Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Cricket Season 2022

• Registered Users Posts: 25,472 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I’d back us chasing 230/240 but with our long tail and these West Indian quick lads… it’s doable but… I don’t know.

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭fergiesfav

We had a better shout turned when he was roughly 35. It looked out to me. Different game if that was given

5.38 is the RRR.

doable if the lads get off to a solid start keep dot balls to a minimum…

trying to find a happy medium is always our downfall…. Start too conservatively and the RRR will be up over 7… start flashing the blade carelessly and we’ll be 3 down inside the first 6 for not very many…

hopefully we get off to a good start and don’t end up behind the 8 ball.

Disaster of a start. 1/1 after 1.5….a pretty poor shot played to an average ball.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭VillaMad

Steady progress as Ireland are 40-1 from 12 overs.

McBrine has had to retire hurt after failing to recover sufficiently from a blow to the helmet.

71/1 from 18.

199 needed from 32 over. 6.21 run rate.

Rate is 3.9. Too many dots… by and large they’ve put the bad balls away all be it they’ve continued the habit of good shots finding the fielders but the required run rate over 6.4

why with only one wicket down are they not going more attacking ? They’ll leave themselves with too much to do. They don’t learn.

just a single off the 21st.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,570 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Picking it up a tad now. Tector getting away with a couple of edges. Balbirnie has made 50

Yes a few more attacking shots and boundaries… need to make hay the next 9 overs, keep this rate manageable.

After I post the above Tector gently dabs three deliveries in a row to gully…then Balbernie leaves a short wide one… negated the good over previously.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭Peter File

50 up for Tector at a good rate.

109 off 90 is possible

109 from the last 15 with so many wickets in hand would be straightforward for most of the top teams. Let's see can Ireland pull this off.

Needed another 7 overs out of balbirnie you'd have to feel

Poor shot really, a cutter but a lazy swing as opposed to a controlled stroke …

4.64 is the current run rate, we need 7.4..

putting ourselves behind the 8 ball, yet again..

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result.

Tector plays a shot that I guess thought might clear the rope for 6 but he has to clear the fielder first, he didn’t…

Ireland batting themselves out of contention.

Feck it anyway. Really didn't need to lose the two of them close together

97 from 73… think our moose is nuked….

Campher playing defensive to a straight one that was asking to be driven then providing catching practice to Hope…you could not make it up.

Christ above, they are determined not to win. Every time whether it's batting or bowling they throw away promising positions. They'll limp to 220 now

Yep… it’s the same craic… two singles off the 41st…and only 4 wickets down.

4.42, is the current rate. 11.5 needed…. Delaney blocking…then almost runs himself out. Bowled next ball.

Absolutely pathetic display. Rabbits in headlights once again.

It's not even boundary hitting that's the problem. They cannot rotate the strike. How many dots balls in that innings, there's probably 60-70. Turn half them into singles and the chase is easy. Instead they tip away at 3 an over, blocking away, not bothered about getting a single and keeping the scoreboard ticking along. Once the rate goes above 7, they panic and slog because they haven't the technique to hit boundaries.

From 63/4 in the field and 170/1 batting to lose this badly is disgraceful. There's 4/5 there that I'd put on the next plane home.

And pissing themselves laughing when failing to score so much as a single run off a full toss…

a losers mindset… cricket Ireland have been in receipt of well over a million in taxpayers money from grants…

Adair in and hits a 6…. It can be done.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,862 ✭✭✭kksaints

Disappointing result but we've seen it so many times by now. Good bowling at the start, get a couple of wickets but then allow one partnership to score a load of runs giving the opposition a competitive total. Then after losing one wicket cheaply we get a decent second and third wicket partnership which gives some hope but after that partnership falls the run rate falls the required run rates starts to increase to around 10 a over and we start losing wickets fairly regularly and we end up losing by 30 or 40 runs. Our batting is so weak once we lose two or three wickets.

Not one but two match winning positions thrown away.

The match was lost very simply by rotating the strike.

At 63/4 Pollard and Brooks happily took ones and twos, played themselves in then teed off. Ireland played far too many dots, Porterfield had a nine ball duck😡, even when they were set Balbirnie and Tector played too many dots, it was like they were laying a platform for Jos Butler to come in. The run rate got away from them and a very average middle order couldn't hit the boundaries to win it. Instead they got out to one ridiculous shot after another.

I've said it before, but they need to go the passport route ASAP. In the mean time get McCollum and Commins into the side in place of Dockrell and Porterfield.

id love to know how many dot balls were in that innings… had to be over sixty..

It's not even just the amount of dots, obviously you can't score off every ball, but I'd love to see a stat for how many premeditated blocks were played. There were times Balbirnie was going to block regardless of the delivery. Himself and Tector seemed more obsessed with not getting out than scoring. Very very negative and stupid considering the lack of firepower coming in later

Ireland lose two super league points for the slow over rate on Saturday

Tomorrow's ODI postponed after more positive covid cases in Ireland camp

https://www.cricketireland.ie/news/article/second-odi-between-ireland-and-west-indies-postponed

Games rescheduled to 13th and 16th January with the single ODI binned.

Given it's covid though there has to be a reasonable chance they don't go ahead

Balbirnie not in team today due to a covid positive test so Paul Stirling is captain for the game.

Ireland win the toss and will field