Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Academy Awards (Oscars 2022)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Don't be silly!! Equality means only the good stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

No there isn't.

What type of disease is male-pattern baldness?

The most common cause of hair loss is a hereditary condition that happens with aging. This condition is called androgenic alopecia, male-pattern baldness and female-pattern baldness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,294 ✭✭✭✭Penn

"People refer to the disease as simply 'alopecia,' but technically that word refers to any hair loss," says Adam Friedman, MD, an associate professor of dermatology and director of translational research at George Washington University. "Male pattern baldness is a form of alopecia," he adds. "But when we're talking about the disease, we're really talking about alopecia areata."

Fine, male pattern baldness is a form of alopecia. However, in all common nomenclature, there's a clear distinction between baldness and alopecia.

Jada Pinkett Smith's alopecia is the result of an auto-immune disease. Male pattern baldness is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Imagine if Jada also grew a beard. Like the woman in the greatest showman group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,604 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I'm traumatised by her awful hosting

She made fun of Timothee's appearance and had Kirsten move her seat as a filler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Agreed.....shower a hypocrites and fake insincere woke attention seekers.

I think everyone knows at these awards shows the hosts or presenters whether comedians or not can include a dig or joke at their expense, while Chris's joke failed over Jada’s condition which he may not have known, it didn't warrant a pro (violent) Smith room anti Rock imho

Besides Gervais at the GG, Seth McFarlane when hosting throw many digs even on Weinstein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,912 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Well one thing for sure next years host has some great material to work from now.

Roast them all and double down on Smith if he shows up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭KieferFan69

As I say I think male pattern B is worse than baldness for women reason being there is no stigma against women wearing wigs . If a dude gets a wig no one (and I mean no one, not even his mother) will stop reminding him

Also let’s not forget we are talking about a smoking hot (biologically gifted) woman who is no doubt extremely wealthy and does very little of what the rest of us would call work . If the hub can’t control himself she is personally to blame as she may be pulling his strings, seen it a hundred times, certainly she is pulling his strings with the young friends of the son who she has bedded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,515 ✭✭✭valoren

Javier Bardem (4 nominations - 1 win)

Penelope Cruz (4 nominations - 1 win)

Will Smith (3 nominations - 1 win)

Jada Pinkett Smith (0 nominations - 0 wins)

It was a roast joke about competitions between married actors. Chris Rock was roasting Jada Pinkett Smith, someone he knows/knew, about the lack of award recognition in her career as it was Will who is the multi-nominated actor in their specific marriage.

Remember Ricky Gervais hosting the Golden Globes in 2011 did something similar.

“What can I say about our next two presenters? The first is an actor, producer and director whose movies have grossed over $3.5bn at the box office. He’s won two Academy Awards and three Golden Globes for his powerful and varied performances, starring in such films as Philadelphia, Forrest Gump, Castaway, Apollo 13 and Saving Private Ryan. The other... is Tim Allen.”

There are no prizes for guessing who the first presenter is and that's the humor in such a roast. Some people need no introduction. Chris Rock was initially ribbing Bardem and Cruz, a married couple who between them have won Oscars and have been nominated on numerous occasions (4 nominations and one win each). The implied set up being that they can expect more nominations or wins in future considering their mutual talent. Rock was implying that there was an ongoing competition between them to see who can win the most Oscars and that Bardem better hope that Will Smith wins instead of him lest there be marital strife if he takes the lead. It served as a deliberate segue into the target of the roast, the couple next to them who have actual marital strife.

In terms of the Smiths marriage the joke is that no such competition exists as Jada, with a shaved head, would be never be an Oscar botherer and starring in GI Jane 2 type rubbish is more her fare at this point i.e. the kind of movie which would certainly not be winning any Academy Awards and in which the lead character, huzzah, had a shaved head just like Jada. Like Tim Allen, Jada was the butt of the roast joke as she was sitting alongside actors who were venerable Oscar veterans and comparatively speaking she was a nobody in such company. Just like how a relatively successful actor like Tim Allen doesn’t seem that successful at all if you compare him to Tom Hanks. Gervais could have extended the joke by listing Allen’s poorer “GI Jane 2” type films (e.g. Wild Hogs, The Shaggy Dog, The Santa Clause 3 etc.) against the more acclaimed ones he listed for Hanks. Rock effectively declaring that Jada was doesn't measure up was his angle with the joke to my mind.

