Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Next British PM

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

It's also the call back to the American Presidential "First 100 days" thing , which makes no sense there and even less in a Parliamentary democracy where the concept of Executive Order etc. doesn't exist.

As the kids says these days it's just "chasing the insta-likes" , it's got no bearing on how Governing is supposed to work.

He says it would start in his first 100 days.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

A truly scurrilous degree of populism.

And who's going to pay dearest for these new, shiny laws? Presumably the same people who'd have the funds stripped from their councils, their college degrees demeaned, by Sunak's other proclamations.

Flatulent centrists they might affect, but the sooner Labour take control of government the better, even if it'll need to weather the storms brought by the tabloid rags

Kinda fitting that it signs off with music composed by a German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,713 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Always just reminds me of Die Hard:With a Vengeance. Which might also be apt when the UK is stuck with "Sunak says"

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,037 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

it says that in his first 100 days he will review or repeal the laws - not that he would start within the 100 days.

I think it's pretty clear from the tweet itself that he doesn't intend on completing the task in 100 days.

I'm confused I thought Boris "got Brexit done"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,799 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Well, the HoC got 24 hrs to review, discuss, modify, and vote on the WA agreement, including the NI Protocol.

Now by reckoning, 100 days is 100 times as long. Is that better to spend 100 days reviewing, and then shredding 2,400 separate laws that came as a result of 47 years of EU membership? Of course, it is nearly 1,000 days since the UK actually left the EU and have still not implemented the NI Protocol, nor much of the WA.

I wonder what will happen to Rishi Sunak (If he becomes PM)if he fails to shred all those laws, or indeed fails to negotiate or shred the NI Protocol?

What will happen to the UK, with their new PM if the EU takes punitive action against the UK, and begins a trade war?

I wonder if Truss (Then she was, then she wasn't) decides she now isn't whatever it is that she was? I think the USA political label is 'flip flop' but for her I will abbreviate it to just 'flop'.

Fun times ahead.

Hard to see if it ever being done. Imagine being told in 2016 that in the Tory leadership campaign in 2022, both candidates would still be banging on about removing EU law.

Typically, problems with laws manifest themselves or are brought to people's attention by interested parties. Going looking at every single law carried over from their time in the EU is the most cringe worthy politics I've seen in a while. And it seems to work over there.

Grand, I was focused on the fancy video which didn't say that.

Incidentally, what exactly is Sunak planning on keeping Brexit safe from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Truss 1/11

Rishi 8/1

The games up for ickle Rishi, Truss will be the next PM, it's inevitable. Both are hopeless, that said the ones already eliminated were no better. She'll just continue to play to the old xenophobic members of the Tory party, try and blame the EU for everything, despite the fact they left ages ago, and try and shaft us with revisions to the NI protocol.

All the while harping on about the sunlit uplands that are just around the corner, somewhere............

The rest of them have only fallen in line behind her because they want plum cabinet jobs, not because they like or respect her.

It's tragic just how unsuited she is, or indeed most of the Tory Party would be, for the job of running a country.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,178 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Treacherous libtard remoaners, seditious socialists, the mainstream media, the judiciary and anyone who doesn't read the Daily Mail.

Seriously, it's a desperate ploy to hide the fact that his only policies are handouts for billionaires like his non-dom wife.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

I've been through several stages of grief at the thought of Truss having any hand or part in Irish politics, but accepting that Truss will be so goddam awful that it will hasten the inevitable collapse of the UK does give one the warm fuzzies.

Imagine watching Leadsom in 2016 and thinking "how far they've fallen" and look at what we have now.

Madness.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Conservative Home poll 4/8 and YouGov are very close, Occam's Razor may apply.

Liz Truss: 58 per cent (ConHome), 60 per cent (YouGov).

Rishi Sunak: 26 per cent (ConHome), 26 per cent (YouGov).

Don’t know: 12 per cent (ConHome), 11 per cent (YouGov).

stick instead to the simple thought that the Tory membership divides right-of-party-centre to left-of-party-centre by about two to one and so, all other things being equal, the leadership candidate perceived to be more right-wing than the other will win by a margin about two to one.

