Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drag Shows for Kids

I think INTENT is important here.

A pantomime is a show. It's not sexualised. There's no agenda at play. intent. (No different from Ballet which is quite revealing but the intent behind it, removes any sexualisation of the content)

Traditional drag is simply dressing as your opposite gender, for whatever reason, but if it is sexualised, it's done in an adult environment. Bars, clubs, etc. TBH most people I've known who dressed in drag weren't gay.. they were heterosexual males who liked dressing as a woman and being feminine, but remained heterosexual. They'd be the first to say not to do it in front of children.

The photos of guys in extreme drag, and it is rather extreme, is something else. I suspect it's more of this promotional crap for Trans beliefs. Which is wrong, because it seeks to promote Trans beliefs to impressionable children/minors. That's creepy and should be shutdown fast. If a child comes to believe themselves to be Trans by their own steam, grand, support them... but there's been a variety of efforts over the last decade to "educate" children, telling them about being trans and encouraging them to express them as such. Which is wrong. It's **** creepy TBH.

There is a cancer in western culture which says to blur every line or distinction, making everything "okay" to do.. but it does nothing to consider the possible consequences, and after effects over the long-term.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭Feisar

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,381 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

But this is boards. Once you are unpopular you cannot reason with people, even if your argument makes perfect sense.

I am surprised the personal insults haven’t started yet.

It'll happen (the insults). Every thread, even remotely related to Trans issues, devolves into an aggressive arena of personal comments, twisting of others posts... and insults/snide remarks. Probably because they know, deep down, that what they're advocating is wrong when applied to minors, but feel the need to express views that everyone should be exposed to it.

People just can't separate what they're looking at into separate issues. They see drag and their brain remembers "I'm pro-LGBT so I must defend this."

There's a classic thing where if you can't substitute "the Jews" into a sentence, you're probably wrong. So I'll volunteer myself.

Substitute me, an Irish man in his 30s, and some of my grade 6 Vietnamese students into the photos. If you think it would be acceptable for me to be in a bikini with 12-year-old Asian children putting money into it, you're weird. If you think me being naked holding a Vietnamese child's arm is just some sort of fun costume play, you're weird.

I pity people who can only look at things through whatever lens they have in their pocket that seems related to the situation.

Unfortunately it seems that the illogical belief that "if my political opponents are angry, then what is happening must be right" seems omnipresent here.

Or that some sort of twisted logic is conjured to justify what is quite clearly extreme activity with children. Phrases like "It's Not Going to Lick Itself" plastered over the walls of these events are totally, 100% unjustifiable. Pantomime? Really!? Anyone suggesting there is no sexualisation of the events are clearly in denial. This is about as extreme in drag as you'd find in the gayest of gay clubs after midnight. What about the naked drag artist with his penis out?

Some things are just wrong, and shooting the critics down on the basis that you've always disagreed with them opens the door for bad people to get away with some very ugly things.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I couldn't agree more.

Replace the adults in some of these images with biological females, just for a moment. Having children put money in their underwear. How would that go down?

Nah in fairness they usually follow through with hypocrisy. Example that always pops into my head is August Ames, she was jumped on by the Twitter mob and killed herself. Instantly the deflection of "I'm sure she had other issues that caused it" came from people who would never question the proximate cause if someone gay or trans was in a similar situation.

At the same time though the permissiveness thing is hilarious at times. "OMG poor you having to see a junkie in Dublin, that must be so hard" is a typical sarky response when someone notices Dublin being grubby.

It's interesting that they would believe it a good thing to introduce children to the idea that they can pay for or buy something from a semi-naked person.. I mean, who thought it a good idea to teach children about strip-club/lapdancing activities? I genuinely wonder what else was explained in association to the act of putting money in that way?

Even if nothing was explained, and the kids were just encouraged to put use money in this fashion, what was the point? It's an adult activity... and it is a sexualised action. I can imagine those kids going home to their parents and asking them why it was done.. It's just such a bizarre thing to teach to children, and shows that there's little appreciation for what might come from it.

TBH I'm amazed we're not hearing anger over objectification of women... 😀

In fairness that's unfair on @AndrewJRenko , they're just using pedantry to troll.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

I've never seen anything like that before, there'll always be assholes that will go way beyond what's acceptable, evidenced by those appalling photos.. I really truly hope it's been shutdown.. The only drag I've seen where kids might be around is pride marches and some storytime stuff where child appropriate books are read and acted out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭mohawk

The first paragraph perfectly sums up where we are now as a society. Too many people have a side and believe they should share all the beliefs of their side.

