Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

I hope NPHET don't over-react to the heatwave in Canada, or we won't be allowed outdoor dining at all next.

It'll be like the time Mr.Burns wanted to block out the sun.

Another Simpsons reference here :pac:

https://twitter.com/BrianOliverIrl/status/1409625294567264256

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Given the fact that they're waiting for more UK data I'm wondering if government themselves even give the NPHET models any credibility now. If they were solid they'd stand behind them. They're clearly neither
    Yeah, the NIAC revelation doesn't help. I doubt they do believe them, nobody else does! I think they are hoping the UK data will give them an out from the other problem, digital cert recommendation.

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭B2021M

Extraordinary stuff.

Last Friday/Sat...things look positive...perhaps a small delay needed to 19 July.

Mon night....700,000 cases possible in next three months.

Now...possible return in mid July depending on UK data.

Did they not know they would have new UK data due when they made yesterday's decision? And in such a fast changing environment does the UK data really tell us anything yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

They've done some amount of climbing down today already

"In a meeting with industry representatives on Wednesday afternoon, the Government delegation led by Taoiseach Micheál Martin, told representatives of the hospitality industry they were expecting new data from the UK on deaths and hospitalisations associated with the highly transmissible variant.

If they are lower than the Nphet modelling – which predicted 800,000 cases and 2,000 deaths by winter under a worst-case scenario – then an earlier return to indoor dining and drinking that currently envisaged could occur.

A date as early as July 19th was mentioned at the meeting, according to sources who are familiar with its discussions.

It is also understood that publicans and restaurant groups were told that the vaccine certificate for indoor dining may never be needed, but that the Government feels it would be useful to develop it in case the Delta variant has a more detrimental impact than expected."

https://twitter.com/IrishTimes/status/1410290753822150660?s=19

It's actually a joke. They've also mentioned looking at antigen testing today but ruled it out yesterday. They'll say anything to take the pressure off themselves but in the end they won't disagree with NPHET.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,062 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I have to say if I were in the restaurant or pub sector now I'd be getting commitments from fellow owners to all open on Monday 5th anyway, subject to good COVID protocols on site and let the Government know that the sector will police itself according to the evidence.

We know now that everyone over 40 and all vulnerable groups have been offered and had at least one dose. In fact all 40-50 will have their second dose in the next 10 days.

Beyond that, we are into low risk groups, or the vaccine hesitant. And so, a greater degree of personal responsibility comes into play, to either isolate yourself, or if you're under 30, to limit your own indoor public activity until you get the option to vaccinate shortly.

In the meantime there are several million fully protected folks ready to jump start this economy again. They should be let do so.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Hub D15

It is time for NPHET to be disbanded and our country to get back to living without restrictions.

The first waves have been reduced. The vaccine has been rolled out to older groups. It's summertime. This is as good as it gets considering this winter virus is now here to stay.

If the elderly Fine Fail voters want to continue restrictions to benefit them, then let them pay for it by cutting pensions. If they can't afford that, then welcome to the real world decisions; these measures have to be paid for and that is the problem, they are not affordable.

The real risk to Ireland is no longer from Covid. It is from the killing of Ireland's economy, livelihoods, and way of life by a government that has forgotten that a risk strategy involves balancing competing risks, not increasing all other risks in a futile attempt to avoid one single risk. You don't ban all roads to avoid road deaths. Likewise you can't ban our society to avoid Covid.

The time to end all Covid restrictions has come.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,235 ✭✭✭✭km79

So in summary as we head into July the governments plan is/remains
    “Let’s see what happens in the UK”

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21 cluelessbuyer9

Biggest genocide in history right before our eyes

Apparently Martin notified the opposition that AZ/J&J vaccine use in younger populations was included in NPHETs doom projections.

That turns out to be false. NPHET have confirmed today that the projections do not include the substantial increased vaccinations from AZ/J&J.

In other words, Martin based the decision to delay hospitality on false information.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

26,000 cases of Covid yesterday in U.K.

Hospitalisation reduced by 4

Does Any NEPHET ensemble Look like that ?

Hospitalisations steady?

Wouldn’t find that on a NPHET model

• Registered Users Posts: 9,987 ✭✭✭normanoffside

26,000 cases of Covid yesterday in U.K.

