Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Right to work in N.I after applying for citizenship

Options
  • 21-12-2021 1:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2

I have the right to work in the UK and I am a doctor and been living in Ireland for the last 5 years on a regular work permit. I am going to get Stamp 4 in a couple of months and apply for citizenship.

While having applied for citizenship, will I be allowed to work in Northern Ireland while awaiting my citizenship ceremony? 

I am planning to live in Dundalk and work in Newry if allows

Many thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 7,649 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

You say you already have the right to work in the UK, so then can also work in NI, but if you have been living working in Ireland for the past five works, I would have thouight this would have lapsed by now.

The act of Applying for Irish Citizenship does not give you any extra rights in Ireland, UK or Europe. You only gain the rights on an Irish citizen AFTER the sucessfully completion of the Citizenship ceremony.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 dualparadox

@GerardKeating What I am asking is while waiting for citizenship, do I need to stay in Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Your right to work in the UK is as a citizen or not?

I'm assuming not as UK citizens do not afaik require stamp 4s to live and work in Ireland.

I would suggest a consultation with an immigration lawyer who will be able to advise on all aspects including the length of reckonable residence required immediately before the application is made