Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

“Paypigs”

• 11-10-2021 11:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,921 ✭✭✭

Had to look up what this term meant earlier after seeing a lot of Irish girls posting about it. A lot of Ogra SF PBP and NUIM/Trinity students.

One girl claims to have made €300 in a day. So this is what people have resorted to, paying for photos of girls when the internet is full of free pornography. €300 would probably get you like 10 prostitutes in Dublin.

Are they declaring this income to revenue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,039 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

And after that poor man was sent to jail over the garlic tax scam. What is the world coming to where these women can get away with making a few hundred quid like that? It’s like the OnlyFans all over again!

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

The porn industry had to reinvent itself. There is enough free porn out there to fap every mickey on the planet to pulp so they started removing amateur porn citing revenge porn as the reason, creating an artificial scarcity of "home grown" content

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

A paypig is someone who's kink is to be financially enslaved or dominated, correct? Where do the pics come into it...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,039 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Don’t forget the tax evasion. That impacts us all.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

They should drop a 90% percent tax on any earnings from this nonsense. Neither party should have any incentive whatsoever to participate in this.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I still can't wrap my head around the notion of paying for onanist material. As you note there's enough free stuff out there to "fap every mickey on the planet to pulp" 😂 so why would anyone put their hand in their pocket? So to speak.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Why not? Are you a puritan? Shouldn't people be allowed to spend their money as they wish?

I think there are two aspects to this: 1) is the sexual gratification which is well understood. 2) is the social aspect. These guys think that they will somehow get closer to these girls by sending them money in exchange for attention. It's absurd, and they probably deep down know it will never happen, but the brain "downstairs" compels them to do something ridiculous like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,125 ✭✭✭timmyntc

In general they should. However there is something very unhealthy about this, from both perspectives. The betting sites comparison by another poster is very good comparison. In theory it's just healthy commerce among consenting adults. But sometimes young lads need protecting from themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,269 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Sure it's only formalising what plenty of young wans from from fellas anyway 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Never ceases to amaze me the amount of people who get insanely jealous of women making large amounts of money for old rope. If there was a slew of young men taking cash from older women, the same people would be scrambling, wondering if they could get on this gravy train.

Yet when young women do it, apparently it's immoral, exploitative and should be shut down or punitively taxed.

If someone gets their kicks off spending their money in stupid ways, then let them at it.

The gambling comparison may be somewhat apt, except that we don't outlaw gambling or punitively tax bookies. Quite the opposite in fact, bookies are laughing all the way to the bank.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,241 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I suppose the tax evasion makes "paypigs" of us all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,269 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Top marks for the double entendre pun at the end. I don't know how to quote and highlight on the new shite site unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,195 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Woke Porn

I don't want to live on this planet anymore

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,241 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

• Registered Users Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭Seanachai

I'd say fappers are more interested in the realism of the amateur stuff, porn that looks more like people they see on the way to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

2 is nothing new - pop starts and celebrities have been doing this for generations.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Don't knock it til you've tried it. Those hairy legs, folds of skin and thick framed glasses can really get you going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

That seems fairly disingenuous to me tbh seamus. I can clearly remember Watchdog and other media programmes warning women about online romance scams and instead of looking to get on the gravy train there seemed to be a fairly general consensus that scamming vulnerable lonely ladies out of their money was a bad thing.

The only difference between those romance scams and this crap is the gender (and potentially age) of the vulnerable lonely people being taken advantage of. These men are in need of help, rather than exploitation.

Look, I'm no prude and see nothing wrong with someone paying another person for sexual services whether it be sex, phonesex, webcam performances or whatever. I'm sure there can be problems with all of it but at least it's an exchange of money for services. This sort of stuff is simply taking advantage of some, usually young, guy who's so desperate for acknowledgement of his existence that he'll hand over his money just to feel that another person sees him. That's not healthy and I don't think it takes a genius to see that it's a fairly fertile ground for horrific consequences should one or more of these vulnerable young men start to realise they're being taken advantage of and seek to get "value" for their money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

If Paddy Power doesn't get them Pussy Power will!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Firstly I don't get why people look down on paying for entertainment. What's the net difference between a HD Sky Sport subscription, a trip to the theater or paying yer wan two towns over to get her tits out?

As to the women at it, best of luck, however for every one that's making a killing, most are not and one has potentially ruined future prospects at a young age. What I see now is Porn Hub trying to normalize this type of behavior by promoting merchandise, like tracksuit bottoms/tops/bras etc. Note not sexy lingerie though, which to me is part of the campaign, just my own thoughts, I could be wrong.

As to the allure for lads I think it's the faux connection thing. Back in the day during my last stint chasing tail I was shocked at how often women would send not just cheeky pics but explicit stuff. To quote Cutty from the Wire, "the game done changed". I must say it was far more erotic than porn. Probably due to their being an actual connection.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭lossless

With the apparent backing and encouragement of big companies,

girls/women are being told implicitly/explicitly that they can make money by selling their bodies to strangers,

Boys/men are being told implicitly/explicitly they can spend money to gain the sexual attention of girls/women,

all against a background where people are freaking out about some of the unhealthy men/women relationships in society, that women can be overly sexualized and men overly predatory.

Just as well there's no connection there. Perfectly normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,470 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Its not the lad's paying I'd worry about, nor the tax free income, its the young (often teenage) Irish girls selling it I'd be worried about

I hope they understand the consequences of having intimate pictures and videos of themselves out there for all eternity.

I've often wondered, would those same girls take similar polaroid pictures of themselves and sell them outside the local nightclub??

Women's bodies are a thing of beauty, & everyone woman on the planet can make money from her body, lets face it though, would anyone of us want our teenage daughters or sisters to think their body is an option for easy cash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

@Sleepy wrote:

The only difference between those romance scams and this crap is the gender (and potentially age) of the vulnerable lonely people being taken advantage of. These men are in need of help, rather than exploitation.

The difference here is that it's not a scam. These guys know they're handing over money for a kick/kink/sexual gratification and not on the promise of romance or marriage. Presumably anyway.

I have no doubt that the majority of these men are just lonely and in need of a pick-me-up, but talk to a prostitute and you'll find that's the same with 90% of their clients. Are they running a scam too?

No, they're scratching an itch. These are adults spending their money. And if adults want to throw away their money and stupid stuff, we don't stop them.

By all means target the men who are doing this and try to help them, but there's nothing immoral about what the women are doing. They're providing a service and getting paid for it. Why is apparently all the energy directed at stopping these oversexed she-devils from exploiting our poor young men, and not at helping young men find better ways to make personal connections?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'd agree that the focus should be on helping the poor guys being taken in by the false promise of connection here rather than on castigating women for taking advantage of them tbh. It's far more likely to work. It'd be no harm to make sure that the girls getting into this type of work realise that they're torpedoing any chance they have of a professional career too though.

I'd have disagree that it's not a scam - the connection these guys think they're paying for (sub/domme) doesn't exist. At least with a traditional sex worker the client would get an experience in exchange for their money.