Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The humblebragging dishonesty of LinkedIn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,730 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

It's an immediate skip if a post starts with "I don't normally post personal stuff here but...."

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭a2deden

Sure, maybe stick to talking about something you know as clearly its not construction as nobody who works in construction thinks like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭HBC08

As is usual on boards you're only seeing one narrative.

There'll be lads failing the leaving cert next year who'll be retired by 50 after being smart about things.

(Not directed at you specifically)

There will be lads in the same boat with raging coke habits/alcohol issues and bad backs/decisions behind them aswell.

Such is the way of things,life is cyclical,always has been and always will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭dogbert27

I blame the likes of Simon Sinek for the way LinkedIn is now. People see him as some sort of career coach guru when really he started out in marketing, found a gimmick to sell, "start with why" or some bullsxxt and as anybody from marketing.

What he does is find famous quotes from history, puts his own spin on them and sells it to the modern day masses who have no regard for history before they were born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Dublinandy3

Thank you, I've seen him pretty much from the start and at the beginning, you could tell he was trying his best to be the next whatever it is people want. Now I see people quoting him like he's a God and I know he's done what he set out to do, even though I'm not sure it has any tangible worth.

Two of my pet peeves are people who post screenshots of their own tweets, if you really want to say that nonsense, say it, it doesn't make you look more important if you screenshot yourself.

The second thing is those who leave the gaps in their posts so you have to click on see more to see it all and it's usually nonsense, though it is now a good indicator to keep on scrolling if I see that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭NSAman

I dont update my LinkedIn profile for many of the reasons stated above. It’s old and I have honestly never used it. I keep in contact with people through it. However, it doesn’t stop many sales pitches of life / business coaches and other nonsense, sending me inane requests to sort my world out.

in messages, if I feel like it, is ask two simple questions why and how (maybe with a twist).. it always leads to the same inane response and the messenger is left with,,, “I think X could take some coaching from me!”

Do you know what, a few months ago I was tired of seeing these, I love my job it's the best job ever but I'm leaving type posts. I decided, for my own amusement, to post one myself, but at the end twist it so I was just talking about the week ending and the thing I was moving onto was the new week next week. It was a pure p1ss take and anyone who read it all would know.

Sadly only one or two laughed with me and I had to delete it in the end as I was getting inundated not only with comments but messages from people wishing me all the best and deciding to take that moment to tell me how wonderful I was to work with etc. It showed to me the platform is just all about looking like you care, not the actual content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,338 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

people falling over themselves to wish you well who wouldnt stop to say hello in the office, and obviously didnt read the post either, standard!

• Onboarding, hilarious yank-speak . Thanking his onboarding team for smooth onboarding , and the company management think he’s an awesome employee driven by curiosity and passion, bla bla bla.

When I onboarded my organisation in 1979 it was far from onboarding we were thinking. It was called induction back then, and as young giddies we would reference that as seduction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

I left it a few years ago for so many of the reasons mentioned. It is mostly shite now.

In my case it proved useful on the occasion i had a "seeking new opportunities" status.

Aside, the shameless posts from some Irish recruitment agency staff were vomit inducing.

They considered themselves as marketing geniuses.

Posts of their happy kittens, a level of, to which job hunters could aspire.

One lad recruiting for Sligo/Donegal had enticing seascape of the Blaskets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,912 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Fella I used to work with put up a post about his dog dying on it before. On LinkedIn

Started with the 'Generally I wouldn't put up a post like this, but....'

and got to the 'there's more to life' thing.

Embarrassing

As others have mentioned too, the 'I'm just back from my holidays...make sure you take breaks too' type stuff is unbearable. Usually from Recruiters.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Yeah , words change though , maybe induction sounded too much like a thing that cults do (or battery chargers , useless fact , but the technology that makes wireless chargers work , the Induction Coil was invented by a guy in Maynooth college in the 19th century), so they use onboarding now , god knows in 10-20 years it'll probably be adoption or enveloping or something else that sounds dumb right now!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Linked in is awful though , its basically recruiters desperately trawling for work , and CAREER !! people peacocking to get noticed*. Its all bullshit , and most of the people there know it is .The worst thing about changing jobs is that its a quick way to get hired in some industries , meaning you have to do the dance there long enough to get a job , and then get the hell off it for your sanity.

(*and yes some of these are straight up sociopaths as well)

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭a2deden

Yes but these lads/gals will be in a tiny minority

Not the coke/drink guys Irish will always have a crux lol

Im actually pro getting a trade, im more being realistic as its a life ive lived alongside 90% of my family. Just because there is money to be had doesnt make it a good choice for the most

Those guys failing the leaving (do people still fail the leaving) for example, i would openly encourage them to get a trade. The guys/gals who head of to Uni/IT's and drop out as they cant focus enough to learn by themselves i would encourage them to.

The thing with being a apprentice is you are being watched all the time sometimes girls/guys need this

But i would never recommend getting a trade over becoming a engineer/architect the pluses are vastly outweighed by the minuses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Having done both they are a bit different now.

You come home with a sore back, sore hands, sore knees, soaking wet and can just about muster up the energy to get into the shower and fall into bed.

In the other job you sit around most of the day, warm and dry get up and have a break whenever you want. You go home and can actually enjoy going out for a run or to the gym or even just going for a walk or playing with the kids afterwards. I think im far fitter and healthier since i started doing job number 2. I have family and friends who didnt get out of job number 1 and are my age and their bodies are fcuked. As for the lads i know who are retired. You can easily tell who had the hard jobs.

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭dubstepper

Holy sh*t that is some lie. The NEEEEEEEECCKKK!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

One thing I have noticed with the trades is that they will bend H&S regs pretty easily if it means getting home a bit earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,945 ✭✭✭growleaves

A standing desk job with some walking around each day is the sweet spot imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

In olden parlance we have a Grade A Ars*licker here.

Actually there is a plus to this, all the switched on decent colleagues now know what they are dealing with and the ar**lickers already in his team need to know they may need to up their game. 😁

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,645 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

I’ve worked in an office environment more or less since 2002. I had done some physical factory work before that. I’ve noticed myself getting very stiff, which I think is due to a lot of sitting and I am one to get up and walk around. I recently got a thing for my desk to raise it so I can stand.

My initial point wasn’t that labouring etc. is better than office work, but that desk jobs have their own problems. I will maintain that you get a different kind of tired from a long day in the office than with physical work.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

2002 is 20 years ago. Stiffness could just as easily be age.

You lose stiffness where it used to be and gain it where it never was before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Salvadoor

"After a hectic morning including a doctor appointment, one child quarantined at home, one barely off to school for the day, and a laundry list of work that needs to get done today for my actual paying job, I want to acknowledge all of you working mamas out there, often the default parent. Who raise babies, taking care of their physical ailments and emotional well-being no matter what age they are. Who juggle a long day of stressful meetings and deliverables and still manage carpool and dinner on the table. The ones working hard to move up in their careers but still taking 911 face time calls from their teens. The ones who can multi-task in their sleep because it’s the only way to manage. It can be hard to take care of your family and your career and YOURSELF. No matter the age.

My hope for you is that you pat yourself on the back for surviving - especially the last two years. But more importantly that you allow yourself to ask for help. Hire a cleaner, sign up for a meal service, get in a carpool group, sign up with a nutritionist, ask a doctor about meds, call a friend, talk to your spouse/partner, whatever it is… don’t be afraid to do it. You are only one person. And asking for help is NOT failing. #supportsystem #workingmoms #career #womeninbusiness"

Posted along with compulsory 'disheveled' selfie designed to look as if she just rolled out of bed

• Have done both in the last few years. To be honest I prefer the mental freedom of the building site with work closure each day over office politics and endless deadlines. If it wasn't for the money I guess as I try get a deposit together, I'd be happily driving a tipper and slogging away.

On a building site it's the physical aspect that's tough, in the office it can be the mental especially on challenging projects.

One if my buddies who's a pilot seems to spend all his spare time calling out these posts with a comment "That's all great but what does it have to do with a job networking site"

Have to chuckle, as he hooks most of them and the commentors do be slating him aswell. But he is right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭tinytobe

I've sadly noticed that as well. Linked in was always a site to acquisition new business, find new customers, attract customers to your business, introduce the advantages of a new solutions and also find jobs.

