Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Power gone to the head of Minister for Justice

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

She's a moron. Her approach is based on Twitter likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,892 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

This post is exactly what is wrong with McEntee herself - meaningless soundbites that actually say nothing about her experience, qualifications, understanding of, or general competence for what is a senior and critical post in Government that has long-lasting effects on Irish society long after the office-holder has moved on/retired.

She's ...

• "challenging the status quo" - what does this actually mean? How has she addressed the increasing (serious) crime issues that are an almost daily feature on the news now?
    • "putting herself out there" - er, exactly as a senior cabinet minister should?
    • "young" - not THAT young anymore but so what? If we're playing identity politics bingo here, you are at risk of being ageist to her older colleagues!
    • "her approach is refreshing" - chasing social media trends and grandstanding on Twitter or about her TikTok account. I guess we have different ideas of what "refreshing" means!

What she is is completely unsuitable for the role she holds and, partly because of attitudes like the above, getting away with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Sugar_Rush

Something inexplicable is giving me an overwhelming compulsion to post a series of pictures of her wedding ceremony....

In physics we trust....... (as insanely difficult to decipher as it may be)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,123 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

to be honest i'm more concerned over the abuse helen mcentee seems to be getting

I have no idea where this notion comes from or what substantiates it.

Has she posted some lingerie shots or something?

Ah enough of the victim nonsense. The woman is a senior cabinet minister in a critical department and seems to spend most of her time chasing social media trends and pushing her personal profile than actually addressing the serious and worsening problems that department is responsible for.

It's her competence and suitability that's being questioned. It's people like yourself that are trying to the infer the "it's coz she is a woman!" angle.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

She was straight onto Twitter after poor Aisling Murphy was murdered, telling Irish men that they had to improve themselves, telling all and sundry that she was going to change to laws to make women more safe. Meanwhile Chico Makamda, who was found guilty of physically assaulting multiple women, sexual assault, false imprisonment, exposing himself to teenage girls, masturbating in public, robbery and more, still roams the streets of Ireland, almost 4 months after his court appointed deadline to leave the state.

When asked about it in a PQ, “if she will address concerns that there is an ongoing failure to take adequate and appropriate steps to ensure the removal of convicted individuals who are also subject to a current deportation order from the State", we got more waffle......

“As the Deputy will appreciate, it would not be appropriate for me to comment on individual cases,” replied the Minister.

“However, I can assure the Deputy that it is the policy to seek to deport from this State individuals whose presence here is not conducive to the common good.”

McEntee continued: “The deportation of such individuals is a complex matter requiring, amongst other things, the determination of the nationality and identity of the person and the cooperation of the proposed destination state in facilitating the deportation.”

Why would the destination state have to facilitate anything? He is a private citizen. We aren't transferring him to an Angolan prison, we are just kicking him out. Angola cannot make him stateless. She is full of shite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,123 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Just out of curiosity, who would you consider an apt replacement?

Not so... Leo Varadkar, Micheal Martin, Stephen Donnelly, Simon Harris, Eamon Ryan, Enda Kenny, Bertie Ahern, Charles Haughey.. etc, etc

All prominent male politicians who have had - and continue to have - lots of (deserved and otherwise) criticism levelled at them. But no one says it's because it's they're men because - no one cares! The only ones making an issue out of it are folks like yourself trying to deflect from the substance of the issue - that she is completely out of her depth and unsuitable for the role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭thefallingman

who covered her position when she was off for 9 months ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,470 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

• Registered Users Posts: 7,001 ✭✭✭conorhal

Does she now?

Or is she the epitome of the meme....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Feck this orwellian sh1t. I suspected early on McEntee would be a driver of Orwellian measures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Babyreignbow

Gotcha. So you just copied and pasted a text directly from a blog.

This collection and retention of data is a form of mass surveillance which allows for the mapping of the private activities of virtually every person in Ireland. Both the High Court order and the lack of transparency surrounding it are gravely concerning. The order is also likely to be contrary to CJEU case law and, therefore, illegal. This risks evidence in future criminal trials either being challenged and/or such trials collapsing.

Since Monday June 26 2023, this ruling occured, which is significant with respect to evidence being used in criminal trials.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/court-of-appeal-makes-landmark-ruling-that-cctv-footage-can-be-used-as-evidence-1581975.html

Dozens of other trials have heard similar arguments and Mr Justice John Edwards said today that where such evidence exists, it would be a dereliction of duty if gardaí did not access and use it to investigate crime and to secure convictions.

He said that a decision from the Court of Appeal was "long overdue" and pointed out that arguments claiming that CCTV footage should be inadmissible had never succeeded in Irish courts.