A variation could have been like this;

“It’s great to see Javier Bardem and Penelope Cruz nominated yet again. What is it now Javier? Fourth time? Penelope this is your fourth nomination also I believe? Happy marriage, even stevens. Javier, I know if you win your second Oscar tonight then your wife will only have one if she doesn’t win so for Gods sake you better hope Will Smith wins! It’s third time lucky for you Will isn’t it?…Oh and Jada, I love ya and I can’t wait to see GI Jane 2!”

The whole alopecia spiel is convenient self-serving victim playing considering Will "vessel for his people" Smith and his melodramatic wife are a pair of narcissists clearly incapable of engaging in some self-deprecation. Zero sympathy as Rock was simply joking and they are exactly the kind of deluded people who need roasting.

Isn't hair transplants all the "in" now

I'm not knowledgeable but if you are bald or have alopecia can you get a hair transplant?

It’s looked down on liz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,493 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

I wonder if the Bruce Willis news will end the will smith talk ….

A win of best actor/actress is much higher honour than supporting actor/actress. So both Bardem and Cruz wins have been supporting. In saying that, I think Bardem would have been a worthy winner in 2011 for Biutiful instead of Colin Firth in Kings Speech.

Any flight Istanbul to Dublin now will have at least 10 lads in their mid 20s upwards with bandaged heads after getting the work done. There will also be few huns with a bandaged nose or boob job, or even a Brazilian butt job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭trashcan

Yeah, on watching it again, he did say smacked. A smack could refer to either I suppose. Still definitely not a punch though.

To be honest everyone knows there isn’t much honour associated with these awards, behind the scenes they are all screwing each other for roles, getting nasti with their producers and half of them are into unsavourary acts or magick or bloodletting or what have you. The oscars is a bit of an in-joke played by the haves on the haves nots

This does seem like an inappropriate time to make a bald joke…. Slap worthy

Hopefully the daughter delivers the slap I always liked her although she’s not for everyone

None of these actors are fit to lace the shoes of the Sutherlands

I doubt any man would choose complete hair loss (alopecia) over balding. Why would you think this?

no hair at all. Eyelashes gone, eyebrows gone. No hair. That is a far more worrying than the very common issue of hair loss/receding/balding

and they’d prefer this because “at least it gives an excuse?” This reads crazy to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Let’s not descend into misogynoirism, not my words the words of a female empowerment coach.

https://www.rte.ie/lifestyle/living/2022/0329/1289117-what-is-misogynoir-and-how-does-relate-to-jada-pinkett-smith/

Yes well there is a degree of symmetry with alopecia - eyebrows gone, nasty hair on shoulders and nips and bum all gone etc. So it is preferable in a sense plus you don’t need to shave your head daily to get those smooth lines, plus, I suggest, wig wearing would be considered more acceptable if you had the condition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭santana75

I thought Will smith's acceptance speech was the most sincere and genuine of the night. He did the the thing and now he's being condemned by people who know neither honor nor courage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Ya a genuinely awful speech. Stop with your false blubbering.

If he had said I don't deserve to be here after what I've done, apologised to Rock and everyone else and then got off the stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Caquas

Nonsense. It was a self-serving, disjointed unworthy speech.

He didn’t apologise to Chris Rock and he tried to portray himself as motivated by the highest instincts. He’s a bully who thought he could slap down anyone who crossed him, anytime any place.

When the show was over, his lawyers told him to he had to apologise so he issued a statement that was obviously a negotiation between himself, Jada and the lawyers who told him he would be lucky to stay out of jail.

The man, to put it bluntly, is a Pratt, he upstaged his beautiful wife and made whole show about him - if it was me I would I would wait till cameras are on me and wag finger sadly, point at wife and clasp fist to heart and look downwards. This way whole world receives message. Then she can express thoughts HERSELF the next day by tweet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I'm surprised this divided people. I thought Smith was completely in the wrong.

I've seen some really poor takes on this, for example 'why can't a man defend his partner from a verbal assault'? That completely misses the context of where they were. If Smith and his wife were walking down the street and some stranger came up and said 'hey, is your wife going to be in GI Jane 2', I can understand Smith resorting to a slap in that scenario because that would be intimidating and you don't know if it's going to escalate to something more. But that was not the case at the ceremony. Everyone knows a stand-up comic is going to come out and dish out a few gags, and Smith has met Rock in the past and knows what he's about. There was no 'threat' whatsoever except to Smith's fragile ego. You have to be prepared to take a bit of stick. It's like going to a comedy show, sitting in the front row, and then the comic makes some jokes about you or your partner. Does that warrant getting on stage and engaging in assault towards the comic? Of course not.

