Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London Marathon 2022 (2nd October)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

PFO emails will land on Monday next, good to help focus the minds on Dublin next weeks and maybe an alternative for the spring, Barca/Manchester/Conn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Got the pfo email as usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Unknownability

If I haven't got an email is that a good sign?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

I'm in! I cannot believe it. That changes my plans, I was due to try Conn Ultra in April.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭6run28

Usual PFO - sunrise, sunset..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Usual rejection again, try again in April!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭TheRef

Same as - not this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭diego_b

Got the annual "not this time" there now...

PFO confirmed.

€1250 on Sports Travel International for 2 nights B&B and a Bib, seen lads get jail time for less. It's a business to them now, no longer a race. Charidees emailing all over the shop like vultures.

Can anyone recommend Manchester? Seems to spend a lot of time out in the suburbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Bgiraffe

Did Manchester in April and really enjoyed it. Found it be very well organised and, like all the big city ones, had a carnvial atmosphere throughout a lot of the course. Bands at different stages, discos underneath flyover bridges etc. The public transport is excellent and you congregate initially at the cricket ground there next to Old Trafford. So lots of space and toilets etc. Bag drop worked well. Couldn't fault it overall.

I'm not great for remembering the actual route and how enjoyable it was, I'd be in my own bubble a lot but it seemed grand, parts go through the city and you go by Old Trafford and out to Altrincham and Timperley. Course is fairly flat. Looking for a spring marathon myself so may very well go back.

Can highly recommend Manchester.

First few miles are around the city centre and then out to Altrincham and back in.

We'll supported and organised.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Got my GFA place confirmed. :)

Not sure yetwhat the cut offs were for 2023, if any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

The link in the email won't work for me, I'm assuming it says the obvious PFO, but the hope kills you. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

Sports Travel is a good option. Ran it this year with a ballot place but would consider the package option. After shelling out on AirBnB, flights and entry €1250 is not bad value for what you are getting. It's a once in a lifetime chance for most of us and life is too short to miss out so if you can spare the funds just do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭racersedge

Ditto to what @Bgiraffe said about Manchester. I see their marketing department working hard today for the day that is in it!

Direct flights and easy to get into the city center by train or tram. I personally stayed in the new Motel One in the city center - had the tram right outside that took me directly down to the start area. There is more hassle involved in getting to the Dublin start line than Manchester as I plan ahead!

As for the route, it’s grand. It’s billed as the ‘friendly marathon’ - surprised Dublin didn’t take issue! The support was good, although I’d say Dublin is better. Then again this was first post-COVID so who knows what Sunday brings. Is the route memorable? A few spots - early on into the city center was nice. While I’m not a football fan, out by Old Trafford was nifty. There is a long as heck stretch out towards the subburbs that was thankfully broken up by crowds in the local area. She’s fairly flat, the worst is down the furthest south. But for all the talk before, it wasn’t terrible and you immediately are downhill after it.

The finish area at the cricket stadium was plenty spacious after. My only mistake was not finding an easy exit towards the tram and had to circle about. Would I do it again? Personally, I’d like to try something different after having a positive experience there. Would i recommend it - yes I would.

• Denied. Nobody I know got a place. I live in Manchester but I think the course is a bit boring. Better than London though for beer and food afterwards price wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

I saw something on Strava about it being 3mins 30secs. Not sure if that's specific to one age group though.

Was there not cut off this year? I've half an eye on Boston qualifying so I'm trying to establish if standard there will rise too

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

The time would be gender specific, but not age group specific. For 2020 entries it was something like 2 minutes for men and 5 minutes for women if I remember correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭omicron

No joy here, didn't have high hopes on the international ballot though.

Anyone know if it's possible to use a relative's address in the UK to try get in with GFA time next time around?

It has definitely been done before with a little help from photoshop and a utility bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭SeeMoreBut

Where are you staying? Entry is £50. Flight you'd get for €100 that is £1000+ for 2 nights accommodation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭MiketheMechanic

Another "Not this time" for me also.

That makes it 10 in a row :-)

MtM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Did manchester in April. Am going back. Its excellent. Set up, support, route all quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

Just had a look at their website. Looks like they use the Melia White House Hotel and that is €800 on booking.com from 21-23 April. But that's for 2 people sharing so I'd say you're paying a 500-600 premium per person.

I got in this year with the ballot but between entry flights and accommodation I paid a lot more (granted had the whole family with me). Mate of mine did it through this company a few years ago and said it was a top hotel, airport transfers and bus to the start - he said sure you can do it cheaper but this was hassle free and he thought good value (he broke it down that if he booked everything himself (same hotel/flights) it was only €200-€300 extra)

This year race is >€100 (for overseas entries), flights can be anything from €40 -€400, "nice" hotel for 2 nights roughly €400, airport transfer €30 so talking minimum €570-€1000. With guaranteed entry and zero hassle and if you've been trying for years to get in then it starts to look more value for money.

With inflation gone to crap who knows if this could be actually very cheap (or very expensive) come April.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭deconduo

Sports Travel don't include flights and airport transfer right? It's just the hotel + entry for the €1250, unless I'm missing something.

That's correct.

So essentially they are probably making 70% of what you are paying as their cut.

Just had a look and yeah that is very dear! Remember looking at it before and it was ~ €1600 with flights and airport transfers for 3 nights. They appear to have stripped out all the little extras - sign of the times, would be interesting to see if it sells out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

€520 discount if not running. That’s some mark up to run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

Shameless plug alert.

If anyone is interested and feels they may benefit from the post marathon guidance and training plans, do head over to the new 2022 Graduates thread. Title says DCM but it's open to anyone and everyone to join in.