Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Kurt Zouma thinks it's funny to use a cat as a football

• 08-02-2022 1:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭AllForIt

And so does his brother as well to have the confidence to post the video on social media in the expectation all it would do was raise a laugh.

I've no doubt some people are so pathetic they keep animals just to be mean to them.

Hope he gets the boot himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭dePeatrick

What a pathetic person, kicking a defenceless animal…disgusting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Someone should kick him like he kicked that cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,949 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Wonder how many people upset about the video contribute to animal cruelty every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,323 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Fecking hell that is pretty horrendous. Half arsed apology as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Trekker09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Absolute Zero

Seems like posters here put virtue signalling ahead of animal abuse and derail a thread about a scumbag kicking a defenceless creature.

END his contract now!

I think it's quite alright to point out a **** remark. Don't see that as virtue signalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Baybay

I haven’t looked at the pictures or videos that are available to go with this story. I couldn’t. I admit to just reading the headlines so my opinion might be just that, thoughts based on a headline.

However, in another thread on here I am trying to come to terms with my feline companion of twelve years having recently disappeared. He was loved, well treated & is very missed. I can’t imagine, even in his naughtiest moments, ever being deliberately cruel or abusive to him. I loved him. To me, this speaks a lot to the type of human this footballer is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭thefallingman

i found him slapping the cat in front of his kid worse, but i have to agree with Zebra above, let's not be hypocrites here. How was your bacon and eggs this morning with your glass of milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,545 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I'm more shocked at a person reading The Sun paper/website than a footballer being stupid.

I am the furthest thing from an animal lover, but I don't think its fair to call people hypocrites for being appalled by this and still eating meat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Baybay

I hear what you’re saying but in this context, that’s an entirely different argument, I think. I chose to share my life with our cat, a rescue & to make him one of our family. There was no expectation of abuse in the domestic setting or of raising him for the table. He was an appreciated family member otherwise what’d be the point?

hey i'd never do anything like that either i mean it's disgusting and cowardly, but let's be objective and remember we all need to do as i do and not do as i say, there is more abuse on a daily basis due to our want of certain products even though we don't need them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,274 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

But it's reductive coming into a thread about a single incident and saying that "well you are a hypocrite because of x"

I mean, you wouldn't go into a thread about a specific instance of child abuse and say "well that t-shirt you bought is from penneys, so before you talk about how bad that incident was, remember that you are contributing to sweatshops in china"

When you are quoting someone dunne, you should actually quote them and not make up what you think you read. I'm not defending Zouma either.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,063 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

@timmyntc do not post in this thread again

Mate, you said "let's not be hypocrites here. How was your bacon and eggs this morning with your glass of milk."

Now I could be reading that wrong, but it does seem like you are implying that caring about this subject is hypocritical if you eat meat or dairy. I don't think my quote of "well you are a hypocrite because of x" was that far off the mark.

I'm not your mate you're not my type, and i'm not sure you understand the concept of quoting someone Dunne. But lets not derail the thread, again i'm not defending Zouma it was a horrible thing to watch.

Calm down. I never said you were defending Zouma. I just said you were implying that people were hypocrites for commenting about this and eating meat and dairy.

I quoted your post. I then paraphrased what you said in my post. You got snippy so I quoted the salient part of your post verbatim. I don't believe I misrepresented you.

And apologies for calling you Mate. I didn't realise that you would take it literally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Relikk

What a fucкing scumbag. That poor little cat. 😟

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭randd1

Given his general footballing ability, I’m actually impressed he was even able to kick the cat so accurately.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

I dread to think what the reaction will be if he ever kicks a human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,834 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Kicking and punching a cat, with a child taking part / present……. and that really fücking creepy sick psycho laugh while he’s doing it…ughhhh

be nice if there was an animal lover or two playing for teams lining up in the premier league against West Ham over the coming weeks, see if they could dish out a little cruelty of their own…

Zouma says :

"They are loved and cherished by our entire family, and this behaviour was an isolated incident that will not happen again."

loved and cherished by the entire family, yes, looked like it alright… West Ham won’t do anything… not exactly a club that set a high barometer as regards the behaviours of their players and fans.. most likely a fine and a photo op with an animal charity which if they were right of mind would turn down along with a statement of condemnation….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I love cats but I mean if you compare the hell pigs go through in their millions every day in Ireland to this cat getting kicked it really makes you wonder why some animals are cared about and others are treated like dirt.

Bloody idiot allowing this to get on social media though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I didnt realise it was illegal to eat bacon and eggs, unlike abusing pets

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Vegan? How many worms and other earth-dwelling animals are killed by ploughing fields to grow crops etc? Lets not be hypocrites here.

Average yields are about 1.4 tonnes of wheat/hectare; 13% of the wheat is useable protein. Therefore, at least 55 sentient animals die to produce 100kg of useable plant protein: 25 times more than for the same amount of rangelands beef.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Put a tiger or lion into his room and we see if he will kick it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,812 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Wouldn't it be a pity if someone went in two footed on him in his next game.