I was amazed at how many people justified it. I would like to ask those that do, if it were a female comic that made the joke, would Smith have been entitled to give her a smack? If you say no, why are you justifying it towards Rock? Since when is it okay to attack someone as long as you are of the same gender? Try using that defence to a policeman or a judge and see where it lands you.

It was obscene that he was allowed to take his seat and sit through the rest of the show. At the very least, representatives from the academy should have asked him to go backstage as his continued presence was bringing the show into disrepute. It essentially normalised violence in front of an audience of hundreds of millions. Not to mention the wallies in the room giving him a standing ovation when he picked up the best actor award and started waffling on about being a positive vessel.

I'm awaiting Regina Hall's traumatic response

I don’t think I could have nailed this as clearly and accurately as this.

Similar to what I said earlier when someone said it was a knee jerk reaction. So far from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

The ‘academy’ knew he was getting an award after. May have affected their decision making on the night. They wouldn’t have the guts to not present the award.

As mentioned if that was a woman he assaulted, there’d be an armed unit in taking him down.

Post edited by walshb on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,833 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

If you walk into …

a local pub

cinema

airport

school

theatre

and for whatever reason end up assaulting a person there, you will be told to leave if not physically assisted to and 9999 times out of 10,000 you would be banned from returning..

not only was Smith not asked or escorted to leave… he returned to the stage…. Shady…

a ceremony like the Oscar’s would have had support of local law enforcement, etc…

so it was…

A) fake and staged

or

B) real, but the cops are afraid of stepping on Hollywood stars…

either way the credibility of the Oscar’s tanked…local law enforcement too.

you condone it when you do nothing about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

It was a very stupid move....but he clearly reacted based on his wife's reaction...he laughed at the joke initially. It's not an excuse but adds some context he seems to be very much in awe of her/under the thumb.

Also the word you are looking for is prat...unless you mean Chris Pratt...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭almostover

And that's it, I'm out! Black man makes mildly distasteful joke about black woman, is slapped in the face by another black man and somehow there's a racist element to this. The human race is doomed.

I had to listen to it again. His quip/gag. Was it even cruel? Jada arrives to awards with shaved head, and Rock mentions GI Jane. That is pretty much it. Folks reading into it to try find offence and cruelty..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I thought it was in pretty poor taste...but also crucially not in the slightest bit funny... Rock referencing a film from the 90s...how current....he got a massive boost in his ticket sales so every cloud...

She has been pretty public about having alopecia etc so she shaved her head for a reason.

Will Smith shouldn't have slapped him but he would be well within his rights to have knocked him down a peg or two in his acceptance speech. Tbh I thought initially he was going to go on stage to speak and stand up for his wife.

Have to say I don’t think there was anything wrong with the joke. The lady had a shaved head which is unusual and edgy but not unheard of, GI Jane a famous scene involved the actress having her head shaved and spent the rest of movie like that. I thought it was a pretty funny joke and delivered well by Rock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

Another celebrity slap but this was a setup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Apparently he was asked to leave and he refused. I don’t think he’ll ever live this down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,022 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I think this kind of proves the point of the difference between this happening to men and women - same as you, I have a full head of hair and would be really upset to lose it. And that's in a world where it's entirely normal and commonplace for men to lose their hair, and wouldn't at all single you out amongst your peers.

So imagine how much worse it would feel if you lost your hair, something you feel is a big part of your identity, and it also made you a total outlier at the same time. That's how it feels for women. It's unequivocally worse.

Wanda "it was gross"

😁😁

Coming from someone who was calling Sam Jackson a "bitch" and a "hoe" at the start (some of us watched it all 🤣) of the show.....

..... everything woke turns to shít

#BigWillieStyle#MostlyPeacefulDeLaHoyas2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

The slap heard around the echo chamber.

In a new statement, the Academy reveals Will Smith was asked to leave Sunday's Oscars ceremony after slapping Chris Rock, but he refused

https://tvline.com/2022/03/30/will-smith-oscars-slap-asked-to-leave-refused-academy-statement-chris-rock