Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1st Year Sybject (BA) can teach?

• 13-05-2022 8:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭

Hi.

I studied Geography in 1st year of BA and wanted TC registration to teach it. After speaking to Teaching Council I now realize I cannot get it registered as a subject unless I took it for 3 years.

My colleagues insist I am permitted to teach it to JC. Does anyone know if this is the case? Do TC state that a subject taken in 1st Yr of a BA can be registered to teach to JC?

Reason I'm curious is that a job I'm considering needs some acknowledgement of Geography qualifications as well as my main teaching subject.

Thanks.

Comments

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,512 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

Your colleagues are thinking of the olden days before the TC was invented. Nowadays you're either qualified of you're not. If you have the 3 years of a BA done in a subject you can teach it to LC. And if you don't you can't get recognised to teach it at all. Now, on the ground things are v different and many in my school teach history to 1-3rd years and only did a year of it. But that's up to the school once you're working there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

you are not qualified to teach it, the old teach to junior cert thing is long gone, however you can actually teach any subject your principal wants whether you are qualified or not…this doesn’t happen too often luckily but there are some occasions when it still does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Dickie10