Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celebrity Masterchef UK 2021

• 06-08-2021 12:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,548 ✭✭✭✭

This starts on Monday 9th, so might as well start a dedicated thread.

It will be 18 episodes over 5 weeks.

Competing this year are:

Presenter Joe Swash

TV personality Katie Price

Happy Mondays star Bez

Strictly's Johannes Radebe

Actress and singer Su Pollard

Blue singer Duncan James

Comedian Nabil Abdulrashid

The Great British Sewing Bee's Patrick Grant

Former TOWIE star and singer Megan McKenna

Love Island's Kem Cetinay

Presenter Melanie Sykes

Comedian Munya Chawawa

Former EastEnders actress Rita Simons

Loose Women's Penny Lancaster

The Repair Shop's Will Kirk

Ex-England footballer and presenter Dion Dublin

Journalist and author Gavin Esler

Paralympic champion Kadeena Cox

Actress Melissa Johns

Actress Michelle Collins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,029 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Duncan James has had a bit of work done anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,087 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Enjoying it so for. Hope Bez stays in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,627 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Remind me never, ever to go to a dinner party in Bez's house 😱

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,859 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Thought that was a bit rough on Munya last bit, he showed a lot more promise than Sue, for one!

And Bez just scares me a bit, quite frankly.....

What now??? Emmenthal is full of holes, gruyere is not!!

In fairness, I might struggle to tell brie from camembert....

And the old carbonara/cream wars.... love it!!!

All the praise for Rita... but rind left on bacon, and cream??

Wtf have the rest done?? 😱

Bez is 56???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

All fairly unlikable so far anyway IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,978 ✭✭✭sporina

not watched it yet.. can anyone actually cook so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,548 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Not great for the first episode (in my opinion).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Just catching up now. What has Duncan James done to his face 😮 Bez is the surprise so far.

Mmmmmm.... dishy Patrick Grant being served up on MC this week 😍

Sue and Bez getting through was a bit of a shocker!! I'd have put any money on neither making it after the first show....

Flipping hell, when did they film this? It's pissing snow on them!!

I'm fearing for the delectable Patrick here (only getting to the final dinner party round)....

Ah here, am I in a time warp or something??

CRH won in 2007??? I don't think I'd even heard of MC back then - was he not in it in the last year or two (ok, three or four, allowing for slippage)

Penny taking a dish from their favourite restaurant and "reinventing it".... ie serving a completely different meal!

And Megan was shown searing filets of beef, but then wrapping raw ones in the pastry for her Wellington? The reason for that might become obvious, but for now I'm a bit confused!!

i am way behind ye - just finished ep 4 last night - reallllly enjoying Sue Pollard.. glad that "comedian" guy is gone - he was annoying and not funny and would surely give you food poisoning lol.. Bez is a dinger in the kitchen..

in general its great telly - easy to watch - twud make perfect lockdown TV lol.. not watching much telly these days - hence I am way behind..

Jeepers, Katie P is looking a bit rough these days.....

But I'd watch Joe Swash all day

As for Will.......

Jesus, Will is going to poison them, isn't he?? 😱

Going completely off topic, Katie's teeth are really, really weird - she obviously went to the same dentist as Megan from last week!!

Do they really think that's a good look?

This is going to be a verrrrrry stressful week 😫

Ah feck sake, both my bits of eye candy gone 😭😭

I really don't think any of this week's celebs will be troubling the latter stages of the competition......

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

They are a pretty... eh, weak bunch alright. 😂

The white teeth on some of the celebs reminds me of a boxer's gumshield- they look ludicrous. 😁

Oh lawdy, looks like I'm going to have to suffer even more of Katie P..... my god, but she's so defensive!!!

But she def won round 1, hands down.

I am behind so not reading post but Q did anyone see Penny swigging out of the 1/4 bottle of wine in the 2nd 1/4 final? Ep 6.. how gross.. surprised they aired that.. esp in light of Covid..

I thought it was funny!! It was her bottle, so hardly a covid risk.....

I really like her, think she comes across great.

I really thought that Joe's custard was going to need a knife and fork to eat it!!

Katie..... not a lot to say there, really.... 🙈🙈

huh??? she took a swig (mouth/saliva/germs) from the bottle and then poured wine from the same bottle to make the sauce that other people wer gonna eat.. covid or no covid, thats disgusting.. yuk.. twud be ok if she was cooking for herself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

You didn't see her using the wine in her cooking. She could have poured it and then drank from the bottle. Pretty sure they wouldn't have let her do it or eaten the food if she hadn't!

she said she had to taste it to make sure it was the right one for the dish..

That chef tonight has the look of a Bond villain about him, giving me a touch of the heebie-jeebies!

But OMG, those pies 😍🤩😍

i am so behind.. will catch up soon - enjoying it when I do watch it though..

Oh I love Tom Kerridge!

And I love the look/sound of his food even more!!!

Megan is fast becoming my stand-out favourite for this series - never even heard of her before the start, and I'll admit to slightly curling my nose at "reality star"...... but she's really lovely, and a solid cook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,859 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Swash still in, how?

In fairness, Dion's dinner looked (almost literally) a bit of a dog's dinner.

If he'd even plated it on a white plate, that might have done something for it - but it was just shades of brown mush! I'm sure it tasted lovely, but appetising-looking it was not.

Joe has proved himself well able to cook. And despite myself, I just love his "my Stacey" schtick - it should make me want to puke, but somehow he carries it off, and it's just adorable!!

I still fancy Megan to take the prize though - she's bloody fantastic.

Going by the preview bits, Kadeena looks like she has a bit of a meltdown (could be purposely misleading editing though).

Final episode! Hard to call in really but possibly Megan might have the edge so far but we will see how she goes tonight!

I'll be about a half hour behind, but she's my hot tip as well - I'm hoping anyway!

The feckin' black lippie 🥺

Bah! ☹

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭treascon

Correct winner IMO but that lipstick did absolutely nothing for her!

finished watching this last night - delighted that Kadeena won - I have loved her in it but until she made that 1st chocolate mousey desert, I thought Megan would win.. Kadeena in the end really was the shining star.. wow her final dishes wer a cut above the rest by a mile.. she's a super personality though.. she would make a great ambassador/spokes person etc.. but she might wanna drop the black lippy lol x