Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mod Note Post #1 - The 2022 All Ireland Senior Football Championship.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

my point is to illustrate how Meath have declined relative to their period at the top which was not that long ago , I accept Offaly were a real contender for twenty years but they have not been in forty years , thats quite different to Meath who are only twenty years out of contention , I have to pick some period , otherwise countless comparisons would arise , going all the way back to 1887 , whats the point in that at the end of the day ? , its too broad

• Registered Users Posts: 18,839 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

You need to read my posts they are not long either, new recent change in management new tactics - did well in league put it up to teams they lost against.

Plus the only time Kildare did run at the Dublin fb last years Leinster game they scored a goal Daniel Flynn. I wrote it clear and succinctly.

Following on from a change in management with largely the same players - and playing to their strengths (attacking forwards). Kildare were a breath of fresh air in div1 despite relegation. And I predict the gap will further grow between Kildare and Meath. As Kildare go on the up and Meath continue to self destruct, on this rudderless course.

You as a Meathman, no doubt are a bit envious of Kildare they are getting their house in order. Meath in contrast - are burning theirs to the ground.

The fact you say Meath have been successful at under age is even worse and proving my point. What have they done with it?

Kildare now play to their strengths and play nice attacking football. Good team to watch exciting. Meath on the other hand are a team of 'social disatancers' who can make most opposition look like All Ireland contenders. They don't even do the basics right.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Unfortunately the GAA don't care what we think and never have. There in lies the problem. If they decide they want Meath to win more games they'll make sure it happens. Whether it's true getting home advantage, extra funding or publicly stating regularly how they need Meath to win regularly, Just to Remind the referees what the organisation want incase they've forgotten.

If you're From Leinster Gaelic football at county level is a pointless sport to follow. Has been for a long time. At least the hurling came back from the brink and is worth a look.

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭grbear

Bernard Flynn quit the Meath U-20s job last year and said quite clearly that the senior management had created issues for him with regards access to players.

"I undertook to accept the role of managing and developing the Meath u-20 squad based on a verbal and written agreement that the senior players would be released for championship, an issue that has caused difficulties for previous management.

“Confirmation was received today that this agreement, which is underpinned by a signed charter, including a commitment from the Chairman Coiste an Mi and the senior manager, will not be honoured therefore making the position of the u20 manager, and my back room team, untenable."

The board tried to get rid of McEntee last year but the club's rebelled against that move.

We can spend all the time in the world analysing the development issues in Meath football but we also need to acknowledge that McEntee is not up to the job and has become a problem for them with regards bringing through players. A better manager will make a massive difference to Meath. They might still not be able to compete with Dublin but at least they won't be embarrassing themselves like they were in Division 2 this year.

I don't like using brutal language about players or managers as they are still amateurs at the end of the day but Meath were an absolute disgrace against Galway in the league this year. It's actually hard to put into words how bad they were.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭HBC08

Feic me,

Are you on a phone or typing these responses out on a laptop,the latter is the less sad of the two but still you'd need to take a look at yourself.

Some of your points I'd agree with and some are well made at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭Sonny678

kildare put it up to teams in div 1, Meath did the same two years. Both were relegated. Kildares 4th relegation in 8 years.

IN BOARDS IE RANKINGS KILDARE ARE PLACED 9TH BEST TEAM IN THE COUNTRY. SEEN MEATH ARE SO FAR BEHIND THEY MUST BE 25TH OR 26TH BEST TEAM IN COUNTRY THE WAY YOU R TALKING. NO KiDARE ARE 9TH BEST TEAM IN THE COUNTRY. MEATH ARE THE 12TH BEST TEAM IN THE COUNTRY. 16 MONTHS MEATH WERE RANKED 9TH BEST TEAM IN THE COUNTRY KILDARE WERE PLACED 12. FOR TEN YEARS MEATH AND KILDARE HAVE SWAPPED PLACES FROM 9TH TO 12TH.

