Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Walking with expensive phones in Dublin

Hmm..

My dublin experiences:

1. The drug dealer moving in next door- chaos for years.
    2. As a small kid I rather naively asked a woman to stop smoking on a bus and she threaten to “rip my f***ing head off”
    3. 3 burglaries at two different houses, including one where our dog was badly hurt.
    4. Car stolen x 2.
    5. Cars set on fire outside apartment (Dublin 4)
    6. Mugged twice, once at knifepoint. Didn’t even report second one as the response to first was so useless.
    7. Grandmother mugged after collecting pension.
    8. Aunt mugged on quays.
    9. Mom held at gun point in a bank raid in the 1990s

But sure no, it’s paradise. Don’t be mentioning the weird violent or antisocial stuff.

🎶Dublin can be heaven, with coffee at 11 and a stroll round Stephen’s Green.

La la la la la no problems to be seen anywhere here la la la la…

Anyone who complains has a chip on their shoulder, or is a culchie la la la 🎶

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

New Apple phones don't come with a charger in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,641 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The last few phones I've bought didn't come with a charger just the cable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,491 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

I came out of a bar on Wexford street late one nite good few years ago. 2 lads befriended me as I was crossing the road, on either side of me. I quickly copped they were going through my pockets but 1 fella had got my phone (a Nokia something so nothing great). I chased him down the side road that goes to harcourt st, halfway down it he threw the fone back to me but I kept chasing, he stopped abut further on, I kept running and decked him as hard as I could in the jaw. He fell to floor, then got up and ran, I didn’t chase further, went back and picked up the fone. Few people were watching and seemed a bit shocked at what I’d done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Talking about being anxious using expensive phones in Dublin and of course the thread derails into a council estate bashing thread about low life's and drug dealers and a million things other than the actual thread title...

I wonder how some of you got through life on the "mean streets" of Dublin

Never change boards, never change...

If you are that afraid of the city centre, stay in the suburbs and whinge about it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭jakiah

Someone needs to invent a phone which transforms into a heli-drone to carry nervous boards-posters 'Mary Poppins style' back to their villages if they encounter a lad in a tracksuit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I am aware certain new phones don't come with chargers.

Look all I am saying is just to be cautious. As the article ( https://www.thejournal.ie/stolen-phones-ireland-5193112-Sep2020/ ) says 10,000 phones reported stolen and still out there since the start of 2019. You just know a chunk of them were sold online through the likes of adverts or donedeal or gumtree.

If I were to buy a phone off these sites tomorrow I don't like the idea of potentially handing some scumbag money after he ripped off some poor sod. Not to mention a phone can get blocked with the IMEI etc. So not only out of pocket out of a phone.

Of course you'll never know for sure. It's just something to look out for. If I met up with someone to buy a phone without a charger but seemed alright, seemed genuine, then sure. Fine. Should I meet another and he's a big skanger? No charger? Nah.

All I am saying is just something to look out for. That's of course, unless someone doesn't give a toss if a phone was stolen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

I've twice seen a person get a phone snatched out of their hand by some scumbag on a mountain bike. Once in Stonybatter, once on Parliament Street. Split second. Person was yakking on the phone next thing they're screaming and the guy is hauling ass away with their phone. You're not going to get mugged by a junkie for your phone or anything else but you will get it snatched out of your hand by a thief on a bike if you're not careful. Best not just nonchalantly walk along with it up to your ear or in your hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭neenam

That's mad that possessions can get stolen from patients in hospital, aren't there any beside lockers or other lockers in the hospital? Not the first time I've heard of it, if a patient is incapable of caring for their belongings, then what are staff doing to keep patients belongings secure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭passatman86

64 shootings in Chicago last weekend - wonder how many phones got stolen in Dublin last weekend - never mind a shooting

Yeah you have to be careful in a ward. Staff won't give a bollocks too. They've their own work to do.

Sure there are lockers but most of the time when you get stolen it's from someone else on the ward who saw you with a phone or laptop. Waited for you to take a shower, smoke or walk. You come back and it's done a vanishing act.

What’s your point? Chicago is in a country with basically zero gun control and where there are more guns than people and a gun violence issue that is really without many parallels.

It doesn’t take away from the fact that Dublin has a serious issue with antisocial behaviour, petty crime and its against a backdrop of unaddressed social issues, a dire housing crisis, very lax policing and political and local deflection and denial of reality when it’s brought up. So it never gets addressed.

The fact that there are places with worse problems doesn’t really deal with what is a significant issue and has been for decades.

I don’t think Dublin’s getting worse. It simply isn’t willing to admit it has problems and never was.

What's the point in just getting defensive and simply never looking at how we might actually resolve some of those issues? Can’t we strive for a better city? Maybe one we could feel a lot more comfortable living in? With adequate houses, apartments, public transport, the odd bit of policing etc? It’s hardly an unreasonable expectation in Ireland in 2021.

It’s not the worst place in the world, or the worst city in Europe or any of that hyperbole, but it could be a lot better than it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭beachhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭passatman86

My point is id buy a €1300 euro phone in Dublin and be clever with it

Well yeah, I just take calls on headphones. You can even answer on your watch these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

A whole nudder level is wearing luxury watches in London. The crews out there have spotters who know their Breguet from their Bulova and they'll target individuals wearing something nice. There have been a ton of robberies and even murders involving attempted muggings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Jaysus, shure thas gottin fookin' apokalypik in the kapital so thas....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

I have a S21 Ultra, before that S9 S7 etc etc. I have walked the streets of Dublin after coming out of concerts, Limerick, cork, Waterford, Tralee and loads of other towns. Rich neighbourhoods, poor neighbourhoods. Nobody has ever tried to steal my phone.

it happens I’m sure, but it’s more likely you’ll be killed crossing the street. Despite what people on social media say, Ireland is a relatively safe country. For piece of mind insure it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 maeve99

My guess is also that you're at least an average sized man. If you put a petite woman with an expensive Android or iPhone, then the chances someone will rob it go up much much more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,219 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The safe I had was broken and didn’t lock or open, they were all due to be replaced even though they seemed newish...

no hospital ward has cameras, I asked...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,883 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

When I heard that story, it was a guy on the New York Subway who had the ‘fake phone’ during the medical emergency….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭beachhead

Most violence in this country is against young men 15 to 30 years old not against petite women alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Was on Talbot Street twice today. Both times had to use my phone. Had no problem whipping it out and using it for a few minutes each time. Ended up thinking of this thread and looking around. Both times, there were at several people either standing around and/or walking past with a phone in their hand or up to their ear (even a petite girl)

I'm not saying there is zero risk, but some people really need to calm down and take a deep breath. Dublin is not dangerous. Specific dodgy streets in Dublin are not dangerous. Yes, there are scumbags. But unless they are near you or coming towards you, you're pretty much fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭xper

Yeah, I drew my conclusion from a general knowledge of crime stats, not “while I’ve never been mugged”.

you then go on to make a counter argument based on a personal appraisal of donedeal content ,,, so less of the ragging!

Sorry but I just think your post there is full of shite. Like, compared to what you originally said, now you're trying to back track.

Ah say no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

I don't agree with this calling him a well paid drug abuser. What he did in his personal life shouldn't take away from the good times he brought as a DJ/Entertainer. He was great in my opinion and for me he is missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

You, d have to be very close to someone to know is that a very expensive phone , a 100 euro phone looks the same as a 1000 euro phone when it's in a case . I don't think it's common for phones to be robbed unless you do something stupid like leave them in a car or on a table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Saw a woman having hers snatched a couple of days ago crossing the bridge on North Strand. Lad on bike came up behind and grabbed it before I could shout to warn her. We both chased him for a bit but completely pointless exercise on foot vs a bike. Not sure what would have even happened if we’d caught him anyway to be honest.

Exact same thing happened me a few years ago. Crap phone worth less than a hundred but very **** annoying after a long day. Almost glad I didn’t catch that little **** as I was pretty pissed off and don’t think the fact he was only about 14 would have calmed me down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

The world is a kip, Dublin and Ireland are towards the safer end of it in general but still kips in parts. I'd suggest part of the problem is people can't stay off screen time for more than 2 mins even when out and about in kips. Anywhere in the world if you wave hundreds of euro in public you'll be robbed sooner rather than later. Scumbags are scumbags and it's in their nature, but the amount of people walking around posting and reading online is terrible to see.