Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people not flash for speed camera vans anymore?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Perhaps it's because the wised up and realise that helping people breaking laws that could potentially cause death are not a smart idea.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Republicans helping you break British law, totally different thing. We used to do that too one time, but that generation is more or less dead and gone now. And generally speaking people have a different disposition with you when you go around breaking the laws of their country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,513 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Maybe a Garda bike would get through any traffic better.

Garda pulled out of chasing this fella when they reached 220kph as they deemed it too dangerous.

The bike I had that day I met speed cam van man does 300kph.

I know there's some other factors but I doubt a Garda would do that speed or have a vehicle that does that speed even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭Timing belt

you can drive as fast as you possibly can on many backroads and not break the speed limit despite the driver Struggling to keep the car on the road and have the risk of meeting a pedestrian when you come around a bend. And yet people think than 5-10 kph over the speed limit on a motorway is more dangerous and likely cause death.

The biggest danger on the motorways are people stopping on the side of the road. Two weeks ago on the M8 I saw a car stopped and a couple going at it doggy style on the side of the road for the whole world to see….had the kids asked me to what were they doing 😳

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭erlichbachman

Ahh jaysus Jim 🙈

• Registered Users Posts: 16 SpiderSpider

Van parked up hitting people going to work at 7.05 the other morning......nice one!!!!

What was it that Leo said again??? something about doing it for the people who get up early in the morning blah blah blah

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/varadkar-wants-to-lead-party-for-people-who-get-up-early-in-the-morning-1.3090753

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Curse These Metal Hands

Kind of unrelated but people who slow down by 20/30km when they see a speed van should be shot. Was stuck was behind someone that slowed to 60km on a 100km road a few weeks back when they saw the van.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,432 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

maybe they think they're saving up for their next pass; 20 under the limit this time means they're allowed go 20 over next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,543 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I wouldnt blame them for that, do you not remember the go safe van whistleblower? he was working in Longford one day, realized people were being flashed for speeding when they weren't even speeding, he rang his boss and told him the story, the boss said just stay there and I wont put any of those fines through, the van operator saw that they were all fined for speeding and blew the whistle.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,652 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Van parked up hitting people going to work at 7.05 the other morning......nice one!!!!

Should catching people breaking the law only be allowed at off peak times or what?

What was it that Leo said again??? something about doing it for the people who get up early in the morning blah blah blah

Leo was talking about helping people who want to work or something. He wasnt giving carte blanche to head out and drive over the limit and I'm unsure why you might think he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

The last time I was done for speeding I stupidly accepted the fixed penalty instead of fighting it. I was the 1st of two cars overtaking a lorry in a dual carriageway section. It then goes down to 1 Lane. If I had of slowed down I would have jammed the 2nd car between the lorry and a wall. They should have built a dual carriageway instead of thar penny pinching balls. N2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭sambora

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Jakey Rolling

Get this all the time - people that have no idea what speed they're travelling at, or what the speed limit is on the road. Often in the same group that drive at 80k in a 100k zone, but keep travelling at 80k when they reach the 60k zone in town. Oblivious to all around them.

100412.2526@compuserve.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,164 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

There has to have been a road death in the last 3 years on the road where the speed van is as far as I know. Unfortunately to them a road death is a road death. There are many road death areas where joy riders die or kill someone. This doesn't mean that that particular road is dangerous. They don't take into account if the car was road worthy or anything like that. Not the cleverest way to decide where to put the speed vans

There is a particular point on the old N32 where a family have erected a memorial. Almost a headstone. I drove past it last year and there was a speed van parked right beside it. I'm don't know how this individual died but it would have made a brilliant photo for a road safety campaign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

I always flash other drivers when I come across one of these quangos and always acknowledge drivers who warn me.

Still a fine thing in my neck of the woods.

• Registered Users Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Mullaghteelin

People need be honest with themselves whether they want enforcement of the law or not. Its pure hypocrisy to support flash warnings until one driver comes along driving like a maniac and you suddenly hope the guards catch them!

You cannot support enforcement in general but want exceptions whenever you are behind the wheel.

The idea that obedience to the law is for others but not necessarily for yourself... is an attitude that seems to apply to many things in Ireland, not just regarding traffic laws.

That is rubbish that a speed van only goes where there was a road death in the past 3 years.

I'm only repeating what conor faughnan (ex AA Road watch) has said several times on the Pat Kenny show. If you have a problem with it, you should take it up with him. 👍

i think you must have interpreted what he was saying incorrectly. The following is the official details of where speed cameras are placed :

“Safety cameras operate in areas where there is a history of speed related collisions, known as speed enforcement zones, using a fleet of marked vehicles* (see image below). Road deaths have decreased from 415 in 2000 to 148 in 2019. This shows a dramatic reduction in terms of risk and a huge increase in terms of road safety. All zones are available on the Garda website and available for GPS Navigation providers such as Garmin, TomTom, Google Maps or Waze to download.”

source: https://www.garda.ie/en/roads-policing/safety-cameras/

I'm don't know how this individual died but it would have made a brilliant photo for a road safety campaign

Road safety campaigns have little if any effect on driver behaviour. The only thing that works to change driver behaviour is the likleihood of being caught.