Hospitalisation reduced by 4

Does Any NEPHET ensemble Look like that ?

Their daily deaths are averaging 17/day which is the equivalent of 1 per day here.
    It's been static around this level for 2 months now

NPHET think we will average 24 deaths a day over 3 months in a worst case scenario and in a 'normal' scenario it will between 6-14 deaths per day.

Unless the UK deaths immediately multiply bay a factor or 6-24 times in the next few weeks and stays at those levels for the next 3 months then NPHET are by a long way wrong.

It really doesn't take an expert to look at our closest neighbours who are 6 weeks ahead of us both in terms of reopening and spread of Delta to realise the NPHET projections (even the best case ones) are off the wall completely.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,434 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

The clue is in your first half of your name.
    Genocide? You’re obviously half an IQ above an amoeba to say that,

• Registered Users Posts: 6,694 ✭✭✭Allinall

Biggest hyperbole in the thread.

^^^^^^. Right there.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,478 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Don't see the point in sending an email to Michael Martin, his boss Tony is likely monitoring and censoring his inbox so it is unlikely he would ever see it.

B2021M wrote: »
    Extraordinary stuff.

Last Friday/Sat...things look positive...perhaps a small delay needed to 19 July.

Mon night....700,000 cases possible in next three months.

Now...possible return in mid July depending on UK data.

Did they not know they would have new UK data due when they made yesterday's decision? And in such a fast changing environment does the UK data really tell us anything yet?

To put that in perspective we have had 270k cases in 16 months.
    NPHET thinks we could quadruple our case count in 3 months.

Our testing system would collapse (as it has before) before they could even possibly record that many cases.
    At peak they'd have to be recording well over 20,000 cases/day and that's around our PCR testing capacity, so there'd be a 100% positivity rate.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Its depressing how much people are willing to put up with, those tossers in government wouldnt be playing this game if their polling wasnt showing them that people are supportive of it.

Lockdown will be a permanent tool of government now, it will be pulled out every year. HSE in **** during the winter...lets save grand da with a lockdown.

We will sacrifice everything to be told that we're safe.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Snooker Loopy

The "Open It Up Now!" crowd are a mixture of Homer running for sanitation commissioner, Brad Goodman, the "Do What You Feel" guy, and Barney Gumble.

Tony Holohan is Ray Paterson.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Larbre34 wrote: »
    I have to say if I were in the restaurant or pub sector now I'd be getting commitments from fellow owners to all open on Monday 5th anyway, subject to good COVID protocols on site and let the Government know that the sector will police itself according to the evidence.
    This. Tell these eejits to head off and damn their objections. As far as I'm aware we are now the only EU country that doesn't have indoor dining and the sky hasn't fallen in.

And the evidence of 18 months of this shows that even beforehand without vaccines the risks to those not very old, or already chronically ill is very low(there have been some indications that in some populations the risks were higher, but even then it was in the older age demographics). In the under 40's it's been vanishingly low. This pox is also starting to look seasonal. Last summer the numbers in hospital were low too, then spiked in the run up to and after Christmas, just like cold and flu bugs. Whats happening now in Australia? In their winter. I'll be willing to bet we'll see outbreaks in New Zealand too as their winter starts to get a grip. And of course here in Ireland we'll see another spike in the run up to the upcoming Christmas and New Year. The handwringing "advisors" in Nphet will then claim new variants/opened up too quickly and so on. The government cowards covering their well padded arses with an eye to the polls as usual will go along with them and RTE will in a fit of panic onanism back them up. Never mind the same "advisors" were against masks until damned near everyone else was mandating them, the same "advisors" were telling people to visit elderly rellies in homes, homes that were one of the ground zeros of infections and deaths, the same advisors going on about handwashing like they were trying to cause OCD in the population, the same advisors stating that asymptomatic spread wasn't an issue a month after this was widely reported as a threat in medical journals and the press. Never mind the head honcho of "advisors" and his mishandling of a screeing programme that led to the deaths of women who shouldn't have died, who for some mental reason is dead set against antigen tests, tests that are in play everywhere else. You couldn't make this sh1t up. Well it seems in Ireland you don't have to...