Now linked in is just idiotic. I've seen pictures, anything from men in hospital beds recovering from a prostate cancer surgery, citizenship ceremonies, gay and lesbian affairs, idiots benefiting from people with disabilities, the advantages of women walking barefoot and even bellies of pregnant women.

Yes, LinkedIn as still some powerful sales and marketing functionalities, like the "Sales Navigator", but sadly LinkedIn has lost all seriousness it used to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,542 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Has every second person on LinkedIn now survived acute cancer while achieving an amazing life affirming 2.2 certificate in marketing from Dundalk IT?

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Rootsblower

Lads/Ladies, I don’t work in an office based environment so have no need for LinkedIn or such stuff spouting corporate bull** ** doublespeak. Make no mistake the type of vacuous person who posts that crap is not just confined to the office.

I must say I have gotten loads of giggles from this thread. I’m in my 40’s now and I don’t know if any of ye agree but I’ve come to realise in all walks of life about 30% of people have terminal stupidity and are chronic liar’s.

BTW if ye ever get a chance to read a book called “Parkinsons Law” by C. Northcote Parkinson take it. Written in the 1950’s it applies just as well today to those LinkedIn types.

Well paper never refused ink as they say…LinkedIn is the 21st century manifestation of that saying

The question is, if LinkedIn is actively encouraging this kind of behaviour? Historically LinkedIn was always a tool for IT people, IT Sales, Software Engineers, and later on other professionals offering services and generating leads. One could find contacts relating to IT projects, or C-level executives, interested in making their professional lives easier with new and innovative IT solutions.

It's totally pointless to have pictures of dogs or cats in there, pregnant bellies, citizenship ceremonies, women walking barefoot and men dealing with prostate issues or gay and lesbian affairs. It's just one step before the obscene comes in, and ads for sex start to appear on linked in but I don't think linkedIn will go that far, - but one never knows.

I guess the likes of LinkedIn make their money from advertising revenues and activity so this kind of nonsense presumably brings in revenue. Else they wouldn’t be encouraging it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭zom

"Fools and their money" works everywhere - on Facebook, on Tiktok and.. on Linkedin too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,618 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Someone on my feed posted one of his quotes

'You don't hire for skills, you hire for attitude'. You can always teach skills'

Absolute horseshit

Suspended my account the other day (rather than delete just in case I need to use it for its actual purpose of searching for jobs in the future). The worst of all the social media sites.

19 year olds delighted to announce their internship in blah blah Ltd. Who are you announcing this to?

Keith he/him. Yes we know you are a man, your name is Keith.

The latest development of including obituaries. That's what RIP.ie is for.

Companies waffling on about their diversity and inclusion program, and how wonderful they are. But if you were to ask for 6 months paid paternity leave you would be told to jog. Super inclusive. But sure its grand we'll hand out rainbow lanyards once a year for Pride and a few pink cupcakes for international womens day and that'll tick the box.

Things that never happened. My 3 month old baby just help me devise a sales strategy to empower future advancements in my field.

Absolute waste of space of a site these days (although I did get my current role through it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,005 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I just look at it to see the snatch photos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,968 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I hope that wasn’t someone recruiting medical specialists! 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

its actually to do with SEO ...and gaining followers through an algorithm ...youtube and twitter made that harder so people are doing it now on linkedin there is more chance people will see your brand there than twitter etc now that is all

They are just posting content while trying to keep within the basic premise of the site but the whole idea is to get you going to their website or whatever they are selling

The German alternative would be the professional networking site XING. XING tends to be very factual and professional, - so far. No pictures of pregnant bellies, pictures of dogs and cats, or people recovering from cancer or women walking barefoot yet, but who knows if this **** will come for XING as well?

Also this him/his she/hers idiocy is also another fashion developed on LinkedIn. On XING I haven't noticed that so far, - but again, who knows.

However XING lacks the analytics which LinkedIn offers in the "Sales Navigator".

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭SunnySundays

Anyone the posts refer to themselves as a SheEO, a Boss Lady, Girl Boss.

These were the same lunatics that objected to manageress!

