Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Social Housing Issue

• Registered Users Posts: 3,504 ✭✭✭Ginger83

OP the only way your daughter is going to have any peace is to move. Let me tell you this... the council don't want to know, the guards don't want to know and a solicitor will tell you its a waste of time taking any action.

I live in a rural location because I learnt a long time ago it's one way not to have scum for neighbours.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,518 ✭✭✭cgcsb

You might think so and its a very backwards classist attitude, leftover from the British empire, that is rightfully no longer socially acceptable. You wouldn't say these things without the anonymity of the Internet.

A person's grievance with a troublesome neighbour is no more or less valid depending on their income. If my parents, who unfortunately were porn poor, and did not have access to free education, have a grievance, it's not less valid than a wealthy person's grievance on the same matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,996 ✭✭✭Deeec

No I didn't misunderstand anything you said drug dealing isn't a problem in your first post and in your second post you asked me to explain how she is affected - I'm not the op I can't explain how the daughter is affected. You need to read over what you have posted.

No decent person would want to raise their kids beside drug dealers. I would think she is in fear of the type of scum visiting this house, gun crime and further anti social behaviour.

You think drug dealing in a family neighborhood is "minor".

You're in no position to lecture anyone.

Again, its not 'OK' but it's common on the streets of Dublin, something that society has to grow up and deal with. No reason why this person shouldn't be exposed to it just because they can afford to buy a particular house. Their middle class neighbours are probably also snorting cocaine but doing it behind their own door and with a nicer accent. I was exposed to seeing junkies on the street from an early age and to be honest it was a far greater deterrent to drug taking for me than any lecture received by kids who grew up in more sheltered circumstances.

If it were me I would locate every single methadone clinic, homeless shelter and rehab centre in Dalkey, Kiliney, Rathgar etc. Until the media and government took active interest in the issue.

And again I don't want drug dealing in any neighbourhood. I'm not sure what you mean by "family neighbourhood" ? I'm mearly pointing out that a person having a large income shouldn't and doesn't insulate them from the reality of this country's social problems.

This is normal for you but for most people drug dealing is not normal and is not acceptable.

But you said drug dealing in a neighborhood with families living there (do you understand now?) is "minor"?

It's almost as if you don't think it's serious. 🤔

• Registered Users Posts: 3,678 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

Agreed 100%

My parents made the mistake of buying a house near where some travellers were set up. For three years, they tried to move them on whilst tolerating noise, smoke, feral dogs and even more feral children. After all of that, they moved.

Living rural isn't an option for everyone, but this is why it pays to do homework when it comes to the neighbours.

• Registered Users Posts: 584 ✭✭✭CrookedJack

Nope, you say that I was saying drug dealing wasn't a problem, which is no where in my post. So if you didn't misunderstand should I assume you're willfully misrepresenting my point, likely to fuel your false outrage.

You also said I thought you were to OP which I didn't. So if that wasn't a misunderstanding were you just blowing smoke to avoid the actual point I made?

You also, strangely, say you can't explain how the daughter is affected, and then go on to say how the daughter is affected. You've now invented gun crime, scum and antisocial behaviour, none of which was in the original post.

I think you're talking rubbish.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Motivator

Its hard to keep her nose out of it when it’s happening right under it. With 3 children under 10 years of age, she’s worried about leaving them outside the door when there’s travellers and scumbags knocking around the road carrying drugs and god knows what else. They’ve had cars parked outside their driveway in the middle of the night, people have approached the door before after getting the wrong house. But according to you, this isn’t a problem. Yeah right.

I have to say, that’s some attitude you have. I wonder would you have the same sneery attitude if drug dealers moved out to Creadon? You’d be quick enough to get down off that high horse of yours.

Read your posts again you as good as said drug dealing shoud'nt be a problem and you asked me to explain how this person is affected.

How can I explain to you how this persons daughter is affected when I dont know them - why are you asking me. You should be asking this of the OP.

I can only explain to you how I would feel with drug dealers living a few doors down from my house.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Anti social behaviour by neighbours is awful. I would not like to live anywhere near it, but if it did happen I don't know what I realistically could do about it apart from move PDQ.

