Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Someone painted my wall outside my house without my permission

• Administrators Posts: 54,834 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭mondeo

So I might be stuck to paint it a dark grey or something if I cant get the white off :/.

• Administrators Posts: 54,834 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Look on the bright side, a dark grey painted wall will look less shite than a bare block wall.

You shouldn't be out of pocket for this and they should leave your wall in a state you're happy with, but in the end they've done you a favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,266 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

The comments on here my god people try to troll. If the OP does not want to paint his wall for whatever reason that is up to them we all have different tastes and experiences.

The guy was only doing what he was told so going postal on him will not solve anything if anything doing stuff calmly gets things done quicker the majority of the time as if your confrontational it will only get them angry and not really want to do anything. Should have asked him where he was working out off and get there tomorrow. Ya try the local council tomorrow they might be able to help.

Never heard of paint on bare block unfortunately will leak in to it I say and you will have speckles of paint. So unfortunately it is to plaster it and then paint it a color you hope does not attract graffiti. Who know graffiti scrotes were picky on there color of wall but I suppose it stands on on white with any color

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,111 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Very easy to paint blocks. Without it leaking in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,266 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Did not know that thanks

However if this is a scheme like people believe I wonder how gifted people are on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 MoxoM

The OP was happy with how it looked as a block wall.

How is it painting the wall white done the OP a favour?

Im guessing since he built the wall himself, he would have the skill set of painting it white if that’s what he wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭beachhead

My jack hammer is twitching with all this talk about wall,structures ...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,313 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Did his car have a Z painted on the side? Maybe he saw your sig and was trying to get a rise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,956 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Could also have been the local men's shed. Auld retired lad doing the painting fits the description.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Hooked

All the smart ass comments and suggestions on how to cover it up... Jesus Wept.

If it was indeed the OP's wall - then he/she's DEAD RIGHT to be LIVID!

I'd have gotten the painters details and/or car/van reg and found out who got them to do it in the first place... and opened a can of whoop-ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭daheff

Absolutely. I can't believe somebody was that stupid to paint somebody else's wall without even making an attempt to ask. Why go to that expense & effort without knowing? mindboggling

As for how it looks with/without paint. Nobody's business but the OP. His wall his decision to paint or not. I can't just go paint my neighbours gaff the colour I like....because its not mine to do so.

I presume the sensible course of action to remediate the situation is to paint the wall an inoffensive grey. But painted block walls need to be painted regularly. So what happens next time somebody decides it looks shabby? Does the OP have to go through this ball ache again?

Still having no luck finding who this chap was. Rang a few places and no one knows who this man was going around painting people's walls.

All I know is that he said he was doing community work and he lived local.

Its looking likely I will have to remedy this myself. I'm so pissed off to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

Sounds like a bored lad that didn't like your wall. Fairly cheeky if that's the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,111 ✭✭✭✭ted1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,225 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Don't worry, chances are he didn't pre-treat or add any adhesion promoter so the paint will probably fall off anyway.

Seriously though, you prefer the look of unpainted blocks ?!

My suspicions are he is some so called "Do gooder" with nothing else to do.

I would prefer bare blocks then to have to paint over them every other week to hide graffiti.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,530 ✭✭✭timmyntc

OP if you are very concerned about graffiti on the wall why dont you get the wall pebble dashed?

The textured surface is probably the most unappealing thing to try and grafitti in the world, and it would also look much better than bare blocks. Also worth noting that bare block walls look uncared for even when they are maintained, and this kind of appearance actually attracts vandals more than a nicely painted/plastered wall.

The most often victims of vandalism are the properties that look unkempt in the first place - vandals assume noone will care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,082 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

This is absolutely mental, I'd be livid if I came home to this.

Yeah your best bet is probably to repaint it in a darker colour, like a grey. Be easier to cover too if anyone does graffiti on it now. Just keep a bit aside in your shed and cover up anything scrawled on it immediately.

I'd agree with you that a big white wall is definitely more attractive for graffiti than bare block. It catches the eye a bit more, a darker colour will go a bit more unnoticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

If its been there for seven years who cares the SDCC can't do anything and they won't do anything anyway unless there is an official complaint.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

With the price of Paint now l wouldn't be surprised if he's painted it with normal white ceiling paint and not exterior quality ,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭iguy

Something similar happened to me or my garden wall, it's pebble dashed, and painted a different colour to the house, it's green with creamy sandstone capping and down the bottom where it's not pebble dashed, and house is white, except for Windowsills, bottom of wall, cornering (corners on the house are plastered smoothly) and porch, all that's is painted both creamy sandstone and a different shade of green to the boundary walls, anyway I'm waffling on, myself and the better half went on holidays for 11 days in June and we told a few people, so they could keep an eye on the house, and someone had to feed our pets, when we got back the pebble dashed boundary wall was painted creamy sandstone and the cappings and bottom green, we were shocked and we asked our neighbours who done it, turned out to be the tidy towns, I ended up having words with the secretary, he said that the judges like to see things done properly and the way our walls were apparently had no consistency, we only painted last year during COVID, so it wasn't like the walls were tired, I told him the walls are mine and he/they had no right to paint my walls, he told me that technically while the wall is mine and ultimately my responsibility, the outer part of a boundary wall is considered public interest, and that they only painted my wall for the benefit of the community, yet it's done now, and there wasn't much I could really do about unless I repainted the wall of which I don't want to go to hassle of its nearly 60foot and although there is shrubbery behind the wall, I paint around and behind them, and the walls are staggered in height, so plenty of square footage to paint,