Then you get dopes who warn oncoming drivers of a speed check regardless of how unobservant that oncoming driver is. It is strange how the gardai are seen as a form of enemy and a blind cretin who happens to be driving at speed is on your side! Strange logic indeed!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,432 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

If you mean Donegal, it's hardly the county you'd point to with the best road safety record.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭buried

Too many reckless, aggressive and high speeding drivers on the roads these days. I'll be f**ked if I help any of these hoors stay on the road if the chance arises they can't do the basic thing and stick to the limit. These things are there for a reason. Every day of the week I'm on the roads and since 2 years ago I've seen all sorts of craziness on the roads, literally every single day, usually involving high speed with dangerous overtaking. In the last month I seen two near fatalities involving this sort of $hit, fatalities which could have included mine and my family. F**k the people doing this, seriously, F**k them, this is what involves death to literally innocent people doing the right thing on the road. Why would you help some simple sack of $hit get away with increasing the chance of them killing possibly multiple people through their own thick pig $hitheadedness?

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

You see your another who has been conned into thinking these are for road safety.

Most accidents happen in the early hours after midnight so perhaps that's the time they should be on the road then. Not catching people unawares heading to and from work. Suppose more profit at these times.

Look into who owns the speed Van's and the profits each week.

There will be a lot of wingers on here if the government reduces the speed limits due to fuel shortages or the environment. During the oil crisis in the early 80s many states in the US reduced the speed limits on freeways (motorways) to 55 miles (just under 90K) per hour. It was decades later before some states inched up the limit.

Most accidents happen in the early hours after midnight

that is so far from reality it's actually kinda funny. in the UK (based on data from direct line), midnight to 6am accounts for 5% of crashes.

Maybe most accidents happen at night because these same f**king simple speedy gonzales sacks of $hit are out during the day and good citizens like yourself are flashing them to help them stay on the road to do the carnage at night when these thicks should be actually banned from driving completely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭Damien360

It’s a fixed price contract. Doesn’t matter if they get 100 or 1000 drivers a day. My issue is with their locations. Far too many without any justification of safety, long open stretches of road.

Totally agree

I have no problem with the cameras and I won't warn speeders but some of the locations don't make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭kirving

Versus traffic volume, a far higher proportion of fatal collisions happen at night, and weekend nights in particular.

Most people I flash on on their way to work or heading home from work . Agree totally the shower of pricks out rallying at night should be banned for life. It's a pity there is never anyone at that time of night to enforce it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

First they came for the socialists...

I never have. Perhaps it differs from county to county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭HBC08

People flash me all the time and I'm at or coming back for work, but I don't need to be flashed because I am doing the limit of the road. The authorities aren't going to catch me because I ain't giving them what they want, which is to get the F**kers burning all over the place at literally every single hour of the day. 2 weeks ago I was on the N18 outside Limerick on a Monday morning at 9am, and at the first Junction at exit two this gadge comes past me and everybody else at at least 220 KPH, the limit is 100, this guy was possibly doing more, because he approached and went well past me in the space of four seconds. He didn't make it far because the N18 at Limerick city is riddled with cops and two junctions later this $hitbag was nabbed at the side of the road. Hopefully he will never drive again because actions like that are absolutely catastrophic. And that was 9am. If you think this sort of silly $hit only happens at night you are wrong. Morons are morons 24/7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Minier81

I never flash and not because I want people to be caught speeding,but because why would I warn people about Gardaí ahead. Like they could be drunk, have a body in the boot, have a boot full of Lord knows what.

For the flashers,how would you feel if you flashed someone and the pulled in and turned around? And then you heard on the boot later that a child was abducted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭kirving

It's much more profitable to catch 20 people out of 20,000, doing 87km/h trying to merge in an 80 zone, than it is to catch the 1 guy doing 120km/h on a 80km/h backroad.

Average speed cameras on major motorways would stop the idiots doing 160km/h overnight. (Slowing from 160 to 120 is an entirely different thing than 120 to 80). All M50 bridges should have tailgating cameras - would put manners on people pretty quickly.

I flash every single car in the dusk or rain with no lights, no reaction from half of them, and of the rest, most hit the brakes and the odd few have the cop on to turn on their lights.

Sadly it's all about the profit in my eyes. In my experience most of the knuckledraggers come out in the early hours when they know that the chance of being caught is very slim and no vans to bother them. Not that these kind pay fines anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭HBC08

Would you say that the biggest fatality to traffic ratio is in the middle of the day or between midnight and 6am.I don't have the figures but can't help suspecting you're arguing in bad faith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,033 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I don't think we got the memo on this down in the Midlands, Flashing (car headlights) continuing with Gusto, particularly at spots were, Go Fund Me vans are parked up 😉

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

For the flashers,how would you feel if you flashed someone and the pulled in and turned around? And then you heard on the boot later that a child was abducted?

Not even as extreme as that: with apparently 1 in 13 drivers driving around uninsured, flashing them gives them advance warning which allows them to evade capture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,033 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

There's actually a stretch of road near Tullamore and drivers can tell the Go Fund Me van is about, you can see what looks like a synchronised Christmas light display a Mile ahead with car headlights flashing. 😁

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

This is the question you asked:

When do most fatalities happen?

My correct answer was:

The middle of the day

There are quiet a few people driving around without their front number plates now. There is a young lad in my town with no front plate the last 12 months, same guy flys around in his high powered car, have seen him doing 100 kmph in a 50 kmph zone. The local Guards dont seem to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Mo Ghile Mear

I wish they'd put a speed van on our rural road. In the past 10 years or so the speed has increased to the stage where no-one can go for a walk on the road, kids can't cycle to school anymore, you wouldn't dream of going out with a chlld in a buggy, it's dangerous pulling out of your driveway.... all things we did safely for years. The limit is 80 but that's way too fast on a winding secondary road. Limit should be 60 and stricly enforced. It would give me the greatest of pleasure to see gobshites who are driving too fast getting penalty points and fined.

And 'speeding' isn't necessarily going over the official limit.... it's driving too fast for the situation, whether that's bad weather or poor road conditions.