Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Have you ever reported or would you report a business for covid compliance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

As data controller, it comes with responsibilities

You can't distribute the recoded media. You can give it to the police but they have to follow protocol to obtain it

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

A supermarket is not a public place. Go in and try to have a picnic in your local Tesco “public area”. There is a reason stores have to have stickers all over the place stating that they have cameras.

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭it takes 2 2 tango

So what about the dashcam thread? Is that illegal?

I have a back facing camera. If I recorded someone picking their nose in traffic would I be breaking the law if I put it up here?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

How have you gained access to everyone in the stores health records??

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭SamStonesArm

I never have reported a business and I never would. Businesses should be allowed to set their own rules .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,450 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

One of the perks of membership of the curtain twitchers association of Ireland.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

If they're identifiable, yes, as I understand it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭Deeec

You should just avoid these businesses if you are not happy with how they operate their covid rules or policy.

The problem for many businesses is that they are relying on their staff to enforce the rules. Many staff will avoid this for fear of confrontation or being attacked. Many more will see it as not their job. It is very difficult for employers to make their employees enforce this.

What do you think you will achieve by reporting a business?

Also have you ever challenged someone who isn't wearing a mask - I know I wouldn't - I would stay clear of them.

Yes if it identifies the person

No if they are so far away they are not recognisable

A lot of people put dash cam footage online showing number plates. That is personal information .i think it is cos it could indirectly identify a person

I know someone who won't wear a mask on the supermarket

Not seen him challenged and have been in shop at same time as him a few times

I would give him wide berth in a store

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,849 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I wouldn't report a business.

If a place was very sloppy around fresh food I might give them a wide berth but not for what you mentioned.

I don't really know what people report these business expect to happen either.

It sort of reminds me of curtain twitches ringing the local Garda station to say there's young people outside. i

I remember in the early days of masks one store had security at door. He stopped me once i genuinely forgot it. I apologised and went to car and got mask.

I have seen couple shops with no mask no entry signs

In the early days i didn't have my nose covered properly and the staff member ask me to cover it. He looked very scared.I fixed it no problems but i had to leave as my glasses fogged and i could not see sizes or prices which was why it was slightly down in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭KieferFan69

You’d have to be a special kind of saddo to report non-compliance by shops IMO. Don’t know anyone irl that would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭KieferFan69

Fair play. Yours is the most moral of stances. By rights nobody should use these pseudoscientific, segregationist pharmaceutical passes. Vaxxed or unvaxxed.

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭Shilock

There was discrimination against a lot of people with a diseases throughout the past non respitory too. It is medical apartheid and it's not the eboloa or anything close.

They were so good at apartheid that they made a great job in the nursing homes didn't they.

Like I said I'll be on the right side of history, I was only following orders won't stand up when law firm's start rubbing their hands together....

Mark my word...

Thanks, wait for the show to begin it could be a year or two but the same people who were all for it will be saying at the bar oh I was totally against it etc

I've seen a lot of people lately wake up and it's a pleasure to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Freddie Mcinerney

Did majority anti vaxxers know someone that died of the covid vaccine?

• Registered Users Posts: 5 wally2022

This post wreaks of conspiracy theorist type language and phrases.

Once the hospital numbers are manageable then restrictions will go away.

Every government in the world is just protecting their health systems becoming overwhelmed, nothing more.

At the moment hospitals in Ireland are cancelling appointments for other issues because the hospitals don’t have capacity or staff due to dealing with Covid cases. This is precisely why the restrictions are in place to avoid this type of situation becoming the norm.

I'm not a conspiracy theorist, we're talking about businesses here who are not letting healthy people into their establishment unless they provide a piece of paper or digital cert.

You're just echoing what the media are spouting. Are you telling me that other specialists such as cancer consultant's to orthopaedic surgeon's and neurology consultants have taken on the roll of becoming respiratory virus experts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

No because I couldn't be arsed.

I look out for myself and that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Attempting to report anyone for covid non compliance is a waste of time. The Government actively avoided setting up a report mechanism and instead rolled out advertising telling people to get out of anywhere they are not comfortable in.

It is impossible to regulate anyway with an ever changing mixture of rules, guidelines, advice, contradictions and solo run political statements being issued every day - sometimes several times a day. That is perhaps why a compliance complaint mechanism was not set up - there is no legal basis for it.

The HSA probably have no part to play in the current situation where said rules/guidelines/advice/contradictions and solo run political statements are not backed up for the most part in well thought out legislation.

Avoid anywhere that you do not feel safe in - look after yourself and leave others to do likewise ... or not. The Government has not given you any other option.

What response have you got so far from the HSA OP?

• Registered Users Posts: 5 wally2022

And what are you echoing? Or have you gone around all the hospitals to check yourself?

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Freddie Mcinerney

Relentless

I don't need to, it's just a thought of mine I wondered what all the hospital consultants who aren't qualified in looking after people who have respiratory illness are doing.

Especially when their appointments have been cancelled due to an illness they're not qualified to treat.

Anyhow I don't want to go off topic, I wouldn't tell on anyone.

Does that satisfy your curiosity ?

In fairness it would have been easier for him to just go to another shop and just accept that that shop only accepts people who wear mask's. There's plenty of shops who don't care whether you're wearing a mask or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,942 ✭✭✭growleaves

In 18th century France you had no civil rights whatever unless you agreed to be baptised. A Calvinist who wanted to practice law needed a certificate of Catholicism (really).

