Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 38,349 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Next election, remember this and bury the government and all of these privileged, government-funded institutions who tried to deny you your livelihood.

Yeah and they will have the cheek of going door to door canvassing and promising this and that

• Registered Users Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

I just had another gawk at the vaccine figures and death stats and this announcement today is making less and less sense to me.

Nearly 4 million vaccinated.
    Nearly all over 70's have 2 doses and nearly half of 60-69 have 2 doses
    Nearly Everyone between 50 and 60 has 2 doses.
    Nearly Everyone over 40 has at least one dose.
    Of all the deaths in total 87% had underlying conditions plus anyone over 30 with a serious underlying condition most likely now has already got 2 doses.
    Of all deaths less than 3% were under 55

How in the name of jaysus could NPHETS worst case predictions be possible? Honest question.

https://ibb.co/tJCH6T3
    https://ibb.co/M1FSTLb

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭newhouse87

https://twitter.com/higginsdavidw/status/1409962180393451528

Rinse and repeat, worried about the schools now re-opening again, not a hope pubs will be open to young people anytime soon. Im sure the pubs want young adults drinking rather then the vaccinated 70 plus cohort, not many elders like the mark up on jagerbombs.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,589 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Phishnet wrote: »
    When will the FDA and the EDA approve these vaccines. Presently, all such vaccines for Covid 19 are unapproved. That is why you sign a disclaimer (waiver) when you get vaccinated. The truth of the matter is that those currently vaccinated are the human guinea pigs in the study of medium and long term effects of the vaccines. They have no recourse to seek damages from the State or Big Pharma should they have serious side effects associated with the particular vaccine taken.

By the way, I am all for vaccines, just I like approved ones.

Dunno what your on about.

I signed absolutely nothing before my vaccine. Didn't register for one, didn't put my name on anything

• Registered Users Posts: 18,244 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

When will the FDA and the EDA approve these vaccines. Presently, all such vaccines for Covid 19 are unapproved. That is why you sign a disclaimer (waiver) when you get vaccinated. The truth of the matter is that those currently vaccinated are the human guinea pigs in the study of medium and long term effects of the vaccines. They have no recourse to seek damages from the State or Big Pharma should they have serious side effects associated with the particular vaccine taken.

What waiver?

1. Advertisement
    2. Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

When will the FDA and the EDA approve these vaccines. Presently, all such vaccines for Covid 19 are unapproved. That is why you sign a disclaimer (waiver) when you get vaccinated.

You'd make a much better point if people were asked to sign a waiver to get vaccinated.

3. Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

https://twitter.com/RiochtConor2/status/1409988135287767040?s=19

Absolutely no increase in deaths. It's just so unfortunate that this HSE Data Hacking won't give us access to the death numbers here and won't likely for the future. So unfortunate.

If you're interested here's the ECDC modeling in relation to projected rise in case, hospitalisations and death rates due to the Delta variant

See: https://t.co/snmcuduiD0?amp=1
      The probability that SARS-CoV-2 Delta VOC becomes rapidly dominant in the EU/EEA is considered very high.

Based on the estimated transmission advantage of the Delta variant, 70% of new SARS-CoV-2 infections in the EU/EEA as of early August are projected to be due to this variant. As a consequence, based on available evidence, there is a very high probability that there will be a surge of SARS-CoV-2 infections in the community. This assessment is based on information available to ECDC at the time of publication and the assessment.

Simulations show that there is a large risk associated with rapidly lifting NPIs (ie restrictions) in the presence of a more
      transmissible variant. While a fast relaxation of NPI stringency could lead to a fast and significant increase in daily cases, hospitalisations, and deaths, keeping current NPI stringency, while continuing or even accelerating vaccination rollout to those most at risk of severe outcomes, can help keep them low. Under different scenarios and unless NPI measures are maintained, a high increase in both hospitalisations and deaths is possible (green and orange scenario in Figures 3, 5, 6), potentially reaching levels of last autumn if no additional measures are taken. Furthermore, entering autumn with such high incidence could pose an additional risk as school re-opening and
      associated adult contact patterns together with climate factors, are expected to further increase transmission rates.

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1409975770898907139?s=20

4. Posts: 0 [Deleted User]

One of the four who worked on this paper (the case projection modelling which Nphet are using) had previous groundbreaking work on Snooker Rankings and Fantasy Football.

https://twitter.com/ChristinaKsci/status/1409811206056165376

5. Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭PuddingBreath

It's pretty clear this pathetic excuse of a government won't stand up to criminals, young scum running a muc in our city for years, now lump NHPET in with that.

i think they are using nhpet as an excuse, fukkers working hand in glove

Weak cowards.

Country has gone to the dogs. Gardai cancelling 1000s of calls for distressed callers. They couldn't care less.

shur, haven't they more important things to do like stand on the side of the road with a speed gun on a motorway slip road or fake another couple of million breath tests to claim overtime.... never paid that overtime back did they ? ok for them to steal i guess?

That story is now buried since King Tony has grabbed the limelight.

Whos actually running the show?

no one in ireland has any real power, if they step out of line then the money markets will dry up, then we would see what really would happen if the irish governement worked for the people...we would be destroyed by external forces.
      for example, if sinn fein get into power and they want to borrow more money to build houses, i bet ya the "markets" wouldn't "like" that and our interest rates would go up and our rating on financial markets go down.

Who in power actually cares about its citizens????

the CIA(not actually skitting, probably close to the truth) and no one in the dail as far as i can tell cares a jot

Utterly depressing.
      agree, but people are getting livid and normally peaceful people are boiling with rage, there could be serious injuries to guards and people at the next protest, that's not a threath, it's an observation. people who have worked hard all their lives and that aren't professional protestors will be out on the steet now, people who never protested before...and they are not wusses. i would ask polietly that the guards and judicary step up now and help call a halt to this regime. we need to have new elections immediatly and we need to sack a large chunk of the civil service directly afterwards. we now have had 2 disaster in just over a decade and nothing has changed in ireland, it's only getting worse, no real reform, living standards dropping, our healthcare was already wrecked before coof. we're just following the same playbook that the are doing to their citizens in the USA, the UK etc. failing healthcare, housing as a commidity not a need, workers rights being eroded etc etc

6. Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

The person who vaccinated you read over certain declarations and asked you did you understand same. He/she then become the witness that you were given the proper advices and warnings.

Nope

7. Advertisement
    8. Registered Users Posts: 18,244 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

The person who vaccinated you read over certain declarations and asked you did you understand same. He/she then become the witness that you were given the proper advices and warnings. Speeds up the process.

Read the six pages document on HSE.IE

CONSENT FOR VACCINATION FOR COVID-19 GUIDING PRINCIPLES

So no signing of a waiver as you claimed. Glad you cleared that up.

Btw my doctor didn't read over anything before I got my vaccine.

9. Registered Users Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭basill

Denny61 wrote: »
      We the public voted in these politicians.this does not give them a mandate to run roughshod over us ..I day .all businesses in hospitality open up for indoor dining.regardless...lets see if the gardai try to close all of them down . there will be revolts all over the place.. the government dare not take a step further..as there will be such a back lash ..so I'm saying.we the public.are the ones who create.our own destiny..so 5th of July..I say open up ...end of

Actually we didn't really vote them in. The country was run for approximately 140 days by civil servants as we had no elected government. It then became a power sharing agreement in order to exclude Sinn Fein at all costs. Pre election promises that secured the votes went straight out the door.

10. Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

One of the four who worked on this paper (the case projection modelling which Nphet are using) had previous groundbreaking work on Snooker Rankings and Fantasy Football.
      https://twitter.com/ChristinaKsci/status/1409811206056165376

Did they? Tbh I dont see that referenced?

That comes across as a barely disguised- "I'm a PhD researcher - so there tweet"

11. Subscribers Posts: 41,589 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

The person who vaccinated you read over certain declarations and asked you did you understand same. He/she then become the witness that you were given the proper advices and warnings. Speeds up the process.

Read the six pages document on HSE.IE

CONSENT FOR VACCINATION FOR COVID-19 GUIDING PRINCIPLES

Yes of course.

Same as how I hit "accept" for my Google chrome update.... Outlining the terms and conditions that permeate everything we do these days.

Never had to sign any waiver though, as was said earlier.

12. Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

He/she was meant to.

Nonsense

There are at least 3 people that read exactly the same checklist to you as you're processed at the MVC for your first dose.

There's nothing in any of it that even comes close to a waiver.

If you're claiming otherwise I assume you'll have no problem linking to a credible source somewhere.

13. Registered Users Posts: 18,244 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

actually. vaccines. don't. work.

it's in their own bloody figures, they work (so they say)sometimes or is your contention that they are 100% fail safe.

Also, vaccines. HARM. sometimes.
      particularly these ones with insufficient testing
      https://www.openvaers.com/covid-data 6136 dead in the usa alone already from the covid vaccines... maybe i faked all those reports myself ?

why would they not check people for antibodies before vaccination and then afterwards? would more information on the virus and vaccinations not be a good thing or are they trying to avoid something ?

You do realize that VAERS is an unsubstantiated reporting site open to anyone to log whatever they want right?

https://www.google.com/amp/s/mobile.reuters.com/article/amp/idUSL1N2MZ2H8

14. Subscribers Posts: 41,589 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Those old terms and conditions are sometimes quite important. Most people don’t even read the t and c’s in their mortgage loan offer (probably the biggest financial transaction in their life), but that is why the general public is often referred to as sheep.