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Mullaghteelin

the kelt wrote: »
    I ignored previously all the conspiracy theories about Tony being obsessed with the power and celebrity afforded to him but the longer this goes on the more I wonder.

The phrase "conspiracy theories" is being thrown about like confetti recently and it worries me.
    People debating Holihan's motives by observing and analysing his behaviour over the last year are not conspiracy theorists! Unless having any sort of critical or cynical opinion is now enough to be labelled a nutjob!
    That's a slippery slope to banning all opposition.

The "Open It Up Now!" crowd are a mixture of Homer running for sanitation commissioner, Brad Goodman, the "Do What You Feel" guy, and Barney Gumble.

Ah yes, we are all crazy loons that are just mad to have beers .... I mean its not as indoor dining if its been tried anywhere else or anything :rolleyes:

People think its all about pubs and indoor drinking. What about restaurants and cafes?? How does NPHET justify being able to sit in a dark cinema for a 2/3 hour movie and yet you cant have a cup of tea in a cafe????

The con is over. The lockdown zealots have no defence.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Don't see the point in sending an email to Michael Martin, his boss Tony is likely monitoring and censoring his inbox so it is unlikely he would ever see it.

He'd put it in his mouth and crawl in his doggy door to Tony's office. A pathetic spineless weasel of a man.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Some Ppl need to calm down and realise there is a silent majority right behind the govt and their advisories NPHET

TH is charged with a solemn duty to preserve lives. Never forget it

Another gobdaw who mistakes authority for expertise, Tony knows something that the rest of Europe and the US doesnt. NPHET are so expert that they've out experted all the other experts. Or they're just the typical Irish government clown car covering their own holes.

Tony knows he can keep this country under house arrest just to keep any blame away from his door.

Economy destroyed, lives destroyed, cancer cases undiagnosed, not Tony ****ing Hulahoops problem. Tony saved granny, despite the fact that granny is now as vaccinated as she'll ever be

We get what we deserve.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Dyr wrote: »
    Another gobdaw who mistakes authority for expertise, Tony knows something that the rest of Europe and the US doesnt. NPHET are so expert that they've out experted all the other experts. Or they're just the typical Irish government clown car covering their own holes.

Tony knows he can keep this country under house arrest just to keep any blame away from his door.

Economy destroyed, lives destroyed, cancer cases undiagnosed, not Tony ****ing Hulahoops problem. Tony saved granny, despite the fact that granny is now as vaccinated as she'll ever be

We get what we deserve.

Sorry now but are you a public health expert?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Snooker Loopy

Dyr wrote: »

We get what we deserve.
    Conspiracist nonsense.

It's now the "Open It Up Now!" crowd - the very people who were claiming to have to interests of businesses and jobs at heart, who are saying no to a plan to re-open them.

The "Open It Up" mantra has now changed to "If I can't have my fun, nobody can".

Because "apartheid", or "the Nazis", or something ludicrous like that.

Never go full Eddie Hobbs.

Sorry now but are you a public health expert?

Are you?

Are you saying that every other European nation is getting it wrong?

Along with the US?

You must be a NPHET level expert so.

TheDoctor wrote: »

But there's Gonna be another 2170 in the next 3 months so #holdfirm another while

Conspiracist nonsense.

It's now the "Open It Up Now!" crowd - the very people who were claiming to have to interests of businesses and jobs at heart, who are saying no to a plan to re-open them.

The "Open It Up" mantra has now changed to "If I can't have my fun, nobody can".

Because "apartheid", or "the Nazis", or something ludicrous like that.

Never go full Eddie Hobbs.

I dont drink pal so I wont be having fun in pubs one way or another, take another swing there, see how ye do.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Some Ppl need to calm down and realise there is a silent majority right behind the govt and their advisories NPHET

it

Not according to an Irish Times poll last week
    As restrictions continue to be eased, with further reopening of social and economic life reopening scheduled next month, 50 per cent of respondents say they want the Government to proceed with the full reopening “as quickly as possible”. But 46 per cent say they want the reopening to take place “at a much slower pace”, with 4 per cent not giving a view.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/irish-times-poll-public-split-on-pace-of-lifting-covid-19-restrictions-1.4596630%3fmode=amp