Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2023 **No Ticket Sales / Requests ** - It'll be grand

• Subscribers Posts: 41,614 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

the crowd weren't really going to 'see' the wolf tones though. i bet 99.999% of that crowd couldnt pick out a member of the WTs in a line up

the crowd were going to partake in a boozy singalong thats reproduced every weekend in pubs across the country. A singalong that is attractive to the generation that are 'hazy' about the history of the Irish struggle and the troubles on the island. One which is romanticised and inspires a sense of nationalism with tunes which are practically national anthems in some parts of the country.

they headlined a 12,000 festival in belfast a few years ago.. they are immensely popular to a certain cohort, and that cohort would be very much represented at EP.

not my kind of music, but i would have been there regardless as im sure it was great craic.

thats what EP has become. its no longer a 'boutique festival'

• Registered Users Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Genghis

I completely missed the Wolfe Tones, but hit the EA for second half of Saw Doctors. Haven't see aerial shots of that, but they fairly busted the flaps on the EA tent too.

I was left wondering why Gavin James and The Script were up the bill on the main arena, if they could have been swapped it might have been a better fit.

Thing is, The Saw Doctors had an audience that was aged from 20s to 60s and evenly distributed, much like the festival itself. So maybe they are the mainstream, not the 2FM playlist tenants they automatically put on the main stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

EP has had random stuff like that before (James Blunt or Crystal Swing anyone) and it’s not very significant.

The poor acts in the top tiers are relevant but as @scruff monkey has almost said, if you couldn’t find acts to enjoy this weekend you probably weren’t looking hard enough. The diversity of acts was impressive but for 2024 could we please have a couple of big hip-hop and reggae acts back plus the return of African or Latin American artists.

The most fun I’ve had at EP in 5/6 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Yup, I had my list of acts to see, had a few clashes and then made sure I went between salty dog / survivors and fishtown between planned sets.

I groaned a bit at Bronagh Gallagher on the line up but caught a chunk of her set and it was great, there were about a half dozen others I cannot name that I got a few songs off before moving on.

I’m in bits from walking like I have not been in years, burnt up like a prune and a happy chappy (despite being up at 7 to take down tent which is now unfurled and drying in the back garden)

and hell yes to a bit of Latin American

• Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭princemuzzy

Wonderful weekend despite the incident with the dickhead and my kid Saturday evening . He had a great time also which I think made me enjoy it even more.

Anyone catch any of scustins sets? They are so much fun

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭dav09

100% agree, probably the most fun I've ever had at EP it really is what you make of it. Trenchtown was much improved and fantastic this year, Croi improvement on last year, as was Freetown, down the list there were some absolutely fantastic acts, there were some fantastic last minute announced/ surprise acts. More hip hop (and not Irish drill haha), reggae, dub and less generic boring acts, I don't have a problem with them booking generic sort of acts but it's the same one every year and seems like there's 3 times the amount that should be here in upper tiers they dont belong in anymore. Fantastic year overall though.

Not sure if it was mentioned but Kanye West was at EP seen backstage at Steve Lacy, some pics on twitter.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭SachaJ

Anyone heard the site was shut down for a few hours early this morning? The plan was to keep the entire site locked down until 4pm but they eased that to just a couple of gates. Security guard was telling us. Not sure how true it was. Sounded like a missing kid or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭Mucker46

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

Kanye, Beyonce/ Jay z, Oasis, daft punk, AC/DC, Paul McCartney, lady Gaga and Taylor Swift, Rage are the only acts in the world a fest like this would change dates for.

My money whoever it is they'll be the sunday headliner and will then headline Reading/Leeds the next week. I hope Kanye was scoping out what his next year would look like.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 b.murt

Hi, first time poster (and first time attendee) here. Thought I'd offer my review of the whole weekend as a sort of small thank you to all of you for the huge amount of info and wisdom posted in this thread.

I had a weekend ticket but didn't camp in the end due to the generosity of family members living nearby. So you can take what I say with that tiny caveat!

When the line-up announcements were made, being honest, I was a bit disappointed as I didn't know many of acts. But I also knew that this was more on me then on EP itself. I knew there would be loads of cool music to enjoy. And I was pretty excited to see the likes of the Killers, Fight Like Apes, Johnny Marr & Lighting Seeds. Plus, this is what Spotify playlists is for.

Obviously, the weather makes everything better but I was really impressed with how well organised it all was. Spotlessly clean every morning and plenty of space to move around the site. As captive as the audience was, the prices weren't (that) bad for drinks and while some of the food pricing was outrageous, there was some stuff that wasn't bad value (shout out to Kinara here!). Even the toilets for the most part weren't horrendous. Attendees were largely good humoured and friendly. I didn't see many people hammered drunk or out of their minds but maybe that came later after I headed off! The kids are alright - or at least much better dressed and a hell of lot less drunk than we were 20 years ago!

My hit list looked like this:

Friday: These Charming Men as my intro to EP & Salty Dog, followed by Viagra Boys and the end of Young Fathers. Then on to watch Billie Eilish on Main. Probably hung a bit far back for Billie Eilish but really enjoyed her set. Highlight of the night was Viagra Boys though.

Saturday: Went to the Theatre of Food in the early afternoon and then watched Rónán Ó'Snodaigh & Myles O'Reilly while panned out in the sunshine on the Croí Stage before catching a short part of Nell Mescal's set. Then we moved on to take up residence in Electric Arena for a brilliant run by The Academic, Johnny Marr, Inhaler & Idles. Then Fred Again finished the day off magnificently. Highlight was Johnny Marr playing There is a Light that Never Goes Out. But that whole run in Electric Arena was awesome.

Sunday: We had to pack a lot into a shortened day as we had kids to collect from my parents and to bring to school this morning. So sadly we had to pass on The Saw Doctors and The Killers (which I'm even more sore about today having seen a clip of Mike Scott of the Waterboys playing The Whole of the Moon with them). But we made hay while the sun shone and had a great run starting with Milk, 15 mins of comedy with a very enjoyable Jack Wise, the ludicrously generous and excellent fun Ryan Mack (he handed out a wad of €50 notes to fans to thank them because he is no longer Broke), Lightning Seeds, Lyra and, finally, a chaotic and hugely enjoyable set by Fight Like Apes before hitting the road. Highlight was Fight Like Apes with honourable mentions to Ryan Mack and Lightning Seeds.

I wouldn't do a Best Of and Worst Of list as the whole weekend was so enjoyable. Sure some some stuff wasn't perfect but mostly it was really well organised. For next year, I'd like to see more bands that I know and a stronger mid tier section, but really, if there isn't music you enjoy at EP, then that probably says more about niche taste in music than EP's booking policy.

Price-wise, at €280 it came to less than €100 per day for 12 hours plus of serious entertainment on each day. It's a lot of money but you get an awful lot of bang for your buck. I'm probably preaching to the choir here but for anyone on the fence about going, I'd say go for it, absolutely. You won't regret it.

Thanks all for the very helpful thread. Now please do one for 2024!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

I cannot see them booking that batshit knucklefcuk but if they do I’ll be flogging my tickets no matter who else is on the bill.

You do not promote Nazis or Nazi adjacent fcuk heads.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

They had three sets. I caught part of one on the Salty Dog and enjoyed it. Saw them at Arás na nGael in Galway with a few other bands in July and they’re very nice lads, chatting to people after. They gig regularly throughout the country and it’s starting to pay off.

They’ve got a great sound and that comes through when the lesson’ stops, good luck to them recording their first album in Sept. They deserve some luck alongside the work they put in.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Caught Scustin in the Hot Press tent by accident and they were class. Sorry I had to leave on Sunday as I'd say they have Trailer Park rocking on Sunday night

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭Kepler21

• Registered Users Posts: 15,665 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

The clips of Mike Scott on stage with the Killers are great. Hopefully there's a proper clip of it released some time soon.

Did they allow a fan on stage to play drums For Reasons Unkonwn does anyone know?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,003 ✭✭✭endainoz

Most of those acts would be unattainable, Kanye is a facist and had obvious mental issues that no body will go near him, daft punk are finished up, oasis probably will still be having twitter scraps with each other. Taylor Swift, Paul McCartney far too big imo. The other ones might be possible I guess, but AC/DC would likely go for a stadium or slane.

I'd actually say Foos, Rage or U2 could be a good shout, and of course if it's a massive headliner they've already been signed for it so we might know a bit more when the tickets go on general sale in the winter.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Genghis

OK, so my thoughts on #EP23. Forgive the length ;)

Overall, I had a brilliant weekend. Obviously the weather lifts everything, but the festival itself was extremely well run I thought, the line-up may have been superficially bland on paper but beneath the plastic wrapping there was more than enough interesting acts for me to enjoy.

Having said that, had you asked me my opinion late on Friday, I would have said it was strangely underwhelming. I think in previous years there had been a big act to kick me off, but this year Friday lacked that a little. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed Hannah Grae and thought Pale Blue Eyes were brilliant, but maybe it was the small crowds at each of these that undermined them? TCM had the usual Salty Dog crowd but were not that great, singer still bedding into the role and the bands sound was very poor. Cathy Davey later on seemed to be a no show (?), and over at Croi I just couldn't get into David Keenan, an act I had seen and enjoyed before. Things did perk up with Viagra Boys, The Murder Capital and Wet Leg - who I would give the gig of the night to along with Pale Blue Eyes. Billie Eilish was a 'might see' for me, maybe I should have made more of an effort to see her show, maybe that was the kick I missed ... but I headed home at or around midnight.

I arrived in on Saturday around 3pm, and immediately sensed a brighter atmosphere. I started with a couple of Murphys in Stradbally Inn - a great addition this year with plenty of good pub acts and a beer garden atmosphere - then read the news about TCM time switch on Survivor. Compared to Friday, there was maybe 1/5 the crowd, but TCM were playing at their very, very best. New frontman was really good and the sound issues all gone. It felt like a weekend reboot, and this continued in the Bootleg beach boys (meeting @Mucker46 @Seathrun66 @Kepler21 @rubick @desk tidy @Darzog and maybe one or two more there), and on to my gig of the weekend - Johnny *F'ckn* Marr. I was right at the front and loved every second. Fantastic set, fantastic frontmanship, legend does not come close.  

I mooched around a bit then, taking in 40 mins of Mik Pyro (good in spots, but think it was more of a fanzone type show), a couple of songs at Inhaler (who in fairness to them seemed to be rocking the EA) and then Simple Kid. Sadly he was late to begin, so unfortunately I couldn't stay for any more than 3 songs - shame as I'd have enjoyed his full set, I'm sure. Headed down then to Idles, and fully immersed myself in the mosh pit at the front. Loved them, had wanted them at EP for a few years now, and they did not disappoint. To cool off and chill out I finished off the night with a bit of Survivor Stage, where a decent enough cover band covered Paul McCartney / Wings / Beatles for a singalong audience (all older than me ;) ), before trying a bit of Onion Boys (generally younger than me ;) ) and home I went on a high.

Sunday came round and part one involved keeping two kids happy, or at least not bored. Whilst buying them an ice-cream I heard a bit of Lightning Seeds from the ice-cream van parked near EA, I must say they sounded good and I would have been in there otherwise. Similarly I caught about 15 mins of Fight Like Apes from just inside the tent, and they did not disappoint, and I got 10 mins of Risk Astley Main Set as we made our way up to the fairground; this included him drumming to Highway to Hell, not what I was expecting ;).  

With the kids dropped out, I came back in to the arena to a bit of Jinx Lennon, an artist who is compelling and hilarious in equal measure, but he had a small crowd. I left after 20 mins for Saw Doctors - and what great lads they are. The entire tent and much beyond it rocked, and it felt like all of Galway and Mayo had moved to Laois. Genuinely impressed with their popularity, for a band that peaked 35 years ago they had plenty of people from all ages singing along to their every song in a very feel-good way.

I then moved back to Salty Dog for a portion of Korean Fries (*not a band) - and to see who the secret act might be. Immediately could see something epic was on, so I forgot about the fries and pushed up front to see Rick Astley in top form. Full of spontaneity and fun, it was great to see him take on a highly random set of tunes, with so many random funny moments (like getting his specs so he could read the lyrics from google). I imagine my 15 year old self glaring at me, Risk Astley of old was anathema to everything I believed in then, but as I left the front of Salty Dog he was someone I would go to again.

From one eighties act not taking themselves too seriously to the Hothouse Flowers, a band that seemed to be taking things way too seriously. No doubt a good gig, but I found it a little bit stuffy after Risk Astley and was glad when they played Don't Go an went. I enjoyed the best of the Killers / Mike Scott and headed up to grab the last 35 mins of Amyl & the Sniffers - she is some woman for one front-woman, and the band were awesome. I wandered around a little after 12 and enjoyed 3 or 4 songs / monologues from Scustin - great fun - and went home buzzing.

There were lots of high points for me. I think the bar pricing wsa 'fair for a festival' and I loved the addition of Murphys. It was perfect every pint, albeit I only sampled same in the new Stradbally Inn. One beer shock I had was a 0.0 Heineken 330ml can was €5 bleedin' 50, a mistake I did not repeat. The food pricing was OK-ish, yes some items were hideously expensive, small pizzas for €20 plus - but there was a broad range of foods at various prices, much better than I expected.  

I think the festival organisation was top class, well staffed, everything ran and finished on time, the crowds flowed well, there was a good / good enough Garda presence. The only lack I found was the red car park on Saturday night - completely destitute of staff, and very poor on lighting - quite unsafe. Ironically I managed to make my way into the security staff campsite by accident, such was the poor security.

Someone else had said there was less drunkenness, and I would agree, seen very little of this. The toilets became saturated again, I really think they need to have 'fallow capacity' to let the ground soak up or have lots more fence-run urinals (people urinating on fencing beside the urinals is the main problem). Final observation was that I felt the crowd - especially the younger crowd - was 60% female, not something I had thought was the case before.

Overall, one of my best picnics and I can't wait for 24. Best thing is its less than 50 weeks away already. Loving that we have anxiety already about who FR moved dates for, and if it will be someone like Ed Sheeran or if it will Radiohead.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭hibsman

Overall yesterday was just a brilliant day. Started with The Lightening Seeds in EA and finshed with Scustin in the Trailer Park. Very different but both brilliant. For what it's worth I thought the Saw Doctors were excellent and they seemed to really enjoy the crowds reaction to their set. But my two highlights were Mary Wallopers and Confidence Man even though I missed half of both, sensational. I also loved the Haunt. Had a good strong cup of coffee there from the nearby tea rooms before the mid-night drive home. Roll on next year!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Wolfe Tones have an announcement on Wednesday, guessing its a gig maybe in the 3Arena? They've already done a few Olympia gigs in the last year

• Registered Users Posts: 3,792 ✭✭✭Fanirish

Melvin’s recent interview put an end to RATM speculation at least for next year. Said heard nothing for 2024 and only works if part of major European tour for them

• Registered Users Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Sounds like a belter of a weekend, lads. Great pic's @Seathrun66 loving the reviews, keep 'em coming.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,543 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Got caught in the festival traffic on the way home from work at 3.30! God love the poor souls coming back from the festival even further back in it.

Didn't make it down this year, sold my tickets back in June and then scrambled to try and get a wristband or some form of entry on the Saturday but didn't succeed. Yesterday seemed like an amazing day in particular from the videos and reports so far. Keep them coming!

I could see the likes of Picture This, Sam Fender, Dua Lipa potentially headlining next year but none of those would be the act Melvin was talking about (if he is telling the truth). Can't be many realistic acts out there who fit the bill and haven't headlined before. I'd imagine it will become obvious before Christmas when artists and festivals start announcing for next year!

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭corm500

I'm going to put some very early money on Eminem being the artist they are moving next years date for.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Hank the DJ

Had an absolute blast and I think I'm going to leave it on a high, have tickets for next year but I can see myself getting rid of them.

Marr was unreal, The Killers have some songbook and Flowers is a great front man.

Astley in the Dog was just brilliant fun met loads of good sound people and had loads of good food and drink,

• Registered Users Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

Only time I visited the Stradbally inn their entire payment system was down🥵 said it would be a 15 min wait, Fdat!

For those saying “Melvin wouldn’t know a good act like Radiohead” that’s ridiculous, look at the guys track record, glasto, + what’s been built by FR. He’s not creating a festival for his own personal taste, given he must be near retirement age that may not work so well 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭Kepler21

For me, I think I had one of the best EPs yet. Last year felt a bit flat; this year was great.

Undoubtedly a big thing this year was my boardsies fam. With @darzog , @Seathrun66 (and his friend), @rubick , @desk tidy , and @CoffeeImpala all in Eco and mostly together, sitting chatting in the mornings (or late at night) and running into each other at various gigs was brilliant, @Mucker46 included. Also great to meet @Reded , @Genghis, @bodhrandude , @Penfailed along the way.

The Survivors Stage was a great addition and turned Thursday evening into a great time, with Mack Fleetwood and Rolling Stones.

Friday my highlights were Nia Archives, Wet Leg and Billie Eilish, with Ziggy Stardust, Jazzy, Siomha, and ending up with Cua in Spike Island.

Saturday, Johnny Marr was the only one in the awesome category, but Ham Sandwich, Maverick Sabre, Paulo Nutini all being pretty good. I enjoyed Fred Again, but was back in the stand sitting down as a foot management strategy, and felt it didn't hit the mark. Inhaler I want to like, but some of their stuff feel very samey. The Last Dinner Party will be great if they can put together some more songs. Took in Overhead the Albatross on the way to bed and then got lost in Providencia for a while.

Sunday the standouts were the Saw Doctors, Irish Women in Harmony, and Remembering de Dannan. The Killer and Scullion get honorable mentions. Having grown up listening to De Dannan there was too much history to leave them to go to Rick Astley, so I had to give him up.

The weekend felt more chilled than previous ones, and I enjoyed it thoroughly.

Providencia feels like its coming into it own, with lots of mad things to explore and discover. Croi, (formerly Body and Soul) felt like it got its own identity. We'll have to see if that is followed through next year. Survivors Stage was brilliant. Jerry Fish I never went near and its not on the way to anything. The main area has added a lot of extra space and some seating between Rankins Wood and EA and it helps manage the crowds. I had some poor food from Wok n'Roll and a spice bag with two miniscule pieces of chicken from some Asian place, but the Pieman and Kinara Kitchen have not lowered their standards.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Hank the DJ

Did anyone get into The Haunt at all, every time I went to go there or passed it, it was closed.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭hibsman

Was there a couple of times last night. First dj was playing dancey soul music, very good. 2nd time it was dancey trad ( first time I had come across that combo!) which was weird initially but everyone just went with it, lovely chats and atmosphere there

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

I didn't see a whole lot of acts as had to leave Sunday with the kid so from what I saw.

Friday

Caught a small bit of King Kong, who's looking after your kids or something like that. They sounded great. (I wish some family were looking after my kid)

Viagra boys were good craic, Strange boy x Hazey Haze was very good. I'd say Shakalak was my fave on the Friday.

Saturday

Lovely acapella group the Ramparts at the kids area. Unknown mortal Orchestra were just ok. Onion boys were amazing craic.

There was so many things I wanted to see.