Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Govt. Made Complete cock of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

He's making about 15 quid everytime he sticks a needle in a punter, and there's no end of punters or shots so good luck getting his attention

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭mumo3

and then an additional €50 off me and anybody else who's lucky enough to get a call back, when he can give me 1 minute of his time!!

I'm a cash customer, so might have a slightly higher chance of getting a call back, I wonder if people in receipt of medical/GP cards are pushed to the bottom of the appointment list?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Am I alone in being delighted to see the public sector healthcare workers get some recognition for the past two years they've had to endure? If the cost of giving those that risked their lives to care for our loved ones is that the lady who does their payroll gets a few quid to keep the union happy, so be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,813 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

no you re not alone, they should in fact be given a rise, and extra paid holidays, we would be fcuked without them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,175 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Listen dude, we, in my opinion anyway, shouldn’t be spending taxpayers money on such things as ‘keeping the Union happy’

i have no problem giving to those ‘on the front lines’ none at all but paying just to ‘keep the union happy’ !

Sorry lads …not a runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Paul Murphy knows very little about workers, and even less about work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

The teaching unions have said they will not be making demands for extra money.

This payment should go to health care workers and ancillary staff porters, cleaners etc who worked through the pandemic. Govt should just ignore the noise from others.

We shouldn't be do alot of things and I'm no fan of the PS unions. But if the only way to reward the front line staff without causing strikes is to waste some money giving one off bonuses to ancillary staff in the HSE, I can live with it tbh. We've wasted far more on a dozen other things and if nothing else there might be a little boost in morale among HSE workers who in their heart of hearts know they don't deserve the bonus and show some appreciation to those whose coat-tails they'd be riding on...

Post edited by Sleepy on

I see your point in fairness, but I doubt if any sector would risk strike on this issue.

Murphy was in like a flash to put pressure on the govt for his own profile.

Govt needs to stand firm on this, in my opinion should have copperfastened those sectors who would get this payout,long before it was announced.

Main opposition parties seem to be testing the wind and again in my opinion seem to think it’s not a battle worth fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭timmymagoo

How about health care staff in non public settings, how about porters and cleaners and maintenance workers who had to work around coivd patients

What of the workers in supermarkets who kept us fed and clothed and were definitely around covid positive people

I think the whole thing makes **** all sense and instead a once off 1000 tax credit should have been given to all paye workers

It's simple and fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,796 ✭✭✭HBC08

I heard Brendan o Connor from the Garda Union on the radio ranting earlier.Whilst I think Gards dealing with assaults,public order,protest etc should get the payment in reality it's unworkable because the majority of Gards weren't in a situation dealing with Covid positive people in a clinical setting.If I was a Gard I'd be totally embarrassed by this lad shouting and begging at the same time.

It was pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,315 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It is embarrassing. Most gardai would not agree with him at all.

Well any of them I was talking to wouldnt, but I suppose that isn't most of them. But a general consensus between the ones I was speaking with didn't want any rep group making anything out of this.

O'Connor got to the top table of Garda Reps by getting enough votes from the members. If he has ambitions to go higher, he would be in a good position to judge the mood.

And as I posted earlier, some among the vested interests will be looking for their reps to articulate their claims. Probably in most cases nothing will come from it, but they can't then be accused of not getting the message out. If I was a high up in any union, I would be wary of coming out and saying we don't want your €1,000.

The top table of the Garda reps just care about the top table of the Garda reps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭appledrop

I have to agree, delighted they are not included. My son had really bad ear infection & I had very bad chest infection before Christmas and heavily pregnant do you think GP would see us in person even though both of us got pcr tests that came back negative, not a hope!

An absolute joke of a system. I have to praise Ddoc, only for them we would be in some state. My chest infection so bad doctor thought I was a smoker, never touched them in my life!

I'm not as well informed as you, but I expect they are are not all like that. They seem to be busy enough getting things on behalf of the members.

GRA STATEMENT ON THE ANNOUNCEMENT OF EXTENSION OF COVID-19 CONTINGENCY ROSTER UNTIL MARCH 2022

As a result of sustained and repeated representations by the Garda Representative Association, we are happy to announce that the current Covid-19 Contingency Roster has now been extended until March 20, 2022. This extension will also assist the Westmanstown Group in continuing with their negotiations without being influenced by unreasonable time constraints. While these discussions remain confidential to participants, we can assure all GRA members that you will be updated where possible on an ongoing basis and once negotiations are concluded. He hopes this provides some level of certainty to our members in the months ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,577 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The definition of ‘front line’ will be a particularly liberal one you can be sure….

meanwhile people on hospital waiting lists look on wondering if that money might be fûcking better spent trying to help them faster instead… how about getting in doctors and consultants and support teams on temporary contracts from wherever to perform procedures delayed by covid…

country is an absolute joke.

there were as of September just gone over 800,000 people on waiting lists according to the IHCA.

The roster was extended because the commissioner wanted it to be, because of covid.

One of the main reasons the waiting lists are so long is due to staff shortages, not an unwillingness to hire, an inability to fill vacant positions. One off bonuses after a period of extraordinary hardship for the front-line staff could be argued to be an extremely cheap staff retention programme. In all likelihood it's probably nowhere near enough to stem the tide of medical professionals leaving for more lucrative positions overseas or in the private sector but it certainly won't hurt.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

An employer is giving some staff a discretionary bonus.

So anyone who doesn't meet the criteria isn't eligible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,316 ✭✭✭circadian

We're pushing close to 6% inflation and it has been on the increase for years but this last year the increase has been exponential. The cost of living is through the roof, so while the one off payment of a grand is welcome to many, it's a fairly empty gesture. What's that going to get them? The costs are continuing to rise so the value of that money is decreasing as time goes by, and quickly.

There should be a significant hike to minimum wage and instead these folks should have gotten a pay rise instead of a one off payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,996 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Your information about inflation is all wrong. In some years there has been deflation. And it was not exponential in 2021.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,577 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

a one off bonus payment will have absolutely zero impact on retaining staff…. Well payed, well resourced and well treated staff on the other hand will…

people work for decent dependable and commensurately proportioned pay and decent conditions …. Not a one off bonus…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,628 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

How many of the moaners here would have worked in covid wards for €1000 for the last two years?

Anyone?

Thought not, shut up, absolute pack of begrudgers. Just fûck off and let the people who did alone, your claps didn't pay our bills. Boo hoo, x didn't get it but y did. The people who deserve it are getting it.

Before we all go off half cocked, this payment is merely recognition, not compensation for great work done.

I see no great rush from various interests to make an issue of who gets it and who doesn’t.

The correct people are getting it and as the previous poster said very few would go through what they did for €1k.

The Govt should have copperfastened all this before any announcements and hopefully will stick to their guns on this.

Lets have a bit of common sense for once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

Short-term thinking from failed schoolteachers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,316 ✭✭✭circadian

And it wasn't you who cured people, it was the doctors. Get off your high horse there with your self importance.

No-one is begrudging healthcare workers the bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,813 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

all health care workers played a part in nursing folks back to health, including nurses, doctors, cleaners, canteen staff etc etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,970 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Not really the same to get some random Tuesday off in exchange for the day after Paddy's when all your family and most other people are off.

Nothing can be done about Frontline workers as they have to work but large retail chains should shut down for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

but then thats not really fair on the front line workers now is it? and sure if retail just ups and shuts down what about those of us that work when can we go in and shop if retail just shuts its doors? what if the pubs closed? wouldnt we not be able to go on the piss on the thursday or friday then? tehn all them poor 59th generation plastic paddys would suffer as well.

fact is people are pissing and moaning as if not having a bank holiday off is something new, its not, for a cohort of employed poeple it has always been this way. this day is nothing different except its beside another public holiday and people want to go on the piss for a 4 day weekend