopy

Leftwaffe wrote: »
    They’ve started reported the figures for NI and ROI together just in case there’s any gombeen out there who’ll think it’s all down south and spread the fear.

They did this last year as well when the cases dropped fairly low.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

You better get on to the rest of Europe thats opened up so and let them know about the links to the far right and the worldwide Covid denier lobby!!

Feckin fascists the lot of em!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,539 ✭✭✭brickster69

“The earth is littered with the ruins of empires that believed they were eternal.”

- Camille Paglia

• Registered Users Posts: 6,037 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Stephen Donnelly is 100% correct. Ireland must follow Iran and Belarus and begin shutting down social media and online forums. Any criticism of NPHET is totally unacceptable. It should be a criminal offence.

This country is like some sort of parody of itself.

Nice of Donnelly to defend his friends in NPHET

Can't be critical of our experts

If only he'd defend the public interest as much

• Registered Users Posts: 6,037 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

At least they have indoor hospitality

"Measures that will remain include bars and restaurants being limited to table service, limits of 20 people on gatherings in private homes, and restrictions on adult recreational sports."

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭Timmy O Toole

Can ye stop with the obsessive use of the word cohorts.

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭jakiah

Norway pauses FULL REOPENING for a few weeks

Indoor dining is open, 3000 allowed at festivals. Only 37% vaccinated too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

30% of posts on this thread:

In [country x] they're licking eachothers ar5es clean instead of using toilet paper.

Meanwhile in Ireland taking a sh!te is banned until we have at least 54.763% of the population fully vaccinated because the HSE didn't use the last 16 months to procure more bog roll.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,040 ✭✭✭✭rob316

https://twitter.com/IrishTimesWorld/status/1411999565297819655?s=20

Look at this rubbish headline. If you actually read the article then you'll learn the following.

-tested 40 hours before the event
    - tests weren't supervised so were naturally tampered with and certs were screenshot and shared around
    - certs were given out straight after vaccination as opposed to the recommended 2 weeks

This is the sort of crap that NPHET will use as an example against the use of anti gen testing and the "dangers" still there after vaccination.

The headline should be "Dutch nightclub ****s up test event"