The results from this week's @ObserverUK @OpiniumResearch voting intention poll: Con 34% (no change) Lab 37% (no change) Lib Dem 12% (+1) Green 6% (no change)

Labour only 3% ahead , not nearly enough in a system where people may vote for the other side to get a stable government.

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭Will_I_Amnt

Well this says it all - It's a week old but I only stumbled across it this morning - "James O'Brien's epic takedown of 'useless, cowardly and dishonest' Liz Truss"

James O'Brien's epic takedown of 'useless, cowardly and dishonest' Liz Truss - YouTube

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,799 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

I like one of the comments to the James O'Brien piece referring to 'the idiocracy' - I presume that is the Tory Party and the Tory Gov.

What a shower of ****s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,037 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I wouldn't be overly concerned re. Truss and Ireland. She (and her new cabinet) are likely to do 'far' more damage to the UK itself - we'll just need to remind ourselves of that, even if she sets off a confrontation over the Protocol. The Protocol might end up being a smallish story in the general scheme of things.

• Registered Users Posts: 971 ✭✭✭bob mcbob

Sturgeon commenting on the first time she met Truss

Ms Sturgeon said the pair had spoken before a function at Glasgow’s Kelvingrove museum during the COP26 climate summit last year. And she said the foreign secretary asked her how to get featured in Vogue. Ms Sturgeon said: “We were there quite a bit early, so we were talking to each other.  "I remember this quite well actually. I had just done – and this is going to sound really up myself, it’s not meant to, OK – I’m telling this story as much against myself as it is against Liz Truss, in some respects.  "I’d just been interviewed by Vogue, so I’d just had a photo shoot in Vogue, as you do. “And that was the main thing she wanted to talk to me about, she wanted to know how she could get into Vogue – and she calls me an attention-seeker.

"I said to her ‘they came and asked me’. "I didn't really mean to do this, but I said to her it hadn't actually been my first time in Vogue, it had been my second time. "It looked a little bit as if she'd swallowed a wasp. "I'm sure she'll be in Vogue before too long."

Ms Sturgeon later added: "I remember it because there we were at the world's biggest climate change conference in Glasgow, world leaders about to arrive. That was the main topic of conversation she was interested in pursuing. And once we'd exhausted that, it kind of dried up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Conservative Home and Yougov are polling the % of support Truss enjoys, oddschecker is showing the chances of winning. The 2 dovetail quite well 60% v 28% means she is getting twice as many votes as Rishi which would translate into a very high chance of winning e.g. 1/11 on.

Its done and dusted, Truss will be the new UK overlord come early September and Rishi will be back on the back benches, unless she deems it worthy of throwing him a bone to hush down going forwards.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

She was the overlord when he didn't get 30 supporters to vote for Kemi to push into last place. Had he done that Kemi would be dropped on the next round and he'd have some chance against Penny if he could have convinced most of the don't knows. And it would have showed he could do what needed to be done.

But he didn't and he was polling so far behind Liz and Kemi that his only hope was (and is) the other candidate falling on their sword.

Her ability to throw digs so politely is just amazing.

Still by far the most impressive politician in these islands.

Lovely question put to Sunak although it looks like he wormed his way out of answering it...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Wasn't she the most popular UK leader in a poll of English folk a while back - or did I imagine that?

You did not. It happened. I think it was during the 2015 GE.

There was a letter in the Guardian wondering if Liz or Rishi were Marxists.

“Those are my principles, and if you don't like them...well I have others. - Groucho

And Liz will have deal with the EU where it's consensus and not winner take all. Not sure if she'll be able to run rings around the heirs to Bismark, Machiavelli and Talleyrand.

She will tear strips out of Truss if they ever go head to head.

.So will everyone else.

It will be a further descent in awfulness of UK PMs.Cameron was bad - May worse - Johnson appalling - and either of the contenders will try to plumb the depths of shear incompetence. In Truss's case, such an absence of talent, lack of intelligence, is matched only by her ruthless pursuit of the photo-op and the U-turn.

As the saying goes, it'll be Men vs. Boys if and when Truss finds herself dealing with Sturgeon WRT indyref2. It'd never happen but I'd love to see a TV debate between the two.