Yes great goal by Flynn last yeat but other than that kildare threw in the towel v Dublin from very start last year, trying to keep the score down. Everyone was giving out about kildares dreadful defensive tactics last year v Dubs in leinster final. It seems you werent watching the game.

Meath will play kildare in Navan next year. As both teams are in div 2. I would put good money on Meath beating kildare next year in Navan. Meath will have new manager, the talk is Malachy O Rourke is in the running. Meath and kildare play each other nearly yearly in div 2. If the game is in Newbridge Kildare win, Meath havent won their since 90s, If its Navan Meath win, kidlare have only beaten Meath in Navan 3 times in last 90 years. If Meath play kildare in Portlaoise kildare usually win. kildares Great record in Portlaoise and if Meath play kildare in Croke Park Meath usually win, especially in leinster semis. Meath have beaten kildare 3 leinster semis in row in Croker in last ten years. Kildare have only beaten Meath twice in Leinster semis in Croker in 90 years that was 2003 and 1971. Basically there is feck all between kildare and Meath. Meath were ahead of kildare in 2019 2020 kildare have gone ahead 2021 2022. But next year both in div 2. There is little between Meath and kildare. If there is please explain why Meath keep beating kildare. Dont be surprised Meath get promted next year not kildare. Thats whats happens with Meath kildare. They swap places everry two years.

If Meath are burning why have Meath beaten kildare twice in last 3 years?

2019 Meath beat kildare in league

2020 Meath beat kildare in championship by record score

2020 kildare beat Meath in league

If Meath are buring to the ground and kildare are so far ahead why have Meath won majority games in last 10 years

In last ten years 8 games BETWEEN MEATH V KILDARE

kildare have won 3 times V Meath. Twice in 2017 and once in 2021

Meath have won 5 times v kildare in 2012 2014 2015 2019 2020

Meath have a good record v kildare, kildare win games so do Meath

Best Record in leinster after Dublin since 2010

Meath have reached 6 leinster finals winning 1

kildare have reached 3 leinster finals

So Meath have done better in leinster than kildare in last ten year, have beaten kildare more and Meath and kildare have 3 times in last 3 years and Meath won twice and were well much deserved winners. Your ignoring these results and facts coz u hate Meath.

Meath and kildare are gettiingtheir house in order both have had underage sucess. You ignore Meaths underage sucess. Huge overhaul in Meath in recent year you can see the results in ladies and with Meath underage hammering Dublin teams yearly. Meath are burning down their house. Is ridiculous comment. Well than so are kildare both are at same level for 20 years for last ten year for last 5 or 3 years. Both trying to break into division 1 top 8 and failing. Meath went up in 2020 and were competitive. Kildare went up had two wins and were compettive. But also were relegated. Meath and kildare have beatean each other and have both failed to stay in div 1 and both are in div 2 next year. And Meath v kildare game is 50 50 game next year. Yet you think Kildare were reigning All Ireland champion the way you are talking about them. And Meath were in div 6.

kildare play nice football. Thats why you like them, the Dubs always feel they can beat kildare dont see them as threat. Ulster team were tough exiting football. So do Mayo and kerry. Nice football wins feck all. But the county you are degrading with nasty digs which are not based on reality just hatred of Meath. I wonder why a Dubs would degrade a county that has beaten Dublin more than any other county in Ireland, has had more sucess over Dublin than any county in Ireland and has had periods of dominance over Dublin than any other county. That county is Meath. The same way liverpool fans hate Everton, they might not be going well, but they are Pools main traditional rival. Why do you degrade county that have beaten your team the most times of any county, had more sucess than other county over Duv and is traditional main rival? U dont like your main traditional rival. like kerry dont like Cork.. You are r not REM fan. What they called Dubs in 80s 90s that they hated REM. Dubs hated REM Iin 40s 50s 60s 70s 80s 90s 00s REM = RANGER ENGLAND MEATH.

