Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society 2022

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭robbok

If there's no taker on the waiting list for this I could bring a guest , might take too long to get him set up on Clubnet etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭robbok

Hopefully Storm Eunice wont be showing her face in Portmarnock on Saturday 🤞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,051 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Folks just to makes things less confusing, can we keep talk of the Portmarnock outing to the relevant thread, especially in the run up to the outing, things can get missed.

This is a general society thread for the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,935 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

New Competition for 2022 (Post of the Outing)

Ok guys - bit of unusual news for 2022. This relates to the Society for 2022 and not just Portmarnock Links Outing.

A few long term forum members had become increasingly frustrated with the move away from the forum. Whilst Whatsapp is phenomenal and we all enjoy. People wanted the heart of the society to be maintained. By that - we all got information on the Golf Forum, at a level above the instantaneous nature of modern communication. In the early days of forums you would have posts at extraordinary level of details on the game, the rules, coaching, equipment, courses, golf trips etc. (I've noticed a return to the forum in covid times)

There is a beautiful socialism in the forum, in that, you have everything from, + golfers to absolute beginners, you have working class guys up to executives (and even both in the one). You have pure idiots and head cases (myself), up to most intelligent and rounded people you will ever meet. The key is, this game is special to us , something more than a game.

I've always been a fan of the anonymity that the forum provides, it enables an escape from the modern consequences of controversial opinion. It also enables people to show an inner part of themselves in a safe space. I do think, that anonymity can be a negative and exploited - but the upside is a great advantage.

Anyway (why use 10 words when a 1000 can do 😂) - so this is the new competition, there will be a post of the outing.

There will be a small prize for the winner (Open to sponsorship here - but If none , I will sponsor personally).

The judge for this is a long term poster, society member and all round Brilliant Educated Bohemian @The Big Easy.

I will leave the judging criteria up to him - the award will be handed to the individual at the next outing.

There will be a winner and a few noted ones of merit (who get nothing but pride 😂. )

Anyway - try post , before, after, build up, reaction to course, after, the journey, the laugh, the weather, your great or **** golf - the anything that comes to mind. People underestimate the joy such reports bring for some. In an age where a Monkey playing golf in German, should be stored in a datacenter. (but we will take entries like that), we are trying to keep posts going.

It is a bit out there ---------but did you "expect anything different" on a golf forum society. You signed up.

Sorry - I couldn't resist. (keep posting)

Post edited by FixdePitchmark on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Synopsis of above: Post a small account of your day out to Portmarnock 🙂

(I occasionally stumble across an old one and particularly enjoy coming across little details years later)

I think we’ve all been that monkey in the bunker at one stage or another!🤣

Jesus ...after me being all serious

The bloody monkey could win..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,626 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

And just in the name of anonymity, when posting about your day, etc... can you make sure that you reference other members by their boards Username. Some people won't necessarily be comfortable with their own name being referenced on a public forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

Do we have a secret handshake to learn.

Oh yes, definitely, but you need to survive a Captains Night out to be taught that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Post of the Outing

Great stuff Fixde and am absolutely honoured to be given the nod to adjudicate by our own resident bard!

I've always the appreciated the lengths and detail many of our posters go into to describe their round, but that doesn't mean SeveOB is a perpetual shoe in for this prize for his always epic post round breakdowns!

I've a peculiar and particular sense of humour, hence my fondness for Fixde's Joycean stream of consciousness posting. This is just another prize he's not allowed to win this year, I do believe he is allowed to win an outing before Captain's, so maybe he can finally do that 😉 So humour will be marked up but only if I find it funny!

It's not an essay writing competition but something to keep the society more connected to the forum that spawned it. I remember joining boards, quite a while ago now, and naturally gravitating to the golf forum while lurking on the Manchester United forum. I love golf and my love for it has grown through my engagement with this forum and participation in the society.

Whenever I went through a period of not being a member of a golf club, or not playing regularly for whatever reason, this forum and society was my route back to the game I love. My first outing paired me with SeveOB in Portarlington I think, I was terrible, fighting a big slice all the way round, but I still wasn't the worst in the group! Always comforting for a newcomer that someone may actually be worse than you, that's why we have handicaps after all.

Still my best day on the golf course is winning CharlieIRL's Captain's Prize (when he was giving them out rather than winning them) in Mount Juliet with two birdies on the back 9. The Winter League that was created out of the forum kept me playing through a cold winter and initiated me in the charms of Corballis and the incomparable joy of an early links round on a crisp winter morning.

I've got to play some courses I never would've played otherwise and maybe never will again and meet some interesting internet types 😅 Captain's weekends have to be experienced to be appreciated! Haven't had the honour of a boards foreign excursion yet, but maybe someday! Still waiting for the posts on those ones!

TLDR People who love golf love to read posts about golf!

Haha, I’m surprised anyone ever noticed my drivel! I do enjoy the post round analysis of a boards event.

That was also my first boards outing (and think this year’s captains first also?) pretty sure we played with ballyk and blockic (spelling may be wrong) that day.

I genuinely thought you were the worst player in our group at least haha, but i do recall you having a couple of amazing hole outs.

