Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should NPHET be disbanded ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭crossman47

I don't believe Nphet ever want to see a return to normal, .

As cynical a comment as I've seen. I'm sure they'd love to see a return to normal but equally sure they can't envisage that for a long time yet. And if you think England is going back to normal, the proof of the pudding etc etc

• Registered Users Posts: 9,987 ✭✭✭normanoffside

Yes and I have written to my TDs to ask the same.
    The government needs to start governing and that means either disbanding or completely reforming NPHET and how they communicate.

crossman47 wrote: »
    They're not in charge of the Health Service. They're advisors on a pandemic. Some of them have a role in running the health service, some have not.

Tony Holohan is the CMO. Most of them hold top positions in the HSE, the DoH or associated medical bodies such as the ICGP or the HPSC. It's like a who's who of ireland's medical landscape. Paul Reid is at every NPHET briefing. To say they are somehow not related and don't have the final say with the HSE and DoH is absolutely laughable.

As cynical a comment as I've seen. I'm sure they'd love to see a return to normal but equally sure they can't envisage that for a long time yet. And if you think England is going back to normal, the proof of the pudding etc etc

So what's the answer? Borrow 40 billion a year and keep half the country on the PUP indefinitely until the IMF calls a halt?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,301 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Well, I base my opinion of their actions over the last 16 months....and you are contradicting yourself there, they'd love to go back to normal but they can't envisage it....what was the point in the massive vaccination rollout?

Meanwhile, most of The States are back to normal or are much nearer to normal than we are, in fact most of the world is much nearer to normal than we are and we are in our summer, so whatever the reasons, they don't want to see us get back to normal.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,006 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

They should be disbanded immediately and replaced with the experts of Twitter.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

The problem is Tony Holohan and NPHET got put up on a pedestal, just like the parish priest was years ago. An Taoiseach should be making the decisions but he’s abdicated.

NPHET are doing their job, however it is only piece of the puzzle. The government aren’t factoring in advice from anyone else.

I’m not defending NPHET, they have consistently came to different decisions then equivalent bodies in the rest of the EU.

Ireland’s unique stance on antigen testing is not simply incompetence, it’s corruption. All member of NPHET should be made to disclose the relationships they and their family have with providers of PCR services.

• Registered Users Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Boggles wrote: »

Throw in a few Publicans and a whole slew of Mental Health "experts" that have emerged over the last 12 months as well, and you have a deal Boggles!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭crossman47

Tony Holohan is the CMO. Most of them hold top positions in the HSE, the DoH or associated medical bodies such as the ICGP or the HPSC. It's like a who's who of ireland's medical landscape. Paul Reid is at every NPHET briefing. To say they are somehow not related and don't have the final say with the HSE and DoH is absolutely laughable.

Just wrong. Reid is never at NPHET briefings. Neither is the Sec gen of Health. They are the most powerful public servants in the area. Holohan has no administrative role. Many of the others on NPHET are experts in various medical areas but are not managers.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

Weird things happen to people when they feel they are in power.
    They might start from good position and with good heart, but will change over time.

Just wrong. Reid is never at NPHET briefings. Neither is the Sec gen of Health. They are the most powerful public servants in the area. Holohan has no administrative role. Many of the others on NPHET are experts in various medical areas but are not managers.

He IS !!! https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1375094381439504392?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1375094381439504392%7Ctwgr%5E%7Ctwcon%5Es1_c10&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.rte.ie%2Fnews%2Fnewslens%2F2021%2F0325%2F1206199-five-things%2F

Oh please cop on to yourself ....

• Registered Users Posts: 10,225 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Not forgetting restauranteurs and publicans. Dunno why they're awaiting reopening instead of getting a job in which they can utilise their scientific expertise.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭basill

Here is my take as a non doctor. All the extremely smart medics are working as consultants in the US or UK and the idea of returning to Ireland to work wouldn't enter their mindset hence why there are so many specialist vacancies. The next best are in private practice here. All of the top research scientists work for big pharma or Oxford/AZ. Public Health professionals would appear to be very far down the food chain within their profession. The top ones would appear to be in the WHO or EU. Anyone left over who wishes to feed off the gravy train and doesn't want to leave the country is in NPHET, NIAC or any of the other acronyms. They do not wish to rock the boat for fear of losing their pensions.

If I was the government I would pull the daily updates. Publish fornightly figures onto the internet. NPHET reports only to government along with all the other advisors they have in relation to the pandemic ie: Gardai, Finance Department, AG etc etc. Government then gives updates to the Dail and interviews with the press when required. Give Tony a promotion to the EU, leave his position vacant. In a few months time call an inquiry and get rid of NPHET as a result of its predetermined findings.

Why do we even have a NIAC when there is a European Medicines Agency full of all the great and good (including the top Irish medics). NIAC has zero capacity to do anything meaningful. It was actually quite embarrassing when they stopped the vaccines for the few days "awaiting further documentation" from the manufacturers.

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭Lyle

Hurrache wrote: »
    Not forgetting restauranteurs and publicans. Dunno why they're awaiting reopening instead of getting a job in which they can utilise their scientific expertise.

Paul Treyvaud for new CMO, implement #THEPLAN. Adrian Cummins from the RAI might make a good Deputy CMO after his proposals of putting herd immunity on the table to re-open restaurants a few days ago. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭thegetawaycar

I wouldn't disband them but I'd be reigning them in, no more "leaks" of communications.
    Let them inform the government of risks etc... but put them back house again.

