Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

Did 80% of all adults have their first dose by the end of June? Remember there was a big hoopla about that in early may.

Think it ended up at around 70%

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭RunningFlyer

Starting to think this is a coordinated offensive to push younger people to get vaccinated ASAP. Theres no other reason they can be on air all over the stations today coming out with these doom forecasts.

Whereas other countries (eg US) are incentivising young people to get vaccinated, here we are jointly scaring the older ages, whilst telling young people nothing will change or reopen further unless you get your vaccine.

Depressing really when you think about it. Genuinely feels like Catholic Church scandals all over again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭crossman47

TomTomTim wrote: »
    If they think that there's majority support, then they should. That's how democracy is mean to function. We've gotten so used to this bastardized version of democracy, where our masters decide our fate, and not the people, that it's very hard to get back to where democracy is meant to be.

There would be majority support for no taxes but where would that leave us?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭MOR316

SAMTALK wrote: »
    You really think that 1 man has the power to destroy the country ?

Not in relation to Tony Holohan, per say but, this line stuck out to me...

There have been plenty of lone rangers down the years who have destroyed countries or who have tried to

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

timmyntc wrote: »
    There have been numerous large protests throughout the pandemic - not one has been traced to a covid outbreak.
    Outdoor gatherings are low risk.

Agreed outdoors is lower risk but crowded situations are known to increase that risk and why it's necessary to keep to basic precautions and avoid situations where social distancing is difficult.

And whilst risk is lower due to outdoor transmission, in mass gatherings people travel to and from locations together and may engage in other types of close contact

On contract tracing the single biggest issue in tracing contacts at protests to date is that cases cannot be easily traced as in controlled situations such as school or work. The other thing that has changed is that Delta is on average between 40 - 60 % more transmissible...

https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/945978/S0921_Factors_contributing_to_risk_of_SARS_18122020.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

seamus wrote: »
    Protests over covid restrictions are not going to make a blind bit of difference tbh. These are temporary restrictions, the government will just let any protests happen because what's being protested about will be over eventually anyway.

It's not like they're going to suddenly go, "Yeah, some people are annoyed, so we're just going to open the pubs and to hell with the pandemic".

Temporary is such a loaded word though. The restrictions could be with us for 2/3 years and would still technically be “temporary”. Meanwhile people’s lives are being ruined and young people especially are missing out on all the usual rites of passage, normal leaving certs, debs, starting college, going out and socialising, making friends. It’s incredibly cruel IMO that they have to pay the price for government incompetence and an overly cautious CMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,781 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

What actually happens when this fourth wave doesn't destroy the country based on the modelling.

Are they held in anyway accountable for the hundreds or thousands of businesses that have to close and the amount of people who have no job to return to.

Or do they take credit for keeping things closed as the reason it didn't happen.

Does anyone know why despite having indoor hospitality closed we are one of the worst in Europe for number of cases.

The reality is the majority don't care anymore and have been drinking with friends in houses for months because they have nowhere else to go.

Cancelling communions and confirmations, the one I am going to is still going ahead, going to a hotel and then a big crowd of family and friends to a party in a house.

The only thing that has changed is the kids suffer.

Does anyone on nphet understand human behaviour or how normal people live, these are doctors who tell you 3 pints is binge drinking which nobody listens to and these are the people making decisions.

It is a complete mess, maybe they think they are doing the right thing but if a 4th wave does hit badly it will be because of the restrictions and lack of understanding of human behaviour.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,094 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Nuts102 wrote: »
    What actually happens when this fourth wave doesn't destroy the country based on the modelling.

Are they held in anyway accountable for the hundreds or thousands of businesses that have to close and the amount of people who have no job to return to.

Or do they take credit for keeping things closed as the reason it didn't happen.

I mean we already know this answer to that

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Ashdublinc13

What's the end game here? We keep going as we are until the money runs out?

Last year, it was disheartening seeing restrictions in Europe ease at a faster pace than here. Ok last year, some people put it down to the people in charge being cautious. This year?

Offer vaccines to everyone over 18? Summer becomes autumn. Heading towards flu season.Then the vulnerable are offered a boaster. Looking at spring 2022. Then there be more variants and more caution. When do we get the chance to live with covid? To experience life like other Europeans/ Americans again?

