Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Cricket Season 2022

• Registered Users Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭hawley

“You’ve got to get the line and length right every time against these guys."

It seems like he wanted to get the wicket instead of keeping him penned in. Idiotic on so many levels.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,311 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Exactly, starve themselves for runs and the mistakes will likely come. Build pressure..

brain dead of Young coming out with statements like that…

Then again, brain dead bowling too from him, 24 off that last 5 deliveries , Bracewell is certainly no mug with the bat but that is absolute piss poor bowling, sorry.

Ah lads - be fair! That interview was after our first T20 loss to India. And in fairness to him, his economy rate for both those T20 games was pretty good. As it was for his first 8 overs yesterday!

He bowled 2 overs and conceded 18 runs in that loss, fair play he picked up two wickets but economy rate….. 2 wickets in the other game and 8.75 so a similar economy rate, in T 20 not an outright disaster but not economical.

yesterday when it mattered and he was handed the responsibility of winning it for Ireland… everything was in his favour but he bowled it where Bracewell wanted it. quick and in the slot.

looking forward to getting out there tomorrow and seeing if we can level the series with the decider on Friday.

in one way, it must give the Irish lads a great degree of confidence being now routinely competitive with the best in the world but at the same time when they put themselves into winning positions they need a winning mentality and performance.

Look at the other bowler's economy rates in both of those T20 games and you'll see that his was among the lowest. So - hopefully - those last 11 balls yesterday were just a brainfart. Enjoy tomorrow's game. I wonder will Boult or Southee play.

Comparing with others who bowled uneconomically doesn’t help his case.

Also that was Bracewell’s first ever ODI hundred.

Very little in the way of NZ team news, cards being kept close to their chests.

going by all NZ social media back home… this mini tour here is huge. Plethora of interviews and debate with ex players.. great to see.

not just a few practices games ahead of something else.. this matters.

Warm day with only im reading a tiny single digit percentage of a chance of any rain… looking good for a full days play…getting quite windy as the day progresses but hot. Be bringing the sun cream and plenty of cold drinks…

Well, delayed start, Ireland inserted and Paul Sterling is gone after only 4 balls.

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭No_Hope_Club

7/2 after 6 overs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭VillaMad

Huge toss to lose as the conditions are suitable for the bowlers and the weather is to only get better later on, so Ireland are massively up against it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,088 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Looks like you mightn't be needing the cold drinks later in the day!

Edited to add that looks like we might just barely reach 200, which didn't look likely earlier.

Post edited by Furze99 on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Fattybojangles

Great knock from Dockrell to put some respectability on the scoreline a brilliant 74 after everyone else failed hopefully Adair can smash another few boundries in the last 3 overs here to make it somewhat competitive.

All out for 216

Brilliant start from Adair. Two wickets from first two balls. Might give us a chance.

Another desperately poor over from Young. Ten from the over and posed little threat. His head is gone after Sunday.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,889 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

fighting back well here, well adair

Two sixes in the last four balls. Desperately need a wicket.

20 from the last over. That probably has scuppered any small chance. 50-2 after nine.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,889 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

85/2 now after 14. game over you would think bar a near miracle

Just home, excellent contest, a grand entertaining day.

Considering our start 0/2 to come back and get 219 on the board wasn’t bad. New Zealand bowled very well it must be said.

Michael Bracewell down the order with a very good 42 not out from 40 was really the clincher for them..

Ireland bowled and fielded magnificently..only Josh Little proving expensive. Just ran out of overs to stop NZ

• Registered Users Posts: 11,088 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Not sure I understand how we ran out of overs? When I look at the score, there were 12 overs left but they passed our score.

Batting overs, as in for ourselves to get a few more.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Fattybojangles

To be fair we've given NZ 2 proper games really should have beaten them in the first one and also gave India 2 very good games in T20 these are seriously positive performances and after beating SA and WI we've shown we can compete with the best there's real momentum behind Irish cricket now and we'll definitely get more games off the bigger sides if we keep being competitive as they'll see it as a real test and not a pointless warm up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭VillaMad

Final ODI game against New Zealand and two changes for Ireland with South African born Graham Hume in for his debut in place of Adair (who I don't know why he isn't playing) and Delany is in for Simi Singh.

Great start for New Zealand with a 78-run partnership between Guptill and Allen, but Ireland have since got two wickets. Little getting Allen and Young now has been run-out. Might possibly be the end of Will Young for now with New Zealand as he has had a terrible tour this summer.

Presumably Hume is the next Plastic Paddy off the rank, having replaced Luke Georgeson who, having got an Irish passport and an ICU contract, decided that he was actually a Kiwi?

• Registered Users Posts: 727 ✭✭✭wicorthered

It's time now Josh Little started delivering or was dropped. Having an absolutely nightmare summer, has he bowled two decent overs in a row all summer. Every over seems to have a wide and two boundaries. He'll be 36 and the selectors will still talk about his potential.

Disastrous bowling performance all round today. Penny still hasn't dropped that full balls go to the fence

A significant score for NZ... 360

Just not enough wickets falling in that middle period of the innings to put any significant pressure on them....a good start by us and I was left hopeful of curtailing them to a sub 300 score but some lusty hitting by the NZ batsmen plus some inaccurate bowling and we are behind the 8 ball.

Going to need a good start.. a very good start.

Stirling will score a breezy 31 off 17. We'll be looking ok at 80/1 before we lose 3/4 in a clump. Struggle to 220ish all out!

Very likely... im inclined to agree but fingers crossed.

Duck for the skipper. Can't remember many worse series performances from an Irish captain. No impact with the bat and pretty clueless in the field. I'd get shot of him to be honest. Let him concentrate on his batting.

In among my moaning. Wow what a player Tector is. He'll go down as our best ever batsman. Has every shot in the book. Wonder can he bowl LMF!!