Regards Meath underage sucess, the minors won All Ireland last year. They are 17, they have another 2 years to play at U20. Majority of the underage sucess has yet to come through the players are 17 18 19 20. 8 of the players who played Sunday r 21 22. They are just beginning. Lots more of brillant young Meath talent to come through. With Malachy O Rourke in charge and potentiallly two outstanding 6ft 5 midfielders Nash and McBride to come back next year or year after from Auzzie rules. Meath are on the way up. But if Meath won All Ireland you would still call them crap. I know what the REM Dublin fans r lilke.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭_NAGDEFY

We're a bit saturated in stats!! Great to be have the knowledge.

If Kildare give Dublin a really good game they will show up Meath. We'll just concentrate on championship 2022.

For what it's worth I think Meath are demoralised from bad Dublin beatings and poor management. Andy McEntee is a lose canon with no self control. If he's at the top it's not good. Compare with Boylan. The man who coined the phrase about how to talk to the media 'you can say a lot and say nothing'. The only time I saw him lose it, and rightly so, was when the Australians were being thugs in Croke Park in 2006.

The same way Meath showed up kildare last year. Meath rattled Dublin last year took the fight to them and was best performance and closest a leinster team have got to Dubs in last 10 years since Meath lost to Dubs by 3 in 2012 leinster final. kildare didnt take the fight to them last year tried to keep score. Meath were praised, kildare were criticised. Meath showed kildare up last year, If kildare give Dubs a very good game, it will show Meath up. But in many ways its irrevelant, you dont win titles for being 2nd best team in leinster. Meath and kildare for 15 years have being in a battle to be Dublins main challenger. Its like two bald men fighting over a comb. Until one of them get up and stay in div 1 for a few seasons and win 2 leinster maybe 3 in coming years. Be top 6 team. Its just repeat and rinse.

2007 - 2009 Meath reach 2 semis and beat Dubs and win leinster but dont build on it after leinster final fiasco. Meath r 9th best team in Country. kildare r 12th.

2010-2011 kildare reach 1 semi fail to beat Dubs and stay in div 1 for years. Beat Meath 3 times. and Meath r struggling. kildare r 9th best team in Country. Meath r 12th.

2012 -2015 Meath relegated to div 3 first. Then Meath reach 3 leinster final, fail to beat Dubs r go up stay div 1. Beat kildare 3 times Kildare r struggling, relegated to div 3. Meath r 9th -11th best team in Country. kildare r 12th - 16th

2017 -2018 kildare reach leinster final lose, fail to stay in div 1 but do win Mayo in Nowhere r Newbridge. Beat Meath twice, Meath r struggling. kidlare r 9th best team in country, Meath r 12th to 16th.

2019 -2020 Meath reach 2 leinster finals fail to beat the Dubs and fail to stay in div 1. Beat Kildare twice. Kildare r struggling. Meath r 9th best team in country. Kildare r 12th.

2021-2022 kildare reach 2 leinster fail in 1, still result pending in 2022 final. Fail to stay in div 1. Beat Meath once. Meath r struggling. Kildare r 9th best team in country Meath r 12th.

So Meath and kildare have done musical chairs gaa style for 15 years. If you look at the thread with New manager next year Meath will get promoted next year get two leinster final and lose. while kildare struggle. Than in 2025 2026 Kildare get promoted fail to stay in div 2 lose 2 leisnter finals and Meath r struggle.

The question is can Meath r kildare breakout of this circle of swaping place from 9th to 12th and back again, and every two years of being Dublin main challenger and stay in div 1 for years. Both have young teams. Both have underage sucess. Both soon will have new managers. Glen Ryan in kildare are Malachy O Rourke r Robbie Brennan in Meath. The question can kildare or Meath do a Monaghan. Become top 6 team. Neitheir kildare r Meath have done that since 90s. Is it just more hype around kildare like we saw in the early Dwyer years in early 90s r Mcgeeney years and O Neill/Nowhere r Newbirdge years. And when Meath continue to get more talent through and inevitably try and go up and stay in div 1. Will it be another false dawn for Meath like O Brien years 2010 or O Dowd years 2013 2014 and McEntee years 2019 2020. Meath = false dawns, kildare = hype. Can eitheir in 2020s make the breakthrough. And be top 6 team for years ,win leinsters, stay in div 1 for years, beat top teams. Time iwll tell. We will know fully in 3 r 4 years time.

