Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Partner watching porn

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭Phoenix32

It wouldn't bother me if a partner watched porn, I'd tend to assume that they do. As long as they keep their willies to themselves it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

It's sally and the kids I feel sorry for ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,595 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

Watching your partner feature in porn? How does that sit.?

The other question is what are the limits: animals spring to mind.

Could with sado-machoism, still pron.

Often wondered how you can have soft porn with a hard-on

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,460 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Seem Tim has been watching Milking Table Compilation for inspiration .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

i knew a friend that had an astra satellite reciever, there was about 20 free movie channels on it ,some of which were xx porn, eg it was sky tv compatible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭chrissb8

N/A

Post edited by chrissb8 on

Even before the internet and broadband there were plenty of adult xx channels on satellite tv .i,d be suspicious if i met someone over 21 that never watched porn, porn is not realistic ,its not real life, its a fantasy , its like most hollywood actors or models look ordinary in real, actors in hollywood movies spend an hour in hair ,makeup before they go on the set. it can be a problem if you get obsessed with it, or prefer watching porn than spending time with your partner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

• Registered Users Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Motivator

I watched porn regularly with an old partner. We’d search for a specific genre and then randomly pick a video to watch. If it was car sex, we’d watch a few minutes of it then jump in the car and go riding. Similar with hotel sex etc. it never got in the way of our relationship in any way. It was an added bonus for me that she liked it and vice versa. It brought an extra bit of excitement to our sex life, which was already pretty wild as it was in our early/mid 20s. We made a few homemade clips of us having sex with the intention of uploading them to a porn site (faces not visible obviously) but we never went through with it. Thankfully we didn’t, as it’s easy enough to get them on the site but not exactly easy to get them taken down again. Plus if anyone we knew stumbled across them it wouldn’t take a genius to figure out it was us.

My wife watches it from time to time now but not with me. I watch it regularly and she knows I do and it’s fine. There’s nothing wrong with it, it’s a healthy thing and we’re adults and it’s not harming anyone. I wish we would watch it together but it’s just not something we do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,857 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I don't watch porn. I have watched documentaries about it, and what they show of it is just disturbing - is that hardcore stuff with choking and gang banging the standard porn or just one type? It's horrible anyway. And so many of the actresses and actors are severely messed up.

Sex scenes in standard films is the only "porn" I enjoy.

Most men probably watch porn - and that's their business, I've no interest. I don't think it makes them awful people or anything, but I'm not sure the heavy stuff is ideal as an introduction to sex for adolescent boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Think of anything. Anything at all. Now put porn at the end of it. If it's still legal, you will find it on the internet. If it becomes illegal, you could probably find it on the dark web. The choking and gang banging would be tame compared to some stuff legally out there. The top 10 search categories for porn last year were:

1. Hentai
    2. Japanese
    3. Lesbian
    4. MILF
    5. Pinay
    6. Asian
    7. Step mom
    8. Anal
    9. Ebony
    10. Big ass

It's the first year Hentai has taken the top spot, and there seems to be an asian trend last year overall. Of course, within those categories, you can add and remove as many "action" words, which will categorise them down further, one of the mains ones being "teen". It's a weird and wonderful world. I just don't understand those that watch staged porn. Candid/amateur/selfie is where it's at!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Pissy Missy

@Gant21Same, I don't watch porn either, don't really see the appeal. If I want to masturbate and get 'inspired' I just imagine my experiences with the sexiest or most sexually gifted guys I've been with, works every time

Sorry gant don't know why your name is in my comment 😅

You're really not selling it to me. One person's wonderful is another's grim. 😐

True. I feel like slitting my wrists every time I find myself in a group of people who are gossiping. Or talking about reality programs. If they were to talk about sex, I might find some interest. But I'd rather watch porn than gossip. I'd rather do anything than gossip tbh.

Maybe you'd be more interested in the artsy porn? That's more about senses, lighting, angles, etc. Usually "passionate" and nowadays 4K, you could count the bumps on the areola! Give it a whirl, but you may have to wade though the crap to find the good ones. MetArt is one.

And that's the thing, porn is so varied that there really is something for everyone, but only if you allow it. We need to be more open about sex in general if we want it to improve for everyone. Yeah, the most common sex searches are sometimes extreme and no indicative of real life, but there's "normal" stuff out there too. It's why OnlyFans is so popular imo, it's "normal" (well, a lot of it is, it also has it's weird).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

A lot of porn now is geared towards more hard-core and violent depictions whether classified as BDSM, hard-core or not.

Women are usually choked, slapped and deep throated. It's definitely not a good way for teens to introduce themselves to sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Speak for yourself in terms of violence.

Regardless of the violent or otherwise nature of porn, it's definitely not a good way for teens to introduce themselves to sex.

I mean, yeah, if that's the porn you search for. But it's still only a small part of the whole pie. If young lads are watching that kind of porn and think that's how it is in real life, they have other issues!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Motivator

but thats exactly what happens with young lads and it’s the same with girls. We had a young lad in on work experience with us last year, he got his first blowjob one weekend during his time with us and he said the girl was spitting on him and doing/saying all sorts - she saw it in porn. He was a bit rattled by it which is why he asked some of the lads a bit older. He couldn’t go back and say it to his friends in case the experience he had was normal and he just didn’t know it.

Much of the sex shown in films nowadays is often of the rougher variety, it’s not just porn. Lady Gaga had a fairly famous sex scene in the film House of Gucci where she gets buried on a desk in a pre-fab building on a construction site. I remember in college as well nearly all the female lecturers were mad to be “bent over the desk” in the minds of the lads in the class. Again, that comes from porn. So yeah, porn and sex in films does give young lads and girls their first impressions of what sex is or what they think it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,857 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Isn't there a danger though if they are exposed to this stuff when going through puberty that they will develop a taste for it that they would not otherwise. And that's when 'tastes' are generally established for life...

Theres all types of porn , female friendly porn. Porn feature realistic looking middle aged women who are not beautiful and there's more hard-core bdsm type porn

Top porn stars are well paid and can also earn money on only fans

If you never watch it how can you criticise it.

I understand there may be a problem in that young people think porn is the same as real life and don't realise its a fantasy that's directed and setup like a movie porn stars can do things that most people can't do, no more than the average weekend jogger could win an 100 metre race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭cuttingtimber22

I would imagine that more men watch porn than women. But has it become more of a go to than it should be for solo sex? Smartphones make it very easy to access.

A good fantasy and prior experiences can be more satisfying to help things along. But perhaps porn is a more lazy option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

If all the porn you’re seeing is geared towards more hard-core and violent depictions whether classified as BDSM, hard-core or not , you need to change your search criteria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭notAMember

Spitting is probably some unfortunate circumsized US men. They need lube all the time because they have no foreskin, so there's some damage there. When there's no lube they need saliva or contact can be painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

You could create your own porn and start an OnlyFans site.

Government even contributed PUP for this during covid. The Porn Upload Payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

He had brewers droop because he was thinking he could have a heart attack in the saddle, cut the man some slack !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

TBH, a woman having an issue with her partner watching porn is a glaring red flag imo. Unless he's ignoring her sexually as a result of porn consumption, it usually means she's a dumpster fire of overblown insecurities and the controlling type who's not only going to try to force him not watch it, she's also the type who's going to get jealous of any female friends or colleagues. Definitely best avoided and destined to end up single unless she grows up a bit...

Ironically, if such women were to actually spend a bit more time watching porn, they might learn to be less insecure. The variety of genres in porn, or more specifically the variety of female porn stars and their age / race / bodyweight blows any fashion or celebrity gossip magazine's (usually cynical or condescending) attempts at diversity out of the water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

The fetishisation of different types of women "black" "asian" "mature" "big" on porn sites is just grim and not something that makes porn more accessible to me.

I don't have a problem with my partner watching porn. I know he does and I don't care. We don't watch it together because we are not into the same things and frankly, while I have watched porn, I've stopped,I don't like the porn sights. They are all geared towards men, even if they do have porn aimed at women on there (which I have found to be no different, tbh) . The amount if stuff that had to removed from sites a few years ago because it was either posted without consent or involved underage actors has also put me off using these sites. Not for me, but if it floats your boat and are happy with how a site is run, no business of mine.

But if it's horrible nasty hardcore porn, then she's quite OK to have a problem with it. It depends on the genre. Just "porn" is extremely vague.

Yeah, no cynicism in the diversity of porn at all. 😁

Pretty much the same here. Although it's fine to express reservations about the really nasty, woman subjugating stuff. No need to apologise for that. A few men here are very hostile towards women, and we shouldn't kowtow to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,595 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

Its society has the other issues when lads think they can rear end anything on two legs without consent

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I've never been one to kowtow, unless there is a discussion about boundaries first and safewords agreed 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Where is the cynicism in the diversity of porn? The categories listed tend to closely match search terms when you look at the data posted about them so surely it's more a matter of meeting customer demand than some sinister ulterior motive? Genuine question.

And how does one judge what's "horrible nasty hardcore"? I wouldn't be into the whole choking / gagging / mascarra running down the face stuff myself but as long as it's being performed and consumed by consenting adults, YKINMKBYKIOK. I can understand someone being put off by a partner who's into different things sexually than themselves, even wanting to end a relationship over it but the controlling attitude that one's partner shouldn't watch porn because they're in a relationship is a massive red flag to me.

Ironically, from what I've read from those in the BDSM community, many of whom enjoy pain or impact play, consensual non-consent etc. they'd consider the likes of 50 Shades to be the truly "horrible nasty" porn since it's depictions of BDSM are utterly devoid of the level of consent required in a real sub/dom relationship. It's a common joke but were Christian Grey in those books depicted as broke and ugly, they'd be in the horror section of the bookshops.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Great to see that morality of porn is now being questioned because the good old consent debate has been reignited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,011 ✭✭✭bmc58

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

If it was the other way around Tim would be accused of coercive and controlling behaviour.... Probably get jail.

I'm not a medical expert but I think in America circumcision is very common even among non Jewish people so men need to use more lube than uncircumcised men there's dozens of different genres of porn, milf, threesomes, etc hardcore bdsm is just one type of porn genre and not the most popular genre , as in 50 shades bdsm can be mutually consensual and that film is softcore

In the 70s porn films were shown in local cinemas in America and even famous celebs would go to see an XX film like Emmanuelle

Yes there's debates about is there too much porn is it too easy to acess but the fact is its very common for men to watch porn even married men in a good relationship

I think it is often more negative while in a relationship than people realise or want to admit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Not at all... My boyfriend watches porn and little old me gets all the benefits.... Big win.

Ladies, if your partner's libido is low switch on the porn channel!!!!....

Most porn has no violence or choking , just sex between men, women, threesomes, milf, etc condemning porn because of hardcore bdsm type scenes is like saying I don't watch TV because its only love Island, Google box, boring reality TV. Since most porn is now free it's easy to avoid bdsm type content, I understand some people don't watch porn because it's unrealistic or maybe demeaning to women and the story lines are ridiculous

Most porn does not involve choking or violent rough behavior most tv is not based on beautiful young people staying in a villa on an island and going on dates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Watching porn with a partner is great. Watching porn occasionally on your own is lovely, maybe even an underrated pleasure. A partner saying you can't watch porn would be like a partner saying you can't drink alcohol

I can enjoy a nice fantasy as I understand the huge difference between porn and sex but if I was a teenager again I'd say I'd struggle with completely separating them. Also if men watch a lot of porn its 100% guaranteed to feck up their libido over time.

Theirs so much good porn out there that I have never crossed the line into looking at any of the nasty stuff that's out there. There are people out their though that are watching weird and nasty stuff thats making damaged people more damaged.

Following up on comments to my post last week, yes, if teens watch the nasty stuff constantly it may start coming into their real life. But now we're making excuses for them. The internet they are watching that on is full of other types too. They are the ones searching for that particular stuff. Most porn sites, on the first few visits before you give them cookies, will suggest the normal stuff, the straight up sex between 2 people. But yes, at the same time we need people to tell them porn is porn, not real life. I've watched some nasty stuff, simply because I wanted to see what it was like, curiosity and all that. I would never in a million years do what happens in those videos, and anyone who watches them and thinks it's ok/normal 100% has other issues. At least, anyone on this side of the world anyway. These people have had to ignore all the other porn (and there's a lot of it) to get to that stuff consistently.

I'm actually at the point now that if I was somehow to find myself in a situation where the chance of having sex is real, I'd nearly want a selfie recording of both of us before the act consenting and outlining what is in/out of bounds. I've pushed boundaries with girlfriends before, specifically the one most men seem to think they want (her-ass play) by... ahem... slowly digitally suggesting insertion. Always met with a "don't even think about it" and that was the end of that. Not a hope I'd do that now, even with a partner.

Yes if taken to extremes porn can be bad for relationships, also drinking too much or smoking hash can have negative effects too. I think most people Men women watch porn out of curiosity or maybe they like to watch beautiful fit people having sex and its fantasy , most porn is not realistic , the average woman does not have sex with the lad who delivers a pizza you have to look for hardcore bdsm videos , it's not featured in most porn scenes it's only after 2010 where you could buy a phone that could acess porn sites and show XX videos as easy as using YouTube

Before then people watched porn on dvds or premium TV channels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I watch porn for the tips on how to fix the leaks under sinks , never get to see the end of the film though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Brid Hegarty

Riley Reid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭dontmindme

Congrats!! He's using you for his sexual gratification as a result of watching porn!! Lucky little old you!!