Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spiking.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,437 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Define "extremely rare".

I had to google the name of the girl and saw her age is 36. Keeping the maths simple, if she had gone out an average of 5 times per month since she turned 18 she would have been out over 1000 times. (Ignore that given she is some minor celebrity and child of another "celebrity" so that she probably had a more hectic schedule of social events than that)

Now for some simple stats.

For her to have been spiked once in the past means that, using only data her as an empirical sample, she would conclude that she had a 1-in-1000 chance chance of being spiked whenever she went out on a night out. If she has 9 friends, who also went out an average of 5 times per month over that period, and none of whom (the 9) were ever spiked, then the empirical probability for a random individual from that sample being spiked on a random night out would be 1-in-10,000 chance . If she is part of a group of 100 buddies/colleagues/acquaintances and she is the only one to have been victim, then that stat is 1-in-100,000 yet all of them will know someone who was spiked.

If you combine that group of 100 with 9 similar, but unrelated and unconnected, ones, none of the other 9 having been spiked, then the stat is 1-in-1,000,000 yet if you randomly chose someone from it, there would be a 10% chance that that random person had a friend who were spiked. If you had the sample of 1000 and you requested anyone spiked to come forward, you would expect one to come forward using the simple assumptions above. Even though the hypothetical probability used is 1-in-1,000,000 that if you went out tonight that you would be spiked.

Some will understand the above Some won't.

Sure you'd never be happy. If you had someone on here saying the reason they made a thick of themselves last night was that they were spiked along with their regular 12 pints you'd be moaning about that too.

There is a reason why drinkers might not tell their story. They'd only be sneered at and ridiculed by a certain section

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Give us another one of your stories there Donald.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

@[Deleted User] wrote:

Couple a small amount with even a travel sickness pill and that’s a heady cocktail for a body naive to substances.

Case in point: Neil Prenderville **** on a flight.

I have a friend who used to get frequent bouts of tonsilitis, for which she'd be prescribed antibiotics. In her early twenties, never one to shy away from socialising, a typical night with a few drinks twice turned into a trip to the A&E after she blacked out due to the mix of the pills and the alcohol. I think the first time she didn't realise this was the cause, she thought she'd just drank too much.

A LOT of people don't really consider the interactions between the stuff they're putting in their bodies. We tend to think it'll be fine. And usually it is. In some cases it doesn't have to be a pill you took today; something you took yesterday or earlier could interact.

Physical state is also a thing, and the implications are much greater than we give it credit for. If I go out at 3pm after a light lunch, have nothing to eat and sink 6 pints, I'll be fairly glassy-eyed and thinking about bed. If I go out for a big meal, I can have most of a bottle of wine and a couple of pints before the end of the meal and I'll still be well able for more. That's not bragging, I'm just illustrating that drinking on an empty stomach or when tired can lead to being waaay drunker than you expected to be.

Sure. When I was a teenager we were out in a park late one night for a bonfire at Halloween. One of the lads who was a bit wilder managed to get himself a naggin of whiskey and a few cans of cider. Anyone else drinking only had a few cans. He ended up puking all over the place, including all over himself and he was caught by his parents in an awful state. The next day he said he must have been spiked. Funnily enough, he never brought it up again subsequently and if it was ever brought up by anyone else he would ignore the subject and deny he remembered it happening or that he was in any way drunk, never mind even a bit messy.

Are you happy now with that story or do ya wanna poke some potential holes in it 🤣 ? I don't believe he was spiked, but sure maybe you believe that one more than the non-drinkers

Would ya like rte.ie or the Irish Times to interview him maybe?

Hahahaha, so you'd believe any female, but not a male. Weren't you arguing the opposite of this not too many pages back and calling people sexist/white knighting?? The cognitive dissonance is hilarious, and you obviously can't see it.

Laughable.

Actually no. I never called anything sexist or white-knighting. Others called it sexist and accused me of the latter.

• I was once in Singapore, in 1992 . Do t know what the laws are now, but back then it was compulsory for a premises to serve food with any drink ordered, for this very reason. I remember ordering a Singapore Sling (at happy hour as it was so expensive to eat or drink there) and ended up with a small plate of chicken skewers. With each drink ordered, and I only had two, came another plate of them.

I observe too that people with alcohol use disorder will often dispense with the eating part, instinctively to stop food interfering with quick alcohol absorption (spoiling the kick); also of course because of a lack of appetite from alcoholism; all contributing to the inevitable severe nutritional deficiency. Singapore had some wisdom in their nanny state practice. I recall the waitress there kept arriving with more nuts and urging us to eat them. I think she might have been in trouble had we declined, but as we were paying so much we wanted our value for money!

• I feel it’s very important for people to hold off judgement from folk who might get more inebriated than intended in order that they feel they can seek due medical attention when things go wrong without the finger-wagging. People should feel free to admit exactly how much they have taken… if they can remember.

Yes, I do believe in policies being implemented to limit undue access to alcohol owing to the extremely serious health implications that come with anything other than moderate use, and in Irish culture we more often than not don’t understand what moderation is.

It's literally a few pages back. You spent ages derailing the thread arguing that it some battle of the sexes thing because some posters would not believe every woman who claimed to be spiked. Yet again, laughable.