This historic situation doesn't violate just-invented 21st century standards because apparently no in-born characteristics (e.g. race) have been discriminated against. Laughable.

The Irish Council for Civil Liberties and Liberty in the UK are calling for the certs to be scrapped.

I read a comment recently which struck a chord with me. The poster was comparing our current situation with that of old Catholic Ireland. The rules and guidelines around Covid are like Catholic teachings and Gods help you if you don't follow them. You will be cast out, judged to be a 'wrong un' and then reported to the relevant authorities. Some of you remind of that type of person.

When did we become so fearful of life? So fearful of each other? While I see the aversion to regular living as a new thing here - a consequence of the pandemic - the disconnect from other people has been many years now in the works. When you would rather look at your phone than look at a fellow human, when you are uncomfortable to sit beside another on a train. The anger that some of you have towards your fellow humans never ceases to both amaze and sadden me.

During my mam's wake I noticed the amount of people who didn't know whether or not to shake my hand, or to hug me. This is how our society is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Last few funerals I was at we were under strict orders not to shake hands, just put our hand in the air passing the mourners.

Tis a weird one all right because shaking hands to sympathize is a very traditional Irish custom at funerals.

We didn't have that at all. We left it up to others what they wanted to do. Almost all the people at the wake had masks on. It was strange but it was their decision. When I was asked if a handshake was ok I said it was. So really people did what was comfortable for them and we did what was comfortable for us.

There were quite a number sitting around drinking tea and reminiscing, talking about what my mam would have thought of Covid and how 'she is looking down on us all thinking we are awful eejits for crying' 😆

Sure that's the way.

I haven't gone as far as reporting any business (but I did think about it). What I have done is walk out of places that were not enforcing the restrictions in place, and I will not be returning to give them my business againwhen this is finally all over.

I walked out of the hairdressing salon I have used for years when I went for an appointment and the owner told me (with a big smile) that I didn't have to "bother" keeping my mask on in the salon. Neither she, her staff or any of the other clients were wearing them, even though it was mandatory for salons. Nor was any hand sanitiser in view or offered. I found out later on that she tested positive for Covid that same week.

Thats the only occasion I've been really tempted to report a business.

The rules and guidelines around Covid are like Catholic teachings and Gods help you if you don't follow them

No scientific evidence of God though

I will not be returning to give them my business againwhen this is finally all over.

Travelling today i was ina shopping centre and smelt chips. saw masks not covering noses. passed. and will pass when covid over

No there isn't. There are humans though and our complexities and how those complexities can manifest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,450 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

What sort of animals don't smush their chips through their masks like normal people?

It's that type of wreckless chip eating that has us at 20k cases per day. Savages.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Where we once had displays of Catholic piety in public, now we have public displays of Covid piety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭radiotrickster

I’ve reported a few places. I was in a restaurant last month, halfway through the meal when it turned out they were letting people in who didn’t have COVID certs to sit inside. They also let people in to wait for food for collection without masks (not staff, just customers). We were beside the entrance so they were stood there for 20 minutes with no mask and anyone coming in had to wait next to them to be seated. If they’re waiting for collection and don’t have a mask, they should just wait outside.

What agency did you report them to and what response did you receive? Genuinely curious as I would not know where to report to, since no government direction has been given on the non compliance reporting aspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭radiotrickster

I reported it to the HSA here: http://www.hsa.ie/eng/customer_service/make_a_complaint/

They just sent an automatic response saying they’d follow it up and that was it.

I doubt you will get any satisfaction there... from their own explanation 'We can only respond to areas where we have a responsibility under legislation.' That is their get out clause... how many of the advice, guidelines, best practice measures that we are asked to observe regarding covid, are actually backed up by legislation and formally placed under the remit of the HSA?

Probably none as they will point out, if they actually bother to respond at all.

'Where your complaint relates to an issue outside our responsibility we will suggest the most appropriate Authority or Regulator for you to contact.'

I would bet that this will be the basis of any response you get and there will be no nominated authority or regulator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,833 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

the gym I go to seems to have something in the water where there is about a third of people not bothering to sanitize equipment after themselves…

feck all staff on the gym floor all be it maybe I’m there during a change of shift I don’t know. But no oversight, no announcements on the PA to remind people which would be common sense … managers are like super efficient if you forget to pay when membership is due as has happened to me once..they can remind you of that when the health of the till might be in jeopardy but the health of humans… hmmmm

many people don’t wear masks transiting from one area to another…. Sit on equipment yapping which is a HATE of mine and then don’t sanitize either…. It’s 90% the under 30’s, that rough age group…

ive never been asked for a cert, not once, just a hi from whomever on reception… I’m vaccinated, boosted grand and being policy plus sanitize before and after but I’m willing to bet there are non vaccinated attendees…

just zero staff to enforce and verify the certs and behaviours in the gym..

If I was given a reason to report as in it got more out of hand or I got covid I would I think…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭FromADistance

I haven't reported a business... I just avoid places where rules are lax. That being said, the supermarket local to me is unavoidable so I get in and out as quick as I can. You'd be wasting your breath worrying about it. Funny enough, I caught Covid and it wasn't from being reckless about it. Eventually, we're all going to catch it and there's not a whole pile you're going to be able to do about it. Anyone at risk should take extra precautions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Report away,nothing will happen and no body really cares anymore.

You sound like you need a hobbie, that's about the only thing I can say about you without offence