They should be informed that all media are told to contact the minister for health for comment and the government should be shown to lead.

Hearing the taoiseach talk about what NPHET has told him makes him look weak and not in power. Martina has never taken responsibility for a decision (still believes banks weren't bailed out) but now if he's the leader he should be the accountable and not Tony H.

Everything should be based on ALL information and not just what NPET think or want.

No point, Tony and Philip are the two king experts of Twitter.

• Registered Users Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Lyle wrote: »
    Paul Treyvaud for new CMO, implement #THEPLAN. Adrian Cummins from the RAI might make a good Deputy CMO after his proposals of putting herd immunity on the table to re-open restaurants a few days ago. :rolleyes:

Can we throw in Paddy Cosgrave as well? Maybe make him the Communications & Marketing Director.

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭Lyle

Can we throw in Paddy Cosgrave as well? Maybe make him the Communications & Marketing Director.

Oh I don't know about that. He'd probably make up stories about dead nurses again and plunge us back into Level 5 with the fear.

is_that_so wrote: »
    Not as input in NPHET.

Correct and again, why would you put an economist on a medical board?

Or a doctor on an economics board?

I'm not finding this logic at all, explain please.

I don't think people realise what nphet is or how government works.

Nphet are only concerned with health, that's it. That's their area and their remit. As a result, they are composed of experts in that field.

The government takes all the advise from all it's specialist advisors and makes the actual decisions. I gets input from people on all aspects of life in Ireland.

So, of you are unhappy with what's happening, why are you blaming nphet and calling for completely unqualified people to be put on it's board instead of blaming the minister who actually makes the decision in an area that he's probable not qualifed in to begin with.

Mimon wrote: »
    I think it needs to be restructured though and as suggested above have a more balanced membership that will help with looking at the bigger picture.

That's not even remotely their function. Nphet should absolutely not be concerned with the countries finances because we have experts for that already

Oh I don't know about that. He'd probably make up stories about dead nurses again and plunge us back into Level 5 with the fear.

Paddy would command enforced Lockdown.

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭timeToLive

yes and none of them should work again

Throw in a few Publicans and a whole slew of Mental Health "experts" that have emerged over the last 12 months as well, and you have a deal Boggles!

I doubt any one you have one iota how difficult it is for people in the hospitality sector, our hospitality sector has been decimated, way beyond what was necessary.

There are an amount of establishments in tourist areas in particular who will not see Christmas if their tourist season is wiped out, which is what is happening.

It speaks volume's of people's mentality when the people most adversely affected can be spoken about in such a nasty vindictive manner.

I'd bet, if other more secure sections of the economy were asked to suffer a fraction as much as the people in hospitality they would have been out on the streets this time last year in massive numbers!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Correct and again, why would you put an economist on a medical board?

Or a doctor on an economics board?

I'm not finding this logic at all, explain please.

I don't think people realise what nphet is or how government works.

Nphet are only concerned with health, that's it. That's their area and their remit. As a result, they are composed of experts in that field.

The government takes all the advise from all it's specialist advisors and makes the actual decisions. I gets input from people on all aspects of life in Ireland.

So, of you are unhappy with what's happening, why are you blaming nphet and calling for completely unqualified people to be put on it's board instead of blaming the minister who actually makes the decision in an area that he's probable not qualifed in to begin with.
    I love the way 4 words are "calling for something". I'm perfectly aware what NHPET are, so a wasted supercilious lecture/rant. I'm also aware that they got input or advice at the very beginning, from non-medical people. Not doing so leaves people, even experts, at risk of massive selection bias.
    There is no one way to do this and it is perfectly acceptable to question how NPHET went about our strategy and whether there were flaws in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,225 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

I doubt any one you have one iota how difficult it is for people in the hospitality sector, our hospitality sector has been decimated, way beyond what was necessary.

It speaks volume's of people's mentality when the people most adversely affected can be spoken about in such a nasty vindictive manner.

I'd bet, if other more secure sections of the economy were asked to suffer a fraction as much as the people in hospitality they would have been out on the streets this time last year in massive numbers!!!

Nothing vindictive about how I speak about them, just bemusement as to how they have demands and beliefs outside the scope of the general acceptance as to how to behave during a pandemic, notwithstanding they economic hardship that brings.

We do need a team like NPHET but just not NPHET...

We need a team that can leave the anti alcohol nonsense aside.
    Leave personal tweets aside.
    Cut out the appearances on talk shows and radio
    A team that can be honest instead of playing around with silly models.
    A team that takes more of a background role in terms of communications.

I don't think the current personnel in NPHET are capable of this.

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭sameoldname

And it speaks of others mentality that people being subsidised by the government while they are asked to keep their businesses closed are deemed to be the most adversely affected rather than the people who have died and their loved ones who are left to grieve them.

Nothing vindictive about how I speak about them, just bemusement as to how they have demands and beliefs outside the scope of the general acceptance as to how to behave during a pandemic, notwithstanding they economic hardship that brings.

Only in this country could we find a way to sneer at people who's businesses, hard work and investment have been cast under a bus by excessive restrictions...the harshest in the world at that...because our "experts" have decided that every other expert in the world is wrong!!!

We're a lovely bunch aren't we, sure we are all in it together!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

And it speaks of others mentality that people being subsidised by the government while they are asked to keep their businesses closed are deemed to be the most adversely affected rather than the people who have died and their loved ones who are left to grieve them.

Looking for a hierarchy of suffering rarely offers any insights into anything. Everyone has been through this and dealt with it as best they could.