Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phone with hotspot faster than sim card router?

• 04-03-2022 6:24pm
    Registered Users Posts: 30

Hi,

Apologies if this has been touched on before, I had a search though the sub and still can't figure this out.

I have a tp-link Archer MR200 4G LTE Router.

I have been using an old Samsung S8 as a hotspot for the last several months and finally got this router thinking it would improve things.

My download speed using the phone as a hotspot was 35Mbps.

My download speed using the router was 1.08Mbps.

That is brutally slow and very unsatisfactory. I thought I would get the same speeds at least and better connectivity.

Am I doing something wrong? This speed test was with both devices sitting in the same spot, and one after the other.

This doesn't make any sense to me.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Answers

• Registered Users Posts: 30 choosetheend

Could the network provider be throttling my connection? Does the sim card "know" that it's in a router?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,168 ✭✭✭smuggler.ie

Its not that you doing something wrong, its that you did, when you purchased TP-link Archer MR200 .

TP-link Archer MR200 = LTE Category 4

Samsung Galaxy S8 = LTE Category 16

Get something matching or better, e.g. Huawei B818 = LTE Category 19 and you will stand better chances. This is not to say TP cant go better than 1Mb, but its harder to achieve.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 choosetheend

Thanks for that. It's a bit disheartening. Category 4 should be able to get up to 150Mbps, so 35Mbps shouldn't be a problem though should it?