Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

10kWh LifePO4 DIY Battery Addition..... Here is my write up.

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭DC999

Rephrasing :) Electricity costs me more than gas

• Registered Users Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Feidhlim

Complete newbie here just starting to scratch the surface on this. I'm getting solar installed shortly, is there something I should request to make my life easier for a self install battery later on?

Thank you!

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭johnbk

Hybrid inverter is essential. Go with an inverter that works with 48-51v battery as you will have more options on diy battery.

My views are my own.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭championc

Or you can install a separate Storage Inverter like the Sofar ME3000. It doesn't even need to be in the same place as a PV String Inverter

• Registered Users Posts: 65,320 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Yeah and hybrid inverters are hard to get. Something like a 6kW normal inverter is about €750 retail and a 6kW hybrid one over €2000 retail. That's a lot of extra money to pay up front to cover you in case you "might" upgrade to a battery in the next few years.

• Advertisement
  • Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I prefer Storage Inverter, you can throw your PV inverter into the attic and forget about it then put your Storage Inverter in a more controllable environment for easier battery temp control. Also gives the benefit of additional output as the Storage Inverter output is additional to PV output for high electricity draws e.g. electric shower