The Irish are mid table in the EU for alcohol consumption and falling lower and lower each year. They myth of the drunken Irishman is a xenophobic hangover from Punch magazine etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,742 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Would it be wrong to say a huge number of people ( of course not all) who have been "spiked" have just drank to much or taken drugs & don't like to admit it ,

Nobody will be arrested for the spiking because it didn't happen so no evidence & nobody gets in trouble & they get a guilt free cope out,

I know spiking does happen but not nearly as much as people think ,

A serious question but wouldn't you have to be spiked by someone you've been chatting to ? what would be the point in spiking someone completely random as soon as they feel unwell a friends will just look after her ? id imagine you'd have better success in spiking a random male than female as females tend to look after each other,

Also using a syringe would seem very primitive, the person would feel it , I'm sure you all felt your jabs to at least some degree, , also you have it on you & could be caught ? Even if you drop it its still evidence , Seems a silly method

Yeah you don't have to go back far to find it. Have another go there and try reading it again. I never called anything sexist or accused anyone of white-knighting. People appeared to be a bit offended I mentioned the word "girls". It was possibly some "woke" thing that they were offended that I was incorrectly assuming someones gender based on their biological sex.

My posts were called sexist and I was accused of white-knighting (obviously by some who don't properly understand what the term means) by others. It would be a bit perverse to hold me responsible for words which were not written by me, but were written by others against me.

Also have another go at reading my posts as you appear to think I wrote that every woman must be ultimately believed. I never said that. I said it is wrong to automatically assume that any girl is a liar based only on the fact that she said she was a victim of a spiking. It might clear up some of your apparent anger towards me.

Post edited by Donald Trump on

Anger? I think your posts are hilarious. Multiple anecdotes that would make Hans Cristian Anderson proud. I'm quite the opposite of angry lol.

Yeah, I think I've given 4 accounts of different events on here. Actually maybe 5 in total if you want to include the last drunk bonfire one. That might seem like a lot to some people alright, but probably not that many to most people over the age of 8.

If you had someone on here saying the reason they made a thick of themselves last night was that they were spiked...

Ah, I get it now. You're saying you were spiked while you were regaling us with nonsense stories here yesterday evening.

I actually believe you.

I have never been spiked. And btw I don't drink. I mentioned that on thread way way back. So I wouldn't be using it "spiking" as an excuse for being drunk.

Here is the subtle difference though - just because I have never been personally spiked, it doesn't mean I assume that it has never happened to anyone.

• Well we are not averse to it, and have a relatively high rate of genes for alcoholism, not as much as eg Greenlanders. That aspect is biologically and not socially based. Metabolism determines how our bodies cope with substances.

I'd say people over 8 also realise that "multiple" is not the same as "loads".

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 23,286 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Not sure what was ambiguous or unclear about the above note

That might seem like a lot to some people alright, but probably not that many to most people over the age of 8.

@Donald Trump don't post in this thread again

• Registered Users Posts: 33,541 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Reading all the media reports at present, we are lead to believe that pubs and clubs all over the place are full of weirdos carrying syringes of whatever on their person, ready to inject unsuspecting victims.

Surely it's only a matter of time before someone is actually caught and charged with this.

We'll wait and see.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,541 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Here's a very interesting stat, and it appears that spiking in NI has become very common over the last 2 months for some reason.

From Jan to Sept, inclusive, there were 6 cases of spiking reported.

But the total for the year now stands at 120. So basically in the last 6 weeks there has been 114 extra cases.

https://www.derrynow.com/news/derry-news/690592/114-drink-spiking-incidents-reported-in-the-last-six-weeks-to-psni.html

• Registered Users Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

@NIMAN Start of uni term. The same pattern as every year, freshers week particularly. Just this year people get the chance to jump on the fashionable and mysterious spiking bandwagon.

It would be great if there was, eventually, some reporting that went past hearsay, but sadly that’s all a lot of people are after.

Post edited by Jequ0n on

• I don’t know the veracity/good faith of anything anybody says on this entire forum other than a few individuals I happen to know personally and know I can trust. I’m talking from the point of view that I understand spiking has become increasingly easy to do and there’s enough bad people out there to do it on a reasonably regular basis if not all the time. With universal access to technology and the ability for the vast majority to use it effectively in more recent years, there would not be a person, so minded, who could not succeed in doing it. I’m not interested in point scoring over this or that poster, just pointing out, with a little consideration, alone it stands to reason that spiking is happening in increasing numbers.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,545 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

It's easy to do a lot of illegal things. It's easy to drink and drive, it's easy to bop someone on the head with a blunt instrument, etc. but that doesn't mean that hundreds of people go out and do it every night, however bad they are.

I'd argue that the two crimes above are far more likely than someone prodding a stranger with a syringe for no reason and scampering off into the distance. Apart from the media giving these bad eggs such ideas, why on earth would anyone want to spike someone else? If you are looking for a thrill, spike yourself!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,376 ✭✭✭corner of hells

The reality is , if an individual is "spiked" by someone using a "sharp" either a hypodermic type syringe or a diabetic type of method in a social setting or work environment particularly if its origin is unknown the person spiked would be not only be subject to toxicology tests along with support around possible BBV infection (hep and HIV ) .

Like you say , verifying these events is difficult but I don't believe for one moment that it happening in increasing numbers.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

and reading what medical people are saying, its near non-existent.

So do we believe

1. the gutter sensationalist media that have a singular interest in creating wild sensationalist sh1te to get people to click on stories.

or 2. Medical professionals

So please stop pandering to sensationalism. Its not happening the way some gobsh1tes are claiming - the same way that chalk markings don't signify anything other than kids playing or a utility company planning works, cable ties do not mean a dog is going to be taken by travellers, a white van in an estate does not mean all the children are going to be kidnapped and sold into slavery and you will not have a cloth put over your mouth in a Dunnes stores carpark and faint n the spot just as you see in gangster movies.

So please stop the utter stupidity of believing such rubbish

• I wouldn’t imagine it is by injection method, more crushed tablet in drink form.

• As I’ve said earlier I wouldn’t imagine it’s very commonplace simply because most people don’t go around with such ideas in their head. But when they do it is easier to do than ever before. And yes, any sources giving ideas out there are not to be condoned for doing so, but when did media ever desist on moral grounds.