I will say this, I’ve played a lot with you and Ballyk since that day about 9 years ago now and it’s always a pleasure. that says a lot to any lurkers out there, it really is a weird way to join a society, but whilst a few of us may seem a bit essentric with our posting, we really are pretty decent people. That day in Portarlington was the best decision I’ve ever made when it comes to golf, it was the catalyst to plenty of crap golf, good golf, great golf, great courses, oddballs, great people, great friends, golfing trips, pints, zoom, big white busses…………. I’ll stop there 🤭

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,206 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Think its a great idea. Post round chat is always fun to read, and i always mean to post something. Will keep us entertained till the next round.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Manhatton

Lads, just letting ye know that there's a spot free at 11.30 as I switched to the earlier time of 10.50.

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭Snackbox20

Apologies folks,

I have had to withdraw from Portmarnock outing as I am currently isolating with the fecking Covid and cannot shake this off. My isolation period is due to finish next Tuesday. There is now a slot free in the 12:10 group.

Hope all the golfers have a great day out, enjoy the golf, the rain dancing, the breakfast baps, and the weather 🤣🤣, looking forward to reading the eulogies on Saturday night / Sunday.

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭KevH1984

Hi Guys,

I'll take the spot at 11.30 on Saturday. I've added my name in there on the timesheet. Originally wasn't in a position to attend. Here's hoping weather won't be as bad as feared.

Not sure if you guys have my Club and Handicap details from previous so if you need anything just let me know.

Post edited by KevH1984 on

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,179 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Folks, can ye post to the outing specific thread rather than block up this General Thread.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058228555/boards-golf-society-round-1-portmarnock-links-19th-feb#latest

With new Boards format I cannot move those three posts above but will delete them in a few days after the Portmarnock Outing

On this, I suggest this is the final post on an Outing Thread, I can lock the thread and then we can move our chat to the next Outing.

Yes/No @FixdePitchmark

Speaking with The Big Easy

Entries to competition would end at 1800 hrs on the Thursday after the outing - results announced Friday evening.

Then small bit of feedback and sign off and thread could close on the Monday - thanks for keeping things tidy here.

OK all,

As mentioned a few times , we were challenged as a group to bring the golf society back to the forum . This seems a lofty goal. But we wanted to keep the forum as the heart of the society. The forum is the place that builds up a sense of occasion around the outings. Your pre round build up, your experience on the day, your general "ramblings" about the day. There is everything there from jokes, prose , to golf content , course reviews, to the more ethereal experiences.

So for this year, we are introducing a post of the outing competition. Even when you had the worst day ever, you still have the chance of winning these prizes.

We were seeking the support of a company to help us here and I'm absolutely delighted and astonished, that an Irish company - has come forward.

I love the company name for this competition - as it has linguistic and golf connotations.

There will be the main prize

Stinger Golf (Post of the Outing)

A Polo Shirt as seen on website will be presented at the next outing.

There will also be two other smaller prizes of merit

Stinger Golf (Post of Merit) or Stinger Golf (Post of Humor)

Entries close 1800 hrs on the Thursday after the outing.

Winners announced by 2000 hrs on the Friday.

@The Big Easy is the judge and I will support him in this task.

In a weak moment, I asked @The Big Easy - could I enter this , as it is the only thing I could try win at a Boards Outing , we had a good laugh.

The Big Easy will be on with judging criteria - not an easy task. He may keep the judging a bit like a blind hole and mysterious , up to him.

That’s great

thanks stinger golf for a brilliant sponsorship

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭CONSI

Wont make Carton house but hopefully back for the outing after that, re-arranged Confirmation and my daughter might be annoyed if I'm not there....enjoy all, see you at Nenagh in April

At the moment, we are closed to new members, this may change as the year goes on, but numbers are quite high so we must be fair to existing signed up members and not out fill our boots.

I'm not sure if its real life boardsies this time or lurkers, but if you are watching and for anyone elses benefit, please don't just register on the ClubNet App without having the courtesy to at least announce your intertest here and drop me or someone else on the committee a pm with your info to verify. Any unsolicited App registrations won't get you anywhere (ie you don't automatically join the society and you can't book golf) and they will just be deleted, as I have just done now with another couple.

We have been pretty clear this year and Fix has made great progress in bringing us back to our roots as a forum based golf society. Please keep involved, the posts have been great to read.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 MarkPatrick

Hey Seve,

I played as a guest in portmarnock and would love to become a member of anything becomes available. It was a great day out. ⛳️

Guys thanks a million to Stinger Golf who dropped over the prizes as shown - Note ball markers for winners each month, also loads of tee for anyone at Carton or who needs them at next few outings.

Really lovely quality and branding. My good wife was very happy with the eco friendly nature of clothing and packaging.

The bees moved the photo sideways - and I just can't get them to fly back.

Deleted Carton House Outing comments, lets keep this Golf Society specific please.

Unfortuately I could not move the comments like the old days as the "new" Boards does not allow that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭willabur

do we have an updated leaderboard after the carton house outing?

Long weekend has knocked everyone out of Synch - I'll ask Seve to try get them up tonight.