Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

"Green" policies are destroying this country

The issue at hand was Harte didn't apply for planning permission and refused to do so due to the way he understood the requirements. Fair enough, the court has now clarified that permission must be applied for. If he wishes to resume extraction at that location he will have to apply for permission though its very unlikely he'd get it given the ruling and the judges comments.

Any windfarms going into bogs require planning permission anyway so this ruling doesn't stop them from being developed.

The biggest issues windfarms will have is in relation to subsidence, water course disruption etc, which all must be understood before any construction starts. As seen with the case of Derrybrien, where thats not done it causes problems and can result in windfarms getting shut down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

How many times have I clarified this yet you come back with the same thing? I am talking about long term. The gas found will not provide long term. It is ridiculous this has to be clarified multiple times to the same poster.

Use all the capitals you want. It goes around and around and around in the same circle and still the penny hasn't dropped. I posted above what the option are. I cannot help you read and comprehend them.

The same thing has been discussed 20 times, anyone try's to move on and it comes back to the same few posters who want to discuss the same thing.

Kind of pointless calling the thread Green policies Should be just Green energy. Especially when the discussion is the same "what about gas" 🤦‍♂️

It is good to see we get another 3 paragraphs of a post. Nothing about the topic just a rant against a poster.

As you are well aware we are talking about a supply for the future. To quote yourself

We need gas as backup until 2050.

Corrib runs out in 2025.

Unless you suddenly forgot that was discussion from your own post.

How are renewable totally unreliable? solar works every day. All year around even in the winter. Wind is blowing all the time, plus all the others. Wave etc

If you google you will find hundreds of document/articles etc written to prove renewable can. Yet we want to ignore them to go on about gas. People are obsessed about gas because of the LNG plant in Kerry. If that was never in the news people would be waffling about nuclear. Not knowing anything about either of them,

• Registered Users Posts: 15,214 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

It looks like @paddyisreal has a much better understanding of Brexit in relation to the present crisis with natural gas than you do.

Presently the E.U. is getting 40% of it`s natural gas needs from Russia. This supply is in danger of being cut off because of jingoistic nationalism on the part of Russia.

With no natural gas supply of our own, and no means to source or own supplies of LNG we would be entirely dependent on the Moffat pipeline for natural gas. All our natural gas supplies would be coming via a country that is not just a non E.U. member, but one who left the E.U. for jingoistic nationalist reasons where recently their present Home Secretary solution to Ireland accepting their solution to a disagreement on the Northern Ireland Protocol, an internationally binding agreement, was to to starve us into submission.

I mean, what could possibly go wrong with that arrangement.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,214 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Very much on topic imho. Not that it has changed your stock in trade of silly little replies attempting to ignore inconvenient facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Mecanudo

You have continously posted misinformation that "nothing was found in the last 50 years" in relation to natural gas.

This despite the fact that large finds of natural gas have been found and even more finds of natural gas remain untapped off the south coast. And no it doesn't have to "provide long term". It's to provide a safe secure and reliable source of natural gas during the period of transition to renewable energy generation and beyond.

And yet you continue to deliberately try to claim otherwise. What gives? You've lost all credibility as a poster at this stage.

Yes fracking....as I posted look into the detail of what that means.

You posted saying solar works 3 months a year. So sorry you lost all credibility after that

Also it is a big difference between a few panels on a roof to a solar farm

March and performance at the moment

You posting "options"(?) is meaningless, especially where what you have posted has shown to be complete rubbish.

And the reason why the discussion is circling? Because of deliberate misinformation being posted again and again

Every post leading up to your reply was about providing a safe secure and reliable source of natural gas in the period of transition to renewable energy generation. That hasn't changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

I think your acting the maggot now. Can you guarantee wind will blow when we need it? Answer is no hence unreliable.

Can you guanantee the sun will shine on the 20th of november this year? Answer is no hence unreliable

Thats why we need gas,coal etc because guess what they are reliable and plug the massive hole in the drive for renewables

Is there any data out there on what gas reserves are still waiting to be tapped around the coast? Just wondering if what is there is even commercially viable.

Ireland is known as a high-cost/high-risk when it comes to exploration so there would have to be a nice bit of meat on the bone for it to be worth while. Even our second most successful field, Corrib, looks like its only going to provide for around 10 years if estimates are to be believed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,786 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️😂 wow.

Again corrib runs out in 2025.

We will be reliant on gas coming via the UK from 2025 onwards until 2050.

Do you agree with this statement?

Nope. Corrib finishes in 2025.

I presume you would need exploration licences to look for what gas there may be, which the GP have banned of course.

Seven large offshore wind farms with capacity to power three million homes are set to be fast-tracked from this year under a new maritime regulation regime.

