Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

2022-23 UEFA Champions League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,179 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Yes, it was handball. Completely unnecessary, the shot was going wide, it just meant it went further wide. Reminds me a little of Man United getting a penalty against PSG for a shot that was going into row Z, striking someone on the arm, the PSG player had no clue about it. They wouldn't have gone through otherwise. It was what helped Old get the manager's job on a permanent basis.

What I'm getting at, is it's not really a fair punishment, as it's not a clear denial of a goal scoring opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Ha, Joey Barton is there among the travelling Marseille fans.

Van Dijk concedes a pen now.

Alisson saves Osimhen's effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,634 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Peno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭Xander10

Liverpool have turned to muck. Poor penalty miss with chance to make it 2-0

Another penalty for Napoli where the player had no chance of scoring. Alisson would have scooped that ball up no bother.

Justice done in my opinion as Alisson saved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Using that logic, a foul just inside the penalty box that doesn't deny a goal scoring chance shouldn't be a peno!?

Awful from Salah. That should have been an easy ball to control.

You need better logic. That's nothing like the 2 penalties tonight.

Liverpool are their own worst enemy. Van Dijk saved their bacon there.

Napoli should be cruising here. They may well rue these misses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Did you just quote your own post?

Gomez gets away with 1 there...and caught out again. 2-0 now

What a goal by Napoli. GET IN.

Been a big fan of Fabinho since the Monaco days but he's having a shocker.

Salah's effort was tame, straight at the Napoli keeper, and now they're 2-0 down. Awful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

Klopp out, should be four down after half an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Some atmosphere.

Just goes to show that Parkhead and Anfield aren't the only 'intimidating' venues on European nights.

Joe Gomez making Maguire look like Baresi.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,054 ✭✭✭wanderer100

Brilliant goal from Napoli, we’ll deserved, they should be 4 nil up tbh

What has happened to Liverpool this season

Wouldn't surprise me if that happened. This site is in bits since the update. I quoted your post, and I've no idea how I can edit it in now. It would have been no problem on the old site.

Blow for Napoli with Osimhen going off.

3-0 Napoli. What an assist from Kvara. Not the first time a Simeone has caused problems for Liverpool.

Gomez should be hauled off. It's not amazing play from Napoli, Liverpool are awful. Pathetic mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Liverpool are a shambles but make no mistake Napoli have been superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,705 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Trent stood still as they walked around him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Anguissa has been fantastic. Bullying the Liverpool midfield.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

The defending for Napoli's 3rd goal was some of the worst defending i've seen in a long time.

Milner can't start the second half. Gomez either.

Great play from Napoli. Liverpool well off it atm. They can't handle Kvara.

OM shading the first half against Spurs but not offering much in the last third. Need Payet on.

Who from the 11 deserves to stay on?

At least Gomez has always been sh*te, TAA is strutting around like his too good for this craic, pure liability when his team is asked to defend.

This post is almost as funny as the Liverpool defence, learn the rules and take off the Red glasses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,167 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

None of them really but Milner and Gomez have been the standout worst. Milner is a look in the wrong direction away from a red and Gomez is getting roasted helped in no way by his midfield standing gawking at him under pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

I love when Napoli plays well in the champions league. The country comes to a standstill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭jacool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Milner looks like that time Neville was on his last legs and promptly retired mid season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

This is really top notch stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭jacool

Of the injured players Konate and Henderson would be improvements, but I have a feeling that this is the beginning of the end for this squad, as the miles clocked over the last 5 years were immense, and can't be sustained. Luckily, they won everything because I feel a quiet time coming again.

Zielinski makes it 4-0. Remarkable.

Blow for OM as Mbemba given a straight red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Ah I was only taking the p!ss out of the earlier post that said Ireland comes to a standstill over Celtic

4-1. The comeback is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Klopp in. Probably deserves a new contract

Having to listen to Gerry Armstrong pull the stomach out of himself over anything Liverpool would make you sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Lazio have turned into headless chickens

Richarlison heads Spurs in front. Lovely cross by Perisic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭Xander10

Nunez is not a very good footballer.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Richarlison with a 2nd for Spurs!

Even better header from Richarlison for 2-0. That's the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

This Liverpool team look done. No coincidence that a number of players signed huge new contracts in the last 12 months or so, they look like they don't care. Klopps utterly bizarre insistence of playing Milner is stupefying, genuinely looks like he's trying to make a point about transfers. Gomez was being talked up as being one of the best defenders in the PL, useless. Nunez looks like an utter donkey but it's obviously early days. It's all eerily reminiscent of Klopps last year at BD, malaise throughout the team, lads completely burnt out and injured, results that would have been unthinkable at one point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,128 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Lazio ?

I assume you mean Napoli but even then it makes no sense

Diaz was terrific but the rest of the outfield players were disappointing. Gomez had a mare, Van Dijk shaky again, and TAA showed the defensive frailty I pointed out last season. Fabinho looked off his best as well. Napoli very good in the first hour.

Spurs were underwhelming but got the job done. Red card was a crucial moment in the game. Son looks desperately short of confidence.

Trent doing his already slim World Cup starting place chances no favours with that kind of fannying about.