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭jakiah

Sure NPHET cant lose, they've modelled all scenarios but are pushing the worst case as the one we need to prepare for. If cases rise they'll say told you so. If they dont they claim it was their measures that saved us all. Government have literally said they'll go along with whatever NPHET say.

The are untouchable, its crazy the amount of power they have at this point.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Restrictions are temporary in the the same way the University Social Charge is temporary.

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭jakiah

What's the end game here?
    There isnt one.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,218 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Protests over covid restrictions are not going to make a blind bit of difference tbh. These are temporary restrictions, the government will just let any protests happen because what's being protested about will be over eventually anyway.

It's not like they're going to suddenly go, "Yeah, some people are annoyed, so we're just going to open the pubs and to hell with the pandemic".

"Some people in a self fulfilling bubble are annoyed"....

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭B2021M

Meanwhile people on booked-out intercity trains (albeit 50% capacity) for 3 or 4 hours at a time..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,868 ✭✭✭acequion

I've kept away from this thread, all media and social media since the latest NPHET dictates on Tuesday for sanity sake. But reading the last few pages in a calmer frame of mind, what strikes me is the usual Irish over caution. This time over protests.Perhaps not caution, rather, innate conservatism, innate apathy, innate despair. In any other country there would be riots. In any other country people wouldn't overthink it so much, they would go with their anger and there is nothing like collective controlled fury to get results and give people back their power.

I fully agree with emails to TDs and have done so. But we need to go a lot further and there needs to be protests in every town and city in this country. Everyone needs to cry STOP here. Because if we don't this will not end. MM fears NPHET and NPHET fear no one. Because they've been allowed to they have gone way beyond their remit and way beyond what is necessary to protect public health and miles beyond what is reasonable and bearable. If they're isn't a serious campaign of opposition now in summer I shudder to think how the winter will be.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Restrictions are temporary in the the same way the University Social Charge is temporary.

VRT - another temporary measure we introduced back in 1992 which was phased out over the following 4 years as planned - right?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,939 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Income tax was initially temporary as well.
    Motor tax was permanently abolished and then added back in a few years

This annexation of Ireland by nphet morons better end soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭OwenM

jakiah wrote: »
    Sure NPHET cant lose, they've modelled all scenarios but are pushing the worst case as the one we need to prepare for. If cases rise they'll say told you so. If they dont they claim it was their measures that saved us all. Government have literally said they'll go along with whatever NPHET say.

The are untouchable, its crazy the amount of power they have at this point.

People only perceive them to have power because of a lack of leadership from Micheal Martin. NPHET advice was waved through because he hides behind them and believes that following their advice insulates him from blame, he's done this his whole career.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

acequion wrote: »
    I've kept away from this thread, all media and social media since the latest NPHET dictates on Tuesday for sanity sake. But reading the last few pages in a calmer frame of mind, what strikes me is the usual Irish over caution. This time over protests.Perhaps not caution, rather, innate conservatism, innate apathy, innate despair. In any other country there would be riots. In any other country people wouldn't overthink it so much, they would go with their anger and there is nothing like collective controlled fury to get results and give people back their power.

I fully agree with emails to TDs and have done so. But we need to go a lot further and there needs to be protests in every town and city in this country. Everyone needs to cry STOP here. Because if we don't this will not end. MM fears NPHET and NPHET fear no one. Because they've been allowed to they have gone way beyond their remit and way beyond what is necessary to protect public health and miles beyond what is reasonable and bearable. If they're isn't a serious campaign of opposition now in summer I shudder to think how the winter will be.

Totally agree - IF there's a protest Saturday that isn't the usual anti vaxx stuff - everyone should tweet their support from their own locations, stand outside closed premises with out of work staff. We need to take a stand and fight back. History shows this will not end well for the Irish people with someone at the helm drunk on power. There is a major power vacuum within Irish Government - which Dr Tony and NPHET have been allowed to fill. The amount of propaganda not backed up by science in the newspapers and across radio over the last two days is sobering. This is far beyond a public health response - and this is not about public health anymore. If it was - we'd be following our peers with reopening looking at our vaccination levels.
    We're either going to live with this or we're not - time for the people to decide.

A view from a friend who works in Dublin Aiport;

Traffic ramping up daily. Passengers from the US no longer have to quarantine and are arriving in increasing numbers each morning straight into the community while Irish holiday makers run the gauntlet of the garda checkpoints to jet off to Spain and Portugal. A few forlorn members of the Defence Forces hovering around the arrivals halls to escort a handful of mostly Irish people MQH. Dublin Airport Authority having made about 1 in 3 staff members redundant is already struggling in some areas to cope with the surge in passengers well in advance of July 19th.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,571 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

SAMTALK wrote: »
    This is the 2nd post on the same lines from you about Tony Holohan

You really think that 1 man has the power to destroy the country ?

It's actually contradictory what you are saying about his "shot at redemption" and then "burning the country to the ground "

His one tweet a few weeks back about young people socializing outside started a massive backlash that brought the riot squad into the streets of Dublin and here we are a few weeks later and no cases to backup his rant.

He should acknowledge that he was wrong and apologize for it..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,571 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

A view from a friend who works in Dublin Aiport;

Traffic ramping up daily. Passengers from the US no longer have to quarantine and are arriving in increasing numbers each morning straight into the community while Irish holiday makers run the gauntlet of the garda checkpoints to jet off to Spain and Portugal. A few forlorn members of the Defence Forces hovering around the arrivals halls to escort a handful of mostly Irish people MQH. Dublin Airport Authority having made about 1 in 3 staff members redundant is already struggling in some areas to cope with the surge in passengers well in advance of July 19th.

You can be sure DAA will try and replace any of those staff with young, cheap and unvaccinated replacements instead of hiring back the previous people

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭MOR316

His one tweet a few weeks back about young people socializing outside started a massive backlash that brought the riot squad into the streets of Dublin and here we are a few weeks later and no cases to backup his rant.

He should have kept his grubby little fingers in his pocket!

He had absolutely no right whatsoever to tweet such a thing!
    He's not the Taoiseach! He's not in Government! He's not the Mayor! He's not even a litter warden ffs!!

Stay in your lane, pal!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

The right kind of protests would. I urge any businesses closed or with their indoor part closed to stand outside them and tweet their support to any genuine protest that occurs - even with some PUP receiving staff if a protest is organised. Time to put faces, families, premises, etc. all over our social media to visualise what is happening.
    Same goes for Communions / Confirmations - they should be going ahead in a remote / safe fashion & advisories given re after parties. NPHET & Government's throwaway remarks about these Sacraments towards children is horrible. Most people have everything booked and are going ahead with the after-parties regardless. The way Government / NPHET are behaving about them in non-sensical. They can happen within current guidelines but have been singled out - NPHET basically said yesterday they don't' trust Stupid Paddy to be responsible, their whole mantra.
    Tweet out the pictures of children in their outfits they don't get to make their Sacrament in. This has all gone too far and the Irish public need to take a stand and push back.

You can be sure DAA will try and replace any of those staff with young, cheap and unvaccinated replacements instead of hiring back the previous people
    Oh of course. Address your concerns to the chief shareholder - Minister for Transport Eamo

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

That's nothing to do with what was posted though

I was referring to the shot at redemption and then the contradiction of burning down the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

I haven't read everything over the last couple of days as there is too much posting, so apologies if this has already been addressed.

If NPHET's advice that only fully vaccinated people are allowed to access indoor dining and drinking is accepted and implemented by government, will they be recommending that these businesses open with zero restrictions, given only vaccinated people can access them?

I suspect I know the answer... If not, why not?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

ELM327 wrote: »
    Income tax was initially temporary as well.
    Motor tax was permanently abolished and then added back in a few years

This annexation of Ireland by nphet morons better end soon.

Jaysus I never knew Nphet brought in income and motor tax :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,218 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

gozunda wrote: »
    Jaysus I never knew Nphet brought in income and motor tax :eek:

You're missing 'road tax', and I also believe mask tax. It's their ruse in order to become rich off their advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭MOH

gozunda wrote: »
    he other thing that has changed is that Delta is on average between 40 - 60 % more transmissible...

Yet in the timeframe that Delta went from 0% to 55% of our cases, our case numbers dropped by 45% to a six month low, our active cases dropped by about 16%, our hospital figures dropped significantly, our death rate hit an 8-month low.

Do you not see any contradiction in that?

Either everyone is wrong about the increased transmissibility (highly unlikely), NPHETs estimates of the current prevalence of Delta in Ireland is wrong (but sure they're infallible), or all our figures are unreliable to the point of uselessness.

Maybe there's another explanation, I'd welcome one because any of those are quite concerning.