I posted to somelse the below facts but it relevant here. Just more facts and evidence and stats. You will reply with digs at Meath. Then I will give more facts you ignore and show dislike towards Meath. You dont really want to Meath to suceed. Meath who struggling gone stale with manager in 6th year. lose to 6 time All Ireland champions and somehow this prove Meath is burning down, Dubs have hammered every team in leisnter for 10 years even your belove kildare. And most teams in the country. Meath will have new manager next year, could be Malachy O Rourke, huge exciting talent coming thru not seen days of Giles and Geraghty and Stafford and Meath always make use of underage sucess. Hopefully continues. One loss and you think thats the end of Meath. U hope its the end of Meath. But Meath will never give up til Dubs are beaten. We lose, we are hammered on Sunday, but the fight goes on. look at the ladies look at minors. Thats the future. Dubs could never deal with great Meath team. Dubs dont want to hear that. You basically have to stay number 1 forever. We just come with great team now and again. Huge work being done in kildare and I know it hurts you to hear in Meath. Talent coming through both counties. Can eitheir make breakthrough. Time will tell, below is review of 15 years of Meath kildare basically at the same level for 15 years. Of course in that time Irish governemt and GAA pumped 24 million plus into Dubs while the rest got less than 1 million each. Dubs became the PSG / Man City of GAA. Of course I am joking ( but you did get 24 million, 23 million more than anyone else). I am sure u will dispute that. And insult Meath left right and centre. The Dubs so defensive, the jackeens in 80s 90s great craic, face a bit criticism now and the Dubs can only say look at Mayo look at Monaghan. Im sure more digs are on way towards Meath. Here r more facts below, before your insults towards and dislike of all things Meath.

Meath rattled Dublin last year took the fight to them and was best performance and closest a leinster team have got to Dubs in last 10 years since Meath lost to Dubs by 3 in 2012 leinster final. kildare didnt take the fight to them last year tried to keep score. Meath were praised, kildare were criticised. Meath showed kildare up last year, If kildare give Dubs a very good game, it will show Meath up. But in many ways its irrevelant, you dont win titles for being 2nd best team in leinster. Meath and kildare for 15 years have being in a battle to be Dublins main challenger. Its like two bald men fighting over a comb. Until one of them get up and stay in div 1 for a few seasons and win 2 leinster maybe 3 in coming years. Be top 6 team. Its just repeat and rinse.

2007 - 2009 Meath reach 2 semis and beat Dubs and win leinster but dont build on it after leinster final fiasco. Meath r 9th best team in Country. kildare r 12th.

2010-2011 kildare reach 1 semi fail to beat Dubs and stay in div 1 for years. Beat Meath 3 times. and Meath r struggling. kildare r 9th best team in Country. Meath r 12th.

2012 -2015 Meath relegated to div 3 first. Then Meath reach 3 leinster final, fail to beat Dubs r go up stay div 1. Beat kildare 3 times Kildare r struggling, relegated to div 3. Meath r 9th -11th best team in Country. kildare r 12th - 16th

2017 -2018 kildare reach leinster final lose, fail to stay in div 1 but do win Mayo in Nowhere r Newbridge. Beat Meath twice, Meath r struggling. kidlare r 9th best team in country, Meath r 12th to 16th.

2019 -2020 Meath reach 2 leinster finals fail to beat the Dubs and fail to stay in div 1. Beat Kildare twice. Kildare r struggling. Meath r 9th best team in country. Kildare r 12th.

2021-2022 kildare reach 2 leinster fail in 1, still result pending in 2022 final. Fail to stay in div 1. Beat Meath once. Meath r struggling. Kildare r 9th best team in country Meath r 12th.

So Meath and kildare have done musical chairs gaa style for 15 years. If you look at the thread with New manager next year Meath will get promoted next year get two leinster final and lose. while kildare struggle. Than in 2025 2026 Kildare get promoted fail to stay in div 2 lose 2 leisnter finals and Meath r struggle.

The question is can Meath r kildare breakout of this circle of swaping place from 9th to 12th and back again, and every two years of being Dublin main challenger and stay in div 1 for years. Both have young teams. Both have underage sucess. Both soon will have new managers. Glen Ryan in kildare are Malachy O Rourke r Robbie Brennan in Meath. The question can kildare or Meath do a Monaghan. Become top 6 team. Neitheir kildare r Meath have done that since 90s. Is it just more hype around kildare like we saw in the early Dwyer years in early 90s r Mcgeeney years and O Neill/Nowhere r Newbirdge years. And when Meath continue to get more talent through and inevitably try and go up and stay in div 1. Will it be another false dawn for Meath like O Brien years 2010 or O Dowd years 2013 2014 and McEntee years 2019 2020. Meath = false dawns, kildare = hype. Can eitheir in 2020s make the breakthrough. And be top 6 team for years ,win leinsters, stay in div 1 for years, beat top teams. Time iwll tell. We will know fully in 3 r 4 years time.

Jaysus you are a bitter little man with a hatred towards Kildare. Look Kildare are currently better then Meath which you dont like but you keep keeping talking shite about previous results. We beat you last year when we got promoted to Division 1 and your muppet of a manager didnt like it so he accused a Kildare player of spitting at a Meath player which wasnt proven. Look we might not beat Dublin on Saturday week but at least we wont put in a shocking performance like your boys on Sunday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭_NAGDEFY

Sonny don't go away

I'm here all alone,

You've got 100s of stats

And I've hardly none🤭

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭NedsNotDead

Well this thread escalated. Anyway getting back to the Championship. Hard to believe that its only mid-May and we already at Provincial Final stage.

It really does feel like the whole thing is being rushed

I lived in kildare in Newbridge, worked in kildare, played in gaa in kildare for years, I have family in kildare, so I know the county that bitter is kildare. The hatred towards Meath in kildare is unreal. Are u saying kildare aren't bitter towards and hate Meath Meath. Yes in Meath around the border kildare are not liked. But go up to Navan past Summerhill and North and west, 70% of Meath there is no rivalry, its Cavan up north and Westmeath to the west and louth to north east. It doesn't matter where u r from in kildare Celbridge r kill, r Maynooth r Naas if you follow kildare u hate Meath. Kildares Players spitting at Meath players is a pretty good example of the hatred. I know all about the hatred of kildare of Meath. And if ur kildare fan u know also how bitter it is towards Meaths.

I actually hope kildare beat Dublin. And Meath will be shouting for kildare. Not being anti Dublin but for sake of leinster football. I was in pub in Meath in 2017 Dubs v kildare leinster final Meath people were shouting for kildare. I hope kildare beat Dublin put in a great performance stay in div 1 next time they go up. Now would kildare supporter hope Meath beat Dubs and stay in div 1. I doubt it.

Kildare fans are criticising Meath for performance on Sunday, yet they threw in the towel v Dubs last year from 1st second. Kildare have been just as bad as Meath v Dubs in championship in last 10 years. Both have received many hammering from 15 pt to 19 pts. Both have suffered record defeats. Hopefully kildare play well and beat the Dubs in leinster final.

Who spitted at who? Name the players? I have no hatred of Meath. Why would I. I am just laughing at them for the current situation they are in and the spineless performance they put in Sunday

U know well I am not going name names but everyone knows what happened in Meath to our player.

Kildare were spineless last year v Dubs threw in the towel from get go. Kildare have being just as bad as Meath v Dubs in last 10 years. Dubs have hammered kildare by 15 pts and 19 pts Meath also. Both have been spineless. Actually Kildare have been spineless v Dubs for generations.