I told the tidy towns secretary that they can paint the outer walls all the time now, for fear I'll paint it and they won't like the colour and they'll repaint it a colour that suits them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,231 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Well done for making all the other mad responses seem perfectly reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Mundo7976

Ah tidy towns. Mainly busybodies with nothing better to be doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,616 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

One of my neighbours put up a nice new wooden fence in their front garden boundary to the path a few years ago but is starting to look tatty, annoys me every time i drive out, have a good mind too..

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

I'm trying to find a contact number for tidy towns Tallaght/Firhouse Dublin 24 area. I can't seem to find anything or any email addresses for them.... Anyone know where I could find this info ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,717 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Lots of community groups are "registered" with FAS and the local council. You could try those and see if you can get a contact person.

I've left messages for the council about the complaint, nothing really I can do now until someone gets back to me, if they get back to me.

"plaster or render" not paint. Big difference there.

and now it will be much more expensive to make any attempt to plaster or render the wall post painting. Render does not stick so well to paint.

The point he was making is that it's not up to just the OP whether he leaves his wall as bare blockwork or not - SDCC rules state he is obliged to finish the wall with some render/plaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Also check with your residents association for your area maybe they done it.

I did ask him, he said he was doing community work, a group of them were going around. I would imagine that was council related. I should have asked more details from him yes... He was halfway through the wall so I couldnt leave it half painted so there was little choice but to finish it to make it look aesthetically complete. He said he couldn't remove the paint he had already applied as I asked him to do this. I was sort of forced into him finishing this off if you understand me.

That may be so, but thats not the issue at hand here. The issue here is somebody took it upon themselves to paint his wall without asking. whether it has a Render/plaster finish is irrelevant -thats just somebody sidetracking the conversation.

What if the op was about to start to go render his wall? Its now a much bigger job. As I said, render doesn't stick to paint anywhere as easily as it can to blocks. So this now becomes a much more expensive and time consuming job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,215 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Even so, that doesn't entitle some random stranger to paint the OP's wall.

Vigilante enforcement of planning regulations is a new one on me, I have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,082 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

That's interesting about your outer wall apparently being 'public interest'.

My outer wall is the front of my house, the front door opens to the footpath. Should I be worried about coming home some day to find Tidy Towns painting my house exterior? 😁

I never said it was justified for someone to paint his wall - it definitely wasnt.

I was clarifying that post about council regs on walls - bare block walls are a real eyesore.

OP if you track down the crowd responsible, get them to pay for a plasterer to cover the walls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,401 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

If the aul fellah gets back to you OP, get his number and pass it on. I’ll happily supply the paint if he want to paint my walls

(Not suggesting you’re in the wrong for being pissed here. Just saying it’s mad that someone is doing this for nothing when it’s tough to get people to do it for a few!)

A stone-grey colour can look well. If you do find out who did it, you could insist they repaint it grey and apply an anti-grafitti coating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,307 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I think this is your only option.

And to other posters

• Taggers & Graffiti people LOVE blank white canvasses more than any other colour. It's the best colour substrate for impact and high contrast work.
    • I hate bare blocks, but I certainly wouldn't go painting peoples wall without permission. That's vandalism. Nice aesthetically pleasing vandalism, but vandalism.

Keep us updated Mondeo, mad story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,237 ✭✭✭kirving

Worst part is, the OP is now on the hook for repainting the wall forever, because it'll look crap every 3-5 years if not done repeatedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭pjdarcy

If you want the painters to paint it a different colour OP, you could try adding graffiti yourself.

Draw a huge phallus on it with a can of spray paint and every time they repaint it white, draw another phallus until they agree to paint it a different colour to prevent graffiti 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,729 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Paint stripper does what it says, but it's very corrosive and you don't want it on your skin and in DIY quantities it's very expensive. That said paint stripper then pressure washing might get it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭wpd

could it be a men shed group in the local area that painted it??

Have you tried a power washer on it may just wash it off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭deirdremf

It sounds like you tacitly gave him permission to do the work by allowing him to finish it. You would probably have been better off stopping him from continuing and finding out who instructed him to do the job.

Given that, I'd say your legal situation regarding compensation/rectification is fairly tenuous now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Weird idea, and possibly not what you want, but graffitiers are far less likely to graffiti stupid stuff over actual graffiti art. Could you find a local art college and offer them your wall for a mural? "Proper" graffiti artists will usually sketch out a design and plan before starting work, so you could ask to review to make sure you like it. It would stop local scrotes just scribbling on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭chasm

Local tidy towns group, maybe? Check if they have a FB page as they may post photos of some of the jobs they have done in your area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,337 ✭✭✭standardg60

That is mad, you don't live in Sandford do you?

I would personally paint a load of phalluses and boobs on it when the judging was coming up.