Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What's Another Year?: The Late Late Show-Friday 4th February 2022

167891012»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,788 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Till next week, folks!

Behind-the-couch Valentine's night!

Stay safe! Nos da!

COME ON WALES!! 😁 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

It was by far the best of a poor bunch imo.

They don't want to win it and spend the money.

The head of the delegation who pick the songs is from RTE. I guarantee they had better songs and artists in the 320+ entries than what was on that show.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Just listened to Rachel Goodes song on Youtube and the high note at the end that sounded like she messed up is actually in the song too.

I think Rachel was robbed.

4 points and then 2 points wasn't it? Ridiculous.

High note is at 2:42

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I would like us to send a song like this, well written telling a story and nice music...I live in hope for the future. Sometimes simple can be beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭mistersifter

For years we've been pandering to the typical Eurovision gimmickry rather than just putting in a good music. We've seen Jedward, Dustin and some other stuff that was more about social justice than music. It just becomes a cheap imitation of the shite that wins in.

Portugal showed a few years back that you can win it without doing Eurotrash or pandering to trends.

We should enter some genuine music - be it trad or a decent pop ballad composed and played by credible musicians. Even if we don't get anywhere, there's more dignity in getting fucked out of the semis with real music rather than get fucked out with something Nicky Byrne "co-wrote" (apparently he co-wrote the first song).

The only problem is getting credible musicians to agree to it.

Ukraine should have won last year.

The Juries were a disgrace.

I think this will go down well at the Eurovision for Moldova, singing about a train journey from Chisinau to Bucharest.

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭tintin67

Panti Bliss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Her voice totally fell apart towards the end. It got 16 overall it was nowhere near winning or being robbed it was 5th out of 6.

I was surprised Janet Grogan did so poorly with the public vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,023 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

At least one person was entertained by the late Late Show. Paul Harrington's first time to be entertained by The Late Late.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭OwlsZat

Correct winner on the night. Only the "judges" live in studio hasn't a breeze. Brooke's song reminded me of Netta Barzilai who won for for Israel in 2018.

You can win with any type of song, just has to be catchy and this is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,849 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,024 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭Field east

The 4 on judging panel were extremely poor to put it mildly. . The only solid comment was made by lady on left when she said that song 6 was Eurovision material . I assume she meant that the Euro audience vote for something simple , jumpy , a bit of colour, a bit of movement , a bit of cuteness, a bit if rejecting something and , I assume , she thought that no 6 was the most complete package. If she was true to her would she would have given the song 12 points. BUT HER TEAM gave it only 4 points One would wonder WHT WENT ON BEHIND THE SCENE. Was it advised by someone beforehand? Was it aware of how the other votes went before it voted.?

The judging panel should have been made up of ‘ professional’ song writers / reporters who ‘specialise ‘ in analyse songs in the media.

It was cringy TV when RT went back to the judges for comment after it giving the winning song a lowly 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

We should have had Jedward dressed as the ghostbusters and instead of slimer being the bad guy it would be luke O’Neill and sam ‘dapper Dan’ mcconkey dressed in Corona costumes. Give them a catchy tune similar to ghostbusters and we would certainly win it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Late Late Show Segements 2021/2022: 79

Friends of RTE: 20 (25%)

Sport: 9 (11%)

Music: 9 (11%)

Misery (Illness / death): 19 (24%)

Other: 22 (28%)

*Bonus* Toy Show mention: 8/17 (47%)

Special Episodes:

1 - Geldof Birthday

2 - Toy Show

3 - A song for Europe

Low points: Olympic sport segments, Billy Connolly, Mario Rosenstock, Irelands Call.

High Points: Geldof Birthday, Lyra, Lisa Fallon.

Personal quote of the season: Welsh Megaman re Brendan O' Carrol Segement:

"There's no place like Ireland."

Says the man who lives in Florida.

Ryan Tubridy second year in a row:

"Better days are ahead, mark my words"

Riffin' Ryan's analysis of "Belfast": "To shake hands with the ghost of your old childhood."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

Ireland 80/1 to win.

🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,849 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,619 ✭✭✭archfi

I detest the ignorant fecker but make no doubt of it, that godawful 🤡 shít talking bar owner will be the one. RTE is nothing but consistently dumb.

As for the tunes, were those six the best of over 300?? Really??

The one that won has no hope unless the music and vocals are vastly improved and of course for ESC, surely the staging can't be sponsored by Penney's or last years disastrous stagemasters

And RTE couldn't even get the voting presentation right - it's like they had to make sure every song got points and no one had hurty feelings. No anticipation as to who got the 12 - that's one thing ESC has mastered the art of. They could have easily had 5 being awarded points and thrown 1 point at the lowest placed song AFTER revealing who got the 12.

I really enjoyed the opening titles of the LLS show - whoever put that together deserves a nod.

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

That was an excellent tune but I did love the Maneskin. I would have been very happy with that winning though.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Kathnora

Well said Field east!! How could the judging panel be in any way credible after that fiasco? Every song scored the same on their "praiseometer". I'm not fond of Simon Cowell but he was needed there last night for sure. And then they had the nerve to praise the winning song after giving it 4 points! How could any viewer believe what a jury like that says about a song? We are truly living in an age where only positive comments are allowed for fear we may upset the performers or cause them some mental distress. No way could anyone take a jury like that seriously.

*wakes up to the tune of ‘Yeah, We’re Gonna Get Out Of It’ in my head*

I predict already without hearing any song except Irlande that Ukraine will win this year.

Am watching it now after only seeing the first 3 songs last night. I think this guy song no.4 has been listening to too much James Vincent McMorrow.

No. 6 reminds me a bit of the chicken song from Israel that won it a few years ago. And I already know this song won last night.

It seems a bit strange that the studio panel, who are supposed to be the panel of experts, only ranked our winning song as 5th best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,308 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

The 2 ladies even look a little alike in their sense of stage style!

To thine own self be true

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Great game of rugby today😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,849 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Indeed.

On that evidence there is only one Welsh Megaman.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

The panel were experts....experts in talking absolute drivel.

Blathnaid had to be the worst, Sharon Corr the least worst.

Blathnaid.."you need a song that grabs your attention...and then keeps you there!"......."and I really love the trumpets, they really make it feel like a band"

Paul talking about Patrick O'Sullivan.."wow, those vocals....I've never heard anything like that!"

Lucia just spent the night with eyes popping out of her head in shock like she just realised she left the oven on leaving the house.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

I could start a separate thread to highlight this, but I'll put it out here first, if I can.

Firstly, apologies for not including a poll-I never even thought of it, and when I did think of it, it was too late, and I was sorry I hadn't thought of it. So, that's it.

Anyway, given the fact that threads are now unlimited in capacity, would everyone rather a new thread each week, or just one thread that we can hit every Friday (I'm still happy to do a precis each Thursday, if you are masochist enough to desire one).

It's just that there has been something of a pile on of late (late) threads, possibly due to confusion with this rather shaky platform we find ourselves teetering on.

One thread might be handier, The TT thread, for example, works away grand.

Up to ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭mistersifter

@Pelvis Parsley I enjoy your opening posts and the weekly thread titles. Although that could be included into a new mega thread if it suits you better. Your efforts are appreciated regardless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Bredabe

The GH thread has been running for years, I would like a long running thread like you mention, for me that means I don't have to remember to like the thread each week.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭AllForIt

@Pelvis Parsley I don't really care for the running thread idea. Duplicate opening threads is hardly ever a bit deal. It always sorts itself out before long.

I would suggest opening all threads with "LLS:DATE - Headline", or some variation of. Condense it as far as you can. In that standard format to avoid confusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,516 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I prefer the new thread each week, otherwise you will end up with previous weeks show resurrected and people want know what it's referring to.

Not many times there's overlap with 2 threads in the same week, generally it's because nobody has put one up until the last minute and then there's panic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,186 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

First line of Caroline’s wiki is “ known to fans as “ the chick with the stick “”

really ?

I vote for separate weekly thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

Thanks all, weekly thread it is.

I tend to use the same format each time "xxx-The Late Late Show:DATE", if that helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,483 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Yes, thought the same myself.

Although it's like the Lidl version of it.