Or people are actually told that the golden goose doesn't actually lay golden eggs, and the vaccine you are about to receive doesn't guarantee 100% protection... And can have the odd side effect

But its fine doc.... I knew that already.

Jab away

15. Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭bfa1509

Here's a depressing calculation for you:

(1.5/your age)*100 = the percentage of your life you've spent under "restrictions"

(1.5/82)*100 = 1.8% of your entire expected lifespan spent (so far) under "restrictions"

We are on this earth how many times again?

16. Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Most people don’t even read the t and c’s in their mortgage loan offer

I am that person that reads all the policy documents, offer documents, financial documents etc etc etc.

I can say with confidence there was nothing resembling a waiver required to get vaccinated.

You will have no problem linking to the Ts & Cs you're referring to......

17. Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

sydthebeat wrote: »

Or people are actually told that the golden goose doesn't actually lay golden eggs, and the vaccine you are about to receive doesn't guarantee 100% protection... And can have the odd side effect

But its fine doc.... I knew that already.

Jab away

Yup, that's informed consent.

No waiver of any rights required.

18. Advertisement
    19. Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

When will the FDA and the EDA approve these vaccines

You mean the US Food and Drug Administration
      And the European Defence Agency ?
      Presently, all such vaccines for Covid 19 are unapproved. That is why you sign a disclaimer (waiver) when you get vaccinated. The truth of the matter is that those currently vaccinated are the human guinea pigs in the study of medium and long term effects of the vaccines. They have no recourse to seek damages from the State or Big Pharma should they have serious side effects associated with the particular vaccine taken.

Are they?
      Vaccines are tested for safety and effectiveness before they can be used. The HSE only uses a vaccine if it meets the required standards of safety and effectiveness.

https://www2.hse.ie/screening-and-vaccinations/covid-19-vaccine/rollout/covid-19-vaccine-development/

20. Registered Users Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭MOH

basill wrote: »
      Actually we didn't really vote them in. The country was run for approximately 140 days by civil servants as we had no elected government. It then became a power sharing agreement in order to exclude Sinn Fein at all costs. Pre election promises that secured the votes went straight out the door.

Thanks, but it's little comfort that at least some things remain completely normal

21. Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

agree, but people are getting livid and normally peaceful people are boiling with rage, there could be serious injuries to guards and people at the next protest, that's not a threath, it's an observation. people who have worked hard all their lives and that aren't professional protestors will be out on the steet now, people who never protested before...and they are not wusses. i would ask polietly that the guards and judicary step up now and help call a halt to this regime. we need to have new elections immediatly and we need to sack a large chunk of the civil service directly afterwards. we now have had 2 disaster in just over a decade and nothing has changed in ireland, it's only getting worse, no real reform, living standards dropping, our healthcare was already wrecked before coof. we're just following the same playbook that the are doing to their citizens in the USA, the UK etc. failing healthcare, housing as a commidity not a need, workers rights being eroded etc etc

I dont mean to be judgemental but that sounds more like some GO'D would come out with tbf ...

22. Posts: 0 [Deleted User]

Bear in mind, Paul is a firm believer in socialism which led to the brutalisation, oppression and murder of 90m people. It beggars belief as to the type of low IQ moron that would vote this insidious individual into a Dail seat. if he is the opposition, then we are well and truly fúcked.

https://twitter.com/paulmurphy_TD/status/1409629534807375872

23. Registered Users Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Stheno wrote: »
      The smart people in data and analytics do not work in the public sector
      Most of the modellers are students

Likewise high flyers in medicine do not go into public health. We know that the ‘skills’ needed to get to the top and become Chief Medical Officer have nothing to do with medicine. Anyone who has worked in public administration will know how it works.That’s why I just laugh when I hear Tony described as an expert.

24. Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

Apparently an FOI request turned up this gem:

https://twitter.com/MarmaladeMax/status/1409777042237890564?s=19

25. Registered Users Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Comment on the Journal made me laugh. Given what Micheal Martin now knows is coming down the tracks, surely he has an obligation to the leaders across Europe to ring and warn them.

26. Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Bsharp wrote: »
      Yep, they've committed to developing a plan that will set how they implement the plan. That's not anytime soon.

And that's why a protest is needed

27. Posts: 0 [Deleted User]

TomTomTim wrote: »

I hate Twitter. But it has a wonderful knack for exposing our 'intelligentsia' for the empty vessels they are.

28. Advertisement
    29. Registered Users Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭hamburgham

And that's why a protest is needed

Yes and seeing as most people are getting the vaccines, however reluctantly, anti vaxxer can’t be used to undermine or belittle any protesters. Last year anyone who considered protesting was terrified of being associated with them.