Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's acceptable noise at 5am?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

What many people are not aware is that some poor construction types can amplify sound ie. triple leaf effect. Commission a sound test from specialist and try to go halves on it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

But you'd expect it to be ampliefied both ways in that case? THat's the funny thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

What I'm saying is the sound insulation between two houses is not good unless your neighbour sleeps downstairs with his bedroom door open

Maybe to be a good neighbour grind the coffee at night before 10 pm, or drink tea or instant coffee if you happen to be up before 9am is grinding coffee really that loud , I'm not a real coffee expert . How long does it take to grind coffee for one cup , a few seconds , a minute? I'd prefer to compromise my neighbour has 2 kids I do not make any loud noises before 10 am

I suppose in a semi d with shared walls you have to be considerate my sister lives in an apartment

I never hear any noise from the apartments above to the right or the left at all at any time day or night when I stay there I think the walks are very well insulated her apartment is 12 years old

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I don't think the argument you can do anything you want in your home is a good one , I'd prefer not to annoy anyone or wake anyone at 5am in the morning if I can avoid it it's reasonable to grind coffee after 9am when most people will be awake anyway I'm happy to drink instant coffee or tea in the morning anything that has caffeine in it. Some people are light sleepers , once awake he may find it hard to go to sleep again some people with kids have to get up at 7 am anyway once the child wakes up so any sleep time is valuable to them I'd give him the benefit of the doubt I believe in good karma. It's nice to be nice to other people especially neighbours even if puts you out slightly you could also upgrade the soundproofing in the future if you own the house but that's a long term project and it's not cheap

I have zero soundproofing as far as I can tell just old brick walls with maybe 1 inch of plaster on the inside I have have never been woken up by noise not even once as far as i can remember

• Registered Users Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭wandererz

OP, do you have birds chirping outside at 3.30am-5am?

I do in Dublin. Highly annoying and it's not just for 15-30 seconds either.

I wonder what the neighbour's solution to that would be.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭irelandrover

Personally I'd grind the night before for a few nights and then go to your neighbour, say you've taken a few steps and ask if he can still hear the machine at 5 every morning. If he says yes then you can safely ignore his complaints from now on. If he says no then you seem like a very reasonable and helpful neighbour.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Allinall

Put up with something no one can control, I would imagine.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,053 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

• Registered Users Posts: 28,965 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Have you considered the respective decibel levels involved?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

I thought about this thread when I got up this morning and I listened to noise I made when I got up and then i was making my breakfast.

I pissed at the side of the toilet bowl. no noise. I didnt flush it. Someone else will flush it when they get up.

I did fart though, but i guess not as loud as a coffee grinder.

As I went through doors I closed them gently with the handles down. No noise.

I opened and closed the microwave door very gently. No noise. but the bell did make noise.

I didnt grind coffee to be fair, but I made hardly any noise all morning. I didnt have to put any effort into it at all and didnt even notice I did things this way until i made a point of watching how I do it. Its just something I do automatically out of respect for anyone who is not up at the hour I get up at. Its not actually hard to do it all quietly without even thinking about it. I really dont get why anyone would be banging things in the mornings.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Does the OP leave his car in gear when parked?

🙈🙉🙊

We've evolved for 10s of thousands of years to hearing birdsong and not be phased by it. Coffee grinding machines not so long.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Making a nice cup of coffee is now pretentious. Wow

• Registered Users Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I see this thread is still brewing anyway.

Storm in a coffee cup I think

Happy Christmas Eve to all neighbours everywhere!

Have you spoken to them it would cost them nothing to close the door quietly.

No decent coffee grinder wakes the neighbours.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Is it odd then if you actually Google "Noisey Coffee Grinder" it gives so many hits?

As pretentious as I am, My mate is much more into coffee than I am, So he must be unbearably pretentious by the standards of some on here. Anyways he's got a Gaggia grinder, was around 900 quid iirc and it's much noisier than my machine.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭mary 2021

the only acceptable noise at 5 am is silence but you have to live in the country to know this........

• Registered Users Posts: 11,375 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

You seem knowledgable. What’s a “decent” grinder?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Which coffee machine/grinder is it?, would like to see what (if any ) reviews mention noise levels

• Registered Users Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭wandererz

Hehehe.

Sage Barista Pro.

£600 of shite.

I can understand the neighbours issue.

Haven’t read the whole thread but is your neighbour good about keeping the noise down himself. If so I’d forego my 5am coffee to be a good neighbour.

You can use your machine in the evening.

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭pjproby

Presumably suggested already, just buy ground coffee!!

• I can’t say enough about the microwave door comment and how it effectively puts any kind of willingness to be nice out the window for me.

But he is creating unnecessary noise.

Its not necessary to grind coffee beans at 5am when they can be ground the night before.

• Registered Users Posts: 236 ✭✭SmallgirlBigcity

Season 2: oh yes. I've said it to them. I pointed out to them that they slam the door and it's incredibly loud but they continue to do it. They said it's the only way to close it properly. That's not true because we have the exact same door. I knocked into them one evening at 10.30pm because it sounded like they were kicking the walls. The banging was unreal. I asked them what they were doing and they didn't say anything and then eventually said they were hoovering, which I didn't believe. I told them it's not really normal to hoover that late at night.

Sure the other night, at 11pm,they were outside banging their bins. I looked out and it looked like they were doing a massive clear out. Stuffing loads of stuff into their bins. They drive me mental. We've never really fallen out over it but I genuinely hate them. I can't wait to buy a house and move away from their loudness.

Give me a break.

The OP was getting by on instant coffee or caffeine tabs for his early morning caffeine fix before getting this machine - now its absolutely necessary that he has to have fresh ground coffee beans for his morning cup and nothing less will do?

In no sense of the word, is it necessary.

No civil or Gardai complaint will be upheld, ever.

You can't speak for what every district court judge might decide if the OPs neighbour did decide to take it further, which they are entitled to do if it continues. The relevant laws are posted earlier in the thread.