Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Blackjack

It does say quite a bit about his character, and also a lot about the lack of character of those that choose to apply those labels you mention to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭boosabum

Suppose he's the proxy for how people see mayo football in general,. including those within the country.

Lived in Tipperary many years ago and every time they lost a game John leahy was the man that got dogs abuse. Pretty sure he won two or three all Ireland's with them and was a fine hurler.

He been part of the mayo senior football setup since 2009 and has been one of the few that been ever present from pathetic defeats to Sligo and Longford to the teams which contested for all Ireland glory on 5 previous occasions and now a 6th

Like conor Mortimer and Ciaran McDonald's, he divides opinion and as had been mentioned, narrative is defined by winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

This is it. He is the most profile player we have, who most agrees is coming to the end of his IC career as he is 31. He still has a role to play and I would think the bad press he is currently getting will focus the head a bit. As long as he works as hard as the rest of the players and abides by the same rules then I can't see Horan having any issue. I think there was more of an issue when Rochford was in as it was clear that everything was not quite right.

However, there is a difference between Horan and Rochford, as Horan has form and the players know this. He will not take BS and will sideline anyone he wants to. There is no "i" in Horan's team and this has always been the case. This is probably his greatest strength.

I expect AOS to come back strong as this could be his last chance!! He has got his warning by been subbed so this has to be clear to him now. We had him down at our club giving underage medals two years ago and he came across really well. I really hope he plays out of his skin the next day and gets his medal. He deserves it and he needs to do this for himself before he goes, otherwise stuff of this nature will always be thrown at him.

I think we’ve had that, with some subtlety mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,345 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

My bad!!! Not sure how I convinced myself it was Canning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

The notion that being substituted is the "kick up the hole he needed" or that it will motivate him is bs. If anything AOS tries too hard and cares too much. He's missing some elements that would make him the complete player but desire and work rate are not what he lacks. This thing about his ego needing checking is bs too. What other top midfielder/forward would happily go fullback against one of the greatest ever full forwards (and do a great job) without a question? He's not a great scorer but he's almost everything else and has been used as such. Maybe now we have a more rounded team that doesn't require him to do multiple specialist tasks. AOS owes Mayo nothing to put it mildly and I hope he gets what he deserves on Sept 11.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

You seem to have misunderstood the meaning of my statements so.

Big Games - Finals - Aido been very poor. Maybe you can find an exception but the norm has been second rate Aido.

Compare that to Keegan who has more often than not stood and been counted when needed most. Either way just my opinion, no need for the douche comment to my original post, then again this is boards so not really a shock.

Always feel he needs to add more aggression to his game. As people have stated, takes a lot for him to get a free. Would like to see him get the retaliation in first and be delivering the big hits on players with majority of them on the edge. This is what keeps good teams on top. Playing to the edge and beyond when opportunity is there. That's what Keegan does.

Probably not in his nature but 12 years of being targeted should make a man reassess his thoughts on what's acceptable to help get over the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭dobman88

The problem with that is in always feel refs blow up for soft frees against him. It's the curse of the big man, he can't get a free for love nor money and has the smallest transgression go against him. Seems to be a case of the ref thinking, well you're big enough to handle it. It's very frustrating watching so it must be hugely frustrating for him playing.

And if he got in first like you suggest, I'm 100% certain he would be sent to the line fairly quickly

Jaysus I don’t know. Aido was involved in 8 of our first 9 scores in the 2017 final. I get quite frustrated at how people only measure a contribution to a game in terms of how much an individual has scored themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭HBC08

"Aido has let the county down in every big game for years"

That was word for word what you said,there is no misunderstanding there.

It's wrong and incorrect,numerous examples were given by me and other posters.No amount of backtracking makes your statement correct.

If you meant Aido hasn't stood out against Dublin then that's fair enough,that happens to be mostly true but that's not what you said.

I dont really want to be getting into internet arguments but I'll defend Mayo players to the last (I'll criticise them aswell) I shouldn't really have to do that with fellow Mayo fans so I'll just leave it there.

Seems Horan isn't ruling out mcloughlin for the final, with Harrison coming on the last day and hession making a big impact as a sub, it really increase the options available in the final. Flynn be another thinking he could be in line to start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

Cant see flynn starting.

