Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

Need new laptop. Mac v PC

• 15-03-2022 4:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 41 roundone

Hi all, I'm starting a postgrad course soon, it'll all be done online. I've zero experience of this type of learning but I'm going to need a new laptop. Any recommendations?

Thank you!

Comments

light and portable quality-build all-rounders with decent screens - Acer Swift 3, Huawei Matebook 15 -> the 11th gen Intel cpu models

both available for a good bit less than a macbook air

macs are good but unless you have a specific reason or preference you can save some money

• Registered Users Posts: 41 roundone

Thank you. I'm so clueless at this! So what should I look out for so it'll last me a few years? I'm guessing 16gb +ram

Windows 11?

(im not an apple user, just thought they looked good!)

the acer swift 3 is available in 16gb yes

matebook d15 is hard to find with 16gb

both laptops are well-built metal-chassis devices and will last for years of service

matebook d15 has a bottom-placed webcam which some don't like

8gb is actually fine for all general uses and will be for years

With superfast nvme ssd's nowadays if the odd pagefile occurs it's not a big deal as they are 20 times faster than old HDD's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭MacronvFrugals