Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

At Your Service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Yes. Eco Hostel doesn't have to mean a dump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Francis Brennan is mad as a box of frogs. Love love him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Stunning

Thargor wrote: »
    This is like a pisstake episode for Comic Relief or something.

It is!!!!!!!!!!!!

Clean up your hostel man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

I'd love to have the balls to be a true eccentric and be and wear what ever i liked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,514 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Yeeeaaah...a dog! !

Francis could be a new age Barbara Woodhouse ( young ones. ..Google her ).

Speaking of googling her. ...never knew she was from Rathfarnham ( Dublin )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

This is my first evenin to watch this and I love Francis :D mad as a hatter!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Crimsonforce

Spit out the tea when the voice over woman said look at stevens massive boiler

• Registered Users Posts: 8,197 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Poor Stephen will need counselling after his stuff is gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,514 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Francis does Breaking Bad.

They need at least 5 skips

Fair play to Francis!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

They're dirtying that skip!!!

Wow that Generator place is something else

amdublin wrote: »

Its a former hotel so most of those features were already installed...

The outside looks better.

The voice over lady is very annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

€100-€150 a night a no TV:eek:

Get out and enjoy the city don't be watching tv!!!!!

Francis better go for the running of president.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Both Stephen and Francis are whacky eccentrics and fantastic characters .....which makes a great show!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,973 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

So basically the whole episode was about hiring a skip and filling it?

Francis better go for the running of president.

I'd vote for him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

I recorded this and am only watching now

Enjoy it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,203 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Same here!

I like the hot box idea for the clothes line!

.....But man this place is crazy

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Same here!

Enjoy :pac:

That front door!!

I'm liking this Stephen fella.

He reminds me of a Stephen I know who is also a hoarder!

It's like an episode of serial hoarders

I like the end result.

It's a nice hippy dippy place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

It wouldn't be for me at all. Once a hoarder, always a hoarder. As soon as the cameras are gone the old ways will return. I'm not choosey but I'd rate basic tidiness and comfort over 'unique rural charm' every day,

The Tripadvisor reviews are varied, it seems to be a place you either love or hate.

https://www.tripadvisor.ie/Hotel_Review-g315873-d282948-Reviews-Old_Monastery_Hostel-Letterfrack_County_Galway_Western_Ireland.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Vex Willems

Looks like John is returning

https://twitter.com/francisbrennanb/status/705114762582093825

Yippee John is joining me on the new series of At Your Service!

Looks like John is returning

https://twitter.com/francisbrennanb/status/705114762582093825

Yippee John is joining me on the new series of At Your Service!

Best news ever!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

That bowl is very close to the sink, eh?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I don't know why they are reshowing stuff from 2009, why not just make a few more RTE, the budget is hardly that big, new suit for FB maybe, and am sure there are plenty of businesses crying out for the help/free advertising

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,524 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

they could have at least went back and revisited that place. it would be interesting to see it after all these years

If you know anyone who might make a good candidate for At Your Service 2016, here's what to do (contact mairead @ waddellmedia.com) ...

https://twitter.com/francisbrennanb/status/706866434383728641

https://twitter.com/francisbrennanb/status/706866759299698688

And another thing, there's another series of Francis Brennan's Grand Tour coming up! Wouldn't that be a fun holiday. Go on, go on, go on!!

https://twitter.com/francisbrennanb/status/706868972550012928

http://www.rte.ie/tv/francisbrennansgrandtour/

RTÉ's television series Francis Brennan's Grand Tour is returning to our screens this summer and you could be one of the holidaymakers taking part in the adventure of a lifetime.
    This year Francis will face a new set of challenges as he becomes a tour guide for 10 holidaymakers on a 10 night escorted holiday by coach - to a mystery long-haul destination!

Francis is raring to go - all he needs now are some holidaymakers to join him!
    We want to hear from you if:
    1 You are available to travel from Thursday 12 May to Sunday 22 May 2016 inclusive
    2 Hold a valid passport
    3 Are over 18 years old
    We are particularly looking for people who have never travelled outside of Ireland, or have very limited travelling experience. Whatever your special reason, convince us why you should be considered for this adventure!
    The special price for this unique trip including flights, transfers and accommodation on a B&B basis is €700 per person based on 2 people sharing (single room supplement applies). Booking terms and conditions apply.
    To apply to take part in this exciting new series email: grandtour@waddellmedia.com

If you would like to apply online then click here to apply: http://t1n.ie/8x
    Or alternatively call 04890 427646 or 00 44 2890 427646 to receive an application form by post.
    Places are limited so get in touch now and let us know why you should come along on this unforgettable journey!
    For more information visit waddellmedia.com

Skid X wrote: »
    And another thing, there's another series of Francis Brennan's Grand Tour coming up! Wouldn't that be a fun holiday. Go on, go on, go on!!

RTÉ's television series Francis Brennan's Grand Tour is returning to our screens this summer and you could be one of the holidaymakers taking part in the adventure of a lifetime.
    This year Francis will face a new set of challenges as he becomes a tour guide for 10 holidaymakers on a 10 night escorted holiday by coach - to a mystery long-haul destination!

1 You are available to travel from Thursday 12 May to Sunday 22 May 2016 inclusive
    2 Hold a valid passport
    3 Are over 18 years old
    We are particularly looking for people who have never travelled outside of Ireland, or have very limited travelling experience. Whatever your special reason, convince us why you should be considered for this adventure!
    The special price for this unique trip including flights, transfers and accommodation on a B&B basis is €700 per person based on 2 people sharing (single room supplement applies). Booking terms and conditions apply.
    To apply to take part in this exciting new series email: grandtour@waddellmedia.com

Or alternatively call 04890 427646 or 00 44 2890 427646 to receive an application form by post.
    Places are limited so get in touch now and let us know why you should come along on this unforgettable journey!

It's coming back :eek: (it wasn't great first time round...and I say that as a Francis fan)

You've to pay for yourself?! :eek:

It's coming back :eek: (it wasn't great first time round...and I say that as a Francis fan)

You've to pay for yourself?! :eek:

Yeah, it's a bit mad "convince us why you should be considered for this adventure!" and then you still have to cough up €700.

I think the participants had to pay last time too. The closing date on the website is 31 March. I don't think it really worked last time, it'll be interesting to see how it goes this time.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Skid X wrote: »

2 Hold a valid passport
    3 Are over 18 years old

humm interesting, wouldn't be interested in going myself (except if that good looking girl from last time was going again) but will definitely tune in for lots of
    "where's Mary, a will ye come on out of that, ye'd be late for your own funeral"

As with Coach Trip and it's host Brendan, Francis will be the one to tune in for....oh and to see if we know anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,628 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

This series is a bizarre mixture of new, revisits, and just plain old repeats. Wish they'd make their minds up!

Although the sight of the two boys on the skewbald ponies, moseying down the drive slagging each other, made up for any irritation I may have had with the producers :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭happyday

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    This series is a bizarre mixture of new, revisits, and just plain old repeats. Wish they'd make their minds up!

Although the sight of the two boys on the skewbald ponies, moseying down the drive slagging each other, made up for any irritation I may have had with the producers :D

It would be much better if they added on 10 mins to show us how they are getting on now. Did you see the state of that roof on the 'gazebo'? How hard would it have been to clean the moss off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭Radio5

Interesting to see that the Grand Tour is back. Going by comments in his most recent book I didn't think Francis would be too keen on it.

From what I read, he felt the group were rushed in going to too many destinations in too short a space of time. Also he wasn't seen too happy with the way programmes were edited and felt they didn't reflect the experience of the entire tour very well.

Quick turn on The Mario Rosenstock Show. Francis is on and he's only priceless!

I'm an even bigger fan now! You're a scream Francis !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,628 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

2what channel???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Eyepatch

It was a repeat, but still very funny. Good man, Francis! Also the episode with Pope Francis was quite funny.