Provided they meet planning, environmental and financial requirements, it brings the prospect of beginning to generate power from 2027 – supplying three gigawatts (GW) of renewable power to the grid.

The big prize, Mr Ryan predicted, would come in the 2030s, “when we are generating the likes of 30 gigawatts of offshore wind ... The conversion of that to hydrogen through electrolysis increasingly is being seen as the solution which will allow us to have a modern economy, meet our climate targets and to have energy security.”

As Ireland had the potential to generate 10 times current power needs, it could become a major exporter of hydrogen, he said.

Currently there is at least one major untapped oil and natural gas field available

Exploration in Ireland is undertaken by license. Companies undertake exploration based on a cost / value basis so where oil and gas prices are high internationally - exploration demands and value increase.

In addition the finding of the Barryroe oilfield of Ireland’s South Coast has the potential to provide the 120,000 barrels of oil a day that Ireland consumes, and a proportion of the gas needed to generate about 60 per cent of its electricity. Current licences for exploration are held by Equinor and Europa Oil & Gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Lots of graph information posted on the renewable energies forum makes no difference if you have a solar farm from derry do dingle or a few panels on your roof, return during winter months it's terrible. Tapers down to a low in December of a fraction of what it can produce in June July.

The difficulty is that it's during these months in winter, is when consumption is highest. During summer, night and day can be balanced by a battery but winter months you will draw mostly from the grid

There's actually a boards pdf file uploaded regularly with current ab past data with returns for each users systems all over the country

Can equinor and europa carry out those exploration licences at the moment?

If they found something worth extracting could that then be blocked under green legislation?

Mr Ryan in that interview is also on record claiming that and I quote

He said that in his view, Ireland's greatest security comes from relying on its own resources "not on imports".

And yet we have the same boyo rubbing his hands over stopping all future exploration for natural gas, effectively making us reliant on imports of natural gas. Hydrogen storage is still not viable and yet he's pushing it like it is.

Does he actually expect the population of Ireland to swallow that level of nonsense?

This website has a good breakdown of the state of play of the current offshore windfarns in devolment. For short to medium term electricity generation it's not looking good tbh

It's a good question. One I'm not sure what the answer is but I suspect that any planned exploration could go ahead or there could potentially be an issue regarding broken contracts.

Regarding Barryroe oil & gas the following is stated regarding its reserves

Providence estimated the total reserve in place between 1 and 1.6 billion barrels (160×106 and 250×106 m3) in July 2012.[9] In April 2013 an independent audit estimated the recoverable total at 311 million barrels (49.4×106 m3) barrels of oil, and 207 billion cubic feet (5.9 billion cubic metres) of gas.[10] This gives a total of 346 million barrels (55.0×106 m3) of oil equivalent.

Even at those levels it looks like its not a viable commercial operation as the owners have been unable to find investors to allow it to commence commercial operation despite numerous attempts at getting multiple investors to sign on the dotted line over the last decade

It may be possible that it reaches viability through the price of oil/gas continuing their rise, outside of that it doesn't look like it has a chance.

Well considering that

Exploration in Ireland is undertaken by license. Companies undertake exploration based on a cost / value basis so where oil and gas prices are high internationally - exploration demands and value increase. And recently those demands and value have increased.

The Barryroe oilfield of Ireland’s South Coast has the potential to provide the 120,000 barrels of oil a day that Ireland consumes, and a proportion of the gas needed to generate about 60 per cent of its electricity. 

The other advantage is that the find is in close proximity to the Kinsale gas field making the logistics of getting it to shore potentially more viable.

I would say given the current situation in Europe that field will now likely attract interested investors. That is of course allowing that our own green clowns don't step up to first put the boot in and tell we should be using candles or some other nonsense instead.

No, we could be totally off gas long before then. But with the attitude of the public I doubt it. Especially when if you used this thread as a view of what the public thinks.

The only hope is the people coming up after us by the time it hits 2030/40 will have the cop on to push the government towards renewables instead of waffling about fossil fuels

Already did, I already pointed you to the thread with all the discussion and reports. Also to the battery thread in terms of price. You never came back with feedback?

Are you happy to say now solar works more than 3 months a year?

I know all about solar performance, The poster you responded to made the statement that solar only works 3 months a year.

I said all along a renewable grid requires multiple source, solar/wind etc. A lot of rubbish posted on here because some people only want to concentrate on solar and disregard that wind will also be running, or just talk about wind and disregard solar etc etc.

As was shown by the likes of the motor tax change or even the plastic bag levy, it only takes a bit of a hit to the pocket to get people to make the right choices.

There's always folks who will complain, regardless of what the change is. Those folks usually have to be dragged kicking and screaming anyway.

The carbon tax is going to be the nudge most will need to make the switch both through it increasing the cost of carbon and by it providing funding for grants for people to make the switch.

