Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will you be taking a booster?

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭Vaccinated30

Sorry my facts and experience don't fit your doom porn narrative.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,380 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

You'll find this forum is very black and white and suffers from a fair amount of groupthink.

I wish you a speedy recovery and you will join the large group of people getting natural immunity every single week.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭Vaccinated30

The same group that are screaming to get boosters to protect the vulnerable (me!)

Also say ignore the guff from the vulnerable who is telling you her experience.

The Covid Cult are just as Loopy as the Conspiracy Cult.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭MarkHenderson

Your recommending people don't get a booster and instead go catch covid. I won't say what you really are as i'll get banned.

Got mine yesterday from the GP, mid 30’s,. It was very different from the original, just a big queue of people they had vaccinated previously, in and out the other side of the building in a couple of minutes, they must have done 300 ish in an hour or so,

I was a bit on the fence but feels like the right thing to do, for myself anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,517 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Covid is not a cold, it manifests like that in some people but in its range of outcomes covid is a whole other level of threat. It is a numbers game in terms of how many people it can infect and put into hospital.

Maybe we should have been thinking twice about who we visited when sick and what consequences it might have for the people we visited. If you want to take that risk yourself that is one thing, but maybe going into a vulnerable person's home with the flu shouldn't be acceptable.

Pre covid I've seen sick people come into work, or come back too quickly. Consequence, over the next few weeks half the team gets the same illness and deadlines missed.

You are not just protecting others, you are also protecting yourself, by ensuring there is hospital and ICU capacity there to treat you for whatever medical issues you may have, covid or not. And before you say, that's the fault of the HSE for not increasing ICU beds, countries in Europe with more ICU beds than us are going down this road also.

Getting the boosters means while you can still get covid and get infected, you are less likely to do so than if double jabbed and far less likely versus unvxaxxed. And I stand over my previous point, more people in every cohort will end up in hospital without the booster than with it, if we rely on your advocacy of "just get covid".

What's the way out of it? Boosters to get through this crisis with moderate restrictions, next year treatment pills will be coming on stream in quantity... and yes maybe there will need to be an annual vaccine. Living with covid doesn't mean carrying on as before. We should be looking at ventilation and things like people turning up obviously sick.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭DSN

Well same as you entitled to make your choice, they entitled to make their choice & not to speak to you as it clearly touches a nerve. My best friends husband is heading into his 3rd week on a covid ward (& has at least one more week to go) also was convinced if he got it he could fight it himself & called the rest of us sheep etc Now she'll be on her own with the kids for Christmas & he is taking up a hospital bed. At least she had the sense to get hers (much to his annoyance) so she got it like a head cold & she can be with their kids. I will be honest I'll be polite for her sake (as she's been through enough ****) & but I'll struggle to speak to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭charlie_says

Probably just will get Omicron instead, since it'll probably happen anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 13,554 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭mary 2021

Each to their own its obvious that having an alternative opinion is not allowed., I support all of you who have complied & been vaxed and I also accept the opinions of the un vaxed as we live in a democracy and are entitled to have an alternate opinion. A small thing i must add is the fact that we are taking these meds to avoid a catastrophe in the health service.

For 30 years we have elected people to make things work there, they have failed and failed miserably and due to their failure we are becoming drug addicted so as not to overwhelm the health service . Maybe instead of segregating each other & insulting each other we should ask our selves why we tolerate this imcompetence from a bunch of numpties who are over paid under worked but didnt lose a penny of salary in the last two years unlike a lot of us.

We are following these same numpties advice on vaxing ourselves & our children perhaps in a quiet moment over xmas we should ponder this thought over a nice warm drink. God bless you all ( vaxed & un vaxed )over the Xmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,232 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Maybe you should follow the advice of scientists so instead of politicians, you'll understand things better.

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭Amias

Surprised Punchestown walk-in is Moderna only.

I walked away without the booster as I would prefer to stay consistent with Pfizer like my original doses.

We're not paying attention to politicians, we're paying attention to scientists.

Science is not a matter of opinions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭bloopy

The conspiracy cult are not backed by a large chunk of the media and government officials.

They are not dangerous as they have no influence.

The others on the other hand....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

If they are coming out with an updated vaccine for the Omicron + Delta I will take it otherwise there is no point. They will keep us in a perpetual cycle of largely ineffective boosters that don't stop the spread every 6 months and people will run out to get them in order to keep their covid pass up to date.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,517 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

It's reasonable to question how long the protection will remain for, or whether the gain is worth it for the non vulnerable - but to claim they are largely ineffective versus Delta is without foundation.

The boosters are effective against Delta but Omicron obviously it is early days.

If you are going to make a claim they are largely ineffective against Delta, how about backing it up?

The rate of confirmed infection was lower in the booster group than in the nonbooster group by a factor of 11.3 (95% confidence interval [CI], 10.4 to 12.3). The absolute between-group difference in the rate of confirmed infection was 86.6 infections per 100,000 person-days. The rate of severe illness was lower in the booster group than in the nonbooster group by a factor of 19.5 (95% CI, 12.9 to 29.5). The absolute between-group difference in the rate of severe illness was 7.5 cases per 100,000 person-days...  On each day during the period from 12 to 25 days after receipt of the booster dose, the booster group had a rate of confirmed infection that was lower than that in the nonbooster group by a factor of 7 to 20, a finding that was similar to the primary results.

Protection of BNT162b2 Vaccine Booster against Covid-19 in Israel | NEJM

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

I'm not 100% convinced that you do have the ability to function and debate online.

Modern a booster this afternoon. At what point will my free 5G hotspot kick in?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,554 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Come the 1st of January, at midnight be sure to pull your left earlobe 3 times to download the update. You should be good to go then.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,639 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Got booster over 4hrs ago now.

No ill effects so far. If I was to get them, could they arrive later?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,153 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I got my moderna booster yesterday at 4.30 pm. My first and second doses were Pfizer. I'm mid 40s.

By midnight last night when I went to bed, my arm had some tenderness and I felt very tired, but I had had a busy day anyway. I slept on the other arm.

I woke up this morning around 7.30 and felt like shyt. I had flu like symptoms, muscle pains and chills and my head was banging and I felt dizzy.

I am on holidays anyway, so was able to write off the day, which was a pity as I had lots to do for Christmas prep, which I'll have to catch up on tomorrow and Thursday.

I took paracetamol as recommended during the day, but that didn't make a massive difference to the symptoms. As of right now, I am beginning to feel a bit better and hope they'll be gone tomorrow after an early night.

So, although I'm very glad to have got the booster done, I wouldn't really recommend it for anyone with a hectic few days planned prior to Christmas, in case you are unlucky and get the reaction I got.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,643 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

For all my giving out (mostly out of frustration), it turns out my parents local GP are giving out vaccines to anyone who wants one now so I’m happily boostered as of this afternoon. Feeling grand enough so far, just a bit of pain in the arm.

Edit: Pfizer, for anyone interested. Initially had J&J.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Omicron will be dominant soon. The PharmaCeutical megacorps no doubt taking full advantage with a few sponsored studies saying an additional 10 shots of the same vaccine they can now easily produce. Even if they are found to be telling fibs in a few years time they might get a fine of a few 100m which is feck all compared to the billions being raked in now

It deos annoy em massively,that.the patents werent waived and entire world vaccinated before delta took off......people blow bill gates up etc in 5G conspiracies etc about covid....when it seems to be me,its just old fashioned greed

I have no issue with the vaccines,the proof is in the pudding as regards their success as regards stopping serious ill/deaths (though not at stopping infections,which is a valid complaint of anti-vaxers)......

.it annoys me so much all the money into developing them,and indemnity given by governments(all entirely reasonable-due to rushed nature of it).....the longer this sh1te geos on,the harder it is,to justify not waiving patents and starting to smell like corporate greed.....they've made enough outta it,no point in crippling 3rd world countries to pay for them

• Registered Users Posts: 31,084 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

• Registered Users Posts: 33,639 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Let's hope you're wrong,eh!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Before the delta variant, the mRNA vaccines were 95% effective at preventing coronavirus infection in the first month after the final shot, falling to 88% by the third month, according to an analysis of health records from over 14,000 Covid-positive male veterans over the age of 65.

Through July to September, a period of high delta transmission in the U.S., protection against infection had fallen to 62% in the first month after the second shot and 58% by the third month, a similar pattern from the pre-delta period. 

After the third month—which the researchers could only during times of high delta transmission—vaccine effectiveness decreased at an accelerating rate, falling to 38% during month four to a low of around 20% in months five through seven.

With mRNA vaccines, you’ll reach peak protection roughly two or three weeks post-booster. The antibodies you’ll gain from the booster will eventually wane over time, and scientists are still working to learn how long your peak protection will last.

Ho, one of the scientists studying that question, says early results show that your booster’s protection could wane at a similar rate to your second vaccine dose.

“The waning that’s been seen so far [after the original two shot regimen], you would lose half your level by two months, so a half life of two months,” he says.

At some point, Ho says, you’ll probably need another booster shot — echoing Pfizer CEO Albert Bourla, who told CNBC earlier this month that omicron’s spread could accelerate the need for a fourth shot. But, Ho stresses, it’s far too early to know what that extra dose’s timing will look like.

There’s no earthly way of knowing

Which direction we are going

There’s no knowing where we’re rowing

Or which way the river’s flowing

Is it raining, is it snowing

Is a hurricane a-blowing

Not a speck of light is showing

So the danger must be growing

Are the fires of Hell a-glowing

Is the grisly reaper mowing

Yes, the danger must be growing

For the rowers keep on rowing

And they’re certainly not showing

Any signs that they are slowing

– ‘Wondrous Boat Ride’, from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (1971)

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭costacorta

Don’t worry hardly anyone get side effects, maybe sore arm for a day .

All MVCs are doing Moderna primarily. Did you ask for a Pfizer?

They should have stocks of Pfizer for unvaccinated, immunocompromised, children and under 30s

I agree. Read the line in bold - this came from the INMO just 2 months before Covid arrived.

2019 breaks record for most patients on trolleys – and it’s not even December (inmo.ie)

2019 has seen the highest number of patients on trolleys in any year since records began – despite it still being November.

“Winter has only just begun and the record is already broken. These statistics are the hallmark of a wildly bureaucratic health service, which is failing staff and patients alike.

“We take no pleasure in having to record these figures for a decade and a half. We know the problem, but we also know the solutions: extra beds in hospitals, safe staffing levels, and more step-down and community care outside of the hospital.

“No other developed country faces anything close to this trolley problem. It can be solved, but a strong political agenda to drive change is needed.

“The INMO has written to the health and safety authorities this week to try force a change from the employers. Hospitals should be a place of safety and care – not danger.”