Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what should I do

Options
  • 08-03-2022 10:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2

Hi Everyone, Im new to this so please be patient!!

shortly I will receive €130,000 from the sale of a house, I will have no CGT liability as I sold for excatly what I paid in 2008.

My Question is what should I do with this money,

My current situation is I am employed earning 40k p/a.

I own a local rental property, currently earns 15k p/a. balance on mortgage 124k. current value 270k.. 1.75% tracker

I own a rental property in Italy, currently rent 17k. mortgage balance 46k. value 250k.. 3.25%

I, my wife and son live in the house we built, value 300k debt 64k.. 3% loan

I Have no private pension or no money invested in the stock markets

I like property but not sure its a great time to buy, stock market is maybe a more long term game, should i pay off either rental, a mix of both? if invest in the markets where??

any advise would be great..

Thanks

Shaun

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Shedite27

I'd invest in equities/bonds via your pension. Sounds like you've good Property exposure, and none of your debts are expensive.

Depending on your age (guessing 40's/50's?), maxing out your pension contributions, will allow you invest 25-35% of your base salary tax free.

I'm making up numbers, but say you earn €80k base, that allows you invest about €25k of your income tax free. The alternative is pay tax and have €12k after tax. If you need that €12k to live or mortgage repayments, take that from your €130k funds from the sale.