Its not healthy as a society to not question things just because they are on the same side of political spectrum as you.

It appears we have not only learned nothing from history but have this arrogant Sen e of superiority that the past mistakes won’t be made again.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,586 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

yeah, i don't have access to twitter in work so i find my rage-o-meter remains limp at being presented with i think three photos of what does look like Things That Should Not Have Happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,009 ✭✭✭Christy42

OP posted about drag shows. The article states there are no acceptable drag shows for kids. Panto does frequently have drag in it.

Most of the photos used are unacceptable. I am not even sure the naked guy counts as drag but obviously unacceptable. One seems pretty well clothed and is reading a kids book which seems fine unless there is other context.

As for the trans stuff I doubt that this has anything to do with trans people and posters just don't know what they are talking about, it is a nice excuse to give out about trans people for no reason though. Drag queens are different and there was a pride parade somewhere that tried to ban drag queens as it might offend trans people before the received serious backlash over it.

You can be both pro-LGBT rights and anti- these extreme child drag shows.

They're not incompatible positions. In fact, I'm gay and I 100% oppose these shows. This should have nothing to do with politics, and everything to do with common decency.

Yet for some in society, making these kinds of distinction seems almost impossible, bizarrely.

If we are interested in minority rights, perhaps defenders of these shows should consider the rights of minors not to be exposed to penises, scantily-clad adults, and the overtly sexualised lap-dancing practice of placing money into the panties of performers.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,440 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Clarfiy: are we talking about kids in drag, or people in drag doing panto....?

I remember many times coming out of the Gaety ar Christmas and not being the slightest bit traumatised (well, not because of the drag act, anyway.....)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭One Who Waits...

It's pretty clear what we're talking about.

The images throughout this thread tell the story of what's wrong. I'm shocked you even need to ask.

Don't try and blur the lines and muddy the waters with obscurantism like that. We can all see through it.

Don't have time to read full thread of 50-odd resonces. I though it was kids in drag (in which case it would depend on the context, but I'd totally understand the concerns) but then it seemed to be panto costumes (in which case, get **** lives!).

Now I'm guessing it's people not being able to tell the difference between a boy in a dress, a drag show and an all-out strip show, and from the link it apperas that they're actually trying to merge them all into one so they can be outraged. Stupid idea.

Accurate summation?

• What I see in that particular image is paedophilia, pure & simple. If I had a child subjected to that I would call the law enforcement authorities and remove my child as far away from risk of any such situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 296 ✭✭Ham_Sandwich

there's going to be anti-LGTBQIA threads like this for the entirety of pride month

It's not about definitions; it's about actions - what children were exposed to.

As I said:

If we are interested in minority rights, perhaps defenders of these shows should consider the rights of minors not to be exposed to penises, scantily-clad adults, and the overtly sexualised lap-dancing practice of placing money into the panties of performers.

Some people are in favour of this, clearly. Though you have to suspect the motivations of anyone who does.

But I'm not in favour of it, and I think it's fair to say that most people find this to be an utter abomination.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Disgusting

Yeah I know - I was defining actions

Sounds like I was right with the edit though - people trying to lump it all in together. Don't see the minority rights connection though (minor is not the same as minority).

Some of ti I'd be in favour of, some definitely not.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,845 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

You are looking at pictures of child abuse and you find that amusing.

What a lovely person you are.

If you can't be arsed reading one page of comments, or even half a page, maybe go find something you are interested in.

Please, this isn't an anti-LGBTQIA thread and to draw links to LGBTQIA is wrong.

I have read them and frankly am none the wiser. Again - people trying to lump all sorts of variations together to try to be offended makes it kind of confusing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

There was a book banned in some schools in America a few months back, that "progressives" were outraged about, calling it censorship or whatever. The book in question had illustrations of young boys giving each other blow jobs. I think some of it is ignorance, but at the same time if they keep defaulting to blind defense, they'll rightly end up being viewed as a threat to children and society as a whole.

One of the first posters here to deflect and defend, was a big defender of the very dubious movie Cuties, and had a bizarre obsession with "liberal sexual education" when those threads were on the go. You really have to add these things up, and when you do there's only a handful of things that you can take away from it.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov