Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cult of Stephen Kenny

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Why am I reading Chump.

Chimp / chomp .. mmm, chomp here’s the thing though Kelleher was the biggest chump of the night for not showing himself capable of claiming a lofty hangball into his area. Nobody could; Ukraine only get a pass because they benefitted

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭US3

I still can't get over the fact that the entire Ukrainian defence last night had 1 cap (one) and it was our centre back Duffy that was our most dangerous player.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Duffy’s always our most dangerous player; literally you wanna protect your health steer clear he’ll make a balls of it himself. Chap doesn’t even need leverage either it’s a joke

• Registered Users Posts: 20,735 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

What wrong with the thinking ,

The senor team have zero control over players form one end of the year to another & other larger nations know they will have players capable of playing which ever style they wish,

We don't have that luxury we have to throw a starting 11 together of lads from so many different levels of the game,

We have to be pragmatic to have any kind of success ,

We are not a club side ,we need to stop approaching it like we are

• Registered Users Posts: 9,180 ✭✭✭pgj2015

well he did start Ogbene. And the other managers never even had a league 1 player in their squads, we have a few now. The other managers would laugh if you asked them about playing league 1 players.

Not planning for the future is straight up brain dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭Widescreen

At the end of the day, if Ireland had kept McCarthy on for the play offs, I think they would have qualified for the euros that time.

But Covid came and the rest is history and unfortunately Ireland had decided to go from having a professional manager to an amateur one and as they say you reap what you sew!

Manager is more important than the players - remember when big Jack came, we had a lot of superb players but they had been poorly managed previously, he changed all that.

Unfortunately current Irish manager is not up to the job but luckily for him, results don't seem to matter any more!

The biggest mystery to me is how the crowds are so big at the Aviva for the total rubbish on offer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,622 ✭✭✭votecounts

How that fcuker Kenny is still in the job is a mystery, why he got any sort of an extension was a joke. Any other Inrenational manager would be gone. Have a bit of pride Stephen, resign and take your backroom staff with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,349 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Most of the time success in International football is about a reasonably decent side with one or two marquee players who will make the difference in games that are decided by an odd goal...

Wales and Denmark have that. It's nothing to imitate. Sometimes it's just luck.

We don't have anything even close to a player that will make a difference. All much of a muchness.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,703 ✭✭✭✭briany

We can illustrate this point by contrasting Mick V1 and Mick V2. Mick V1 had the team playing a fairly passing game and getting pretty good results. Took the team to a WC where they played some excellent football and had by some way their best return on goals in any of the three WCs they played. Contrast that to a much more experienced Mick getting another quick go and the team gets to a playoff, coming in 3rd mind you and via some weird backdoor where you add the group results to the Nations League ones, carry the 1, plot the numbers on a graph and align them to the North Star and then recite the revealed incantation from Revelations.

What changed in that time? Well, Mick got older, for one. I can't say that a little bit of senility isn't creeping in, but a much more obvious and respectful guess would be that where Ireland once had Roy Keane, we now have Jeff Hendrick. Where Ireland once had Ian Harte, we now have Josh Egan. You can go up and down the line with it. The only place where the quality has arguably not slipped way down over the years is in the position of keeper, but a keeper can only do so much.

Consequently, the team has no cutting edge, and without a cutting edge, the confidence goes down and so does the morale. Results tank.

Ireland will probably get in a more defensive manager who will seek to 'right the ship'. This will probably improve results to an extent, but not to such an extent that it doesn't end in failure. Like with Trap and MoN, the call will once again go up to up to get in a manager with fresh ideas to get Ireland away from the caution and the hoofball, only for that to go nowhere, and people then want another stabiliser. You can call this the Staunton-Trap cycle because that encapsulates what I'm talking about. This cycle will not end until players of real quality come through. It's really that simple.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭DJB030244

I always felt that , was the worst thing to do to change managers at that time . I was at the Denmark game , Micks last before that, where we were very unlucky not to win,. And it wasn’t hoofball either .

Always felt he should have finished what he started . Another JD brainwave of naming two managers . Imagine going to the play off as a team and a new manager suddenly telling them we have a new way of playing .David Golderick knew the score and was gone very shortly after..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Those who want Stephen Kenny in charge are LOI diehards who view him as a reflection of the league. They convince themselves that Ireland are playing great football and constantly move the goalposts re what Kenny is required to do as Irish manager. They want him to remain at all costs even if we lose to San Marino and Andorra and attack anyone who questions Stephen Kenny's management. In reality, Kenny is way out of his depth as Irish manager and has been from the start. Any other manager with his record in International management would have been sacked a long time ago. He makes Steve Staunton look like a genius of a manager. The sooner the FAI end this farce the better. 

• Registered Users Posts: 25,284 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Who was the last manager to take the reigns who had not managed professionally and how did he do ?

Eoin Hand

managed Ireland for 5 years and did fûck all with the team… qualified for nothing, won 11 out of 40 matches, lost 20, drew 9..

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭Fred Astaire

He has a break clause in his contract after the nations league in September. He will be moved on then because it'll cost them virtually nothing to do so. Jonathan Hill was well aware that Kenny was a total bluffer but gave him the rope to hang himself (a new contract with the break clause included) rather than make enemies of the majority of our clueless fanbase by sacking him after the World Cup qualifiers.

In the meantime he can relegate us from League B and ensure we are 4th seeds in the Euros qualifier, making the new managers task even harder.

#KennyIn

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

I think Ukraine will batter us next week. In Poland with a full home support pretty much, they'll probably play the first team, it's gonna be the end of this pitful Kenny era. 4-0 Ukraine.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,126 ✭✭✭chicorytip

What about Johnny Giles? He managed professionally (WBA) at the highest level in England. What did he achieve as Ireland manager? F--- all, despite having the likes of Brady, Stapleton, O'Leary, Givens and Heighway at the peak of their powers. Hand's record with Ireland is far superior to Giles'. We were a kick of a ball away from qualifying for the World Cup in 1982. I feel some sympathy for Kenny because the players are simply not good enough to implement the style of play he desires but he needs to adapt his tactics by somehow making us more difficult to beat rather than us attempting to outplay the opposition.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

I think Knight is the new Andy Reid/Holohan btw, a decent player who does some half decent things who ends up being completely overrated by everybody until it becomes clear that they're just okay.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,214 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Yeh a trimming by Scotland and a beating by Ukraine and there willl be no coming back.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭tastyt

We are getting what we deserve as a soccer nation . Why should we be anywhere near a World Cup or a euros regularly when we don’t have a full time professional league? When we done give a shite about the game in our towns or counties across the country ? Where there are no academies and nothing for young players to aim for in their own communities like there is in GAA and Rugby

The sport and association is an absolute farce in this country and always has been . We had a few glory days when we got lucky but we are getting exactly what we deserve now

• Registered Users Posts: 25,284 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Might be for the best… fûck all use in going out there getting a 1-1 draw and then having his allies talk him up.

their defence had 1 cap and we mustered 3 shots on target in 95 minutes or so…

• Registered Users Posts: 13,910 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

A few glory days when there were a few Irish players at the top flight in England plus the Granny rule. Outside of the big towns soccer isn't really a thing here

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Hands win % for Ireland: 28%

Giles win % for Ireland: 39%

Yup, “far superior”.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭Masch8933

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

We could scarcely have hoped for a better nations league opportunity than what we had.

Armenia, who were in group C last time are not good. Ukraine and Scotland both just lost out on WC qualification last week so their heads are not in it at all and made loads of team changes.

Kenny constantly talks up himself and the team saying they want to win the group and then they lose to Armenia

That's it. Our goose was well and trul cooked losing the first game of the group to Armenia. A bit like losing the second game of the group to Luxembourg in the last euros qualification group. Unforgivable. When you are limited like we are you need to ensure you take maximum points off the weaker teams to allow some breathing space.

However it appears that some believe we don't even have the players to beat Armenia, Azerbaijan and Luxembourg. Jaysus actually wept.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,435 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

He should be getting 6 points from Luxembourg, Armenia and Azerbaijan with what's available to him.

He did get 6 points from those games.

Plus a win against Lithuania and credible draws with Portugal and Belguim. Along with Ukraine those are the last 7 Ireland games.

Its only the 2 recent defeats that has the hoof ball merchants crying, before that it was a good run considering the shite players at our disposal.

Maybe I am looking at different results, could be googles fault.

we have posters here seemingly unable to handle the idea of separating the FAI remit in production of talent from the role of a head coach who has the job of getting results on the pitch

any time the line is drawn for them they have a one line response questioning the comprehension abilities of other people, ironically enough

dunning-kruger effect is, i believe, the relevant concept at play.

You're interpreting it incorrectly.

He should be getting 18 points from 6 games versus Armenia , Azerbaijan and Luxembourg.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

His record for us is awful.

His win rate is 20%. He had a 30% win rate at Dunfermline and they sacked him.

Kenny has earned over 1.2m since he was given the job with the FAI. He's on 550k a year!