As I said I will be shouting for kildare in leinster final. I hope u play well I really hope u beat Dubs. I am not the only Meath fan. I doubt kildare fan ever shouted for Meath. Where u shouting for Meath on Sunday.

Jayus I wouldn’t want to be against you in a GAA pub quiz. With your stats!

But you seem to be very focused on the long distant past and not focused on the reality of now.

By your logic Cavan are still great away because they once won in the Polo Ground!

We live in the now. You seem to have tricked yourself by going back decades and decades to trick your mind from the reality.

Which is Kildare are showing green shoots at senior level, and underage.

There is a vibrancy about them and their management team. Their tactics suit the players available. Attack.

In the last year they CHANGED management and tactics. With noted improvement. In the league and now championship. You keep ignoring that point!

Meath In contrast are stagnating at best or going backwards.

Getting worse devoid of structure, plan, tactics. And a manager who looks and sounds, frustrated and lost.

It is not just one loss with Meath it is consistent underperforming and manner of losses.

Meath struggled in div2 and Kildare fought hard in div1.

Meath will be lucky to stay in div 2 next year. And Kildare will likely be pushing for promotion.

It is very fair to compare the two sides. Both should be of the same level given what is available to them. But that is not the case now for whatever number of reasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,494 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

They know very well that it is a closed shop. Have done for a long time.

But that does not in turn mean they will give a damn about any mickey mouse cup.

The players and supporters do have a third option after all.

Let us forget about previous performances because thats all you living off at the moment. Which county do you think is in a better position and who do you think will go further in the championship? Personally i think Kildare are well ahead of Meath and i think they will make the super 8s

• Registered Users Posts: 26,572 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Well the "Mickey Mouse" cups have been a success in hurling where people are more honest about the gulf between top and bottom.

Don't see why a lower division team going for a cup they can win is any less Mickey Mouse than spending every year getting bate in a tournament they will never win.

100%. I have seen my county Kildare that have no chance of competing in the Liam McCarthy been successful in the Christy Ring cup in the last few years and are in the final again this year. Them being successful in that competition has lifted hurling in the county. What cant some of the smaller counties put in the effort and go for the Taillteann cup. At the end of a day its a trophy

• Registered Users Posts: 26,572 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I'm actually torn as to whether or not it's a good thing Limerick qualified for Sam. We will get a nice marque game or maybe 2 if things go really well but i'de rather watch them compete for something they can win.

Meath

There is no question that kildare are ahead of Meath this year. And I think kildare have agood chance of getting to q finals. There are no super 8s this year. It depends on the draw. If kildare get Tyrone Armagh Mayo than that's going to be difficult all favs v kildare. But if kildare get Cork Meath Clare than kildare will be strong favs to go thru.

Kildare have been much better than Meath this year. kildare have player good football this year. I am big fan of players like kirwan. I think he is top class forward. As good as kildare have ever produced. And Hyland is kildare best marksman since Great John Doyle. Dan Flynn is gifted but to inconsistent. If he sorts that out could be kildare great.

