Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any experiences with Irish "celebrities" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

i can see two scenarios here:

A - the poster is actually telling the truth and has some competition results/data etc to prove they are in fact, a very high calibre athlete and theyre annoyed because their sport isnt as 'glamourous' as other

B - theyre full of sh........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Walking_Wolf

Charlie Bird - Such a genuine, lovely man. Heartbreaking, what he's going through now.

PJ Coogan - A nice fella.

Louise O'Neill - Unpleasant and difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,581 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

I believe it was mentioned earlier. Bono, for all the grief he gets is sound. Larry Mullen, gent. You wouldn't know he is part of one of the biggest bands ever!

Niall quinn, Brian kerr, good greenhills boys, lovely.

As for rugby, I've met some absolute sound out guys, but the odd arsehole (usually fullbacks).

Gaa are far worse.

I'm a fan of the 3 of those sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 ladibai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,544 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

who, SOB? yes he did. not what i was talking about though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I remember once being in a pub and was queuing for the bar, this older man pushed me out of the way, I fell on the ground. Then the man started roaring abuse at the bar maid telling her to hurry the fcuk up with his drinks, she left his pints on the counter and the man smashed them on the ground.  Mícháel Ó Muircheartaigh. ah no I never met him lol

no worries, i was referring to the poster with the chip on their shoulder about rugby being popular, im with ya on SOB getting off very lightly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,437 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Yes but it was not on a girl and nobody was laughing.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭john123470

I was having a few pints in a pub in Killiney a few years back.

I was wearing wrap around shades and this group of tourists were convinced i was Bono. They even asked me if i was the man.

I am i said and engaged with them for a spell. I sang "its a beautiful day" .. - just the line like. They were wetting themselves. I signed a few autographs and returned to my group

I think i came across as a fairly down to earth fella. No airs and graces

Not like yer man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Yeah, they said nothing about this because it didn't happen. What did happen, he wrote about in his book, and it's been widely covered in the media. Some guy on boards misremembers a story he half heard once, reposts it here, and suddenly it starts gaining currency... (What actually happened: https://www.sundayworld.com/sport/rugby/rugby-star-sean-obrien-opens-up-about-being-sanctioned-by-bosses-for-urinating-on-a-stranger-in-dublin-pub-39830687.html - which is bad, but nothing like what was posted).

Paddy Jackson will never play for an Irish team again, and that would have happened whoever he played for.

Ah, do you want some vinegar for those chips?

Here we go again. Third time you've posted this exact same jealous screed? Fourth time? Yaaawn.

usually arseholes off the pitch

No, they're not. What are you basing that on? The fact you don't like rugby, or rugby players? Sure, there's the odd arsehole. Same in absolutely every sport and every walk of life.

Irish people are dazzled by the success of Irish rugby teams abroad

And nothing wrong with that. Not much compares with competing at the top level and winning - or even just putting in an impressive performance - in an international competition.

Of course the same goes for Irish success in any international sporting context. Ronnie Delaney. Eamon Coughlan. Sonia O'Sullivan. Seán Kelly. Steven Roche. The soccer team, Germany 88. The soccer team again, Italia 90. Barry McGuigan. Michael Carruth. John Joe Nevin. Katie Taylor. Kellie Harrington. The experts in those hugely mainstream sports, sailing and rowing - Annalise Murphy. Paul O'Donovan. Fintan McCarthy.

It's not like that many people actually play rugby on a global scale.

So **** what? Not many play Aussie rules, NFL, Gaelic football or hurling on a global scale, either. Not many go sailing or rowing. Only a tiny percentage will ever be on the back of a horse. Let people enjoy what they enjoy.

"Spoiled poshos", "spoiled ponce from D4", richboys

You're **** hilarious! Careful now, your (misplaced) prejudice is showing. You're actually a parody at this stage.

"I can run faster than 95% of people in Ireland and run over 60 miles a week"

Well, that'd make you an elite athlete! Give Athletics Ireland a call and prove it! Otherwise all we're hearing is wah wah wah!

im with ya on all of those points except im fairly sure the article linked is just spin to make it seem like SOB was alot more innocent that he was, there was a video of him going around of at one stage as far as i remember (could be wrong on that though)

I wouldnt believe what Obrien wrote in his book. I dont think many people are silly enough to take it seriously. Paddy Jackson would hardly make himself look bad either if he wrote a book.

I seems he did piss on someone so i dont know why you are defending him. What if he pissed on your mother?

There are two sides to the story and I'm very conscious we only get SO'B's in that article. Bottom line, though, is we do know he deliberately or accidentally pissed on a bloke in a pub because he was stocious drunk, and was taken in hand (er, that's an unfortunate choice of words) by his teammates. We know that because he admitted to it. That's vastly different to a boardie claiming O'Brien had pissed on a woman in a pub because she'd rejected his advances, and his teammates laughed.

I am not defending him.

I am pointing out what he actually did and was widely reported on (no need to take his book as the only account), as opposed to what a boardsie badly remembered from a post a couple of pages back, which also badly remembered what had actually transpired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

I don’t know why you keep moaning to me about this, I’m fairly certain that it’s not a crime not to lick the gilded arses of our upper crust boys in green.

Some people don’t like how prominent rugby is considering that **** all play it (globally) and that it’s only in the zeitgeist thanks to the wealthy South Dublin RTE media class. The “good schools” brigade. I’m sorry if that pisses in your cornflakes but there it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Leave ROG alone, he's a rugby god! But seriously he is somebody I admire for his steely stoicism.

He's obliuvisiously a very determined individual who lives by his own values and doesn't degrade himself for the sake of celebrity.

🙈🙉🙊

oh yeah i dunno where that absolute bollox of a story came from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭mikethecop

even after its been pointed out as untrue eh ?

I played rugby and from your point of view I would apparently have come from the wrong side of town.

You are the one with an issue, not anyone else! Own it.

i heard sean o brien fingered his mrs at a cidona disco in the 90s , that's where most of the bitterness comes from , the rest is from people laughing at his made up stories

Well if you had gone to the right school maybe you would have played for Ireland.

Might be misremembering, but I always thought it was a dude what the Son Of a Breeder pi$$ed on,,,

I met Dana once ~ 2,000 - a gentlewoman 😊 It were at a facility for the aged, the mentallers (me 😁) and the 'intellectually challenged' .. She sang 'Lady Of Knock' if memory serves 😊

Met Paul Williams when on a jolly in the Free Clothes Association,, Some recognized him (think he wrote for the Sunday World at the time) but I didn't know who he was,,, he liked quoting from the film 'Heartbreak Ridge' starring Clint Eastwood,, seemed sound to me 🙂

Fifth time now. Change the record! 😏

#BeKind 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Moragle

How. I've met packie bonner, shea given and seamus Coleman. They were all sound on the days I met them. But maybe its cus I'm a bit "odd" being from donegal myself. What an utterly stupid coment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭therapist3

Another Louise

Louise Byrne - very angry, rude and confrontational, generally a dick (oh the irony)

Had a work related 'encounter' with her, didn't know who she was, all I could think all the time she spouted bile was 'jesus this chick needs some dude to doggy style her hard'. There was like absolutely no need for her behaviour.

Found out later she was a lesbian and it all seemed to make sense then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,307 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

The only‘celebrity’ I’ve met is Kevin Kilbane. When I say met I mean I served him pints in Preston and ended up drinking in some posh pub in Dublin after an international. Grand lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Saw Karl Shiels outside a pub smoking. Two auld wans walked by on the street and shouted "Your Robbie from Fair City". He put his hand up and gave them a smile and went back to smoking. It stands out because a couple of weeks later he died suddenly.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

A long time back I met Anne Doyle through a work engagement - a very nice person to chat with.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭MakersMark

I saw Johnny Giles in the Airport once.

Very short.

He looked more like an award for Johnny Giles lookalike competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Google “ Sammy Sausages”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

allegedly, a few years ago Alan “Sammy Sausages” was in panto in the Tivoli theatre in Francis st.

there was supposed to be a meet & greet for members of the audience who paid for the privilege,

Sammy stormed off in a huff when not enough people were foolish to grace his presence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

More sammy sausages and less tedious rugby bickering please.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Reminds me if the Packie meet n’ greets. He’d still snub ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Many years ago working in a South Dublin hotel RTE were holding rehearsals for a celeb talent show, a band was playing with all the celeb singers, some good some not so great, the band certainly earned their money, model pros.

The show in question had a number of mentors I think the term was, who were supposed to demonstrate how an experienced performer does their stuff, they also practiced with the band, who continued to be model pros.

At this point enters the bowld Twink. A mentor I believe, came in with all the melodrama you'd expect, took to the stage and proceeded to sing completely out of key, consistently mucking things up whilst the band pressed on to their merit.

Twink was unsurprisingly for a malignant narcissist not the party at fault for these ongoing issues, she became increasingly belligerent and argumentative to the point where she shouted for the band to stop and proceeded to unleash a lengthy diatribe describing how inept she felt each of the musicians were and how they were at fault for everything and that they'd never work in Irish show business again before mentioning how important and wonderful she was and how she never experienced such unprofessional behavior in all her life.

This was a few years before her "zip up yer mickey" voice message, when that dropped it didn't surprise me at all.

An odious excuse for a human being.

I was also at a advance screening of a movie a couple of months before Covid, the celebs present were mostly OK, Bernard Dunne wasn't happy with his seat and asked if the staff knew who he was. Brian Ormond (who?) nearly pushed me down a flight of stairs when a member of staff announced she was validating parking tickets after the movie ended so he could be first to get his ticket punched.

Eamon Dunphy was bang on, life and soul of the party, Graeme Souness was polite and had a handshake you'd expect Graeme Souness to have.

Glazers Out!

I met Peadar Lamb (RIP) once years ago. Another wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Met Brian McFadden once years ago, was in Castle Towers shopping centre (Sydney) very late at night as it was Christmas Shopping. Wife and myself had been there for a meal with her folks, and she wanted to call into some clothes shop before we left. I sat down outside waiting, 5mins later McFadden lobbs up. Sits down at the other table, there’s no one else around he gives a slight nod. I say evening are you just doing a bit of midnight shopping? The look of panic once he heard my accent, he just mumbled something and dropped the head. Probably thought I was going deck him or something. My wife came out a bit oblivious to it and we walked off, she said Delta Goodrem was in there and I said I sort of guessed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Jmccoy1

Brendan Grace - Gentleman, RIP

Anthony Foley - Sound, RIP

Peter Stringer - Legend

Alan Quinlan - Sound

Marcus Horan - Sound

Tomás O'Leary - Sound

Brian Spillane - Nice fella, good doctor

Ian Dowling - Sound

Donnacha O'Callaghan - Gas man, legend

Paul O'Connell - Legend

Jamie Heaslip - Sound, even took my photo with the 6N trophies for me

Gerry Ryan - Absolute stuck up you know what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭therapist3

I don't get the Gemma reference, obviously there was a Gemma somewhere who said something similar I guess but that ain't me.

We were doing work for her not with her if that makes any difference, she was paying us so we had to listen to the endless middle class woman / I'm hard done by / I'm persecuted / am I expected to contribute endless moaning, fųck she was hard going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

ok first of all no one defending anyone but....

the fable abut pissing on a girl was what i referred to as being debunked as a lie,

what is with the hostility from your and your pal here, the stink of bitterness of ye

this was a nice interesting thread now blighted by unrestrained and vitriolic hatred along with a sprinkling of lies from two sad little boys who couldnt make the team 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Met and dealt with Bertie Ahern a few times. Came across as one of the lads and in good humour, I'd have time for him.

Met bono a handful of times too but nothing major, in passing with a hello etc. Seemed a good guy I thought.

Was in the background of a tv show Alan Hughes was doing and can agree with everyone here about him being a prick. Once the camera is off he's a knob head to everyone. (Twink was the same according to others and I believe Rory from Miss's Browns boys was known to be a real Queen too from reports. Trend indeed)

Worked with Evanna Lynch on a movie for a few weeks and well she thinks she's right up there when realistically she's not. A good bit stuck up. Her co star was an English bloke and he was absolutely sound out which was nice.

Was at an event once with a few heads at it, Daniel o Donnell, Baz, Keith Duffy and a few others. Was a big enough private event so they were in good behaviour.

I must be the only one not to meet Brendan Gleeson or Colm meaney !

Forgot one fella, although not a huge celebrity, but like his music. Neil hannon I've met a few times. Sound out, plus he makes me feel tall! Bonus points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Met Grainne Seoige briefly a few weeks ago, didn't recognize her at first, but, recognized her voice when she said hello, she seemed pleasant enough, smaller than I'd imagined

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭Munstergirl854

I haven't read every page on the thread here but has Bernard Brogan been mentioned?

Strikes me as very serious in interviews...