Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society (Round 2) Carton House Montgomerie Golf Course (12th March 1130 hrs.)

• 21-02-2022 3:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 20,888 ✭✭✭✭

OK members, we are hardly past our first outing – but need to get the thread started for round 2, this is due to quick turnaround (Blame Paddy’s day etc). We have maybe 3 or 4 marquee course this year. But we only have 2 that have held the Irish Open.

This is one – Colin Montgomerie was a massive character on the European Tour and one of the best Ryder Cup players ever. He was known as a player as a bit difficult, moody and golf fans had a love hate relationship with him. He would have done well on Boards.

The “Monty” is very different as Irish golf courses go. The concept of a manufactured inland links, was a rather new idea in Ireland, and it makes for a fascinating golf experience. Perhaps someone can explain how much he was involved in this? or was it more a signature ?

This course was picked with the help of our sponsor (ClubNet App), a big thanks to them and to Carton House who have been terrific in our dealings with them.

The course was also picked due to the anticipated ground conditions in March – in my trial run last month – I could not believe how dry it was , and they were simply the best greens I have been on in Ireland, in years.

There is a rumour, perhaps an Irish golf urban myth, that during the design period, Monty went out with a driver and hit a few balls at each proposed fairway – anywhere a ball landed he said he wanted a bunker there? Not sure if true – but the outcome looks like it, never let the truth get in the way of a good story.

The bunkers are “cavernous” – the green complexes are massive. I’ll be honest it is the most difficult course we will play or walk this year. By a long way.  I’d say have a good few strong walks before this one, think about what method you will get your clubs around here. (pulling a trolley would be hard work) – push would be ok if fit.

I’d imagine we will play the greens again (as there is limited tee choice this time of year anyway) – the greens were a big success in Portmarnock Links – we will move back as we hit more manageable courses and conditions in April. Everyone should be proud of the pace of play at The Links – we hope to keep that up here, as it will be a long day, if people are not on the ball you could hit 4hrs 45 +.

Tee times for this will open 26th at 1900 hrs. Note you will have to top up your purse to go to this event. There was discussion and debate around this at committee level – and it was agreed to keep top up system as is. The main point was, if you top up for this outing now, you are making a longer-term commitment to the society (and will be able to now book at least 2 more outing after this). If you do not fancy this outing – there is currently enough in your purse to go to another outing at a lower priced venue.  

Again – I will remind people, that all money goes back into the society and prizes. This is a marquee course and much cheaper outings will be the case going forward.

Thanks to everyone again – there was a great energy and spirit around the place at the weekend, we will push this on even more at this outing. Warning, there are not as many slots for this outing.  

Keep Posting, keep Moving, keep Positive.  

Fix 

Post edited by FixdePitchmark on

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

Will be trying for a late time. Coming off the night shift.

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭spuddy4711

He’s supposed to have said that “No one’s getting out of these bunkers with a 7 iron” Having looked at the fly-through, they don’t seem that difficult, or maybe it’s my screen size.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Deleting posts related to Clubnet which should be posted here, thanks

Boards Golf Society - Clubnet Setup and queries — boards.ie - Now Ye're Talkin'

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. EDDI, hot water cylinder, roof rails...

Public Profile active ads for slave1 (adverts.ie)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,205 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

It’s your screen size!! You’ll be playing backwards out of a few of them if your too close to the face!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,531 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Yeah, some of them are seriously deep, and there are a LOT of bunkers.

Think there are steps in and out of a couple of them if I remember correctly

Not a great video here, but gives an idea on a couple of them

• Registered Users Posts: 15,970 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I should be in contention for the short drive to this one. About 15 minutes.

I should also be able to drop in a few days before and pick up cards which will mean I might get a few minutes to warm up beforehand.

For anyone who has not been here before, there is a really fabulous golf academy here, with a great putting green, full range and probably the best short game area in the country. I’m not sure that the short game area is free to use but you can certainly buy a bucket of balls at the range and use the putting green.

it’s at the back entrance, so unless you are coming in from the Dunboyne side, you can easily miss it. If you come in the main gate, drive past the golf car park and continue past the hotel, it’s on the right. If you come in dunboyne side, you won’t miss it on your left

i got a great pressie a couple of years ago, trackman lessons, short game clinic and full use of all facilities for a day. If any of yiz live anyway close, I’d highly recommend it for a day/half day.

anyone staying in hotel night before, worth getting up early and having a look…… dump your missus in spa for a few hours while you head of to golf porn heaven

just looked it up. I know you used to have to be a member or book in for a half day to use short range but no real info on website, could well be free to use if you grab a basket of balls

www.bettergolf.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭rickis tache

And how do I sell the idea of a days pampering to my wife....hmmmm.