With the bounce of the legends coming in kildare have definitely found their mojo. Meath are stale after 6 years under Andy. Who has done good job. But Meath need new voice, 6 years is long time. If Malachy O Rourke comes in next few weeks which is the rumour. I expect Meath to be pushing for promotion next year. Meath playing well vrs kildare playing well there is little between teams. When Meath play kildare in Navan next year its 50 50 game. If Meath played kildare in qualifiers in coming weeks kildare would be favourite and would win. As kildare have been much better than Meath this year. Meath have gone stale. We are in the dying weeks of McEntee era. Kildare are ahead of Meath now same way Meath were ahead of kildare in 2019 2020. Both have real talent coming through. And I think with structures in Meath kildare both have huge young populations u sse will continued underage sucess in coming years. Kildare have a great chance this year and next year. Your exceptional 2018 Underage All Ireland winners are now starting to come of age. Meaths 2021 exceptional underage team have another two years at U20. It will take time for them to come through. Meath are a few years behind kildares underage sucess. But catching up. So kildare are in pole position. Kildare need to be winning leinster title this year r next. Dubs could be vulnerable. In 2 or 3 years times Pat Gilroy r Jim Galvin cud be managing Dubs. Offaly exceptional u20 All Ireland winners will be coming thru to senior. So will Meaths underage All Ireland winners and other leinster winning teams will be coming thru. Kildare needed to stay in div 1 this year. But as long as they can win leinster this year r next and go straight back up. Kildare are in better position than Meath currently and that will remain so maybe even next year, even though with new manager expect Meath kildare to be fighting for promotion year. But in year 2 or 3 of Malachy O Rourke team with underage talent Meath will be getting stronger, there is real potential in coming years. Meath blew their chance v Dubs in 07 to 10, sud have won leinster in 08 r 09 or both. Kildare blew their chance v Dubs 2011 2012, sud have won leinster in 2011. This is kildare best chance since. Kildare have to take it. I hope u do. We need someone to beat Dubs not because we hate them but because for leinster football. Best of luck in leinster final. U have the forwards. But ur defence needs to tighten up substantially. Our it could similar result to what Meath got.

If someone said to you that Limerick would be in a Munster football final at the start of it I am sure you would have bitten there hand off. Look you never know who you might get in the next round. Ye might get Meath :D

Yeah I never understood the logic of counties thinking Sam or nothing, And the league is only the league, It is competition of teams that are of the same level and it should be competitive.

I would agree with McConville that the North/South spilt is silly. But I think the GAA's logic was they want to keep a geographical spread make it inclusive.

In reality an open draw would give the Tailteann cup more Umph. My one gripe about the Tailteann Cup is its name. Yeah I understand the historical reference etc. But it does not exactly trip off the tongue. In my opinion the GAA should ramp up the marketing and hype of the competition, I don't know what the GAA marketing department does, half the time they don't seem bothered.

If they marketed things properly it would create a buzz and hype. If serious marketing people got hold of these competitions even the Tailteann Cup Every match would be like the 125 GAA celebrations, Bit of vibrancy and razzmatazz. Get a decent Tannoy system in grounds as well. Big screens showing past great matches between the sides. Interviews pitch side from old legends of each county side,

OK some might think it is silly doing OTT stuff like that. But it would be money well spent, The buzz and hype would have a roll on effect.

More incentive for winners of each game not just the cup, Expenses increases money/advice for a counties marketing department a fully paid for development coach. Whatever just something with real incentive for a side. Sponsorship contract with xyz for the winners etc

It would draw in the casual fan and give a county team and players real incentives. But for some reason the GAA seem really lazy when it comes to marketing the products they have. Not just the smaller competitions either even the bigger ones.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

While it was a stupid push in the chest by Morris, it was an embarrassing dive by the Dublin player.

Dublin fans were up in arms over the Donegal player diving in 2011 with Connolly, that was more of a strike than Morris' push.

I would agree with most of that not sure on McEntee doing a good job that is debatable. As for the Dubs they are vulnerable now. The Dublin fb line in as brittle as ever I saw it.

And the management of Dessie Farrell is not just questionable, there are serious question marks over him. Tactically and so on. As for Gavin or Gilroy coming back. Extremely unlikely to happen. Gavin has a new CEO job and Gilroy is busy with his business. It was why Gilroy could give the hurlers only one year. Work commitments.

The worrying thing is ask any Dublin football supporter who they think is the next candidate to replace Farrell and they would struggle to come up with a viable name! And that says there is something wrong somewhere.

I am not on about the distant past I am on about last 2 years. Meath play kildare last year and Meath were actual favs to beat kildare last year. Meath were in div 1 in 2020 and reached q finals in 2019. And were in promotion play off v kidlare in 2021. And in 2021 just last year Meath had best performace v Dubs any leinster team have had in championship in last 10 years.

