Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Firearm for African Hunt

• 22-03-2022 7:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 21

Hi All,

I have been give the opportunity to potentially go on a hunting holiday to South Africa which I am extremely excited about, however, I don’t currently have a large enough calibre rifle (6.5 x 55 SE and .22lr).

Have any of you experienced purchasing a rifle in say 300win or so, for the purposes of foreign hunting trips and was it much hassle with the local firearms officer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

In Africa, the rule is, if you wound an animal you own it and will have to pay any associated trophy fees.

Shot placement and Availability of appropriate ammunition are of the utmost priority.

The 375 H&H is the minimum caliber for most dangerous game on most of the African continent. 

The 9.3×64mm Brenneke (German gunmaker Wilhelm Brenneke) would be next and was designed (1927 ?) as a medium bore big-game cartridge for standard-sized Mauser 98 bolt-action rifles.

Some countries have a .375″ minimum bullet diameter for hunting dangerous game, which means the 9.3×62 is not legal for dangerous game hunting in those places. However, other countries either have no caliber minimum (Mozambique) or have a 9.2mm minimum (Zimbabwe).

For light skinned plains game a 7mm - 7x57 mm Mauser is exceptionally good ( especially the 170 grain soft nosed loads ) .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

What are you going to hunt and where?

Africa big game hunting depends on your quarry and appropriate gun to it. No point in going to Namibia with a 460 Weatherby and you are going to be hunting some buck /antelope species that the closest you can get to them is 300 meters. Just as much as being utterly outgunned with a 300 Win mag against a Cape buffalo, or having to follow your wounded big cat into the tall grass in Zimbabwe.

If it is dangerous big game then nothing under.375 H&H is advisable.[No real need for scopes on these either. Its open sights ranges or Holodots[If you can find one to handle the recoil] Be happy carrying it too. Some of those guns weigh a fair bit, and if you are humping it thru brush in the high 80s, and don't have a gun boy to hand,or he is doing duty lugging the water canister...It will knock the pounds off you in no time.😁

If you are just after thin-skinned critters, find out what the terrain is like and the distances you will shoot over and then decide. Namibia EG is a long-range rifle country so a 300 win Mag is a good choice,for the buck and antelope species .7 or 8mm will see you well too for most African game, even the big cats with solid rounds Check what the local guide recommends or the local legislation demands.

Research what you intend to hunt, where and the distances, before you put a cent on a gun.When you get your gun make sure to get it inspected and overhauled, and get onto a range and practise, and make sure you have it zeroed, and make sure the zero is still holding when you get to the lodge,[as well as having enough ammo and a tool kit to service & clean your rifle😉 Small missed details like that can bollix up a trip of a lifetime].

You should have no problems getting a license for it either, the Commissioners guidelines list this as a good reason for a restricted calibre.

Hope it works out for you, because it is a once in a lifetime experience to hunt in Africa, and no matter what you hunt, wherever down there. All the people who have written about hunting there and experienced it themselves, are 100% right on one thing. You will come back a changed person after your 1st time hunting there.💪

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭Heavy handed

I was in with a firearm dealer two weeks ago in limerick and he goes to Africa hunting. He’s a 375 H&H and 416 rigby in the shop. These aren’t for sale but if your in that area and what’s some face to face advise and to get a feel for that type of rifle he might be worth dropping into.

Where is this fellow in Limerick? City or county?As there is no one within 20 miles of the city centre that we know of?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,694 ✭✭✭Feisar

It say it's yer man in Newmarket on Fergus

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭Heavy handed

Paudie white in broadford. Speak with Denis +353 (87) 255 2700. Very nice chap. More of an evening setup too which might suit some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sika98k

For the great majority of African plains game a trusty 30-06 loaded with a premium 180 grain bullet will do the job. No need to get flustered over buying a 375 or anything bigger. If and it’s a Big if you are in dangerous game country your PH will be suitably tooled up.

Most hunting in S. Africa takes place in private properties which are fenced. Be they a low fenced cattle farm or a high fenced game ranch. One of the most important things about African game animals is shot placement. As has been said previously if it bleeds you pay.

African animals should be shot on the shoulder, not behind the shoulder. The vital organs in all antelope lie further forward than in deer where we tend to place the shot behind the shoulder. Think about where your bullet is coming out and what organs it will traverse on its way through the animal.

Take lots of photos. Regardless of what you are told the constantly increasing costs of taxidermy, export certificates, airfreight,importation, vat and duty etc etc will make you pale at the end of the day.

Africa is like snakebite. Once you are bitten you are finished. Enjoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 aWant4aNew

Thanks everyone for the great advice. I’m really looking forward to the trip of a lifetime.

I had a look at a .375 and decided that I just won’t need it as it looks like SA instead of Namibia and no Dangerous Game hunting - mainly Oryx (Gemsbok), Warthog, Blue Wildebeest and Zebra will be on the menu.

I’m thinking about going with a 9.3x62 would be a good shout and will be range testing rifle chambered accordingly in the next two weeks or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sika98k

The 375 you saw was where ? Pm me if you like. I’ve witnessed, several times, those species shot with a 6.5x55. Using Norma 156gr bullets. However I would think it is somewhat marginal with little room for error. A 30-06 will tackle all those with aplomb. I do not own one ! I use a 7x57. No need to go through the trials and tribulations of applying for a restricted firearm. On the other hand you could always borrow/ rent a rifle down there. The stories of clearing a firearm at Oliver Tambo, Jo’burg are legend.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 RichardMT10

Not sure if I'm late to the party here.

I have just moved from SA to Ireland and hunted in SA for over many years. Providing you're not hunting the big stuff (Eland and above), rifles chambered in .308 and a 7x57 should be sufficient. The .308 is by far the most popular cartridge in SA.

To provide you with some examples, I took Blue Wilderbeest, Red Haartebeest, Lechwe, Impala and Kudu with the 7x57. Springbok, Gemsbok (Orynx) Black Wilderbeest and Fallow Deer were taken with the .308. All were walk and stalk.

Ranges were from 100m to 200m, personally I won't take a shot over 200m, although on my last SA hunt the game farm owner showed us that we were all perfectly good shots at 300m.

My friends used .260, .300WM, 30.06, 9.3x62 and .338 Lapua (he was the wealthy friend!). Frankly, it's about shot placement, hit the engine room and you'll have success. My friend with the .260 regularly took Kudu, he practices and is an excellent shot. My other friend with the 9.3 took 4 shots at a Fallow Deer, hitting legs and hind quarter before the my friend with the .260 got annoyed and put the Fallow Deer out of his misery. My friend with the 9.3 doesn't practice.

Practice and shot placement are your biggest friend, chasing African game around the bush is no fun and expensive! My 2 cents, unless you're after Eland, Buffalo, dangerous game etc, get yourself a .308, practice and you'll be good to go.

You'll have a ball, hunting Africa is an experience that will leave you wanting more, it's the closest you'll get to a hunting Nirvana. Enjoy.

On the other hand you could always borrow/ rent a rifle down there. The stories of clearing a firearm at Oliver Tambo, Jo’burg are legend.

Just make sure you personally testfire and are 100% happy and familiar with the gun you borrow before you head out to the bush. One of the cardinal rules of Safari hunting. Never rely on someone else's gun.

Some cash,[usually US dollars is good as it is known all over Africa] does sort out a lot of "paperwork irregularities" down in Africa. Remember these lads make about 200/300 quid a month, in SA and have authority in their uniforms and believe in using it, so do expect a shakedown...Just part of life in Africa😯

• Registered Users Posts: 39 11117

Used my 308 in SA on the like of Kudu, Oryx and Wildebeest. Other guys with me used 300 win mag and 30-06. Plenty of gun for plains game with 165-180 grain rounds. Had no problem with the guns through the airports in with Johannesburg or Port Elizabeth either. Invest in a good quality case and add extra padding. Despite the handle with care stickers on our rifle cases they were flung around and dented, I’d recommend Plano. As said above, be extremely careful about taxidermy fees and transport charges to get your trophies home, it’s the one thing that ruined the experience for us. Enjoy your hunt, and start saving for the next one. Once you get a taste for Africa it will never leave you.