Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What would you like for Christmas?

• 16-12-2021 2:20am

Pretty straight forward question, if there was one thing you would like this Christmas what would it be. Let me know and I'll see if I can put in a good word with the man for you.

There's some people I miss who I would love to be able to spend Christmas with so that would be top of my list, I'm still able to talk to them though and will be able to gift them with presents so it's not all bad. I'd love the gift of good health and enough money to be able to do some things that I've been dreaming of for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭NSAman

Simple.. a hug from family. That’s it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,834 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

A pet monkey called Gordon..

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭SamStonesArm

Cure for agorophobia , really sucks being stuck at home 95% of the time. Other than that , ohhh something that would numb my gum abscess I've had for months because of not being able to get to a dentists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,612 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Put in a word to Mrs Claus, or their daughters , but what I really really want is the ride 😣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,095 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I'd like to have all my friends, family and relations all together in one place, chatting, laughing, enjoying each-other's company. Food and drink, singing and dancing. A gathering that celebrates the bonds and connections of humanity.

Then I could go somewhere else safe in the knowledge that I wasn't going to bump into any of them.

Just want to add a new phone and comfy trainers to my list. Thanks Santa.

Me and you. I was diagnosed with agoraphobia a couple of years back so I feels you. (even with comorbidities like general anxiety or depression) I made a lot of progress over the last year with a lot of help from a lot of different people and ironically none of them were doctors. Doctors like to prescribe medication that often makes anxiety and those kinds of situations much much worse. I found counselling very difficult because obviously, I'd rather be anywhere else. I'm gonna try to list the things which helped so maybe you can look into it and see if there is anything that helps you or you can find available in your own area.

You probably already know all the usuals like exercise and eating good solid clean food. Don't just throw that out like ad hoc advice, exercise increases dopamine levels and helps lymphatic drainage which is basically clearing toxins out of your body. Light exercise is sufficient though, you don't need to do high intensity training to benefit from the above. Check out Adrian Bryant on youtube for some easy to do stuff, he can be very motivating. I'm not saying exercise and eating right is going to cure agoraphobia or depression but it will help manage the symptoms it causes.

Eat good food, if you have the time try to make your own meals, anything that's less processed is going to be way better for you but also make sure you if you can to do these three things. 1. Eat more fiber. It absorbs the excess hormones in your body and eliminates them through excretion. 2. Drink more water. Keep a glass next to the kettle so that anytime you go to make a cuppa, add a little boiling water to cool tap water so it's more drinkable and get it in to you that way. It helps your everything. 3. Aim to eat an apple or a piece of fruit each day. It's just a good habit to get into and you will benefit from it. Less sugar, more fiber.

Therapy is effective if you get the right person or method. Some people find talk therapy great but it doesn't really help if you keep dissociating because you are unable to feel safe though. Maybe look for models that work on a somatic level, like holistic therapies which aim to relax the body through sounds or scent or meditative techniques. When that was provided I literally came on in leaps and bounds. I was provided a counselor who worked holistically, a yoga group where we worked on meditation and breathing techniques and used sound therapy to calm the senses. Having to participate in the group with other women who also suffered similarly was probably the most healing aspect, being held in a safe space with others who were going through the same thing was just an incredible experience.

So here's the caveat, All these opportunities were presented through a women's wellness center. (I came to them through recommendation from other services) I'm pretty sure there are a number of mens centers who provide similar opportunities for personal development in your area. (check out the mens development network and see if you have anything local to you) It does help to have recommendation or referral from other sources though as being in a safe space is integral to your healing. Get involved, get active and get well. Happy Christmas.

Cheers for the reply. Ice had it since I was a teenager , I'm an old man now of 38 haha.

I've tried many things over the years , alot seem to work for a while then I slip backwards .

About a year ago I actually made it from my house ( top o the town Waterford) out as far as tramore which was the first time I was out that far since I was a teenager so 20+ years. Granted I stayed awake all night drinking and told me mother to bring me for a spin so technically it wasn't a real win but I counted it as a win anyways, I was half sober by the time we went . I also once made it upto Faugheen , which was the time since my grandfather's funeral , I was 17 then. Also had a nice amount of beers on me at that time.

Then father got sick . ( Met consultant last week, cancer is still there but it's after shrinking so much that they are happy and will just keep an eye on it and see how that goes ). So with him being getting fairly good news , I don't have to worry as much so hopefully I'll get back to the odd bit of outside time.

Physically I am extremely unfit . One of my friends just posted today about looking for two men to come to his gym for a few months and do a before and after type thing. I was going to send him a text about it then decided Id leave it off as his gym is about a 10-15 min walk from my house ,2 minutes on motorbike but the bike is being a dick . Anyways, that walking distance is well out of my "safety zone" so I said feck it , I'll leave someone whose able to get there to get this opportunity .

Sorry if reply is all over the shop I'm using mobile so it's a bit awkward to proof read, I also kinda type how I talk so it probably came out shite. Lol.

Thanks again for reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭StevenToast

I would love to see Ryan Tubridy, Joe Duffy and Ray D'Arcy take huge paycuts this christmas....

Seeing as its the season of goodwill, i dont want them sacked....just put on a normal salary deserving of their skills...

50k a year each....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭who what when

I think you should take your friend up on the offer of a place in his gym, then do absolutely everything in your power to attend for the two months.

Also give up alcohol.

Doing those two things will change your life immensely for the better.

Big hug. We're from the same part of the world, must be something in the water down here. Tramore was the first place I went when I was able and have been on a healing path since then. Nothing like getting the head blown off you walking the strand on a winters day. That's just epic freedom.

I think you should do the gym thing and maybe try get your hands on a push bike in the meantime, might help swing you closer to to door. Take care of yourself too, I know it's difficult when you're preoccupied with taking care of others but it might be the opportunity you need to learn how to care for yourself first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

A see you later I'm heading off to mars from this covid person on a card would be nice.

Ah them two places are well gone now. I'd need me bike to be working to get to and from there and the fella I had to fix it has the part just hasn't called to fix the bike in about 2 months.

Yeah I need to try cut down on the alcomahol alright. Been using it for way to many years to get rid of the panic attacks and get out and about. Saying that I'm meeting a friend shortly in the closest pub to my house and I'm gonna have a can or two before I get a lift there. Be grand.

Sorry didn't mean to hijack thread.

I would like to add, left handed scissors. I've never felt the awesomeness of cutting something and not hurting my thumb . Went to open two bags of coal and doing just that hurt me thumb, damn you all to hell ya right handed shitbags 😂😂😂.

End of covid and travel restrictions worldwide.

Be nice to get back to living and working abroad (not online).

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Grateful with what I already have - sobriety, sanity, a roof over my head and a loving partner.

That said, a new art portfolio case to house my ever growing collection of art would be nice. OH already has taken the not so subtle hints... 😁

Also need a new phone (existing one is nearly 4 years - screen cracked to hits and overloaded with apps and files). A new wallet would also come in handy...

Also need new glasses.

Been avoiding town and the big shopping centres this year as the crowds stress me out lately. Will be going in tomorrow for a military style grab and go operation.

I may be a gay chap but I hate shopping and all the hassle that goes with it.😐😑😬

I'd like mammy to not be dead and my dad to be in the full of his health. I'd like Covid to disappear.

Apart from those reasonable requests then the following please:

My husband to live forever.

A ginormous house in the country side on acres of land and stables for horses. Floor to ceiling Georgian windows, vast staircase and secret passageways.

A year's supply of pink prosecco, any brand will do.

My own premises for my work.

A cosmetic surgery fund so I can 'fix' my hooded eyelids and get a few other tweaks.

One of those massive ford pick up yokes.

Be happy enough with that. Best not to be too greedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,442 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I'd like to be on a nice sunny beach, with a nice view right in front of me, and a beer cooler beside me filled with beer inside. Maybe a BBQ on the side for cooking something up when I'm feeling hungry in the evening, and someone(s) to share the experience with.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Brid Hegarty

A prostitute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I don't want a lot for Christmas. There is just one thing I need. I don't care about the presents underneath the Christmas tree. I just want you for my own. More than you could ever know. Make my wish come true.

All I want for Christmas is you.

Oh I have the hooded eyelids too 😔

but that's my first present to myself when I retire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

The Jihad in my family to stop over a derelict house and piece of swap land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭ablelocks

just once, i'd like a decent gift from either or both my kriskindles from my side and the inlaws side.

i like whiskey, photography, hurling, camogie, rugby, reading, beer, tech/gadgets, whiskey - I can't be that hard to buy for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,521 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Read that as

I like whiskey, porngraphy, hurling, camogie, rugby, reading, beer, tech/gadgets, whiskey - I can't be that hard to buy for

😲😀

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

All I want for Christmas is you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭ablelocks

I hope Santa is as good at delivering the rest of my stuff, the comfy trainers just arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

i would like an any old laptop or chromebook with 5 hours battery life or a nintendo switch i have no interest in ps5 or xbox x, s consoles