In respect of arguments made under data protection laws, the judge said the processing of data such as CCTV footage is lawful where it is necessary and proportionate for the prevention, detection, investigation or prosecution of criminal offences.

with respect to the purpose of retaining data, that's already dealt with in in DP legislation

In the Dunbar case, CCTV footage was obtained from private homes, local businesses and a Dublin bus. The purpose of having CCTV cameras, the judge said, was to protect premises, deter unauthorised entry, discourage anti-social and criminal behaviour, and to assist in apprehending anyone who did engage in such activities.

The footage obtained was from public places including footpaths, roads, a public park, a bus and the Square Shopping Centre in Tallaght. "It does not seem realistic to us to suggest that someone walking or visiting such an area would have a reasonable expectation of privacy," Mr Justice Edwards said.

Mr Justice Edwards said the court does not believe that any of Dunbar's rights were breached, whether under the Constitution, the European Convention of Human Rights or the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights.

The CCTV evidence was highly relevant, he said, and in any particular case such evidence could be used to advance an investigation, identify a suspect and provide relevant evidence at trial. In another case, he said, it might exonerate a suspect.

It's your democratic right to seek answers to questions about state security from the department if they are a concern to you.

Use your mighty arms to slay the fierce enemy that is selfish desire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,423 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

The reality is that CCTV is in the public domain anyway so the question about the nature of it's use in criminal proceedings is a bit moot, to quote the Judge, 'it would be a dereliction of duty if the gardai didn't access it to investigate crimes and secure convictions'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,278 ✭✭✭suvigirl

So, technical evidence such as fingerprint and DNA is fine, but technical evidence of retained data is not?

You really should read more then just one blog, in order to understand something completely and correctly. This type of data has always been retained by companies, now, they cannot do that anymore and it can only be retained for a certain amount of time, for the purposes of crime investigations.

Or maybe you have always been ok with mass surveillance of the population by private telecommunications companies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,734 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Indeed, but a record of identifiable private individual communication and time location related data is in no possible way "in the public domain".

That data is already within the domain of the data controller, (network poviders etc) the request was made to extend retention of that data for a period of up to 12 months, in this instance, for the purposes of national security.

https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2022/act/25/section/4

1) The Minister may, where he or she is satisfied that there exists a serious and genuine, present or foreseeable threat to the security of the State, make, in accordance with this section, an application to a relevant judge for an order under this section.

It comes on the heels of a renewal of provisions to combat terrorism and organised crime (23/24 and more again 24/25)

https://www.thejournal.ie/special-criminal-court-law-extension-cabinet-6391193-May2024/

McEntee told her colleagues today that the government will take all necessary steps to protect the state from terrorism and from organised crime groups.

It is understood the minister’s view is that the existence of such threats, including the threat from violent extremism and international terrorism, warrants the continuance of these laws.

She also considers that there remains a substantial threat from serious organised crime in the State, particularly from criminal gangs – some with significant international links – who are engaged in the trafficking of drugs and firearms, as well as in other serious crimes, and who are prepared to commit murder.

These are temporary emergency measures, as is obtaining a high court order for an extension of data for a period of 12 months. You can argue that these purposes are unreasonable under data protection legislation but unless you're privy to state security it currently accepted as adequate for the reasons put forward.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I bet you're posting on your phone and have consented to your online presence being followed by Google, Apple, Facebook, Twitter, etc (this online presence exists even when you're not actively using your phone e.g. collection of location data, etc)

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭Eudaimonia

I’m not one for conspiracy theories but could this tip the balance into total state control over the population? I’m not saying we have malign actors internally but it could be abused very easily on a very large scale.

Can someone vent their ills feelings towards a bully without being convicted of potentially committing a crime towards them? It is entering the realms of the film Minority Report where crimes can be convicted without the defendant actually doing anything.

It’s very dangerous territory and impinges disproportionately on the citizens rights to “mens rea” actually accompanying the act of committing the crime. Now we have legally removed action into intention being the crime. As the OP says, literally the whole population would be culpable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,278 ✭✭✭suvigirl

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭Eudaimonia

I’m not sure I follow your mode of thought. Are you saying everyone who has worked as a barrister is corrupt and/or doesn’t understand the justice system more than regular politicians? Surely, someone who has experience within the system has a better perspective from which to make effective changes?

I'm sure if it were framed as an anti-immigrant argument it would be ok though. Y'know, with border protections and controls and making sure we don't import some of the more subversive violent criminal elements into our society by means of engaging with a europe wide recognition hub.