Hession was unreal when he was let off his pace is unreal

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

Horan just trying to keep everyone guessing. Didn't release the team playing Dublin until midday on Saturday - hoping everyone would think Mullin was playing despite the quad injury. Now he's saying there's no guarantee Mullin will be back for the final!

No chance Eoghan McLaughlin will play the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

Have had that operation myself and there’s really no chance of Eoin playing unfortunately. He will be very tired, weak and hungry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Knowing that your position is up for grabs is a serious motivational aspect to any team. It is a great strength to have in a team that every player is fighting for a position. This is what every manager wants but not alot can afford this.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Any posters binging on the auld podcasts?

Like a staple diet since Saturday.

Mayo News as per normal,not as good as it used to be.OTB and most especially The GAA hour is very good.Love Brendan Devenney.Great analyst and a bit of a gra for us.Backed us even if it was more heart than head.Johnny Doyle is pretty sound out too.

Andy and Paddy is an enjoyable listen but I speak heresy.The podcast is nearly too Mayo and Dublin centric and most annoyingly it borders on a love in between the lads.Agree on everything...

Contrast that with my brief listen of the Second Captains World Service.

Oisin and Paul Flynn going at it,it was explosive.

Apparently it's been like this since the get go with this duo.

I've only watched the match back 3 times thus far.

Trying to put out the feelers for the golden ticket.Improbable any tickets will go on general sale.

Tis true.

I remember well all the ire that used to be directed at the great John Leahy.

Certain players in every county are like lightning rods for adverse commentary/abuse irrespective of what they do.

Quite unfairly Aidan fits into that category.Nobody minds constructive criticism of a player's performance but it's all the other nonsense.Oft smacks of pure jealousy/good old fashioned Irish begrudgery.

I can't think of a less egocentric individual.

As many have said the narrative is written by the victorious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,734 ✭✭✭muddle84

The second captains podcast is the best so far imo. I think Óisín is one of the best analysts around at the moment. Calls it as he sees it!

Have any of you checked out the clips on @pauliceref ??? Brilliant resource for closer look for individual performances

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

I can't help but feel like wheeling out guys like Paul Flynn to discuss the John Small incident is a complete waste of time. They have spent years in the Dublin camp building an us vs them mentality. The chance that any of them would offer a neutral opinion and condemn one of their own is pretty remote. John Small could have pulled a knuckle duster from his waistband and Paul Flynn would say "it's a physical game".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,529 ✭✭✭irishgeo

All final tickets hardly ever go on general sale.

Sound I know they never go on general sale most especially in football finals.Just thought in this Covid 19 era who knows.I certainly did think any would go on general sale for the semi final.

I'd had imagined they'd be snapped up by the clubs with no general sale.

The allocation mayo are getting for the club's for the final is allegedly lower than the semi final despite the higher attendance.

That makes sense though as every other club outside the two competing teams didn't have to be accommodated in the semi final!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭flasher0030

It does illustrate a crazy system though. This idea of distributing the tickets around the country is ridiculous, to the detriment of fans from the counties potentially losing out. I'm originally from Mayo but living in Dublin. I played in the Mayo league and championship until into my '30s. But now I play GAA in Dublin, and train the local kids in the club. I love following the Mayo seniors, and especially for the past 10 years has been special and great times in Croke Park and across the country. But when push comes to shove, I offer very little in recent years to Mayo GAA at grassroots level. Do I deserve a ticket for the final in place of a Mayo man or woman who is out on the pitches down there playing themselves or training others. The answer is no. And same to be said about people in the other counties outside of those playing on the big day. I know if I wanted to be in with a ticket for a final if Mayo were to get there, that I could purchase membership at the club in Mayo that I grew up in. But I choose not to.

There is an inherent fairness in the fact that primarily the tickets are allocated via clubs to be distributed amongst the players and volunteers as deemed appropriate.

As a biased season ticket holder I'm of the opinion we should be next in line.Obviously not going to happen.

But to play devil's advocate how many of said people were interested in heading up to Mac Hale Park for the Connacht semi final v Leitrim?Obviously the season tickets weren't an option.

Yet tickets were returned.Now I am mindful of the mindset of people in the midst of the Covid 19 era.

For the Connacht final change of venue to allow more supporters to attend,there was an outcry among some supporters that was not without some merit.

Yet again the game failed to sell out.

But you put your hours in as a player and are now richly contributing to the next generation of players who we will likely square up against!😀

Like so many who've departed the homestead you've an undying passion for the green and red.Same is self evident.

I've family in Dublin,in particular an uncle and slightly less so aunt who've never lost their gra for the green and red.

He'd attend matches irrespective of the venue if he got a ticket.

There are more than true lovers of Mayo football who due to circumstance and ill luck due to the Covid era will fail to get a ticket.

I hope you get one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭flasher0030

"But you put your hours in as a player and are now richly contributing to the next generation of players who we will likely square up against!😀"

Ha Ha for the above comment. Had never actually thought about it like that. Last Saturday in Croke Park, was giving the death stare to anyone in blue and navy, ready to attack like a savage dog. And next Saturday when our Dubs youngsters are back training, I'll be asking them to sweat blood in the name of Dublin GAA, developing them into machines to cast aside all that comes before them in the future. I'll accept being a hypocrite in this case!!!

not certain that the game was not sold out - I think the issue was that the full capacity was not used due to the selling in pods. e.g if you bought a pod of 2, then the other 3 seats in a pod of 5 would have remained unsold.

where are mayo training now with mchale park now dug up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

They never train on the main pitch its always the back pitch

I have often seen the floodlights on mid week and the Connacht telegraph said mayo needed to find somewhere new to train.

Training in toreen I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭Jizique

Perhaps, but when I saw the article in the Indo on the saturday, and then the Sunday Times about his feckin' house on the sunday, i just thought "typical".

Winning the All Ireland with Keith Higgins, David Clarke or Tom Parsons as captain would be very different to winning it with Aidan.

Ah TBF that was a harmless fluff piece.

TBF I'd love to have seen those ex players win a celtic cross medal full stop.

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

No this is true. Tooreen GAA pitch would you believe is the only ground in the county (as far as I know) of maximum width. Built for hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Some spin for the Belmullet and North Mayo guys.

Nothing compared to the round trip from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

The mother's homestead. Not much to see or do in Tooreen but they do love hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,345 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

They do use the main pitch and they would certainly have been using it in the run up to an All Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭john9876

Are there many hurling clubs in Mayo? Does Mayo field a county team in any competitions?

I didn't think hurling was played in Connacht outside Galway.

To be honest, when i see those types of pieces from any player i throw my eyes to the sky as that doesn't interest me at all. But I read this one and to be fair, that is all part of Aiden's brand, no doubt he probably makes as much money with all his endorsements that he gets on the back of the strength of his brand as he does from his day job. At the end of the day his brand is what will keep him going on the endorsements long after he has stopped playing for Mayo!

I'd say the moment he stops playing for mayo the car goes back and endorsements, which I doubt are making him a fortune, dry up. I'd say he's happy enough to work away at his day job and stay keep the head down

Don't buy it for a minute that Aidan is minting it from the off field activities.

If he is good luck to him as it won't last for ever.

I'd certainly have a preference for a pooling all such monies for the whole panel.

Perhaps I'm naive but I certainly agree with your sentiments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,858 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I'd say that Irish Times Leaving Cert diary thing set him up for life!😝

Ah I'm not saying he is minting it, but the car alone is worth alot of money. I don't think it would be fair for those earnings to be pooled as the endorsements are given based on popularity outside of football as much as the football itself. If Aiden only had 500 Instagram followers he wouldn't be getting as much endorsements! Either way good luck to him! According to this he is a multimillionaire 🤣

Speaking of money, these draws for All Ireland tickets are going to leave me completely broke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭Jizique

Does he pay tax on the car and other "endorsements"?

No, intercounty GAA players are exempt from all types of Income Tax. It falls under an art form, so technically the earnings are as a result of their artwork so just like a painter doesn't pay tax on selling paintings they don't pay tax on endorsements or free cars!!😋