2030 is five years after corrib runs out.

What’s the plan then? Gas via the UK?

Talking of which there's trouble brewing in the UK with the UK government preparing to temporarily nationalize Gazprom's British retail supply unit as the Russian natural gas giant is in danger of collapsing and causing supply disruption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

So DaCor, are 'you' going to provide regular, widespread and comprehensive public transport options in rural Ireland? You can have all the carbon taxes you want, but when people don't have usable public transport options outside of cities and towns, Green policy will just rapidly advance the further depopulation of rural Ireland.

Some day in the future, you'll head off on on your annual cycling break and wonder why there are no nice cafes or shops or anything much at all left. Isn't it terrible you think as you look at the crumbling buildings, nowhere to buy my latte.

How Eamon ryan is allowed to spoof about green hydrogen without being questioned is some joke.actually its a disgrace

Rubbish comparing motor tax changes and a plastic bag tax which dont have a massive effect on peoples lives to being hammered with a carbon tax on all aspects of live is ridicolous.

We will see what ff, fg are made of in the next few months. If carbon tax etc are continoisly forced on people without proper alternatives they will be out on their ear same as the greens but i think they have a bit more sense than them....

😂

Imagine people actual gave you thanks for that. Really does prove the lack of knowledge on this thread

It is similar to the smoking in the pubs, oh the wailing and crying from the public over that till it was put in place and then it was great.

It will be the same, people will have to dragged along crying about gas till we get it in place and then they will be able to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,586 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Ridiculous comparing the smoking ban.

Seriously deluded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

One big if, they'd never be able to do it within budget and would end up with the Irish people subsidising the exported units with massive costs at home.

Wow a post without any mention of gas. Anyone that talks about renewable and says "what happens when the wind doesn't blow" really has a breeze 😂

You're comments are getting fairly desperate at this stage tbf.

Really, remind me who needs to get the same thing clarified over & over & over again. It's 5 days now and we are still on "wHaT aBoUt gAs?"

I am still waiting for a few account to confirm if they managed to read any of the other multiple policies from the Green party?

Angel if this thread was dependent on your comments to date to clarify things, we'd be in bad shape indeed.

And as someone else pointed out (and I reiterated afair) it's fairly pointless to be demanding of other posters that they've read the green party manifesto and policy. What do you really expect a signed self declared ccertification from others?

Thing is you yourself claim to have read it and yet didn't know that the current green party policy is remove / reduce dependence on imported fossil fuels. And here you are flag waving that we should import natural gasjust to cover our arses during the period of transition to renewable energy generation and beyond even though we have our own reserves and could have more (which you didn't know about either)!

Why would anyone debate green policies with yourself when you cant make a coherent argument on there main one - basically the policy that define the party.

To quote another long term poster called @Wibbs in another thread recently

Eamon Ryan is a Grade A twit.

True that.

I know it's hard for someone to debate when every response is "what about gas". Everyone is suddenly an expert in gas because of the Kerry LNG. If it wasn't in the news we would have a group of expert on nuclear fusion at the moment

Funny how a little story in the news and how everyone can suddenly change to LNG. 🤣

Our own reserve? 😂

I am not demanding anything by the way. I juts find it hilarious that people throwing all sorts of names at Eamonn Ryan and the Greens but have no idea about their policies. The same people will tell you XYZ is great, ask them to list out the policies they like and again a blank face.

Again you make incorrect accusation about me but nothing new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Growing the veggies on the south facing window of his apartment as a solution to the potential food shortages of covid really sums up that fruit loop nicely and how out of touch with real world production and demand "Lets mobalise"

You wouldn't grow enough greens for a few salads in window boxes ye bollocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Dangerous twit when you've the likes of Varadker and Martin agreeing to anything to keep snouts in the trough

Enlighten us your renewable godness 😂😂

What does happen when the wind stops? (which happened in 2021 for 2 weeks in a row)…..

Gas is the transitional source we need up to 2050 though.

Not necessarily LNG as mentioned previously there are other reserves that could be used.

Again I’ll ask you, do you agree we need gas until 2050?

Yes our own reserves. What do you call the up to 60% of all gas used, with the Corrib field contributing the equivalent of 50% of Ireland's gas consumption. And thats not including remaining stocks of natural gas and the untapped reserves of the South coast. I have to ask do you even live in Ireland that your knowledge of the country is so limited?

And as already pointed out - you yourself weren't even aware of Eamon's / GP policies against the importation of fossil fuels and here you are lambasting others. It's just too much 😅

Post edited by Mecanudo on

One point that is brushed over it there are no offshore "reserves" that are commercially viable enough for any private company to extract outside of those which are being extracted or have already been extracted.

Adding the bolded clarification to prevent one particular poster from confusing himself....again