Salivating at the idea of a day's golf porn. LoL

• Registered Users Posts: 20,888 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lads on the 7 iron thing - I would be decent at bunkers - but for some of these you will do well to get out with a SW. I hate golf clichés, as normally based around old thinking and logic. But for this one course, at this one time. You can actually score if you "DONT GO INTO THE BUNKERS" --- there are large landing zones past a defined areas. I'm not a big fan of course guides / gps systems - but if you knew the distance to these bunkers it will change your day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Luckycharm

What is the rough like there at the moment as makes a huge difference as not many trees!

Very short - I'd say too short. I do recall playing that with the longer golden stuff and it was a nightmare. So overall the only problem is the bunkers.

It’s probably nearly 2 years since I played it but what I have noticed in recent years is that the rough is not what it was in the early days.

I think they copped on to the fact that it made no sense to have daft heavy rough for amateurs who had no spectators to help them find their ball which were only a couple of yards off fairways……… that took the enjoyment out of the course. It has been much more playable and enjoyable in recent years.

it’s a great course, quite open and can be tough when the wind is up. Off greens though and reasonably nice conditions, there will be a big score there for the taking with at least 2 par 5’s only short iron second shots for big drive hitters.

really looking forward to it…..: wish it was next week 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭rickis tache

Bombs away then.....just got to learn how to hit bombs now.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭BohToffee

Short rough is perfect for me and helps avoid bunkers. I could have a fairway the size of croke Park to hit and I'd miss it. Looking forward to it now I must say.

I hope rough is going to be down now that I’ve said that 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭kev_s88

I can think of at least 2 bunkers on the course that are at least 8/9 feet high and are a nightmare to get out of. They also like to position bunkers on exact opposite sides of the greens so that if you get out of one, and over hit it, you'll land in its partner on the far side of the green.

I always thought Monty had a bit of a sadistic side and this confirmed it for me

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

All this talk of bunkers has me worried, I ended up in the bunker on 17 at Portmarnock and took 4 tries to get out - didn't happen.

Fix - not sure knowing the distance to a bunker would help me either - most of us are not as good as you :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Oddly enough, The Monty at Carton and Portmarnock Links have the same course Architect. A guy called Stan Eby. If you look at the bunker positioning, especialy greenside you can see a lot of simulatities.

J

A few years old now but here are some Flybys of the holes

https://vimeo.com/channels/1336731

Looked them up - an industry I know very little about.

Big company - Monty has been involved in a few courses.

Interestingly Moyvalley another one. I like their designs. I must hit Moyvalley again - do recall really enjoying it.

Cool fly bys - the bunkering on 1, 2, 4 and 5 sum up the driving experience at Monty. Bunkers right in the landing zones and at times left and right.

He was definitely in his normal mood. I'd say they will take out a few bunkers at some point.

Two books you should read Fix

The Anatomy of a Golf Course by Tom Doak and The Spirit of St. Andrews by Alister MacKenzie. Will change how you view pretty much every element of a course's strategy and feel.

J

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Will definitely be up for this one, as i may not be around for the April/May outings. Played it last year as well, with work, and it was fantastic. Looking forward to getting stuck into it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 681 ✭✭✭bobster453

@Fix I wouldn't be long enough to reach the bunkers anyhow, it's the distance to them with my second shot I need😀

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,205 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Hopefully we won’t be as far forward as we were the last time we played there. We were nearly on the junior tees. I’m one for using the forward tees to help with the pace of play but must admit, for anyone who drives the ball well, the can drive over the trouble. Saying that, the green side bunkers will penalise any wayward approaches.

I really enjoyed it last time we played there and hopefully everyone will again this time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

GG - not sure you are helping me - nightmares incoming.... :-(

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭Snackbox20

I have never played here before so really looking forward to playing the Monty. Must check out the flyby's. Thanks a million for those guys 👍

Just looked at the first hole. That flyby makes it look way more intimidating than it actually is so you’ll be grand ssbob

• Registered Users Posts: 8,531 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Found this on YouTube. Playlist of the Golfgraffix flyovers, but with voice-overs explaining the holes

• Registered Users Posts: 362 ✭✭Break80

130 Bunkers.

FFS.