He might not be so quick to kick with a couple of torn ligaments….not that I’d advocate that of course, just saying…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,949 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I didn’t know everyone was upset by the video. Source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Not the upset part the animal cruelty part. Sorry I don't have a source however unless one lives in a vegetarian tribe they are contributing to animal cruelty.

First they came for the socialists...

It's hard to believe you can be this stupid but then again I've seen some of your other posts.. but what do you think the animals you eat are fed and how much land does it take up that would otherwise be occupied by insects and other creatures?

You don't really think it takes less land to produce meat calories than plant calories do you?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,153 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

My bacon and eggs. And milk were lovely thank you. And my burger tomorrow will be nice too. And, at expected, we see the usual brigade attempting to turn the conversation to their sanctimonious selves. Look at me... I'm better than you. Only I can dislike animal cruelty

Not really, but if things like the subject of this thread make you uncomfortable maybe look at where your food comes from, because the animals involved likely had a far worse time than the cat in this predicament. I know you don't care, but it's hard not to call out the hypocrisy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Calls me stupid, doesn't even understand the very basic premise of my previous post. Gotta love boards.

WFT does the amount of land used for cattle have to do with the amount of SENTIENT ANIMALS KILLED by the land use? There is no correlation.

When Steven Davis began setting up a course on animal ethics for the animal science department at Oregon State University four years ago, he reached a rather surprising conclusion. Millions of animals are killed every year, Davis says, to prepare land for growing crops, "like corn, soybean, wheat and barley, the staples of a vegan diet."

Confirmed you're an idiot, thanks. Corn, soybean etc. are the staples of meat eaters diet, and the animals they are eating too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

I don't watch these type of vids but from the description his brother filmed it while laughing, more than likely this is not a first and quite possibly they've grown up doing these type of things and he's now including his young son in the 'game'

that's a problem, a big one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Liberty_Bear

Saw the clip and it wasnt just a kick without thinking, he drop kicked the poor thing. Fans are going to make his name mud and rightly so. Nothing can excuse such horrible behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Can you fooking stop with your incessant drive to fook over Irish agriculture.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭AyeGer

When I see videos like this I shudder to think what goes on away from the camera. The scumbag should be booted out of West Ham and definitely never allowed to keep animals again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

BTW I would hate to think what Mr Zouma would do to a dog.

Just another incident of a not very bright, in fact sometimes odious individuals, who happen to be pretty good at a sport and now make an absolute fortune thanks to eejits paying over the odds for jerseys, pay per view TV, etc.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭buried

Wow. What an absolute shower of total trash.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,839 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Around 56 billion land animals are slaughtered each year. To feed those 56 billion land animals alone, requires more food than would be required to feed 8 billion humans is the point @Thelonious Monk was trying to make. So rather than feeding plants to an exploited animal who will then be killed, as well as all the crop deaths occurring to feed that animal, it's far more efficient to just eat the plants directly. Yes there will be unavoidable deaths and this is unfortunate, but the amount of unavoidable deaths will pale in comparison to feeding those 56 billion land animals and then intentionally killing those 56 billion land animals on top. This isn't even touching on the trillions of fish killed each year.

The relevance to the thread I believe is that people will get upset hearing of an animal that in our culture we see as a pet, being abused, while paying for the exploitation and abuse of other animals. Neither are necessary, but yet one is acceptable and normal just because our society and culture dictates it to be, yet from the victims perspective, they both value their life as much as we value ours.

This is better known as cognitive dissonance, which is explained pretty well here:

https://youtu.be/tnykmsDetNo

• Registered Users Posts: 18 tonium22

There used to be lot of videos on LiveLeak of youths luring stray kittens with treats or any cat .all American videos . Shockin

Then kicking them like a football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭AyeGer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I wouldn't be so sure about that. Somehow I can't quite believe Zouma when he says this was an 'isolated' incident.

Well actually I saw it via twitter originally. Anyway this story I'm glad to see has gone viral today in msm. Even The Guardian decided to go with it a couple of hours ago - https://www.theguardian.com/football/2022/feb/08/west-ham-kurt-zouma-kicking-cat-rspca-criticises ,if it's somehow better to read about it there.

His career is in free fall, you’d wonder if there are more reasons then footballing ones as to why an established and international footballer playing for Chelsea gets shifted and is out on loan so much when he wasn’t exactly a youngster…

11 caps in 5/6 years for France

99 appearances for Chelsea in 6/7 years.. now playing for the hammers.

seems to be managers maybe don’t have great faith in him… most or some of that could be off the field carry on… it’s unlikely to be made public… but it’s not something he’ll live down… and clubs will be very hesitant now to be associated with ‘Kurt the cat kicker’

good enough for him too, play stupid games, win stupid prizes… I doubt he’ll escape a conviction as a bonus… police are investigating.