Since 2020 Meath have hammered kildare drew with Monaghan in Clones, rattled Dublin in Parnell Park lost by 4 and Croke Park lost by 6. Meath lost by 1 pt to Mayo and 2 pts to Galway ( cud have won both games0. And in the words of Pat Spillane and Marc O Se, they both said Meath should have beaten killarney when lost by 3. this is all in the last 2 years. Not 1947, but games since 2020.

These games are not back with Cavan in Polo ground or in 1987 they in the last 2 years. And if u include 2019 where Meath lost by 2 pts to Donegal twice, Meath should have beaten Donegal in Ballybofey and if referee blew up the game in 5th min of injury time not 7th min Meath would have knocked Tyrone out of championship in 2018. So I am not on about 1996 but games results in last 2 to 3 years since 2020.

I am live in the now and recent times, But ur dislike Meath means u not deny good Meath performances u put down anything positive regards Meath, u just ignore Meaths good performances and being in div 1 recently and being in super 8s. Meath have stagnated in last 12 months, McEntee should have left last year. He stayed a year to long. But Malachy O Rourke will be Meath manager in coming weeks. So Meath will soon have a new manager like kildare. McEntee has weeks left in the job.

Next year with Malachy O Rourke and talented young footballers who have beaten Dubs at underage yearly Meath will be pushing for promotion. U hope Meath will be continue to be poor. But with new manager and huge talent and more talent come through, the future is looking good. U clearly hope and want and need Meath to fail. Just because Meath have stagnated in year 6 of managers tenure have gone stale. U hope That will continue under one of the best ulster managers of his generation. Meath will be stronger next year. All the signs are there. U just hope want need badly Meath to fail

Meath and kildare are at same level for 20 years. Meath were ahead in 2019 and 2020. Kildare are ahead in 2021. Both next year both will in div 2. And game in Navan it will be 50 50. Meath get rid of stale McEntee tenure with huge talent coming thru not since 90s, an era of underage sucess. And one of the best underage teams to come from leinster in last 20 years yet to come thru and more talent Meath will get stronger and stronger. Ur going to really feel bad next year and in coming years when u see these Meaths talent coming thru. Best talent since 90s. Current team already had eight 21 and 22 year old who played on Sundat. Morris is 22, Walsh is 21, Costello is 21, Hickey is 21, Flynn is 21, O Connor is 21, Hogan is 21, Clarke is 22. All those 8 played on sunday. And there is still players to come through from 4 leinster tilte underage winning team and Meath outstanding minors last year only third leinster team to win minor All Ireland since 2000.

One year can make difference, this time last year Meath were getting praise for giving the best performance any leisnter team has done v Dubs in generation. Off the Ball was talking about this very good young Meath team. While kildare were criticised in and outside of the county for their surrender v Dubs. At end of last year championship thngs looked better for Meath than kildare. Now 12 months later kildare look better. Whats to say with excellent new manager M O Rourke and one of the youngwst teams in the country with best talent to come thru since 90s cannot be better. in Meah I fully expect Meath under new manager to beat kildare in Navan next year and fight for promotion. Meath will be contenders for promotiion. But you want Meath to continue to be poor. Kildare are 9th best team in country in boards ie rankings. Meath are 12th. The way you are talking you think Kildare were Dublin and Meath were kilkenny foootballers. Ur dislike of Meath means u really want Meath to fail .just because they did this doesnt mean that this young talented team will next year. You would think this Meath were old team with no udnerage sucess. Its opposite but your dislike means your ignore anything positive.

I would be more concerned about the Flynn challenge on Cooper that was dangerous. High challenge. The Morris one on Gannon. Yeah it can be said Gannon went down easy. But to push a player right in front of the ref is making the refs decision for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Fattybojangles

That is a serious problem for Dublin most if not all of their top clubs are being managed by outsiders like when Dessie goes who takes it? Can't be bringing in outsiders now after 8 All Irelands in 11 years.