Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Glasnevin 'necrology wall' memorial discontinued due to vandalism fears

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

SF/IRA politicians seem to have lost their voice.

Usually they are out with public statements within minutes of a news story like this.

Why the silence?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭mikethecop

this sort of shinner mentality is why we are so slow in progressing as a nation

• Registered Users Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

The families of anyone buried derserve to be able to mourn.

I'm not shinner mo chara. If you want to be antagonistic all the time you'll end up with an Ulster ulcer.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You have to thread carefully when you're a bunch of globalists masqeurading as nationalists

• Registered Users Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭mikethecop

dittio terrorists and criminals masquerading as a political party

• Registered Users Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

It was amusing during the hooha in early 2020 about the RIC commemoration, there was an RIC version of the "My Grandad was in the GPO in 1916" doing the rounds. Apparently everyone's RIC Grandad was the exception to the rule; he was just doing his job to serve the people, was beloved of his community and never took part in any oppressive activities.

It seems the RIC members who gave the force such a bad name all seem to have left no descendants.

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭Perseverance The Second

On the one hand they should have never included the name of those who died for the likes of the RIC. After all you don't see Japanese fighters commemorated in memorials for the likes of the Nanjing massacre.

The larger issue is that this will now set a precedent for vandalism as a tool for change into the future. Going to be interesting to see what sort of memorials or statutes will be vandalised in order to advocate for change.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Surprised the wall lasted as long as it did having the names of black and tans along with their buddies in the RIC was bound to cause offence poor old Joe Duffy is very upset .

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

I find it incredibly depressing that we went through a decade of centenaries and, if anything, our prejudices have been reinforced.

Nationalist dogmas persist, and that’s even before Sinn Fein gain power and stoke them further.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭landofthetree

Them and their core support generally had a lot of relations in the Black and Tans,RIC,British army,Auxiliaries etc. Its tricky for them. They want it to not be mentioned.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,415 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

It was an ugly memorial aesthetically anyway. They put awfully ugly wire mesh between in the gaps to stop people getting stuck in the wall. Ruined it's appearance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭hawley

We are a lot more bigoted now against Unionists than we were twenty or thirty years ago. We feel that we have them backed into a corner. Our dear leader Michael Higgins plays his part in this too. He loves to play to the gallery.

The RIC were the police of the time. They were ordinary Irish people doing a job. A job that was required for law and order in the country, same as every country needs a police force.

many of today's gardai had grandfathers and great grandfathers in the RIC.

You have a very messed up idea of who they were. It's pretty disgusting actually

• Registered Users Posts: 29,099 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

no they were a terrorist force, paramilitary orce belonging to the british and to uphold british rule and subjicate the irish people.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

Snore. They were the police force in Ireland from 1822 until 1922. The whole country was part of the UK

How do you feel about members of An Garda Siochana, arresting and convicting members of unlawful organisations?

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

Interesting. I wonder if the DUP’s supplanting of the UUP is largely responsible?

We are endlessly indignant that Brits know little about our history and politics, but we know so little about Unionist politics bar the latest DUP controversy, and the history that we do know is one-sided.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,837 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Between 1860 and 1916 a qtr of all RIC men that died while serving were killed by other RIC men. They were even savage to each other.

We can dress it up anyway you like but they were a force of largely violent hoods and were very corrupt, even by the standards of the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,639 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Maintaining law and order? In the period of time the RIC were maintaining this "law and order" half the population either died of famine or had to migrate to escape destitution.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Exactly, there are a certain type who only see things in terms of sides.

it is quite funny that the we are all Irishmen because we are born on this island (which is only done to provoke) position suddenly disappears in the case of a memorial to all who died and the same posters want different memorials.

That type of hypocrisy wouldn’t wash in a book of fiction because it wouldn’t be deemed credible.

And here you are attacking people because they aren't on yours. Do you read these before you post them?

They all deserve to be remembered and mourned.

Its a shame. Best thing to do is have separate memorials rather than none.

Might be an opportunity for a redesign. A wall on each side and a plaque in the middle on how all the dead have a right to be mourned.

I don't know why you and your friend think this is so abhorrent. Making up things to be ignorant about. The hate is strong alright. The civil war is over horse. Move on.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,579 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The bright spark that thought it would be a good idea putting the names of Black and Tan murdering scumbags and RIC traitors on the wall beside the brave souls who died trying to free Ireland should be fired from their job.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Cal4567

All these commemorations have stoked up what I thought was dormant.

Look. Both sides were murdering scumbags regardless of what their motives were.

A lot here in denial. Just let it go. It was over 100 years ago. What's past is past.

I think the problem is that we haven't addressed it properly. We've Fine Gael looking to commemorate the RIC/black and tans, like telling people they were a great bunch of lads. While being selective about which 'terrorists' are sound. It's like the whitewash which was the centenary of 1916. Partition gave us a civil war and a divided country. While all families deserve the right to respectfully mourn, a one stop, 'sure they're all the same' monument isn't the way to go. One set fought for our right to self govern, the other for our oppressors and then they added innocent civilians to the mix. It was probably created by the same minds thought of a state RIC/tan commemoration, when even their families never asked for it. There are certainly a cadre of people with an agenda looking to whitewash our history. A one size fits all monument was never going to be accepted.

• Registered Users Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Oscar Madison

RIC Members should NOT have been included nor members of the Black & Tans or other occupying forces!

In my view it sullied the very memorial to all those who died in or fought for the cause of Irish freedom!

It was a bad decision made by those who made the call to sanction their inclusion on the memorial!

Yes, it was a fine memorial & I had seen it a couple of times but two separate lines in the sand here.

This period of Irish history is still a very sensitive issue for a lot of people!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,579 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Only one in denial seems to be you.

One side was fighting to get the other side which was a foreign power who brutalised the people of this country for centuries out of Ireland.

The only murdering scumbags were the Tans.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,385 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Would pulling down the Wellington monument help with the sensitivity ?

It's common outside of Ireland as well.

The British aren't going to have a memorial including Lord Haw Haw, Israel aren't going to honour Kapos. The French don't salute the Charlemagne division.

It will ever be thus.

The mercenary and adventurer fight and serve and are forgotten by those who hired them and looked down upon by their own who they attacked.

• Registered Users Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Oscar Madison

Should every street that has a British name attached to it be renamed or should every Irish post box with a royal

emblem or insignia on it be removed? Of course not! History is what it is but it shouldn't be airbrushed!

I couldn't imagine a memorial in place at Belsen or Auschwitz to commemorate Josef Mengele or Heinrich Himmler to name but a few, could you?

Charlie Flanagan and that type played a part in all this.

The same mindset that made FG one of the worst performing lead opposition parties in any democracy in the last century.

He certainly helped tank them in the last election.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Cal4567

Sounds like you're the one you just can't let go. More than 100 years ago.

Prefer to embrace the future than carping on about the past.