Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Eagles Gig last night. June 24th

Options
  • 25-06-2022 8:13am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭

I'm not an eagles fan. I know two of their songs very well. Too well in fact, as I am a musician ( guitar and piano). So I'm commenting on the gig from a musicians perspective. I'm 50, I've toured with and supported musicians from Imelda May to Deacon Blue, Duke Special and Crowded House.

Last nights gig completely blew me away. I have never, ever heard a sound quality like it. I was about 10 feet from the stage and I can tell you, there wasn't a backing track nor pitch corrector to be seen. Joe walsh was incredible. In fact, everyone on that stage played to within an inch of their lives.

There were at least40000 people in the Avuva last night and we all witnessed something really special.

The riggers had rigged speaker stands and speaker trees everywhere, even way up along the roofline.

I took a walk right down to the back and I noticed no discernable decrease in quality no matter where you sat.

Clearly, more attention was given to sound quality rather that effects or lights.

Again, it was astounding. In fact, the difference between the sound for the support Little Big Country ( who were, I have to admit, not good), and the Eagles themselves.

I took some detailed videos and pics of the Eagles gear, amps, guitar setup etc and, despite what some may say, there was no trickery here. Everything was played live. Christ, I was moved to tears a few times. Especially during Hotel Calf. Rocky Mountain Way and Desperado.