I wonder if any of those posting here saying "it's not that bad" yada yada actually live next door or very near to those who are behaving just like the neighbours mentioned are? It's like those other bleeding hearts going on about Travellers rights and never living within a country mile of them.

There should be a charter included with procuring social housing. I thought there was actually, you know... pay your rent on time, keep the place tidy, don't annoy the neighbours and so on. At the end of the day whatever your views are, it is those paying for their own property that are also paying for minimum rent social housing tenants. They deserve a say in things and a fair resolution to issues such as this. I do realise that private owners can be a disaster for a neighbourhood also though.

OP, if things are that bad and it is affecting the quality of life of all other residents, then as a group you should approach the local councillors/TDs/Gardai and the housing Minister. It really is not fair to have to put up with this whether it originates from a social tenant (or private owner). The lack of laws and protection for those who are law abiding in such situations is dreadful.

I bet there are no local councillors or TDs or Ministers living in that or any estate with problem social tenants. It wouldn't be long before they are solved I am sure. So get on to them. Ask them where they live and how they would deal with it if it were them. Cue red faces and shuffling of feet I bet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Jizique

Problem with that is that you might be extremely unhappy with the active interest that provoked and the decisions that followed; they might even decide that the existing policy is better

• Registered Users Posts: 25,936 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

There are charters and whatever else.

But the bottom line is that if a tenant breaks them - what is the alternative?

We could shoot the family dead (I'm not in favour, just layout out the option), or tell them to live under a hedgerow (pretty sure that's been tried here before and found unacceptable) - or the state ends up housing them somewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 542 ✭✭✭yew_tree

This is why I would never buy a house in an estate. This is what happens when there is no consequences. Lowlifes who don’t respect the property they are given. If there are drug deals going down and kids are in the house then social services should be removing those kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Tell them to sell and move on with their lives.

Id advise buying in a mature estate where the councils and housing bodies dont buy houses for their stock.

Jaysus

This post got 3 likes.

Its sickening. Half a million on a new house whilst the lazy dregs get them for a pittance. A pittance which the couple who paid half a million slso pay.

The social contract for the PAYE worker is truly broken.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

To the OP there is something that can be done and the council have a responsibility to deal with anti social behaviour

Link below

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/9a01b-local-authority-tenants-and-anti-social-behaviour/

It is normal though its a very common sight. Acceptable? No, it's not acceptable anywhere.

Well no actually I said the impact on this particular individual was minor, shady characters walking to the door and long grass etc. Drug dealing isn't minor, but common. The person described in the OP only experiences minor impacts from said behaviour.

"The person described in the OP only experiences minor impacts from said behaviour."

In your, frankly absurd opinion.

I sympathize entirely with the OP. I don't consider their situation to be a minor impact.

"One house is a problem however and it’s a social house. Some of the problems experienced are: drug raids by the guards (drugs found on the property), messy garden, occupier let’s her children run wild and do what they want, dodgy people arriving up to the house at all hours of the day. The list is endless."

It's intolerable that this person not only paid for their house, but also pay for social housing through taxation only to deal with this. This is what we pay for. I can understand why it's difficult to deal with.

It's not poor people's fault that the hyper capitalists are charging you half a million for a house. And the poor are not dregs, thanks.

I think we come very different places. Thankfully it's not normal where I live.

This is bizarre, What difference does it make that they are in a social house? Would all the above "problems" suddenly not be an issue if the family had paid market rate for their house? Would the daughter somehow be less upset?

I have lived next door to houses who have untidy gardens and who have visitors at all times during the day. I have lived next door to families who let their kids "run wild". I have lived next door to to houses where I know the occupants do drugs.

All was just a minor annoyance in comparison to other things that have happened near me. Cats being set on fire at Halloween, Car windows being constantly broken by kids, old people being mugged, rocks thrown through windows and plenty more.

So a bit of perspective, a daughter's pride being a bit hurt because some commoners are mucking up her lovely estate is really not much in the grand scheme of things.

I've already explained the difference in the post you quoted but didn't read.