Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk Sept 1st interview

• 03-09-2021 3:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone complain to Newstalk about this?It is utterly one sided and just a mouthpiece for a Carmody rant.There is absolutely no balance in it at all.

Would suggest we fire off a few emails telling Newstalk what we think of it,and maybe balanced news would be grand for a change? Its the main reason most people listen to them to avoid RTE https://www.newstalk.com/news/bird-populations-facing-bloodbath-as-open-seasons-order-passes-aran-1246108

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

No you'll only get into a fight and slagging match.

I don't hunt but I've been know to cast a fly and after hunting they'll move onto fishing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

"Dignified silences" dont get us anywhere either.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,619 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

The very definition of a waste of time, complaining that is.

They don't want to hear complaints and will duely file any in the rubbish bin. They have an agenda and bias which they won't allow to be challenged hence the bias in the air time. Plus sometimes giving a thing air time gives it more life than it deserves. Better to let it die off without a fuss than to highlight it and cause a problem. The Streisand effect.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Barber2021

complaints are never a waster of time.

social media clatters all day long with an anti hunting agenda.

to leave it unanswered is to allow a view that there is no answer to take root.

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭solarwinds

The topic was also discussed on the lunchtime programme. The anti spent his time just repeating the same old buzz words "murder, massacre, bloodbath, destruction of the countryside". Two lads came on to say there piece and done there best to counter his argument but every time the anti spoke what they said was ignored and he continued to repeat his same buzz words. One poor guy came on, not a hunter, to highlight studies conducted in the UK and the US on the effect household cats have on wild birds, he was laughed at by the presenter and that was the last we heard from him.

The two lads done their best but you can not debate with someone who no matter what you say is ignored, all he cared about was painting hunters as murderers and questioned what was wrong with a person who gets enjoyment from blasting a living thing out of the sky with a weapon. It is the antis words that will be remembered from the interview and not the reasoned arguments from the hunters. He had his soapbox and used it to great effect with no challenge from the presenter to verify, prove or disprove what he was saying.

And 90% of the people who rang and texted in "have lived in the countryside all their lives and hate hunting and think it should be banned and it does not go on in our area". I would doubt the credentials of a lot of those people. One lady text in to say there were cars coming into her area at night shining lights all over the place and firing lots of shots, and in the morning the place is littered with beer bottles and cans, now hunters are drink drivers with weapons, apparently "this madness has to stop".

To listen to the anti we are all out 24/7 murdering anything with a pulse like a scene from Apocolypse Now.

Now I must go and refuel the chopper I have just received a report about a few troublesome bunnies.

I'm in two minds about this anymore. Taking Cass's point about the Streisand effect and "dignified silences" into consideration that's fine if it was going to be a balanced debate.as this wasn't in any shape or form it violates the BAI standards on programming and is worth a complaint.

I hark back to the two hatchet jobs "Slime time" did on gun ownership and hunting, and we were expecting more of the same on the deer hunting in a programme this spring, and we were pleasantly surprised to get a balanced report,more or less. It might have had something to do with over 80 complaints received by the BAI on the 2015 hatchet job on gun ownership and the 10 complaints in 2006?on the hatchet job done with an agenda back then.

The squeaky wheel gets the oil.

It does not matter how intelligent you're debate, how factually correct you're points are. The only thing that will be remembered is "murder, bloodbath, massacre and destruction". It is this that the public will remember.

The two lads were highlighting how much money is put into conservation by the different organisations, how much personal time is put in by the local man, all this was ignored the response being "a hunter is dishonest, will always lie and is never to be trusted". A reasoned debate can not be had with an individual like that.

Did they actually get to speak on the programme?Or were those texts?

The two hunters were speaking but their very valid points were largely ignored.

You'll never beat a moral argument with facts as the "won't someone think of the children" cannot be reasoned with, nor do they want to. They stand upon their soapbox, confident in their moral superiority.

However don't let that stop anyone from lashing off an e-mail. I never said not to complain, I merely pointed out the fruitlessness of such an endeavor given past experience with previous "articles/segments" from much larger broadcast media platforms.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

"No I don't care about the children,and quite frankly neither do you" is how you defuse that tactical nuke of an arguement ender.Its a lazy arguement,and now about as effective as calling someone a Fascist/Nazi these days,and one that you can go all Jordan Peterson or Ben Sharpio on no bother.Firing off an email has to have a sting in the tail."Respond to me or Im taking it higher as I am offended" is how you play it.Do not have any qualms about using our enemies own weapons against them either.

While it might not have a effect on the programne content,it put s them on notice that they are being watched and to play nice in future on this topic.

Go for it. Its only an email. Won't cost you anything bar a little time.

Been and done!😀

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭yubabill

Looked back and see that I complained to them when Carmody was on Ciara Kelly show in nov 2017. Got an interpretation of the interview, is all, but at least caused them a bit of inconvenience.

Carmody gets on there too much when they talk about hunting and the interviewers give him too much leeway. In the interest of balance they need someone from the hunting side of the argument, but I think it's really just clickbait on a slow news day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Mississippi.

Got to complain to the programme/station first and give them time to respond.ASFIK doesn't say any particular time frame. So 7/10 working days should be sufficient? After that, you can complain to BAI.

"Kelly describes herself as a soi-disant "intellectual"

A "self-proclaimed" intellectual then...??... Oh dear...🙄

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ciara_Kelly

Hah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,694 ✭✭✭Feisar

Dunning–Kruger effect in full swing there.

Edit - she's a qualified medial doctor, so fair balls. More intellectual than me anyway, not that that's any great boast.

First they came for the socialists...

Academic qualifications are in many cases a sure sign of a lack of common sense.

As Bill Gates said "I wasn't very good at passing exams, a friend of mine became a qualified and brilliant engineer. He works for Microsoft, and I own Microsoft."

Update...It can take ,according to BAI ,up to 30 days for a complaint to be responded to by a media group.

If they hold true, it'll be day 30 before you get a reply. Keep the updates coming though.

I see Mr John"streaker" Carmody is getting some more media coverage in the Limerick Post,[about as influential as the old Skibbereen Eagle]. Now wants hunting and gun mags up on the top shelf with the,what passes for porn selection,in our newspaper shops.🤣

https://www.limerickpost.ie/digital/2021/2021-09-11/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭BSA International

Comments by Mehole Martin in last few days on RTE about firearm licensing reviews etc in light of recent events are worrying when we look at the recent past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭JP22

Yep, whats new, same same old drivel and horse shite spewed out by those who think they know better.

and NOT a single comment on the 19 arrested in Limerick and other illegal firearms confiscated in past week.

NEWSTALK responds.

Thank you for getting in touch.

I have reviewed the audio in question with your comments in mind. The piece discussed the beginning of the open hunting season. John Carmody, from Animal Rights Action Network, was the guest. He was clearly identified as an advocate of animal rights and said he was a ‘bird lover.’ He outlined his opposition to the hunting season as he doesn’t want to see animals shot. Co-host Ciara Kelly challenged this view and put it to him that there are those who advocate for the season, for reasons such as culling. At the end of the piece, Ciara asked the listeners for their opinions. We read a number of texts in opposition to the comments made by John Carmody. For example, three texts on the topic were read at approximately 8.35, all of which advocated for hunting and the hunting season. Also, at the end of the show, a text was read out which once again advocated for hunting and highlighted that many gun clubs purchase birds to replenish the population. While not the exact projects you mention in your email, it was similar in tone in that it highlights some of the projects gun clubs and members undertake.

As outlined in the BAI guidelines, balance can be achieved across a number of items and in a number of ways, including through challenging guests and hearing and airing opposing views. It is not necessary to have a guest in direct opposition or opposing views at the same time. As outlined above, we feel that there was balance provided across the show to the discussion and there was no breach of BAI guidelines.

Kind Regards,

Eric

Eric Moylan

Senior Editor

T: +353 1 644 5107  

Marconi House, Digges Lane, Dublin 2, D02 TD60

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭BSA International

I'm so surprised at that response........NOT !

That was the breakfast show interview with Ciara Kelly they are referencing. There was also a second interview on the Lunchtime Live show with Andrea Gilligan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Rescueme0007

It strikes me that John Carmody has the perfect face for radio. Anyone that that has had the misfortune to see him, would immediately know that he's an attention seeking, virtue signaling,! Unfortunately he probably fits in with the noisy, minority of ultra liberals to whom what passes for a government in this country, listens.😔

Post edited by Cass on