Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rotunda / Coombe - Private - Recent opinions

Options
  • 14-02-2022 2:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 233 ✭✭

Hi all,

I've just found out I'm pregnant (4.5 weeks so very early days) but trying to have my thoughts together on what hospital/consultant for when I meet my GP next week. This is my first time being pregnant so I am fairly clueless :P

I know there have been a lot of threads over time re choosing a maternity hospital but I'm hoping to get some feedback from you on recent experiences going private in either the Rotunda or the Coombe, and consultant recommendations if possible. How did you find the care overall? Waiting times? Private Room availability (I'm aware this totally depends on the day) and any other bits of information you could share would be much appreciated.

I'm also interested in what the care in both is like at the moment in terms of covid restrictions.

Thanks in advance! :-)

Answers

• Registered Users Posts: 3,231 ✭✭✭jellybear

Hi there,

Congratulations on your pregnancy!

I'm currently expecting baby number 2 and have gone private in the Rotunda with Dr Jennifer Donnelly for both pregnancies. She is absolutely fantastic and a lovely doctor.

I have only had positives experiences throughout both pregnancies and have been very well looked after. The continuity of care really appealed to me. Waiting times vary, consultant could be attending a birth etc, but overall I'd say an hour is the longest I've waited.