Attention seeking nutters, instant block.

The latest “trend” I noticed on LinkedIn is arse licking work experience/graduates regaling us about all the wonderful experience they’ve had stuffing envelopes in some corporate office.

Then follows the touching graduation photos and essay about how amazing college was for them. A journey in other words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,119 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Feckin’ hell. This wan, who’s description is “Amplifying business purpose and growth through passion and curiosity.”, posts up a picture of her teenage son unconscious in a hospital bed. Seems he was badly beaten up in school.

This is the absolute corporate arse-licking drivel that accompanied it (I’ve removed names):

“Last week on Tuesday our son, ****, was violently physically assaulted during lunch hour by another student at his school. 

**** has a brain injury due to the significant & repeated blows he took to his head, face, and neck. 

When I found out I dropped everything and went to the school immediately. 

I have spent time reflecting on what took place, how I was able to put my immediate focus on ****, and the lessons I have learned through this crazy unimaginable experience. 

- You quickly find out what the company culture is made of. A big shout out to (name of boss removed) for being an amazing leader and for living his values through his actions to create the most epic work culture. The care and concern he has for people is limitless. 

- It takes a group of amazing people to rally to ensure the work continues when you need to put family first. Shout out to (loads of names of colleagues removed) for continuing to move things forward while I focused on ****. 

- Gratitude is the attitude - no matter what. I am so thankful for the outreach and support of my colleagues and friends. The journey becomes lighter with your presence. Thank you to those that shed tears with me - you know who you are. 

- Don’t hide in the darkness of the pain the situation may bring you. It isn’t easy to share this personal experience at work. However, being open is freeing which enables you to bring your whole self to work. 

- Only spend time working for a company that has a culture which encourages you to put family first. Profits follow people. 

Once again, I find myself in awe of the Salesforce culture and how that culture comes to life through the people. 

I am grateful for my Salesforce family. 

#salesforceohana #culturematters #vulnerability”

WTF? What kind of parent would post this with their kid unconscious with a brain injury in hospital?

• Maybe Ryanair or Aer Lingus looking for pilots? As long as your pilot has attitude doesn’t really matter about her/his skills, they can learn them along the way as they fly you to your destination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,572 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

****, I need to go back to that site soon.

And get another job.

Time to kiss ass.

I'll so excited.

Time to reach out !!!

"I'm so excited. And I just can't hide it. I'm about to lose control and I think I like it."

"Darling, reach out, reach out. Reach out for me. I'll be there, to love and comfort you."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

You could just have put Salesforce at the top and I wouldn't have needed to read anymore.

I have had to deal with one arm of their business and fook me pink I have no idea how they ever got so successful.

I am not allowed discuss …

The problem is that these kind of postings are often encouraged by managers in the IT industry, not only in Ireland, but other countries as well. This alone makes the workplace sort of surreal and shallow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭mistersifter

I recently came across a post from someone who had just been in an accident - her car spun off the road and flipped on its head. She was very lucky to walk away from it.

She posted pictures of the wreckage and a story about what she had learned from the experience and how great her company was for supporting her throughout it (what the fúck was her boss gonna do , sack her?!).

She nearly dies and her reaction is to use it as an attention seeking, arse-licking exercise. Very disturbed behaviour.

The way things are going with these lunatics, it wouldn't surprise me if the whole event had been orchestrated 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

People hiring personal photographers to take pics of their graduation to share on LinkedIn I've always found a bit cringe. What was worse was during the pandemic graduation ceremonies were called off so I've seen people rent the gown and get all dolled up with bottles of champagne to welcome the postman when he delivered the parchment. Some people just crave attention.

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭bertiebomber

Photos on Linked in are also fake a girl i went to school with is using a photo from her twenties when she was very good looking and slim now she weighs 200 lbs but still using the photo from 20 years back alway she has a beautiful face but she aint what you are going to meet !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,119 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I just came across someone with the headline (the bit under their name that used to be your job title, but is now generally a verbal vomitus of alleged corporate super-powers): "One of the greatest cancer stories ever".

I actually do feel a bit bad that I initially misread it as chancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,047 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Because cancer stories are generally so awesome, this one has to be extra special.